Skip to main content
Weddings

Hockessin Memorial Hall Reviews

Hockessin Memorial Hall

Hockessin Memorial Hall

Hockessin, DE
4.9 out of 5 rating, 22 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
22 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
99% Recommended by couples

Awards

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

12 User photos

  • J
    Justine S. Sent on 12/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic experience

    We had a wonderful reception and loved all the staff.

    Hockessin Memorial Hall's reply:

    Thanks Justine! We loved having you for your wedding and are so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Wishing you a wonderful future together!
  • C
    Cortnae J. Sent on 08/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely, phenomenal!

    Sarah was absolutely amazing to work with! She was so helpful, super responsive and ensured everything we requested was provided to the T! I’m so grateful that I came across this venue. The price was fantastic, the wedding, ceremony, catering, decorations, cake etc was all inclusive and the venue was decorated beautifully for our ceremony and reception! We received so many compliments about the venue and the food from our guests. It was truly the most special and memorable day of my life and I’m super grateful to Sarah and her team for making that possible!! Thank you!!!

    Hockessin Memorial Hall's reply:

    Thanks Cortnae! We loved having you, Brian, and all your friends and family celebrate your marriage here with us. I'm so glad you had the special day that you both deserved!

    --Sarah
  • A
    Amy A. Sent on 09/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing! My wedding was perfect!

    This venue was amazing from beginning to end! Communication was within 24 hours! The amount you get for the price is fantastic! The venue takes care of everything, I had to get a DJ, photographer only! Professionalism is at its best! Can’t say enough good praise about it!!

    Hockessin Memorial Hall's reply:

    Thanks Amy for the great feedback! We loved having you, Sam, and all your friends and family for your big day!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Wyatt
    Wyatt Sent on 02/16/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional and easy

    Great venue manager and the tables looked perfect. No issues

    Hockessin Memorial Hall's reply:

    Thanks for the great feedback Wyatt! We loved having you & Katie as well as all of your family and friends.
  • Celeste
    Celeste D. Sent on 07/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Service w/ Full Package

    There were so many things included in our package, it made our wedding planning much more simple than other engaged couples I know. Sarah, the manager, was thorough and helps supports the vision you may have for your wedding. I highly recommend booking this elegant hall with excellent service.

    Hockessin Memorial Hall's reply:

    Thanks for all the kind words and the great reccomendation. We loved having you and your guests on your day! --Sarah
  • B
    Beth Sent on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We are very glad we chose Hockessin Memorial Hall for our reception venue. Sarah was phenomenal, and catered to our every need. Our theme was a little less traditional (based on a board game), and we had some quirky requests-- such as rolling dice to announce tables for dinner. Sarah worked hard to ensure that we were able to incorporate all of our ideas and that the evening ran smoothly. She was very responsive and helped our event go off without a hitch. They also have several packages to choose from and you can really design your event to fit your price and needs. It was a plus that the inside of the venue is already so nice that you do not have to do a lot of decorations to make it feel classy. We would definitely recommend Hockessin-- great value and great service!

    Hockessin Memorial Hall's reply:

    Thanks Beth for all the kind words you shared with everyone. We loved having your and Travis' wedding here with us!
  • Joanna
    Joanna Sent on 05/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    There aren't enough positive words we can say about Sarah. From the time we booked 2 years ago all the way through the end of our reception she had made the process extremely easy. She answered every question we had and even made suggestions that we used. We can't thank the staff at Hockessin enough for everything they did to make our reception smooth and flawless.

    Hockessin Memorial Hall's reply:

    Thanks for the kind words Joanna. We're so glad we could make things easier for you along the way. Congrats to you and Dan again! --Sarah
  • M
    Meghan Sent on 01/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah was so helpful from start to finish in getting us ready for our big day! She made everything we wanted possible and was so receptive to our visions!
  • F
    Faith Sent on 01/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah was amazing! She worked with us and made everything easy. She handled everything from making sure I had the exact colors I wanted to answering any questions our families had.
    The hall was clean and bright. We loved the lights over the dance floor.
    Over all our wedding and experience was amazing.
  • A
    Allison Sent on 01/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband I decided to have our reception at Hockessin Memorial Hall because of their reasonable prices. What we did not know was the value you go for the affordable prices. Not only is the food, alcohol, and decorations provided, but you also get the amazing assistance of the hall manager, Sarah. Neither my husband and I are very good planners, but Sarah helped us every step of the way! She did everything she could to help make our wedding perfect! We had our dream wedding at Hockessin Memorial Hall.
  • User2369069 Sent on 10/15/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can not tell you how grateful I am for Sarah and everyone at Hockessin Memorial! My wedding was perfect in every way and it was because of them! In my wedding package everything was included including the cake, center pieces, table numbers, food and bar. I did not have to worry or stress about anything except for some extra things that I was bringing. The food was amazing (we had buffet) and everyone was raving about the food at cocktail hour. The bartenders were so friendly with the guests! The dance floor is a great size and there was plenty of room for everyone to dance! Hockessin Memorial really is the most amazing spot for a reception! You would be silly not to pick it!
  • S
    Samuel Sent on 09/17/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were really impressed with Sarah and with the Hockessin Memorial Hall.

