14 Reviews for Herman & Luther's

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Uncovered Outdoor (4)
In-House Catering (4)
Buffet (4)
Cocktail Reception (4)
Hors d'Oeuvres (4)
Tastings (4)
Barware (4)
Glassware (4)
Linens (4)
Parking (4)
Clean Up (3)
China (3)
Flatware (3)
Wheelchair Access (3)
Set Up (2)
Server(s) (2)
Bridal Suite (1)
Plated (1)
14 Herman & Luther's Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Becky and the staff at Herman & Luther's were amazing and so accommodating! Loved working with them and we had a great event... it is a perfect venue for any event!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture stefanie, 9/16/17, 1 Review
Category: Unique Services (Other)
5.0

The day that my husband and I got engaged, we both knew that we wanted to get married at Herman & Luther's. This stunning barn is rustic with modern amenities- equipped with heating/air conditioning and plumbing (this is RARE for such a historic venue). Becky (events director) and George (chef extraordinaire) worked with us to make our day flow seamlessly and filled it with AMAZING food. It was brilliant to see the renovations incorporated from the time we booked Herman & Luther’s to our wedding day (chandeliers, shed-turned-bridal suite, and open-air kitchen to name a few!). We opted to book the bridal suite, which was one of the best decisions we could have made. It was the perfect space to enjoy the company of our close friends and family while we got ready for the day on-site. Our ceremony and reception were both held at the barn. The ceremony was scheduled to take place outside in the field, but the day called for rain; so we moved under the tent. It was wonderful to have the option to have an open-air ceremony (weather-permitting) or to have a tent-covered ceremony. The food though…absolutely impeccable! George worked with us to create a gluten-free menu I could enjoy with options for our vegan guests as well. The staff was wonderful, courteous, prompt, and caring. We thoroughly believe that whether you are local or looking for a destination wedding, Herman & Luther’s is the best choice for a venue!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Henna, 8/12/17, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Becky and George were absolutely wonderful! They made this day so special! The wedding day I pictures growing up doesn't even compare to what I actually had. Thank you for everything!

Profile Picture Jesse, 7/1/17, 1 Review
Category: Unique Services (Other)
5.0

Herman and Luther's was a magical place for our daughter's wedding. The delicious food was prepared to perfection. Becky and George went out of their way to make the entire experience special. The other employees were professional and hardworking. The historic barn is much more than just a barn! It's rustic elegance makes it breathtaking. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. We would highly recommend this venue for any special event!

Profile Picture Marla, 6/24/17, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Our wedding at Herman and Luther's was absolutely a dream come true. The venue is beautiful and the staff is so great to work with. The communication is outstanding and they work with you in order to make the day perfect. I can't say enough about the quality of the venue and the staff members that work there!! Oh, and the food is ridiculously outstanding. Everyone kept saying it was some of the best wedding good they have ever had. We also had comments from wedding guests stating how smoothly everything went and how it was one of the most beautiful venues they have ever seen! Overall, it was the best experience possible.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Erin, 6/17/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The entire staff is very professional , they go above and beyond to satisfy your every need . Food is amazing . Becky goes above and beyond . Thank you for giving me my dream wedding .

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Lourdes, 6/3/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Herman and Luther's is such a beautiful venue but beyond that the staff is so wonderful to work with. I always had someone there to answer my questions throughout the process. To top it off, George and the other chefs make some of the most incredible food I've ever had. My wedding was perfect. I wouldn't have wanted my big day to have been celebrated anywhere else!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Kira, 5/28/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The staff was fantastic and so accomdating! The food was amazing. The venue is beautiful and they continue to add small touches making the venue even better. I would get married here all over again.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Heather, 5/6/17, 1 Review
Category: Unique Services (Other)
5.0

They were very easy to work with and accommodated all of our needs. The venue itself is gorgeous and the food was fantastic.

