Have Smoke Will Travel Reviews

26 | Pittsburgh, PA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Have Smoke Will Travel

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

26
Order by:
  • M

    Mike S · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just celebrated our wedding this August, we had the support of Joanne, and her wonderful staff. Upon the conclusion of our big day I can not even begin to state how many compliments we had received for our food. We had our wedding at Irons Mill Farmstead (barn venue) and I our food complimented the venue perfectly. Everything was exceptional and I can not say enough good things about this caterer. We did have inconsistencies from time to time in our communications, however, everything was handled extremely professionally and to our satisfaction. Every business may have these things occur, how they handle those concerns really gives you a reflection of what you truly receiving for service!

    Sent on 09/14/2016
  • User4040972 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Have Smoke Will Travel Catered my Wedding in May 2015 and they were absolutely fabulous! Not only were they give the most professional service leading up to the wedding with great follow-up, recommendations and spot on recommendations, but the food was amazing, in particular the brisket (oh my gosh, the brisket).I've heard nothing but compliments about the food since. I highly recommend.- Mandi P.

    Sent on 06/22/2015
  • User4366676 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous food and even better customer service! We loved this caterer and so did our guests! Will definitely be coming back for more!! BEST IN THE 'BURGH!

    Sent on 09/01/2014
  • User3394505 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a rustic/barn wedding, and the food went well with our theme. All of the food and drinks were absolutely delicious, and we received nothing but compliments. I am a vegetarian, and my family is far from it. They were able to please everyone.

    HSWT even prepped and did all cooking on site. It was fabulous!

    They were extremely flexible with us. For example, they agreed to color my lemonade to match my color scheme, let my friend make the appetizers, and cut my cake (even though I didn't know to put that in the contract).

    If you opt for a buffet style, they'll leave the buffet up long enough to allow everyone to enjoy seconds. Once everyone has had their fill, they'll cool down the rest of the food for you to take home.

    My husband and I highly recommend this caterer.

    Sent on 07/15/2013
  • S

    sheri · Married on 12/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If anyone looking for great food and not your typical boring wedding food than you have to concider this company. Me and my husband were so grateful for everything. The food was outstanding and the rest of the staff were great. they made sure that we (bridal party) got a plate of appetizers and a cocktail while we were close by getting pictures taken. Thank you chef Andy & crew!

    Sent on 01/09/2013
  • K

    K · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased with Have Smoke Will Travel. Initially they sat down with us and helped us to create a menu that was appropriate for an outdoor/indoor wedding with several vegetarians attending. They made suggestions and blended menu options for us. They were always available to answer our questions by email or by phone. The week of the wedding Joann came out early in the week to confirm their setup. On the day of the wedding everything went smoothly and on time and we received raves about their food from the plentiful, freshly made hor d'ouerves to the soooo delicious pulled pork and penne pasta with roasted vegetables.

    Sent on 08/29/2012
  • P

    Palma · Married on 07/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Have Smoke Will Travel/The Crying Onion on this website and I was very fortunate. We were looking for someone to do a pig roast for my son's graduation and really had no references. From the first phone call with Joanne to the clean up, this company was excellent!! I suggested a tasting to calm my concerns regarding using someone brand new to me and my family, and they could not have been more accomodating. Joanne was so professional and responsive. She was extremely consultative and gave great advice. The day of the party everything ran extremely smoothly. I can not say enough about the outstanding quality of the food, the presentation and the hard working staff! Our guests went out of there way to call us the next day to compliment the food. My father, an Italian immigrant was extremely skepical about a pig roast,(not to mention his highly critical nature-especially when it comes to good food)...he was was won over and particularly loved the pork! If these folks can impress my dad, they've got to be great!!!

    Sent on 07/02/2012
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Have Smoke Will Travel was the perfect choice for our party at North Park. We chose to do the pig roast and it was delicious! From the appetizers to the salads to the main courses - the food was perfect! We got a lot of compliments from our guests on how good the food was.

    The contact person I worked with was Joanne. She was great! She helped me with all of the planning every step of the way. There were several things I would have overlooked had I not had her guidance. Joanne was very professional and organized which I greatly appreciated. On the day of the party she knew exactly what to do and I didn't have to worry about a thing! She was very easy to get in touch with as well and prompt at returning my calls.

    The staff was friendly and did a great job preparing and serving the food. The chef was excellent - he helped ensure that the dinner hour ran smoothly. He checked in with me more than once to make sure I was happy with everything. I really appreciated this.

