Higher Level Sound Reviews

34 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

34 Reviews for Higher Level Sound

Recommended by 100%

34
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • B

    Barry · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond expectations! When we met with Mike, I tried to be open, having worked with DJ's all over the country. I have head it all! Ranging from seamless transitions from processional to lights out. I have seen the spectrum from 1 to 10 in DJ performances. We hired Mike at the referral of Laura Kelly, our coordinator at Josefina Events. I was in a blind trust situation and was assured we would not be disappointed. Linda and I were overwhelmed with the ability Mike had to edit the long song we wanted ("Only us" from the musical, Dear Evan Hanson) to choreograph the timing of each of our entrances. We didn't rehearse it because the restaurant was open during our rehearsal. We explained what we wanted over the phone and from the moment the song began, he had it down perfect! Because of that, there wasn't a dry eye in the house. From that moment, Mike had control of the sound, music and had time to take some great candid pictures of the ceremony happening for us. The party and dancing didn't stop until the last minute. What a party and many many thanks go to an absolute, #10. Hire Higher Level Sound as soon as you can!

    Sent on 10/20/2017
  • L

    Linda · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike Thomas was our wedding ceremony and reception DJ and we couldn't have a more perfect time with Mike at the helm! He is awesome and helped us plan from start to finish our best day ever! He is insightful, professional, enthusiast, funny and offered some great suggestions for the types of music we wanted him to play as well as giving him leeway to infuse oldies and current tunes of his choice. He was excellent and everyone said our wedding was great and that they danced all night! We highly recommend Mike, he's simply the best!

    Sent on 10/21/2017
  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 09/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hired Mike Thomas for my wedding on 9/22 and the wedding was a hit!!! Everyone we didn't even expect was on the dance floor and having a blast! He was super easy to work with, knew exactly how to read the crowd, and made the night so fun. I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 10/01/2017
  • P

    Paola · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was fantastic!! My husband and I got married at the end of last month and everything was what we expected and more. Prior to the event, Mike met with us, listened to our requests, and checked in on us from time to time to see how we were doing. Our main goal for the wedding celebration after the ceremony was for everyone to have a good time and dance all night long. This was accomplished with the help of Mike. He was enthusiastic, fun, personable, played great music, and kept the party going. The dance floor was full the entire night. We absolutely loved Mike and working with him to make our wedding unforgettable and very memorable. We highly recommend him!!

    Sent on 07/14/2016
  • Caroline & Anthony

    Caroline · Married on 02/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't sing Mike's praises enough. From start to finish, he was an absolute pleasure to work with. He is not just an incredible DJ, he is the whole package. We knew we wanted to hire Mike to be our wedding DJ within five minutes of meeting him. He exudes such a fun, positive energy. When asked about his style, he told us he assesses the crowd and makes music choices based on what's needed.This was 100% what we were looking for, as there would be some family drama at the wedding (my parents are divorced and don't speak.) He reassured us that it would be fine and it was!

    His dedication to his work is illustrated in his attention to detail, meticulous preparation, and willingness to go above and beyond. He'll give you suggestions based on experience and is completely objective with regards to whether or not you take his suggestions. Choosing music is fun, but overwhelming - what's the perfect song for the entrance? Bridal party? Cake cutting? Have no fear - Mike will send you lists of popular songs for every freaking wedding activity ever known to man. He cut our planning time in half. He came to our vendor meeting, answered every email, emailed us thoughts, questions etc. His price is fair (we tipped bc he 100% deserved it)

    The day of our wedding was magical and Mike was phenomenal. Everything was perfect. Sometimes vendors are just doing their job - but you can tell Mike LOVES what he does and is genuinely excited for you. The music was perfect - especially our first dance. We had choreographed the dance and my husband had edited out a few verses in the middle of the song to shorten it. It was seamless. Mike did literally everything perfectly the entire night (songs, do not play list, announcements, people's names). He even got some pics/video! He also stayed late to help tie up loose ends!

    Book HLS and Mike immediately if you want a fun, positive, professional, talented DJ who loves what he does and delivers on every promise and more!

    Sent on 03/10/2016
  • M

    Mario · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Mike and Higher Level Sound. In our meetings, he really helped us organize our wedding and did a great job creating a playlist that would get everyone at the reception dancing.

    Sent on 12/28/2015
  • A

    Ayako · Married on 10/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Mike Thomas of Higher Level Sound came into our wedding lives with high recommendations from our friends. They told us, “Our best spent dollars!” … and boy, were they right!