Profile Picture Aaron, 4/22/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Herman & Luther's is without a doubt the most beautiful setting to have a wedding. We did our ceremony on the grass next to the field & the reception inside. We also used the bonfire in the evening! The venue coordinator was very helpful and made sure every detail was taken care of. She was able to accomodate our busy schedules to take care of all our needs. The food is amazing as well, and the staff was very personable. Guests couldn't stop commenting on how beautiful the venue & scenery were. Truly worth every penny!

Profile Picture Tiffany, 4/15/17, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Server(s), Tastings, Bridal Suite, Clean Up, In-House Catering, Set Up, Uncovered Outdoor, Parking
5.0

Our wedding planning experience was perfect in every way. The staff showed such pride in their work & attended to every detail. Herman & Luther's menu is varied and the food is simply SPECTACULAR! If you visualize your wedding day in a magical spot where your guests will be treated to fabulous food & impeccable service, Herman & Luther's is your very best choice!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Maribeth, 4/8/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4

Wow! The beauty of this barn still takes my breath away. This barn is so much more than just a barn. It has been a part of Montoursville, PA for over 200 years. Parts of the barn have been restored while others are original. It is the perfect blend of old and new creating sense of beauty and elegance, perfect for a wedding. The beauty will leave all of your guests in awe the minute they walk up the stairs. Our guests could not stop complimenting our venue.
We had our ceremony and reception at Herman and Luther's Barn. Our ceremony was held out in the field past the fire pit. It was perfect weather for a perfect day. However the staff worked with us to create a back-up plan in case the weather was not as we had hoped. Following our ceremony, our cocktail hour was held on the opposite side of the barn and our reception was held inside the barn. The barn is temperature controlled which allowed for all of guests to be comfortable even on a warm summer day.
The food was delicious! Everything was cooked perfectly. Our only regret is that we wished we had more time to savor the food as we ate it.
The staff was wonderful to work with. The were easy to communicate with and very responsive to e-mails. We worked with Chris and Becky during our engagement and both willingly gave us their phone numbers to text them as needed for wedding questions. George worked with us a lot too. The staff is very laid back and is willing to work with to help create the vision you want for your special day. Everyone we talked to at the barn was welcoming and willing to help whenever we needed it. During our reception, the staff went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed all night long.
Our wedding was absolutely perfect and we can thank Herman and Luther's for a big part of that.

Profile Picture Kelsey, 6/17/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'Oeuvres, Server(s), Tastings, Clean Up, In-House Catering, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Uncovered Outdoor, Barware, Glassware, Linens
4.1

Beautiful venue with delicious food. The food Staff and bartenders the day of the event were excellent. Staff even brought hors d'oeuvres out on trays during pictures since we couldn't attend cocktail hour. Overall the wedding was wonderful but there were minor bumps along the road. We booked two years in advance and a change in staff caused a lot of headaches when a simple meeting could have been arranged to explain the situation. While in the middle of our outdoor rehearsal a staff member came up to us and said we need to get all of our personal belongings out of the barn because they were going to close the door in 10 minutes, we were never told that we were only allotted a certain amount of time. Our ceremony was in the grassy part of the field like we had planned on and when we got there to set up the grass was not mowed our family had to take a lawn mower and mow the grass the day of the wedding. Inside, the table cloths were not ironed and showed all of the creases from being folded. We were told on numerous occasions that our head table would be served while the rest of our guests would go through the buffet line, this was not the case the day of the wedding, the head table had to get up and go through the line which felt very strange in a wedding dress. A timeline was given on when payments were due and when we asked to have a final bill 2 weeks before the event we were told that they would be too busy and we would get it a some point. The time we received the bill was during our event towards the end of the night after everyone had been dancing and drinking. We easily could have settled the bill the week before, the day before, or even the morning of the wedding. The next day after reviewing the bill with a clear mind there were additional charges on it that we were told were included such as the benches for the outdoor ceremony. We were also charged for more meals than we had originally stated.

Profile Picture Rachel , 6/10/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: In-House Catering, Uncovered Outdoor, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'Oeuvres, Tastings, Parking, Wheelchair Access