Skip to main content
Weddings

Hazelnut Catering Reviews

Hazelnut Catering View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
10 Reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

10
  • E
    Jordan T. Sent on 07/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tinsley Wedding

    Saying Nick and his team are excellent is an understatement of how extraordinary they are. With no one helping us plan for the wedding, we were a little worried about overpaying or getting more stressed out when we thought about getting a caterer; however, with Nick, not only did he provide a fantastic course for our wedding day, but he also helped us with the whole process, even down to our wedding day timeline, alcohol quantities, wedding day advice, and more. He was able to answer our questions quickly. It felt like we were part of the team and not just another client during the whole process. This brings me to the staff. Everyone seemed to love their job; they talked to the guests and were friendly, and the bartenders were so much fun! Honestly, the staff seemed more like a family with Nick than just staff, which improved the environment. My favorite part was they ensured that my wife and I were all taken care of, offering to get us more drinks and food, bringing out the meal to us, and more. With Nick and the team, our night and planning were stress-free. I would recommend them for every wedding.
  • Abby
    Abby C. Sent on 11/26/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious!

    The food from Nick and team on our wedding day was delicious! Our guests raved about it as well. My husband and I love very flavorful food and we received exactly that. Nick exclusively works with PBG which made it very easy to coordinate logistics. We were also able to taste a selection of his food prior to our wedding day as well. His team day of was great as well!
  • K
    Katelyn M. Sent on 12/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Nick and his team deliver nothing but excellence

    Of all the vendors at a wedding, the caterer bears one of the heaviest planning burdens as a sort of microcosm of the larger wedding. Everyone must be made happy without going overboard on budget, individual needs must be handled where they arise, and there is always seemingly One More Thing that must be done.

    For some venues/caterers, this is achieved through pushing a middling common denominator of staid classics like rubbery chicken Cordon Bleu or questionable poached salmon. I am happy to report that Nick and his team deliver nothing but excellent, wonderfully cooked food that pleases everyone without sacrificing quality or delivering anything bland. The fare is light, incredibly flavorful, and something we would absolutely go out of our way to eat outside of a catered event. We had a mix of steak tips with Chimichuri and marinated chicken alongside a delicious mix of grilled vegetables and rice. Full marks all around!

    While the food was delicious, working with Nick was possibly even better. He and his team work with Pittsburgh Botanic Garden enough to have the entire catering process for the venue down to a finely tuned, well-[olive] oiled machine. Various logistical details that would need to be coordinated manually with other vendors are miraculously taken care of without so much as a word. Even with all its finely tuned efficiency, Hazelnut is particularly adept at handling special requests and making sure every detail is in order. We had some cookies that needed refrigeration separate from the rest and a handful of specific dietary restrictions, all of which were handled with a simple email or call. The attendants and bartenders were excellent and attentive to everyone’s needs. The bartenders were very adept at preparing cocktails of any sort and were able to keep a fairly discerning crowd pleased!

    On top of everything, the total cost was incredibly reasonable- especially compared to the per-plate cost for other approved caterers at PBG.

    If you like Good Food, Good Drinks and making sure your party has the best meal possible for your event you cannot go wrong with Hazelnut. It was a pleasure to deal with such consummate professionals who work with confidence and a practiced hand. If you’re planning a wedding or another event at PBG, do yourself a favor and worry about a million fewer things by choosing Hazelnut Catering.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Rachel
    Rachel P. Sent on 06/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Nick is the best!!

    Nick is truly so easy to work with and takes the stress away from your day. The whole process was so easy with him and he was always responsive and helpful. He helped with the alcohol count and even brought the kegs for us.

    And the food was AMAZING!!! Every single person said how much the loved the food and actually enjoyed the wedding food. Every thing from the steak to the chicken and grilled veggies was perfectly done and delicious. The buffet style was so easy and we had our guests seated and finished dinner in less than an hour.

