Henderson Beach State Park Reviews

28 | Destin, FL
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for Henderson Beach State Park

Recommended by 95%

28
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

20 User photos

Henderson Beach State Park 1
Henderson Beach State Park 2
Henderson Beach State Park 3
Henderson Beach State Park 4
Henderson Beach State Park 5
Henderson Beach State Park 6
Henderson Beach State Park 7
+ 14
Sort by:
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 11/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Breathtaking!

    Our wedding ceremony and reception was held here on 11/11/18. The park is beautiful and well taken care of. We worked with Anne Diaz throughout the process and she was a sweetheart. There were no complaints, and it is a very affordable (but still elegant) setting for a beach wedding celebration!

    Sent on 11/14/2018
  • Julie

    Julie Borns · Married on 10/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything we expected and more!

    My husband and I are so happy we chose Henderson State Park Beach for our wedding venue. The dunes, wildlife, emerald ocean water and amazing sunset provided us a beautiful and tranquil atmosphere for our wedding day. When I walked down the boardwalk I was in awe of the beauty that was before me. Not only was I marring the man I love dearly, but I was in a majestic place that was beautiful beyond words. The beach was absolutely stunning! Our guests are still complimenting us on our beautiful wedding. They loved it as much as we did!
    If you are considering a beach wedding, Henderson State Park will not disappoint! Anna Marie is exceptional to work with. Our wedding was less than a week after Hurrican Michael and she made sure our day was perfect. My husband and I have decided to spend our one year anniversary at the Henderson State Park Inn. We left a piece of our hearts there and plan to return in celebration of our love!

    Sent on 10/29/2018
    Henderson Beach State Park 10
    Henderson Beach State Park 11
    Henderson Beach State Park 12
    Henderson Beach State Park 13
    Henderson Beach State Park 14
    Henderson Beach State Park 15
    Henderson Beach State Park 16
    Henderson Beach State Park 17
  • M

    Miranda · Married on 10/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Beach Wedding Venue

    Our wedding was everything we wanted and more. We didn’t know exactly what to expect, as our wedding ended up being scheduled for the week of Hurricane Michael. Anne Marie kept us up to date on beach and weather conditions and made adjustments to make sure our wedding went on as planned. What was a stressful week of unknowns due to the hurricane, turned out to be well worth it, as the wedding itself turned out beautifully. The beach and pavilions make for perfect sites for a destination beach wedding and reception. We thoroughly enjoyed our wedding and have received tons of compliments on how beautiful of an event it was. I would highly recommended this venue to all brides! Thanks again for everything!

    Sent on 10/24/2018
  • H

    Heather · Married on 05/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The location was beautiful and perfect. Anne Marie, the site coordinator, was always very helpful. Having a sectioned-off area of the beach made sure we had great photos!

    Sent on 05/12/2017
  • Andrea

    Andrea · Married on 03/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful park with a beautiful view!

    Sent on 03/31/2017
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used the park for my beach wedding and reception on 10/15/16, we used pavilion E and we loved having our wedding ceremony on the beach in front of the pavilion and then walking up to the pavilion for the reception, the beach is absolutely gorgeous and the staff at the state park were awesome!

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • K

    Keisha · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Henderson Beach was a beautiful setting for our wedding. It was an absolutely gorgeous day, the park is so nice. Anne was very helpful and made it so easy to book our spot. The park staff were very friendly. Very happy we chose Henderson Beach State Park!

    Sent on 10/15/2016
  • C

    chelsea · Married on 04/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful wedding venue and reception. All in one place!

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • D

    Donna · Married on 05/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ms. Caroline at Henderson Beach State Park was very helpful in making sure we had the exact location on the beach for our wedding. Quiet and secluded. Thank you for making our day special.

    Sent on 07/26/2015
  • User4373582 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Carolyn is a sweetheart and works hard with you to create a seamless and easy venue for your wedding! Was the perfect setting and received my deposit back promptly. They are wonderful!

    Sent on 02/20/2015
  • P

    paige · Married on 05/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service. Very prompt return of deposit check.

    Sent on 05/22/2015
  • User3408981 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The pavilion was outstanding with the view of the ocean. A excellent place to be married at.

    Sent on 10/14/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at Henderson Beach was amazing. We booked sight unseen, and were NOT disappointed. The day before the wedding we went to go see where our wedding would be held and told them this, and they didn't charge us to go spend the day there. It was very clean. The area where our wedding was held was away from other people, and was very private, even though it was located at a state park. The staff was very friendly, and the ranger kept their distance although while doing her job... They didn't give anyone problems getting in, and there was plenty of space so that no one was crowded in the pavilion we held our reception in.