    Mike is personable, enthusiastic, yet professional; he’s organized, in well control, yet patient, never pushy (bride and groom lived on opposite coasts, and 100% of our wedding party flew in from different parts of the country/world so there were plenty of chaos). He listened and really made great efforts to try and get to know us, so the three of us could all share the same vision.

    Mike’s animated presence, superb musical talents and the expertise to read the crowd made for the most fun night! Also, important to note that he was able to bring 3 vastly different cultures (Japanese, Indian, American) onto the dance floor… All! Night! Long!

    But that’s not all; Mike was amazing leading up to the wedding, too! Our conversations would begin by Mike checking in with how we were doing, and he'd wrap up our talks with reassurance for a great progress. Cheesy as that may seem, in times of feeling stressed & vulnerable, I would give hug him goodbye with much gratitude. He was also an enthusiastic support for my husband’s last minute surprise songs/dances (Mike knows how to keep a good secret!)! Mike answered so many wedding 101 q’s, helped us solidify many drafts of our day-of timelines, helped us with announcement verbiage so they were respectful while setting ground rules, etc. … and I’m sure he swiftly put out many fires throughout our wedding, but we shall never know! He also gave us “our wedding soundtrack” at the end of the night. It’s hard to justly describe Mike’s dedication and workmanship into words; I feel like the term “above and beyond” doesn’t cover Mike’s musical aptitude, thoughtfulness, and sincerity.

    Truly, one of the best decisions we made for our wedding was to hire DJ Mike Thomas, and we would recommend him to anyone without hesitation!

    Sent on 12/31/2015
  • D

    Dustin · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing but high praise for both Mike and this company. Professional and courteous the whole way. It is easy to say that our wedding would not have been the same without them. A wealth of experience in terms of weddings and timelines. Mike knew exactly how things would play out and made many of the stresses involved in planning and executing a wedding disappear. Many thanks to Mike and his crew!

    Sent on 10/15/2015
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike at Higher Level Sound is top notch. He DJ'd a wedding of a friend of ours in San Diego. We had so much fun and I knew he would be a great option for our wedding. I was hesitant to reach out since he's based in SD and our wedding would be in Long Beach, but after some research I thought it'd be better to go with someone we've already had the heard with skills we trusted.

    From my initial outreach to Mike he was quick to respond, professional and quick to respond. Our first meeting with him had was great! He was easy going, helpful and patient with us. Patient, because we had SO many ideas for music. Haha

    The day of our wedding couldn't have gone any smoother, even with an impromptu flash dance that was set up by my brother-in-law. From the minute the music started at dinner, until the last song - it was a blast. We opened up the dance floor pretty much the entire night (I didn't care much for a bouquet and garter toss) and people didn't stop dancing until the music went off. Our guests kept complimenting us on the music even days after the wedding.

    If you're looking for a DJ, we couldn't recommend him enough. Hopefully we'll get to party with him again sometime!

    Sent on 11/19/2015
  • D

    Dana · Married on 08/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First of all I work with in the wedding industry so when I enjoy some one's work ethic and passion I tend to keep them around. I may even higher them as my own DJ for MY wedding. That is exactly what happened with DJ Mike Thomas from Higher Level Sound. With in the first 5 minutes of our initial meeting I knew he was a genuine guy who truly wants you to enjoy all the small moments on your wedding day. He was the sweetest and worked seamlessly with all other vendors. He was quick on his feet when my money dance went longer than expected and helped make a smooth transition to each reception tradition. Mike thank you so much and Josefina Events appreciates you!

    Sent on 10/08/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There's a reason why Mike Thomas at Higher Level Sound has received so many 5 stars...because he's amazing at what he does! We were looking for a DJ and - especially with my husband being in a band - we were very selective as to who we would pick for our wedding.

    After meeting with him, he really wow'd us. Not only is he a genuinely nice guy who you can tell loves what he does, but he really wanted to understand who we were, where we came from, and what our style was.

    With just a few requested song selections, it was his responsibility to keep the party going all night and he delivered! We received multiple compliments about the music choices and how awesome the DJ was.

    He kept in touch with us throughout the process, gave us advice on wedding planning, and was very flexible to our changing requests. He even handed us a CD at the end of the night entitled "The Soundtrack to Your Wedding" with all of the songs that defined the night - above and beyond any expectations!!!