    Nick also does a great job at organizing the day making things run smoothly. He helps announce things and works very well with the DJ and event coordinators. We cannot recommend him enough!!!
  • Christina
    Christina Sent on 10/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceeded all of our expectations!

    Not even sure where to start -- so many good things to say! Nick was SO easy to work with and made our wedding planning go SO much more smoothly than it would have if we had chosen any other caterer. Not only did he help us with planning our food, but also with so many other aspects of the day that we would have been clueless about without him. He was so flexible about giving us exactly what we wanted, and the way they prepare a separate plate for the bride and groom and serve you makes it so much less stressful and ensures that you actually get a chance to eat in the midst of saying hi to everyone! More than anything, every guest commented on how delicious the food was. This was so important to us after having been to weddings where food is mediocre or you just don't get enough to eat. Everyone went back for seconds and even thirds. Would choose him again and again if I could, and would recommend to anyone and everyone that wants a low-stress, incredible caterer!
  • K
    Kinsey C. Sent on 03/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Absolute Best!

    I planned my wedding in 4 months and needed a vendor who would take little direction and do most of the heavy lifting for me. Nick and his team at Hazelnut Catering far surpassed my expectations. Most importantly, the food is out of this world fantastic. I had so many guests tell me how much they enjoyed the appetizers and dinner. Nick suggested a menu, I tasted the food, and the rest was history. It really was that easy. His staff was professional, prompt, and just made everything happen. Nick really provides a personal experience and made this the easiest part of my wedding planning process. If you are getting married at the Pittsburgh Botanic Gardens, I highly recommend reaching out to Hazelnut Catering!
  • L
    Leah Sent on 06/30/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hazelnut Catering catered our May wedding and Nick was amazing! No contract required but Nick will follow through and deliver! He was incredibly responsive with any questions and details during the planning process. His food at the wedding was delicious and our guests loved everything. We loved everything! They set aside a generous plate for us of the apps and entrees. His team of servers and bartender were very professional and fun! They came up to us discretly throughout to ensure everything was timed as preferred and were incredibly friendly. Nick is also so personable and accomodating. One of the major highlights of our wedding was the food. We absolutely loved the catering and experience!
  • User2616456 Sent on 05/21/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Nick, the owner, is great to work with. He is super flexible and easygoing. It seemed strange that he did not require us to sign any contract, but he came through with everything he promised and more. The food at our wedding reception was amazing. Out of all details that went into planning our wedding, we got the most compliments on the food from guests. Our shuttle bus coming from the hotel to the reception was over an hour late, and Nick quickly checked in with us and came up with a new schedule. He and his staff adjusted timing for dinner etc., and everything continued to run smoothly thanks to his help.
  • M
    Maia Sent on 08/15/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious, fresh food and friendly service

    We are really glad we went with Hazelnut Catering for our April 2019 wedding. Nick and his team were all super friendly and delightful to work with. The food was super fresh, healthy, and delicious, and served right on schedule. Nick was great at walking us through different options while also staying flexible with a few specific requests we had. For the quality of the food and ease of service, I felt Hazelnut offered good value. Nick is very busy and occasionally would take a little bit to get back to me, but overall communication and professionalism was great.
  • Janelle
    Janelle Sent on 09/08/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hazelnut was recommended to us by our venue, the Botanic Gardens--we weren't super familiar with caterers in the area, so we needed some direction. I'm so glad they sent us to Nick! He was really nice, easy to work with, and he has super sweet dogs. He could be a little slow to reach by e-mail, but he always get back to us quickly if we texted or called. His cost is super reasonable, especially for the quality, and his menu is a bit different from traditional wedding fare in the area, which was exactly what we wanted and our guests loved it. Of all the compliments we received, the food was high on the list of things we heard about the most. His bartenders were fantastic, as well, and seemed to have a great time dancing behind the bar. Plus they made me some great drinks and kept them coming! I'm so glad we chose Nick and Hazelnut catering.