    Sent on 08/03/2013
  • C

    Celesta · Married on 01/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Breathtaking and plenty of parking.... Highly recommended.

    Sent on 01/24/2011
  • Cynthia

    Cynthia · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our beach wedding on 10-10 at 10am so we went the night before and took sunset pictures. We arrived a little early the morning of the ceremony to pick out site, which was no problem at all. This area of the beach has sea oats and dunes and very little commercial bulildings are visible, so it made for great pictures.

    Sent on 10/17/2010
  • PrattKara

    Kara · Married on 07/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked our wedding through Barefoot Weddings in Fort Walton Beach and chose Henderson Beach State Park. Our wedding was a 7pm start and there was no one on the beach, and the company we booked through had the beach area cleaned up and ready to go an hour prior. All in all, great location.

    Sent on 08/05/2010
  • L

    Lupe · Married on 12/22/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I loved the place and Anne was great the pavillion was great size for my event .

    Sent on 12/29/2017
    Henderson Beach State Park 18
  • R

    Rona · Married on 05/29/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pavilion F at Henderson Beach was a perfect location for our day! It was at the end of all the pavilions so it felt remote and secluded and perfectly private! And the pavilion turned out beautifully when it was decorated. It was a great choice for a great day!

    Sent on 05/30/2012
  • M

    Matt Jones · Married on 10/20/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Beach area for weddings

    Anne Marie did a magnificent job in helping us plan and execute our beach wedding. It was perfect. Easy to get it in and out of also. Zero complaints! Thank you again

    Sent on 11/01/2018
  • User6870175 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a destination wedding April 8, 2017. The site coordinator was excellent. She made sure I had what I needed all the way up to the day of the wedding. It was such a beautiful beach and pavilion.

    Sent on 04/15/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/06/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This park is gorgeous! Being a budget-conscious bride, Henderson Beach State Park was the perfect option for having a beachfront wedding, without breaking the bank. We loved being able to have our ceremony and reception outdoors within steps of each other, with the beach as a beautiful backdrop for all our photos. Anne Marie at the park was very accommodating and talked us through all the finer details and special requests. We had our reception in Pavilion F, and it was the perfect backdrop for our vintage, beachy vibe. The only two bummers about the park are that all guests must be out by 10PM, so there's no option of extending the party into the night if everyone is going strong (we just started everything early to get around this), and no alcohol can be served until sundown (no way around this one). But, for the price, we were willing to live with those concessions. Oh, and the picnic tables could use a good pressure washing. Otherwise, dreamy.

    Sent on 10/12/2017
    Henderson Beach State Park 19
    Henderson Beach State Park 20
    Henderson Beach State Park 21
    Henderson Beach State Park 22
    Henderson Beach State Park 23
    Henderson Beach State Park 24
    Henderson Beach State Park 25
    Henderson Beach State Park 26
    Henderson Beach State Park 27
  • User3361383 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    the location was perfect. everything I could have dreamed of for my special day. the only thing that was disappointing was the fact that in my original contract it did not say anything about the price of removal of the picnic tables. when I told them I wanted the tables removed they then sent me a copy of the updated contract that had the price included which was 500$$. I tried to explain to her our signed contract did not state anywhere about this fee. the lady basically said there were no buts about it if we wanted the tables removed it would cost 500$$. well that was way to much just to remove tables. so we stayed with the picnic tables. we had no problems with other people coming in our area the park rangers made sure it was a private event and made sure everyone knew where to go to out wedding!! I could not have picked a better place!!!

    Sent on 12/15/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 05/22/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The park is beautiful. At 6pm there ended up being still a lot of beach goers on the beach so we had a lot of spectators nevertheless all were respectfull and moved prior to the ceremony to watch from a distance. The day was beautiful and just as imagined. The friends of the park were easy to work with and I got my deposit back with no problem.

    Sent on 06/08/2010
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 10/10/2009

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Overall, everything was great! We wanted a low key outside venue that allowed us to have our own alcohol. Thankfully, we did not have any rain issues, but that is something to consider when booking as there are no other options. If you want a low key venue, this is the place to choose. You cannot set up a tent on the beach and there are other rules because it is a state park, so definitely ask important questions before booking!

    Another thing to consider before booking this venue is that you have to rent additional time for set up. Also, there are no planners or staff, so everything is do it yourself. We ended up paying people to help us set up so that no family or friends had to help! All of those little things add up in overall costs, so this venue is best for small gatherings. It was a beautiful though and we had a great time!

    Sent on 10/29/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review