    They were a great catering company and I would use them again in the future!

    Sent on 06/05/2012
  • L

    LISA · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Have Smoke, Will Travel as our caterer was a stroke of luck for us. Joanne was fantastic, responsive and worked with us to accommodate all of our guests, including the vegetarians! Every need of mine was met and met with professionalism. The food was delicious, their staff was helpful and gracious and my guests are still raving about them! Thank you, Joanne!

    Sent on 09/30/2011
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 08/27/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanne was such a great help before our wedding as well as on our wedding day! She worked with us to get the menu we wanted.

    We ended up with pulled pork, kielbasa and chicken. Roasted potatoes, corn and coleslaw. With lemonade and tea as our drinks for the day. Of course their wonderful, wonderful BBQ sauce! Yum!

    We have heard nothing but compliments about the food and the displays Have Smoke had set up. The coffee nook looked fantastic. Everyone had asked where our food was from and there was almost no leftovers and we over ordered! The corn was fantastic.

    Sent on 09/06/2011
  • A

    Amber · Married on 08/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I’m not sure it is possible to day enough positive things about Have Smoke Will Travel. We recently got married and HSWT catered our wedding. Working with Joanne on our wedding menu was an absolute pleasure. She was kind, understanding, and offered so many wonderful recommendations; it took a lot of weight off of our shoulders and got us really excited about our big day. Their staff is incredibly delightful to be around, very professional- from their dress to their demeanor. The food was out of this world. Every person that we talked to absolutely raved about the KC cheesy corn & the pulled pork. Have Smoke Will Travel, without a doubt, will not disappoint! They’ve found their niche and they are true masters at their craft. I would recommend them to anyone who asks (and those who don’t)! We absolutely love these guys and cannot wait to use them again!!

    Sent on 09/22/2011
  • C

    christine · Married on 12/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    have smoke will travel made my daughters wedding spectacular.they helped us with suggestions with both taste and budget. they coordinated with the other vendors in making everything run very smooth which allowed us to really enjoy our day. we were very pleased with their appetizers to the beautiful dinner buffet.thank you for everything

    Sent on 01/05/2011
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    HSWT catered my Sept. 4th wedding at Armstrong Farms. From the moment I met Joanne I knew that it was going to be a great experience. We received a huge bin of food following our initial consultation meeting. My fiance and I were truly delighted to have dinner for the night- and a bottle of wine! The next meeting we discuissed our unique idea of food stations with an Irish and Italian theme. Everybody thought I was over the top with my creative idea, but not Joanne. She aided me in bringing my idea to life. We exchanged many phone calls up until the big day, and each one was as pleasant as the last. I felt like I was working with a friend and was comfortable dealing with my budget needs, which Joanne and Andy met. Finally- I was able to see my idea come to life. My wedding had a buffet of food that I will never forget. It was yummy, it looked fabulous, and it was exactly what I wanted.
    Thank you so much Andy and Joanne!! BRAVO!!
    Jess and Riley
    Edgewood, PA

    Sent on 02/15/2011
  • D

    Dana · Married on 06/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Besides choosing Lingrow Farm as the location of my husband and my wedding, picking Have Smoke Will Travel was the other best choice I made. My husband, Josh, just said that there should be 6 stars for the food. The food and service was UNBELIEVABLE! We had voodoo chicken (sauce and chicken were fabulous), gris gris grean beans, the most amazing red beans and rice, zucchini cups with veggies inside, fruit for appetizers, and THE BEST BRISKET EVER. My husband and many of the attendents of the wedding are still raving about the brisket. Plus, don't even get me started on how great the peach iced tea was. I swear the majority of the people at the wedding that danced with me during the money dance told me how pretty I looked and then followed it up with "damn, that was amazing food." Every person at my wedding commented on how great it was.

    Celeste, they must have had an off day or something because I can't imagine giving them a 0 out of 5 in every category.

    Thanks Have Smoke Will Travel for the best wedding food ever! And at a GREAT Price!