    If you're looking for one of the best DJ's in town, look no further. We are so happy that we found him and he was able to be a part of our special day!

    Sent on 08/03/2015
  • A

    Annemarie · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were interested in meeting DJ Mike Thomas after attending a friend's wedding in 2014. After our initial meeting, we knew we had to hire him for our wedding. He was so professional, knowledgeable, all with an impressive track record. He was not only our DJ/emcee, but he also acted as another wedding coordinator, working with the Day of Wedding Coordinator, and helping us plan out the entire night.

    Sent on 05/08/2015
  • C

    Cristina · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike Thomas was awesome! He is a very talented DJ, and he is also very helpful with planning a timeline. I found wedding planning to be very overwhelming, and when we met with him, I felt guilty that I did not know much about what I wanted or how the logistics of our event would go. He never made me feel bad about that; quite the opposite, he always helped us to figure details out, and he was very generous with his time. He had a lot of great suggestions based on his ample experience.

    He was very willing to accommodate all our requests. We had our ceremony on the beach, with no outlets available, and he was able to use a battery-operated system for the mics and ceremony music, all for a very reasonable cost. He then traveled to our reception site a few blocks away, where he had already set everything up ahead of time. There were no elevators to our second story venue, and he was able to accommodate. We wanted to show a slideshow of photos, and he brought in a projector and screen and made sure that our DVD worked ahead of time. We were able to give him some songs we liked and a general idea about the kinds of songs we wanted, and he came up with the perfect mix of songs; it was nice that we didn't have to spell it all out, and he still got exactly what we wanted (mix of oldies and new songs to appeal to all generations, along with specific Mexican songs for my Mexican side of the family).

    Mike is very organized, with sheets to fill in about what songs we want for various aspects of the wedding (first dance, cake-cutting, etc), so no important detail or consideration is left out. I always felt calmer after meeting with him. To top all of this off, his prices were very reasonable. I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 08/05/2014
  • User4120958 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Mike and Higher Level Sound was everything and more than we expected!.. He was very professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. We gave him the hard task of not giving him an outline and really leaned on his experience and expertise.. He delivered like a champ!! You need to use this company for any of your functions, you will not be disappointed!! Thanks Mike for all your help and all you did

    Cory and Monica

    Sent on 05/22/2014
  • User3673895 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was a pleasure to work with! He is a fantastic DJ and goes above and beyond the responsibilities and duties that one might expect from a DJ. He is so much fun to work with, super responsive, and did a wonderful job at our wedding! The sound was perfect, timing was spot on, and he was great at feeling out the crowd. I'd be happy to work with him again!

    Thanks Mike!

    Sent on 11/12/2013
  • J

    Jason · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First, I almost never do reviews, but I just had to share my thoughts and feelings regarding Mike and his team. Mike was simply amazing. What drew us to him was the level of experience and professionalism. With well over 16 years of experience working in local radio programs and many more in the industry, we felt a level on confidence with Mike that he knew what he was doing. He knew exactly where speakers needed to be to get the best audio quality in the room and played songs that complimented our "must play" songs. It was as if every song had a place and purpose (slow down the pace for dinner, speed it back up for open dancing, etc.). Mike was so willing to go the extra mile as well. Not only did he throw in a few incentives into our reasonably priced package, he also stayed late the night before our wedding to ensure that the intelligent lighting was setup perfectly for us. My wife and I absolutely loved Mike and would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for DJ and lighting services.

    Sent on 01/29/2014
  • E

    Erica · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike totally blew my husband and I away. Great guy, wonderful personality, he had us feeling like we had known him for a while before we actually met. He didn't just do an amazing job as our DJ but he helped us with where we were stuck and made suggestions for things we hadn't even thought about. He suggested to do all the meeting local to us which was a huge help as well. Our wedding was in the morning and through the afternoon, music was wonderful and right on cue for the ceremony and when it came time to party, he did not at all disappoint. Nobody knew it was daytime by the time it was over. He had everyone feeling like they were partying crazy good in Vegas. Everyone had a wonderful wonderful time. I'd recommend Higher Level Sound to anyone and everyone for their weddings, parties etc.

    Sent on 10/30/2013
  • J

    Jen · Married on 08/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a bride who didn't want to plan a wedding, Mike was a breath of fresh air! I didn't feel like I was hiring a vendor, but meeting a friend for coffee. He had suggestions where I was lost, fine tuned ideas I couldn't work out, and best of all, my fiancé like him too. I would highly recommend Mike to anyone, not just brides! He judged the crowd and their mood perfectly and I wouldn't have changed a thing!! Great music!

