Skip to main content
Weddings

Herreshoff Marine Museum Reviews

Herreshoff Marine Museum

Herreshoff Marine Museum

Bristol, RI
4.6 out of 5 rating, 20 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.6 out of 5 rating
4.6 out of 5 rating
20 Reviews
92% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

20
Weddingwire
4.6/5 20 reviews
Google
4.8/5 161 reviews
  • Katie
    Katie H. Sent on 10/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous and unique waterfront venue!

    I can't say enough great things about Elsie (the venue manager) and this venue. I knew about the Herreshoff but hadn't really though much about it for my wedding until we happened to pop in last September after a full weekend of venue hunting in Newport. I immediately fell in love with the incredibly beautiful waterfront setting, the unique Hall of Boats and the laid back atmosphere. It felt like us and Elsie was so welcoming and knowledgable from the start.

    Planning a wedding is stressful but planning a wedding cross-country is even harder. Elsie was great to work with always with a fast response and inviting me to come see other weddings that were taking place when I was home for planning so I could get a feel for the day.

    When it comes to the actual wedding day it was PERFECT! Our ceremony was on the dock, our cocktail hour in the Hall of Boats and our reception in the tent. All of our guests were commenting on how cool the venue was. Ben and I had the most fun at our wedding and enjoyed every second. Ben especially when he got to fire the cannon at the start of the reception. :)

    If you are looking for a water front venue in Rhode Island seriously consider the Herreshoff. It was everything we wanted and more!
  • K
    Kaleigh C. Sent on 08/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely amazing!

    Elsie and Jen from the Herreshoff were the sweetest and most accommodating ladies. We loved this beautiful harborside venue! Shooting the cannon was the highlight of our night. :) Highly recommend for a beautiful summer night event!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Katie Sent on 11/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful and unique setting!

    We stumbled upon the Herreshoff Marine Museum after searching high and low for a venue that wouldn't feel like a typical wedding setting. Upon meeting their events manager, Elsie, we nearly signed the contract on the spot. Elsie was such a joy to work with during the six months that we planned our day. We didn't have a coordinator, so Elsie helped us with a lot more than she needed to and we couldn't have been more grateful to her for that. I trusted her immensely and followed her advice whenever she suggested something because she's overseen dozens of events here. The spaces at the Herreshoff are very flexible for whatever kind of day you're planning. We ended up having a colder day in October, so the morning of our wedding, we decided to move our ceremony inside to the Hall of Boats instead of getting married out on the dock. We then had our cocktail hour and reception inside the tent and we couldn't be happier with how everything turned out. The Herreshoff asks that you work with one of their preferred catering vendors (which I honestly welcomed, since vetting vendors was sometimes the hardest part of planning), but really lets you work with whatever other vendors you'd like. I'm not the most creative person, so we really didn't do anything to the space and it turned out beautiful. With that being said, if you're looking for a blank canvas, the Herreshoff can absolutely be that as well! All in all, we're so happy that we found Elsie and the Herreshoff.

    Herreshoff Marine Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much!! We loved celebrating with you. Hope you're having a wonderful year and remember to stop by next time you're in town!
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 10/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Herreshoff Marine Museum was the perfect and most nautical spot to get married. The surrouding views of the Bay and the sunset make for a stunning setting to tie the knot. The museum itself is a sailboat/ocean/nautical lovers paradise. It was such a unique and memorable place to begin the rest of our lives with the ones we love.
    We were married and June and our guest are still raving about how beautiful fun and unique our wedding was. We wish we could do it over and over again!
    We did not have to worry about a single thing because the even cordinator was experienced and very professional.

