Skip to main content
Weddings

Hourglass Lighting Reviews

Hourglass Lighting View more information

73 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

73
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

17 User photos

  • Lauren
    Lauren T. Married on 10/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Worth Every Penny and More!

    I want to first mention that lighting is one of those wedding items you think you don't need. You do. Take it from me, it's worth spending on something that you're guests will experience all night long and to remove the absolute headache of doing it yourself. Steve was so helpful and he did an amazing job stringing the lights across the barn at Mount Gulian Historic Site in Beacon, NY!! The lighting made ALL of the difference and our guests could not get over how amazing the space looked!! The barn add some string lights in it already on the columns, but once Steve worked his magic it completely changed everything! He is an absolute must at Mount Gulian and anywhere else you are planning an event. His pricing is fair and the whole process was seamless!
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 09/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    amazing !!

    Steve was responsive, professional, and great to work with! We absolutely loved how the lighting came out! It changed the whole mood of the room and provided the perfect amount of lighting for dancing. Pricing was very reasonable as well. Would highly recommend!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Thank you for letting us be part of your day Sarah!

    It’s been a trying time for all of us. I’m so glad this worked out. Have a wonderful life together and thanks again for choosing our services.

    -steve
  • S
    Sara Married on 07/31/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding vendor ever!!

    We had a wonderful experience with Hourglass Lighting - one of our favorite vendors for the wedding overall. Steve was an absolute pleasure to work with - he's responsive, friendly, and flexible. When COVID hit and we had to postpone, they gave us a heads up that most of their clients were pushing their dates out, and encouraged us to do the same. We heard so many horror stories about venues and COVID (mostly financial), so Steve's approach was most welcome. Their dance floor string lighting and amber uplighting was so stunning, we got compliments all evening. The price was extremely competitive, and the service was top notch. If you're still looking for a decorator - I'd hire Hourglass again in an instant!!!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Dear Sarah,
    Thank you for being so flexible and understanding during an extremely chaotic and industry devastating time. Providing services for your wedding really brought joy to our hearts. Wishing you both the best!

    -steve & dan
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • E
    Emily Married on 06/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional, creative, responsive, flexible vendor!

    Steve and the crew at Hourglass Lighting were spectacular to work with. Steve is super responsive and was open to our ideas. He went out of his way to help us put up additional decor outside of the tent lighting, including hanging some pennant banners for us, which was really helpful in setting my mind at ease as I had a million other DIY things to deal with! The space Hourglass Lighting created outside of our tent with bistro lights was integral to the fun and success of our party, as it invited guests to explore outside of the tent. We would highly recommend working with Hourglass Lighting, and would use their services again if we ever throw another party!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Thank you Emily. It was wonderful working together! We all felt privileged to be part of your wedding in such a beautiful setting.
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin A. Married on 04/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Super Easy

    Steve & co. did a great job and dealing with them was extremely easy, in part probably because they've worked with our venue (the Garrison) pretty regularly. Thanks!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Hi Caitlin,

    Thank you for letting us be part of your wedding and for taking time to write a review! It’s true we are at Garrison Country Club quite often. The views of the Hudson River Valley are spectacular and everyone there is so wonderful to work with.
  • A
    Alyssa G. Married on 09/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    loved working with Steve from Hourglass!

    Hourglass did a wonderful job for our wedding!! We did not want to have to go through our venue or band for uplighting ($$$$) and I'm so happy I found Steve from Hourglass! The warm lighting added such a nice touch to our event when the lights went down.

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Thank you for letting us be apart of your special day Alyssa it was a pleasure working together! All the best to you both.

    -steve
  • W
    William W. Married on 12/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Enhanced Atmosphere

    Who would have thought something as simple as enhanced lighting would have created such a wonderful ambience and made the wedding highly successful. Steve provided great suggestions as to which lighting and shade of to enhance the reception. Steve was great to work with and did exactly what he said he would do and the results speak for themselves. Highly recommend Hourglass Lighting.

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Thank you Bill for letting us be part of your daughter’s wedding! Le Chamboard was very impressed so I think we’ll be back :)



  • K
    Kori Married on 11/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lighting transformed our venue! Amazing service! Great value! Fantastic Vendor!!!!

