Hudson Valley Photography | Jean Kallina Reviews

49 | Kingston, NY
See photos, pricing and details

49 Reviews for Hudson Valley Photography | Jean Kallina

Recommended by 99%

49
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
49 Hudson Valley Photography | Jean Kallina Reviews
Sort by:
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean Kallina was the photographer for our April 21st wedding and she did an amazing job! Both my husband and I were so pleased with the photos and we can't wait to share them with our friends and family. Jean was great to work with from start to finish and even went out of her way to meet us for coffee when we happened to be passing through Kingston. She was also so accommodating of our request to speed up the after the ceremony photos since a) it was COLD and b) we didn't want to miss all of cocktail hour with our guests!

    My only regret is that we didn't book her services for longer! Highly recommend Jean for your upcoming wedding or any special event where you're looking to hire a photographer!

  • B

    Barbara · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean Kallina, of Hudson Valley Photography, is absolutely the finest photographer to hire for any special occasion. In my case, I hired her for my daughter's wedding. She captures moments on film with elegance and creativity. Working with a list prepared together, she photographs all the traditional moments from several angles giving a choice of expression. She moves so quickly around the setting of the event that she is able to capture those so important and unforgettable moments that might be missed in the excitement of the day. She captures these moments on film framing the pictures so they weave together the beauty of the day.

    Sent on 10/12/2009

    Hudson Valley Photography | Jean Kallina's reply:

    We loved being a part of your day! Thank you for the wonderful Review!
  • L

    Lydia · Married on 10/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are more than happy that we picked Jean to be our photographer!!!! The pictures she took looked like pure art! We are looking forward to having her capture our family photos.

  • H

    Harry · Married on 09/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean Kallina provided us with the most Amazing photography I have ever seen. We were thrilled when we saw the images. They are artistic, beautiful and wonderful quality. She is an amazing artist. She was super professional to work with. She always got back to us the same day we contacted her and her follow up was great... we got the photos super fast... It was a couple of weeks! Jean was a pleasure to have around us on the day of the wedding and made us feel very comfortable having our photos taken which we appreciated very much. WE would recommend her without hesitation. Wonderful Job and THank you Jean

  • H

    Hallie · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean was not only very professional, but really great at taking direction and making your suggestions come to life! I could not recommend hiring her more.

  • I

    Indea · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We’re so happy that Jean Kallina was the photographer at our wedding. From the initial planning phases to the last dance she was always available to answer our questions and give us advice on how to preserve our event in pictures. Her style is quiet and unassuming yet she and her staff were ever present taking hundreds of photos – at both the rehearsal and the wedding - capturing all the excitement and enthusiasm of our wedding weekend. Her skill and creativity as a photographer was evident in both the formal pictures and the candids. Her understanding of color and perspective enabled her to capture fantastic shots – pictures that over the years will send us right back to that lovely summer weekend in August. She didn’t miss a detail and for that we are truly grateful.

  • User4298011 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean is an artist. Her photos are so beautiful that it is difficult to choose which ones I want to print. Everything is shot in color, black & white and sepia and the shots are stunning. She catches the celebration in a beautiful and unique way.

    Guest after guest commented that she was unobtrusive at the wedding but she took a zilion shots. I love the way she shot the objects like the dresses, etc. Really a wonderful experience working with her.

  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 06/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend Jean Kallina enough! Our photos came out absolutely spectacular. When planning a wedding you begin to realize how ridiculously expensive every little thing can be. While Jean's cost is competitive and on par with other photographers in the area, we considered going cheap on a photographer or even having a friend take pictures for us. We are so glad that we didn't go down that route. Having these amazing photos to look back on is absolutely priceless. We had the best day of our lives but it went by so fast and there were moments that we missed all together. Her photos captured the spirit of our wedding perfectly. She was extremely unobtrusive which we loved, but she somehow captured every amazing moment at the same time. We've gone to weddings where there is a videographer with a bright light shining in your face or photographers blocking your view of the bride and groom or getting right in the middle of your group making your feel uncomfortable and the pictures look unnatural. Jean's presence allowed such natural photos to be taken and everyone just looked like they were having fun in the moment rather than posing for pictures. She has an amazing eye for detail and every picture came out truly beautiful. We highly recommend not skimping on a photographer and we highly recommend Jean!