    Sent on 06/29/2010
  • beccaboo

    Rebecca · Married on 05/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Have Smoke Will Travel catered our wedding at Armstrong Farms in Saxonburg, PA, and we could not have been more pleased with their food and their customer service. Our guests all raved about the delicious barbecue--particularly the ribs, and the staff were extremely professional and helpful. Joanne was extremely organized and detail-oriented, and ensured that the arrangements for the menu and the itinerary for serving on the day of the wedding were well thought out and planned ahead of time so that we wouldn't have to worry about anything--we just enjoyed our day! The staff arrived early, the setup was perfect, and the whole reception ran flawlessly--we didn't have to worry about a thing. Joanne and Chef Andy were so helpful, flexible and professional. We would wholeheartedly recommend Have Smoke Will Travel to anyone planning a wedding or any type of event!

    Sent on 06/11/2010
  • V

    Valerie · Married on 08/17/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They catered my daughters wedding for 250 people. Delicious food, great service and tons of compliments on the food. Would highly recommend them. They take the time to help you plan out your menu and incorporates the them of your wedding in with the display of the food. EXCELLENT!

    Sent on 08/20/2013
  • J

    jessica · Married on 06/02/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so pleased with The Crying Onion catering co. they met all my expectations! The food was great! and the servers were kind and helpful. thank you chef andy for everything.

    Sent on 06/08/2012
  • J

    Julie · Married on 07/25/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Wonderful presentation. Delicious food. Flexible with schedule and planning. Brought fun atmosphere with them - great choice of music, festive (not tacky) decor, and positive attitudes. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 07/29/2009
  • P

    pam · Married on 07/18/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I want to thank Have Smoke will Travel / The Crying Onion for all their help with our wedding. joann assisted me with many details that i had'nt even concidered. everything was so beautiful The food they prepared was great and presentation was more than i could have imagined
    thanks Rege & Pam

    Sent on 03/10/2010
  • E

    Eva · Married on 05/25/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our food was absolutely wonderful and we received so many compliments & were told by several it was the best wedding food they'd ever had. I was in contact with JoAnne throughout the process of choosing our menu & the variety of details, and she was very flexible with my menu changes and worked with me to make it all come together. They even created mini-grilled cheese & tomato soup shots for our cocktail hour, which I didn't get a spare minute to taste, but everyone absolutely RAVED about them. The buffet was set up very neatly and all of the food was cooked to perfection - no dry or overdone or overcooked food in sight! The staff was extremely friendly and made sure to come to our sweetheart table to congratulate my husband and I. I would definitely recommend Have Smoke for anyone planning a wedding, as they can give you a less formal option for food (BBQ), or fancy it up with their more formal option The Crying Onion.

    Sent on 05/28/2013
  • A

    Alison · Married on 05/14/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was extremely pleased to have selected Have Smoke Will Travel for my wedding at Armstrong Farms. Joanne was excellent to work with. She was very informative with regard to the many options they can offer. She was flexible when my menu items changed prior to the event. Her communication was prompt, and I never felt as though there were loose ends to be tied.
    On the day of my wedding, I found the food to be of excellent quality. Further, (and perhaps most importantly) as my wedding unfolded I found I could completely rely on Have Smoke Will Travel to address every last detail - so that I could enjoy my wedding day.

    Sent on 05/18/2011
  • K

    kara · Married on 05/07/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I would recommend have smoke will travel/ the crying onion to any bride & groom or anyone planning an event. they were very helpful with creating a great menu for us and the food was spectacular! they took great care with every detail from my guests tables to the serving tables! they served a coffee bar that was really cool also. if you want to email me with questions please do.

    Sent on 05/24/2011
  • M

    mary · Married on 10/24/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are thinking of hiring this company then you have made a good choice. my husband and I were not sure how they would be able to prepare the food at the venue we had chosen it was beautiful but no kitchen etc. and they were amazing how they had brought portable ovens and a large grill on wheels. We were so pleased how great the dinner was with all ther limitations they had to encounter. The staff was very professional as they served with big smiles and plenty of appetizers.
    Bill and Mary

    Sent on 03/12/2010
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/04/2016

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We chose HSWT for our June barn wedding. The food and service was phenominal. All of our guests raved about the food and said it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding.

    Sent on 06/06/2016
  • J

    Janet · Married on 08/15/2015

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great food!! Needs to work on communication. They did a wonderful job the day of the wedding, food was on point. Everyone was raving about the food all night!!! We had a couple restaurant owners at the wedding and for them to be impressed with the food says something. The K.C. cheesy corn...to die for!!!! I only had small fears when we approached the wedding date and I had troubles getting a hold of anyone to finalize everything. My only other complaint is they nickel and dime for EVERYTHING! So be careful. But service, food and over all mood/friendliness of the staff was good.

    Sent on 08/17/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review