    Herreshoff Marine Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much!! We hope you're having a wonderful year and that you stop by around your anniversary! Congratulations, again.
  • K
    Kylee-Rae Sent on 08/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Herreshoff was the venue of our dreams. We got married on the pier and then drove off on the boat Latitude. The site coordinator Meg was phenomenal! She went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect and was exceptional at coordinating all the vendors. This views at the Herreshoff speak for themselves.
  • User2183057 Sent on 06/16/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We knew this was our venue during our first visit. We wanted to get married by the water, so we were so glad to find this place. It's a beautiful venue that can be tailored for a simple or elaborate wedding. It was the perfect choice for our daytime spring wedding. The tent is so spacious, and Naragansett Bay provided a beautiful backdrop for our ceremony. To top it off, the site coordinator, Liz, was so wonderful to work with. She was so responsive and always gave me a heads up about her availability (i.e., phone unavailable, away for the weekend) which was incredibly helpful! She's also really helpful, made suggestions when appropriate, and offered creative solutions for some of our dilemmas. We wouldn't have chosen the venue if we didn't love the staff. Wonderful experience overall!
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 08/04/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Herreshoff is a complete hidden gem. My husband and I came across it in the middle of winter on a snowy grey day, and we knew it was the spot for us. When we came back in the spring, when the tent was up I broke down in tears. The beauty of this venue is above and beyond any place we had ever seen. Liz the wedding coordinator there is a wedding guru, she could plan a wedding with her eyes closed. She gave us so many ideas, and helped us out with whatever we needed. Her attention to detail shows and the day of our wedding I didn't have to lift a finger, and knew I need not worry, she took care of everything. The beauty of Herreshoff is unlike other venues who only allow specific vendors, we were allowed to choose anything and everything we wanted. This is such a plus for a bride because it really allows for any budget. We could have had a $200k or $10k wedding there, no matter what it would have been beautiful. Coming from a bride that reached the end of the internet researching venues, this place blew them all away. If you are looking for an ocean side tented venue that allows you to create the day of your dreams, look no further. Herreshoff gave us a jaw dropping wedding.
  • A
    Abigail Sent on 01/07/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Maggie the event coordinator is amazing at what she does and was so nice. She had many helpful ideas. She also went above and beyond to make me and my husband be stress free on our day. Herreshoff Museum is a beautiful place to have any event.
  • C
    Charlotte Sent on 01/16/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Maggie was a great help throughout our rehearsal dinner and she and her staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.
  • User1494998 Sent on 01/04/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our rehearsal dinner here at the museum and it was perfect. Our guests loved the ambience and New England charm. The history of the boat hall was a constant conversation starter, and later our family and friends couldn't wait to explore the museum. Maggie was always responsive and willing to help make our dinner an event that was special for us. She went above and beyond to accommodate all of our personalization and requests so that the night was uniquely ours. We couldn't imagine now having had it anywhere else.
  • J
    Julie Sent on 10/01/2018
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot say enough about how amazing our wedding at Herreshoff was! From the beginning we knew this was a perfect venue for us and Elsie was an absolute pleasure to work with
    . She was there to answer any question I had and I had many! Having grown up in RI I was worried a waterfront wedding would be unreasonable however Herreshoff is a fantastic value. It is stunning and you get huge amounts of space both on the docks and under the tent. The entire staff is easy to work with and incredibly accommodating. We had a clambake rehearsal dinner in the hall of boats, rented the peacock alley house for the weekend and had an outdoor ceremony/cocktail hour with reception under the tent. Having the house next to the venue rented made the weekend beyond perfect. We were able to have the bridesmaids get ready there and also use it as a "home base". This means the groomsmen got use of the bridal suite and it made pictures beyond easy as we were all in one location. Words cannot describe the whole weekend properly, we wish we could go back and do it all again! Thank you Elsie and Herreshoff for the wedding of our dreams!

    Herreshoff Marine Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much!! We loved celebrating with you. Hope you're having a wonderful year and remember to stop by next time you're in town!
  • H
    Haley Sent on 08/23/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Such a unique and beautiful venue! We got nothing but compliments from our guests about the museum itself (I highly recommend booking it with the venue to add to a cool experience!) and the beautiful ocean view. It poured on the day of our wedding, so we had our ceremony in the museum. My husband and I got married on the Harvard Launch boat with our guests watching from below or from the balcony, which was so cool and unique and fun. Then the cocktail hour was in the museum and the guests had a great time climbing on the boats and enjoying the rich history. Finally our reception was in the tent at the dock, and the Herreshoff did a great job making sure that my guests were covered by constantly adjusting the tent flaps. Eventually the sun came out and all my guests were wowed by the beautiful sunset. My only complaint was that sometimes it was a little hard to get in touch with Elsie, the coordinator, but the week before she was very quick to respond, so at least that was good haha. If you are looking for a unique amazing venue that will wow your guests, then I highly suggest this place, even if you aren't a sailor!