  • User3295841 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Jean for my May 2014 Hudson Valley wedding. We were married in a Catholic church and then held a reception on a family farm inside a tent. All of the photographs came out beautifully. Jean was easy to work with, her assistant was a lot of fun and did a great job corralling the ring bearers/flower girls for group photos, they were not in the way at all during the day/didn't feel like we were being paparazzi stalked at our reception and I thought her prices were extremely reasonable given quality of service and location. Also her instagram is really awesome, so you know she's passionate about taking good photographs even when she's not on the clock. I would definitely recommend!

  • M

    Marietta · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean Kallina Photography was the best choice for our wedding. Jean was very familiar with our venue and knew all of the great spots to capture our unforgettable day. Not only was she professional, but she was extremely attentive to the bridal party and our families.

    She took the time to meet with us at the venue and recommend places to shoot and time frames to begin/end--even going a step further to help me formulate a "picture schedule" for the day of the wedding.

    She responded to emails same day and made it a point to let me know if she was going out of town or couldn't be reached for a few days.

    The turn around time getting our photos amazed us and we were more than happy with the outcome. I would highly recommend her for your wedding or special event.

  • H

    Hope · Married on 05/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean was great. Met with us before to understand what we wanted to capture.

  • User3578201 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for a photographer who is not only exceptionally talented in her own right, but who will capture the 'moments' of your day, you are looking for Jean. Jean is organized, has a high quality of of work and work ethic in getting photographs edited and organized, efficient with her time, and takes care in capturing the big 'picture' and the details as well. It was a pleasure to work with her on my day. I am so lucky to have found such a wonderful and talented photographer who not only documented my wedding thoroughly from start to finish, but who I really enjoyed having with me as my photographer for such an important day for me. Jean's expertise in photography in a variety of settings was remarkable as we started for our First Look photos in a garden, had the ceremony in a church, a horse-drawn-carriage in the sunny afternoon, and an evening venue at the Beekman Arms Inn. I will treasure the photographs Jean took forever! I can't wait to print them all.

  • User3570228 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wanted to find someone who would take some formal portraits ( we all need those ) but also be able to take some pictures in a photo journalistic style, a little artsy so to speak. Once I saw Jean's portfolio I was convinced that her style was exactly what I was looking for. We set up an engagement session with her - and were two clueless people about where to shoot, what to wear, and frankly I was just awkward due to nerves and inexperience! Jean suggested a beautiful location and guided us through the pictures, her demeanor completely eliminating the awkwardness of being photographed. We had lunch with her and talked about what we wanted for the wedding shots etc. Oh and the pictures were simply stunning! And if that wasn't enough Jean was simply amazing on the wedding day. She helped us set up formal shots, captured the small details of my home and pets ( which meant the world to me ) and was like a shadow passing through the entire day. I barely even noticed her! She took some of the beautiful pictures I have seen. I could't believe they were of MY wedding day. The most amazing part of her photography was that she was able to capture - somehow - what it felt like to be at our wedding. Looking at the photos , you can see the genuine emotions of the candid shots, and how skilled she is at capturing it. Anytime in the future I need a photographer - Jean will be who I call. The proofs arrived at lightening speed - less than two weeks! I HIGHLY recommend her for any event.Many friends and family have also remarked at what amazing pictures we have and that they're jealous of what a fantastic photographer we had!

  • User3573360 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean was a great. She was very easy to deal with and even came to meet with us before the wedding at the venue. On the day of the wedding she was supper organized and efficient getting a ton of great pictures in in a short amount of time. During the ceremony she got amazing shots without even being remotely intrusive. And the best part is all the pictures turned out absolutely beautiful.

  • T

    Terri · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean was a pleasure to work with and the photos we outstanding! We could not have asked for a better photographer to capture our daughters wedding.

  • User3575900 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As the Mother of the Bride, I was so impressed and pleased with Jean Kallina and the Hudson Valley Photographers! My daughter, the bride, was very particular with her choice of the photographer. ( My daughter's undergraduate degree was in photography) She knew exactly what she wanted as a professional photographer for her wedding. After researching many photographers she decided on Jean Kallina. She was especially impressed with Jean's color photography and her excellent use of the camera and processing techniques. Jean and her assistant were wonderful to work with and they were very professional. Jean's photographs are unique, tender and exceptional! I agree with my daughter's choice and would highly recommend Jean as the photographer for a wedding or other special family events!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean was wonderful! She was very professional and very attentive to everything I wanted as a bride. I was thrilled with the photos that I got back!