    We hired Hourglass lighting for uplighting and pin spot lighting for centerpieces for our wedding and it transformed our venue!! After seeing pictures of wedding centerpieces with and without pin spot lighting we knew this was something that we wanted. Our wedding reception was at the Omni Providence Hotel and after doing A LOT of research and talking to WAYY too many lighting vendors we finally found Steve and knew he was our guy. Steve was super easy to work with, he is an expert in lighting and knew exactly what we needed to set the tone and ambiance for our wedding and told us what we didn't need and where we could save money. Steve told us we didn't need pin spot lighting on every table we should just do it on the tall centerpieces, cake table, and the head table to really make those spots pop. And in terms of the uplighting, he knew exactly how many we needed and where to put them and what colors to set etc. For the service, quality, and value there is no one in New England who can compete with Hourglass Lighting.

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Hi Kori
    Thank you for the opportunity to be part of your wedding! It was truly a beautiful event. We loved working with Michael and speaking with your dad. The drapery company was wonderful too. All the best to you both and Happy Holliday’s.
  • M
    Morgan Married on 10/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Spectacular!

    Steve and Dan were so accomadating to make my special day everything I ever dreamed of. I got married in a beautiful barn and the lights made it more perfect! Highly recommend!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Morgan it was our pleasure we loved working with you, your mom, and your aunt!
    Thanks again. What a beautiful barn it was.
  • Dilascio
    Lauren Married on 09/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you Steve!!

    The lights made such a difference in our room! It changed the whole ambiance of the night! It felt romantic and intimate! We can’t thank hourglass for the best price we got out of all the vendors! The job was done right!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Thanks Lauren!

    It was our pleasure and a joy working with you and everyone at Bear Mountain Inn. Our best to you both.
  • S
    Shannon P. Married on 06/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great job!

    I was very happy with the lighting I received for my barn wedding - it was very reasonable as well and he was quick, low maintenance! Would recommend.

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Hi Shannon,

    Thank you again for choosing our services and taking time to write a review. Beaverkill Valley Inn is a very special place. Everyone there was a joy to work with. All the best to you both.
  • B
    Brianna P. Married on 10/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful!

    Steve from hourglass lighting was a gem to work with! He explained everything about lighting so easily to someone who knew absolutely nothing about wedding lighting. After we came to a decision about what we wanted (with Steves help), we just spoke with him a few more times and he set up the day of the wedding so simply and reliably!!! Very beautiful work and very pleasant to deal with. Would definitely recommend!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Thanks Brianna! you were so wonderful to work with and i’m glad the centerpiece lighting worked out.
  • M
    Mikaela Married on 09/14/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Bistro Lights

    Hourglass was super easy to work with and definitely delivered on my expectations. We got married at the NYBG and the bistro lighting they put up on the terrace really made our ceremony and reception extra special. Thank you Steve!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Hi Mikaela,

    A real pleasure working together from start to finish....and the weather was perfect!!!
  • M
    Matthew M. Married on 06/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Value and Quality

    Hourglass was timely, accurate, and easy to work with. Great value if you are looking for professional lighting that looks amazing!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Hi Matt,

    Thank you for letting us be part of your special day. It was truly a pleasure working with you!
  • B
    Brian Married on 06/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous lights at Mohonk

    Steve and Hourglass Lighting provided some amazing lighting to my June wedding up at Mohonk Mountain House. From the first email, Steve was extremely easy to work with, whether it was to let us know the various lighting options to examples of the various lighting offerings at the actual venue itself.

    Once we agreed on the date and lighting option, that was the last I had to worry about it! He worked directly with the venue to show up the day before to set up so I had literally nothing to do except show up. There was a lot of things I had to worry about in planning my wedding, but this was not one of them.

    I highly recommend Steve and Hourglass Lighting.

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Brian thank you so much! Planning a wedding can be stressful with so many moving parts. I’m glad our part was not one of them. All the best to you both.
  • E
    Emily Married on 05/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful lighting!

    Steve did an amazing job on the lighting for my wedding! He was very responsive and easy to communicate with. When the pictures I had didn’t have the exact color I was looking for, he was able to create my vision exactly. The room looked beautiful and the color came our great in my photos. I highly recommend Steve for event lighting!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Hi Emily!

    Matching color exactly is good! :)
    Thank you very much for choosing our services.