    Herreshoff Marine Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much!! We loved celebrating with you. Hope you're having a wonderful year and remember to stop by next time you're in town!
  • User2107000 Sent on 04/23/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was a great venue... and mother nature at the last minute came through with some sun! The boats were the perfect backdrop for our wedding and venue needed little additional decoration. The staff were flexible in helping us lay-out and set-up the venue. Their intern who set-up and ran our sound system was amazing! And the ability to have a separate space to get ready in and to have kids watched was an added benefit. For someone looking for a non-traditional fun space for a wedding I would definitely recommend the Herreshoff.
  • W
    W. Sent on 01/12/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Bristol's 4th of July Ball, 2013, was held at this venue. They were very accommodating, helpful and always available to answer questions or assist in any way possible. We would consider Herreshoff Marine Museum as a venue for the other events and/or Ball.
  • User2387502 Sent on 10/24/2015
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Stunning reception location. It had the perfect New England/Nautical/Preppy feel we were looking for. Merry was exceptional to work with. She was responsive to all our demanding emails before our wedding. Our guests were thrilled and really enjoy the waterfront tent.
  • User2727887 Sent on 08/16/2016
    4.1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing place to get married! We started with cocktail hour in the museum, then a ceremony on the dock, then the reception under the tent. Perfect! Would also recommend renting the Peacock Alley house next door (owned by the Herreshoff) for the weekend
  • K
    Kenneth Sent on 01/11/2014
    4.1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a small graduation party for my daughter. Although we were a small event, the staff at The Herrishoff was very helpfull and even used they own music system to provid us music. We used a third party caterer and the coordination with The Herreshoff was excellent (from both sides). We would certainly use them again.
  • K
    Kara Sent on 09/25/2016
    3.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    I'll start off by saying we had a beautiful wedding at the Herreshoff this September! You cannot beat the views especially for the price that you pay. You can basically decorate the tent however you want which makes it easy to put your own personality into it.

    We did run into issues in terms of the organization of the Herreshoff. In the year leading up to the wedding we had three different coordinators, which unfortunately meant things we were promised originally we were told they couldn't do down the road. My only advice would be to definitely consider hiring your own Day-Of coordinator to keep on top of things - otherwise, great choice!
  • C
    C Sent on 09/10/2018
    1.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    I had a bad experience with the event coordinator. Priority is to book as many events as possible. One event was booked prior to ours. It delayed setup for our wedding. A lunch rehearsal was booked inside the museum during our setup. Guests who arrived early had trouble finding parking for the ceremony. Most of her time was spent at this rehearsal or her office and briefly made an appearance at our event. It seemed like she was avoiding us. She blamed everyone else for a chaotic setup, did the least amount of work possible, and gave no apology.
    She claims it’s normal for setup to be chaotic. This was unorganized chaos, not organized chaos-there’s a difference. She blamed me for hiring someone to help setup. She took this opportunity to leave instead of staying on-site to help answer questions. If I didn’t hire someone to help, it would have been worse. You don’t book two events to overlap and help BOTH clients.
    She blamed me for not having a dinner rehearsal. She claims she needed to tell me important information at rehearsal but because we didn’t have one, she didn’t-Instead of telling me months or even a week in advance, not the night before a wedding.
    Her tasks were to ensure the correct number of tables were available. Cocktail tables were missing. I had to call her office to ask for them and she still sent the wrong amount. Her task was to setup a decorative boat. It was put in the wrong place even though I gave her a floor plan. She recommended the wrong vendor for a flat dance floor. The dance floor was 6 inches high. Luckily no guests fell or hurt themselves. It was her responsibility to attach tent walls in case it got too windy. She blamed the caterer. Glasses kept shattering to the floor.
    She sent an assistant down and didn’t introduce us to her or tell us she was doing that. But she did have time to bring prospective clients down to look at the venue during setup..then disappeared again.


    Herreshoff Marine Museum's reply:

    Dear C,
    We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with the hard work of our team to help your caterer and event planner to organize on your wedding day. As our venue coordinator stated in emails to both you and your event planner prior to your wedding day, our role is to ensure that your venue is clean and ready to go for the time of your ceremony, which it was. You opted not to do a rehearsal which is your choice, but we did highly recommend this in order to make sure your day went smoothly. We have also allowed you to choose a caterer outside our Preferred Vendor's List. I know that it can be difficult when there are different vendors working on separate aspects of your event, but our coordinator and her team went above and beyond to step in and to help when situations came up and when your caterer was understaffed and unprepared. In fact, the caterer called us afterward to apologize. Generally, your “day-of” event planner and the caterer would have handled every aspect of the wedding day. Our coordinator was on site the entire event, routinely visiting the waterfront, checking the facility, and checking in with your coordinator. That said, we never want a bride to be unhappy with her wedding day, and I am so sorry that you have less than perfect memories of this special day. We wish you all the best and congratulations.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message