  • S

    S · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved having Jean as the photographer for our wedding at Mohonk Mountain House. I asked Jean to create a canvas for our living room wall out of one of the photos that she took and every time someone comes to our house it is the first thing that they comment on--nobody can believe what a beautiful picture it is! Our album also turned out beautifully. I can't stop looking at it!! My husband and I hate having our picture taken but Jean made the whole process so easy and fun. All of our guests commended on how inconspicuous she was throughout the ceremony and reception, unlike some other photographers. Jean was also so responsive to any emails and phone calls before and after the wedding in regards to her work. She clearly takes so much pride in what she does, and it shows! I could not recommend Jean highly enough for your wedding!

  • S

    S · Married on 05/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I discovered Jean Kallina's photography via the web. I took one look at her breathtaking cinematic photography and fell in love. Jean is truly an artist. Every time I look through my wedding pictures,not only am I staring at beautiful images but I feel like I am reliving the moment. Jean has a way of capturing your emotions and saving them eternally in an image. On our wedding day she was organized, never obtrusive and a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend her.

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Jean for our wedding photography. We did a ton of research when looking for the perfect photographer and Jean had it all. Her artistic work and style speaks for itself but that combined with her professionalism, attention to detail, and creative ideas all made her such a great photographer to work with. We were so pleased with our engagement session photos that I couldn't wait to see what she would do with our wedding day photos. I could not have been more happy with the photos we got back and can't stop looking at them. Jean really captured the essence of the day along with many special moments that I will never forget. I can't thank Jean enough for her amazing work!

    Sent on 08/15/2013

    Hudson Valley Photography | Jean Kallina's reply:

    Michelle, Thank you for that amazing review! I just loved photographing both your engagement and your wedding. I wish you and Rich a million Best Wishes on your marriage and your future together! Jean
  • H

    Hillary · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we received a recommendation for Jean Kallina, we didn't waste any time researching her reviews. It doesn't take a brain surgeon to figure out that she is quite an accomplished photographer. It should also come as no surprise that her work was stunning. What we were surprised by was how reasonably priced her packages were. We got exactly what we wanted for exactly the price we wanted. This is one area of your wedding you do not want to cut corners! Don't leave your one and only chance to capture these photos up to a family member or a friend. And don't take a chance on any other photographer for your New York wedding! We loved Jean and we loved her work!

  • L

    Leyla · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean photographed our wedding on April 13, 2013 at The Garrison. She was a pleasure to work with and captured our wedding in some stunning photographs. The challenge will be selecting which ones to feature in our album and in frames around our home - because they are all natural, warm and elegant. Jean also shot our engagement photo shoot in Cold Spring, NY - which was another wonderful experience that yielded great photos. Thank you Jean!

  • L

    Lindsay-Elizabeth · Married on 12/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jean is a wonderful photographer, and we really enjoyed working with her during the entire wedding process. She is extremely responsive, a lovely person, and she understands how to tell the story of your wedding through her photos. My fiance hates to have his picture taken, and all of the photos Jean took of him are wonderful - a testament to how comfortable she makes people feel. We have received all of our photos, and they are breathtakingly beautiful and original. I would highly recommend her to everyone because she is an excellent wedding photographer.

  • A

    Anna · Married on 10/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were lucky enough to have Jean Kallina photograph our wedding this fall and we couldn’t be more grateful that we did. Jean is an artist without an imposing ego. She is graceful, diligent, and has an extraordinary vision for capturing not only the beautiful but also the meaningful. In addition to making us look our best, she captured who we are as a couple. Almost all of our pictures are keepsakes! Jean was reliable, patient, responsive, and extremely professional and kept a positive, calm demeanor over the course of our wedding day.

    If we ever have another event to capture in our lives, Jean will be the first person we call.

  • E

    Elisa · Married on 08/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were recommended to Jean by our venue and had only spoken by phone prior to our wedding day. She has a personality that makes you feel very comfortable, easy to speak to, is extremely professional, organized, and returned our calls promptly. We were very relaxed the day of our wedding because we knew Jean would capture our special day as we had envisioned. Upon receiving our pictures we were very pleased. The colors where vibrant, the "shots" were candid (as we had asked), and she was able to capture the intimacy of our wedding. The only difficult part now is trying to figure which of these fabulous pictures to choose for our Wedding Album!
    Elisa and Guy

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review