    Sent on 09/17/2013
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike ROCKED our wedding! We had a destination wedding at the Japanese Friendship Garden in Balboa Park and was facing the challenge of finding someone I could trust from over 300 miles away. We wanted someone who could effectively “feel” the room and play accordingly. We ended getting that and so much more with Higher Level Sound!
    The ceremony music was exactly as we had selected and it was timed impeccably. We did not select music for the cocktail hour or for during the reception dinner. Instead we opted to let Mike play something appropriate (to “feel” the room) and it was amazing! We had person after person come up to us and exclaim that he was playing their favorite love or dance song. The other area where Mike was great was during the toasting as we chose open mic (eek!). We had several people come up to toast, but Mike made sure to move everyone on once the toasting session became long. He kept the flow going at just the right pace. I would very highly recommend Higher Level Sound as they went absolutely above and beyond my expectations.

    Sent on 09/18/2013
  • User2370824 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was perfect! He’s boisterous and fun to interact with at meetings and on the mic, but he knew exactly the level to be at for every occasion. He made our reception swing. He played all of our must plays, made our formalities work perfectly, and created a set list that matched our theme and the rest of the night like a glove. He even put up with my incessant use of the same jokes, never batted an eye when weird requirements were thrown his way, and took great pains to make sure that we got every song we wanted – and nothing we didn’t. He even took time out to leave the booth and check in with us during the reception, just to make sure everything was going the way we wanted it to.

    Sent on 08/31/2013
  • J

    John · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This dude was perfect! We saw him DJ our friends' wedding and knew we had our guy for our own. He is very personable, flexible, and professional. He helped make our perfect evening end up that way, perfect. He helped so much with the logistics. And more importantly, he worked with us on music selection, which was huge for me since I'm a music guy. Sent him a ton of music I liked and he did unbelievably well in incorporating it, but in a way where he responded to the crowd as he saw best, too. We partied all the way til midnight, so you can tell the guest had a blast, more importantly. And for the price... wow, couldn't have gotten a better deal!

    Sent on 06/08/2013
  • User3277362 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the get go, we were impressed with Mike's promptness, confidence, professionalism and oversight of our wedding reception. He took on the role of MC and executed it beautifully. We had 325 guests and Mike managed to get everyone dancing! Not only that, but he was incredibly flexible with us, giving us grace when we were fumbling to select our formal dance songs the week of our wedding (when he had requested them a month in advance!) and totally accommodating our requests. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 05/24/2013
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike and his team did an amazing job at our wedding. Mike was so great to work with and so willing to help with whatever we needed. He met with us a couple of times to review all of the music details for the wedding reception and it went flawlessly. He also did the uplighting for a few of the palm trees at Scrippis Forum and was very reasonably priced and the lighting worked out perfectly. We would recommend Mike and his team at Higher Level Sound for anyone looking for a DJ in the San Diego area. Thank you for making our day so special!

    Sent on 07/07/2013
  • A

    A&W · Married on 07/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stop your search for the perfect wedding DJ!

    DJ Mike Thomas was incredible!

    We used DJ Mike Thomas for our wedding and we were thrilled with the service we received. From our first meeting with him, we knew he stood out from the rest through his enthusiasm, preparation, and professionalism. He is also super personable and down to earth. He created the perfect schedule and mix of songs that fit our personalities. He made sure we were having fun, not stressing out, and enjoying our wedding.

    He honored all our song choices and played what we wanted to hear. We did not hear music that we wished not played. He also kept everyone on the dance floor with his music. We wanted a dance club feel as the night progressed and all my guests had a blast…even the ones (ie. my relatives) who normally hate to dance at weddings!

    I appreciated him checking up on us during the week before the wedding. We also did not have wedding planner because our wedding was on the smaller side. DJ Mike also helped us out with a quick rehearsal which was very reassuring. I don’t think many DJs would go out of their way to help you with that.

    It was like having a friend always there to back you up.

    I whole-heartedly recommend DJ Mike Thomas and Higher Level Sound for your wedding event or any event for that matter!

    Sent on 08/14/2012
  • Christine

    Christine · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Mike from Higher Level Sound and we couldn't have been happier. We also had up-lights through him as well. Great price and great service. We received compliments on our music and lights and he made things run very smoothly. Thank you!!!!

    Sent on 09/06/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review