    -steve
  • Theresa
    Theresa Married on 05/11/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If I could give 9 million stars I would. My now husband and I planned on paying for the majority of our wedding ourselves, so when I was booking vendors I struggled so much trying to decide what my wedding actually needed, and what I was being brainwashed by the industry into thinking I needed. So being honest I struggled whether to book or not being my venue offered up lighting for a couple hundred cheaper . And when your in that wedding planning panic you with these huge numbers coming at your bCk to back to back, you loose sight of reality and at least
    For me, tried to only spend where I felt absolutely necessary. It wasn’t until I read some Testimonial on Steve’s website that made me book. It said something along the lines of having a DJ/venue provide your lighting is like having your florist take pics- they can but it’s not their speciality . I booked and I can confidently say it was the best decision I made. You don’t even realiZe how much the lighting sets the tone for the ambiance and overall vibe of your event. And needless to say Steve blew away my expectations. Steve was just a genuine joy to work with. He was so understanding to my hectic schedule as a nurse and worked with my hours to communicate whenever I needed. He helped me form the vision I wanted but didn’t know how to put into words. I could honestly go on for yours giving him accolades. All I can Say if for brides crunching numbers and trying to figure out what you absolutey need and dont, hiring Steve was single-handledly one of the best decisions I ever made. Ant other wedding I’ve ever been too, the uplighting was so intense, any picture I personally took was drowned out by whatever color the newlyweds chose . Everything else concerning uplifting that I’ve ever seen Seemed tacky and harsh. Mine was so beautiful it literally brought tears to my eyes when I was able to first walk in my venue . Perfection is an understatement .

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Thank you so much Theresa wow what a wonderful review! I understand how hectic things can be and glad we could help. All the best to you both.
  • M
    Michael Married on 11/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Steve and his son were very good. They had good ideas, and were punctual.
  • D
    Danica Married on 10/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hourglass Lighting was a phenomenal addition to our beautiful fall wedding. Steve was there from the very beginning to answer any/all questions we had and he helped light up our ballroom and make our night that much more special. We highly recommend Hourglass Lighting for your special event, they’re awesome! Thanks guys :)

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Hi Danica,
    Thank you very much for letting us be part of your beautiful wedding. The Hotel Thayer is a special place for me. All the best to you both.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 10/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We have used Hourglass Lighting for our past two annual fundraising events. Each event had a specific theme and Hourglass Lighting was able to provide lighting that matched each theme perfectly! The first event was a winter theme. Hourglass Lighting used blue lighting with white snowflakes. The lighting made the room and the guests loved the ambiance the lighting created! The second event’s theme was “Havana Nights”. Again, Hourglass Lighting picked out a perfect lighting scheme! The lighting pulled together all of the decorations and made the room feel like you were in a tropical paradise in the middle of the Fall. Thank you Hourglass Lighting!!!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Thanks Kelly it’s always a pleasure working together and for such an important cause.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 09/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Flowers are important but the proper lighting makes the wedding! The uplighting gave the room warmth and depth. The pin lighting showcased the beautiful arrangements we had on the tables along with the wedding cake. The room was totally transformed and beautiful! This is the second wedding we have used Steve because he is flexible, creative, and reliable. Thank you for making the wedding so special!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Thank you so much Melissa it was our pleasure it's been wonderful working with your mom!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 09/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    By the time our wedding arrived, Steve truly felt like family!! He and his crew were so easy to work with and the lighting pulled our entire venue together. Steve provided suggestions and worked with us to turn our tented reception into a dream come true. We received compliments all night and even our venue commented they had never seen their tent look so beautiful! Would highly recommend!!
  • C
    Cheryl Married on 06/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The first word that came to mind when I saw the lighting at my daughter's wedding venue, the Pavilion at Mohonk Mountain House, was SPECTACULAR! Steve Fernandez of Hourglass Lighting did an outstanding job of creating a "magical" ambiance that was in perfect balance with the overall beauty of the outdoor pavilion and its natural surroundings.

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Thanks Cheryl,
    It was nice meeting you all and such a pleasure to be part Krysti's wedding! Thank you for posting photos too! :)
  • K
    Katie Married on 06/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The lights Steve put up at our venue made all the difference in transforming the location! He was great to work with and took the time so talk with us over the phone to make sure we got exactly what we were looking for.

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Hi Katie
    It as was a pleasure working together at Mohonk Mountain House thanks again for choosing our services and all the best!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 12/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    So glad we used Hourglass Lighting. Steve was a pleasure to work with, and he truly transformed the ambiance of the ballroom to be JUST what we wanted it to be. HIGHLY recommend!!!!

    Hourglass Lighting's reply:

    Hi Jessie,
    Thank you very much!
    Winter wedding themes are so beautiful at The Grandview glad we could do our part.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message