    The venue is beautiful for all kinds of occasions, and it was wonderfully decorated for our wedding. The dance floor is just right, and the hall is very open and inviting. All of our guests were thrilled.

    Every time that I had a question or concern, Sarah was ready to help and very patient. She helped with all the details to make our reception a huge success, and she even recommended our outstanding DJ, Mike Simmons and photographer, Paul from Foschi. I'm so grateful for the hard work of all the staff at Hockessin Memorial Hall. Could not ask for a better reception.
  • C
    Constance Sent on 07/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't say enough Thank yous to the event planner and the entire staff of Hockessin Memorial Hall. They made our Wedding day perfect. The food was delicious and cooked to perfection. I will have the most wonderful memories for the rest of my life.
  • J
    Joseph Sent on 01/19/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our reception was perfect! Sarah was great to work with and really helped ease our stress. We chose the buffet option and our guests raved about how delicious the food was. Sarah also had lots of table options to choose from and we were able to match our fall theme really well. I would highly recommend using Hockessin Memorial Hall for your event!
  • User2013554 Sent on 01/18/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our wedding reception at the Hockessin Memorial Hall in October. It was beautiful. You would never believe that the location was a fire hall. They had a gorgeous tapestry coming down from the ceiling interwoven with Christmas lights, inside a huge open space. Everything is newly remodeled and clean. The manager, Sarah Roberts, was incredibly easy to work with, providing open lines of communication and responding quickly to each of our many concerns. Decorations, a variety of food options, a couple of different dessert providers (including Cakes by Kim,) and an open bar were all included in one, easy to understand, inexpensive package. There were no hidden fees, “upsales,” or ploys to draw more money out of us. For one very competitive low price, my bride and I were able to have a wonderful setting for our reception.
    -The Nickles
  • D
    Deborah Sent on 12/18/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah is excellent! Very flexible and willing to take care of everything! She is the best! The reception was perfect thanks to her! I highly recommend this facility.
  • G
    Gina Sent on 12/18/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was worried when I found out that the person I initially had dealt with was no longer there due to some management/vendor changes. Of course, planning a wedding, with all the things that can go wrong, this alone was nerve wracking. After voicing my concerns, the staff, had gone above and beyond to make all the details I was looking for happen and helped make me feel more at ease. Sarah was responsive. She never left me hanging and was flexible with times even if I just needed to pop in for something. Everything else may have gone wrong that day but the reception went off without a hitch and was a beautiful environment for my special day.
  • M
    Myotte Sent on 01/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah the hall manager is the best. She is very nice, flexible, and work with you thru the hall planning process. She will work something out to try to fit your budget or come as close as possible. The hall is very beautifull, the food is exquisite. Very plaisant staff. Thanks Sarah.
  • Y
    Yesenia D. Sent on 11/06/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    We had an amazing wedding!

    From the very begging Sarah was super helpful. She took the time to answer all of our questions and always responded our emails in a timely manner.
    The food was super delicious and they work with amazing vendors. Kim does amazing cakes! We loved it. It was very easy to work with Sarah. She pretty much took care of everything! A worry free place! If you need a place that will take care of everything, this is your place! 🥰

    Hockessin Memorial Hall's reply:

    Thanks Yesenia for all the kind words! We loved having you and Jose for your wedding and glad you enjoyed your day.
  • D
    Danielle Sent on 01/01/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We are so blown away with our wedding at Hockessin memorial hall. Their banquet hall is stunning and the food was delicious! Sarah works hard to ensure your celebration is exactly what you have in mind. Her and the staff set up and ran the event so smoothly. The value is unbeatable! The centerpieces, bows, chair covers, table cloths, lighting and even decor options are included in the cost. They worked with me to ensure my food was gluten free as well.

    Hockessin Memorial Hall's reply:

    Thanks Danielle for the kind words. We loved having your and Brian's families here at the hall. We wish you all the best in your future together!
  • A
    Andrea Sent on 01/19/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great service beautiful place food could be better
  • User2213512 Sent on 07/06/2015
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We had a beautiful reception. Everything was done how I asked to be done, the table settings were beautiful, the cake was gorgeous from the bakery that was contracted. We enjoyed our night and danced the night away. Everything was wonderful. Our guest had plenty of room to relax and enjoy themselves. We had a great space for the Photobooth. The hall manager defintely helped out as much as a person could, she was very nice and easy to work with.
    The only thing I wish we had more of was the entree, I was personally a picky eater and the sides were GREAT just not enough.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours