Hillyer Art Space Reviews

4 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

4 Reviews for Hillyer Art Space

Recommended by 84% of couples

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.1

Awards

4
Order by:
  • S

    S. · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted our recent wedding welcome reception/rehearsal dinner at Hillyer and the space and Hillyer team were PERFECT! Emily was so sweet, accommodating, and even helped us set up and clean up at the end of the night. She went above and beyond her duties which we really appreciated. The only catering restriction was no red wine of course so they were very flexible especially in terms of use of the space. And the space itself is gorgeous. I highly recommended Hillyer for any kind of reception or event!

    Sent on 10/03/2016
  • S

    Shelley · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding cocktail reception at Hillyer Art Space and it was absolutely perfect! The art on the walls provided a conversation piece for our 100 guests and many people commented on how neat the space was for a wedding reception. Allie was wonderful to work with and we appreciated her timely responses and communication style. Definitely check out this small, local art gallery for your event!

    Sent on 05/30/2014

    Hillyer Art Space's reply:

    Hi Shelley,

    I am just now seeing your review of Hillyer Art Space for your reception. Thank you for the kind words and great review, and I hope all is well!

    Allie
  • L

    Lynn · Married on 05/21/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a lovely reception here in May 2016. It is very DIY - they have some chairs and tables, but most everything needs to be brought in by you/the caterer. Our guests loved the art and it was more than spacious enough for our 60+ guests to have room to dance, eat, socialize. They let us come check out the space outside of normal gallery hours - which was super helpful for my schedule. They have limitations on some beverages (no red wine) and food (not super saucy) in order to protect the unframed artwork, but are otherwise very accommodating. For the price we could not have found a better space that let us bring in our preferred caterer and provided a wonderful atmosphere! Thank you for a great space!

    Sent on 06/29/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/27/2014

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    I got married at the Hillyer Art Space in Sept. 2014. Nice space, very DIY. Their event coordinator was very helpful for the whole planning process. We had no trouble setting up and taking down everything for the wedding, and for the most part things went relatively smoothly. We appreciate how accommodating she was when we had questions or scheduling difficulties.

    However, our wedding itself is what brings this review down so much. The Hillyer told us about 3 weeks before the wedding that they we also hosting a large public DC-wide event right after our event (Art All Night) and they did not foresee how it would impact our wedding. In fact, dozens (my mom swears near 100) of people ended up crashing our wedding on Saturday night, in large part because they thought I (the bride) was performance art or part of a show. Many more were turned away at the door. Much of our wine and food was actually taken by people wandering in off the streets. Every few minutes I personally had to escort someone out. The most frustrating part was during my father’s wedding toast – a man walked into the room and directly in front of my dad during his toast (arm’s length), to come watch the speech. It was completely ridiculous. This could have been mitigated by the Hillyer staff with presence at the door rather than my cousins acting like bouncers.

    I also talked to some people who were very confused as to why the marketing and ads for the Art All Night event did not specify that the Hillyer would be closed for a private event until 11pm. There was only one small sign on the door that said “Private Event” and with no details describing the fact that a wedding was taking place. The one staff person on site was only helpful about halfway in when we complained that so many strangers were interrupting. All in all, it was extremely frustrating to have to deal with this. We got NO response when we tried to follow up with their staff to discuss afterwards.TREAD VERY CAREFULLY.

    Sent on 10/04/2014

    Hillyer Art Space's reply:

    I understand your frustration & I am truly apologetic about how Art All Night impacted your wedding. This was a very unique situation & we have never experienced such drastic uninvited guest problems in the past.

    This was the first year that Dupont has participated in Art All Night; we had no way of knowing that it would be so widely-attended. The event staff did end up standing outside & turning people away once you told him that there was an issue. Our policy is for the Event Staff to do a walk thru of the event every 45 minutes, & then to stay in the office area so as not to be obtrusive. He had no way of knowing who were guests, but I am sure had you expressed a concern immediately, your cousins would not have had to act like bouncers & the event staff could have fulfilled that role.

    For marketing, we did post everywhere that we opened at 11:30pm for Art All Night, including our social media sites such as Twitter and FB, & it was listed prominently on our website homepage as well as our Events and Programs page. We also were listed as being open "11:30pm - 3am" in the Art All Night brochure & on their website & FB page. We could not have advertised more in any sense.

    When I arrived after the event, I noticed someone from your party had taken out our big blue "Hillyer Art Space" A-frame street signs. We never allow private venue rentals to use these, as we only use them when we are open to the public. I fully believe this helped escalate the situation as the public were literally being pointed to Hillyer only to find that it was closed for a private event.

    You also extended your wedding to end an hour later. I emailed you on July 18th (10 weeks before your event) regarding Hillyer's participation in Art All Night and the quick turnaround between your event end and Art All Night.

    Again, I am truly sorry that Art All Night tainted your experience at Hillyer, but I know this was a unique and difficult situation that we will avoid in the future.