18 Reviews for Harlyne J. Norris Pavilion

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Audio Equipment (3)
Dance Floor (3)
Lighting (3)
Chairs (3)
Tables (3)
Bridal Suite (2)
Lighting/Sound (2)
Barware (2)
China (2)
Flatware (2)
Glassware (2)
Parking (2)
Wheelchair Access (2)
Indoor (1)
Uncovered Outdoor (1)
Event Planning (1)
Event Rentals (1)
Furniture (1)
Sort by:

5.0

Definitely the perfect venue for our evening cocktail hour and reception to our wedding! We had the pleasure of working with Ebony at the Norris Pavillion for our March 2018 wedding. Ebony was extremely helpful with all the set up/layout of how my husband and I wanted our reception. She was so easy to work with, especially when she seemlessly transitioned into this role when we were working with a previous employee. She responded to all of our emails in a timely manner and was always available to meet in person, which made communication much easier. She was great!

The venue itself is beautiful and very customizable to your taste. They have sliders to an outdoor space where you can keep open to make the ballroom feel even bigger, and can create great flow for the reception. Their lighting options are perfect! This helped us limit decorations on our end since the venue provided so options for that, and could help make the space look like a wedding reception.

We had about 140 people attend, and it was definitely large enough for people to move around and just enjoy the space. As mentioned, for the Norris Pavillion, it is very customizable. This means a lot of the items needed are a la carte. Especially for rentals. Meaning, you have to find rentals for linen/napkins, other chairs (if you dont like what they offer), etc; additional bars for the outdoor space IF you need an extra one. Most venues we saw were a la carte, so we didnt mind, but a good thing to keep in mind.

All in all, I highly recommend this venue, and would definitely use it again for a personal party. The price, the Norris Pavillion employees, and location was everything I hoped for and more.

Thank you again to the Norris Pavillion and Ebony for making our special day one to remember.

Profile Picture Chelsey, 3/23/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Had the most amazing wedding reception at the Harlyne J. Norris Pavilion! The whole ambiance was beautiful and it was all thanks to Lara. Lara is the most amazing, kind, funny, helpful, and overall professional director. She helped bring our vision to life and was there every step of the way. She made everything really easy and was always available and quick to respond. I would recommend this venue over and over. We really liked that we could provide our own alcohol, rentals (plates, glasses, utensils) are included, and the you get to utilize the entire building. And the marquee is so cool!

Profile Picture Emma, 10/14/17, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Lighting, Tables, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Bridal Suite, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Lighting/Sound, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware
5.0

I cannot recommend the Harlyne J Norris Pavilion enough! Although it is more of a DIY kind of venue, if you're prepared to put in some time you can truly create a one of a kind wedding here. The space is quite large, with several spaces for dual purposes. We used the front area for the cocktail hour, the patio as a chill outdoor hang out area, the foyer for our ohotobooth and the ballet studio for our buffet!

A huge selling point of this venue is that they let you bring in your own alcohol, which saves thousands of dollars. It's also extremely reasonably priced, and the staff is so on point. Our coordinator Lara, was always available for any questions we had which was very much appreciated. Overall, we would absolutely recommend this venue, thank you for helping us pull off our dream wedding!!

Profile Picture Devon, 7/22/17, 10 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We used Norris as the venue for our reception. At first look Norris may not have it all. However, what is great about Norris is that you can dress it up whatever you like and they are very flexible. There are additional add ons that make the venue look amazing. Lara was extremely easy to work with and reassured us that everything will go well for the wedding and it did. Jade, the day of coordinator, also kept the wedding going well. You may not have heard of Norris for weddings because they dont really advertise themselves. They are a diamond in the rough. We had about 200 guests and it did not feel cramped at all. If we have another event we would definitely chose Norris

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture micah, 9/3/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I had my wedding reception at the Norris Pavilion this past July and could not have been happier with the way everything turned out. Paige, the event coordinator, was extremely helpful, responsive, flexible, and organized throughout every step of the planning and execution, even when our guest count went up from 200 to 270 (which got a little cozy but worked out)! We had a beautiful cocktail hour out on the front lobby and a buffet dinner outside on the back terrace, which looked lovely at night with the twinkly lights. The indoor reception area was spacious enough for all the tables and a large dance floor, and had a variety of lighting options to choose from. Everything went super smoothly, and we got so many compliments on how beautiful the venue looked! There is a free parking lot across the street for guests, plenty of restrooms, and two options for a bar (indoor and outdoor). The price is extremely reasonable considering all the included amenities such as tables, chairs, plate settings and glassware, and a dance floor, with options to rent their speakers/extra lighting/projector screen etc so you don't have to bring in your own (which makes things so much easier). Also, there is the option to bring in your own caterer for a fee and I really appreciated that we could bring our own alcohol as well. I highly recommend the Norris Pavilion!

Profile Picture User4719091, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Lighting, Tables
5.0

The Norris Pavilion was the perfect venue for us. From the very beginning they were very accommodating. Our experience began when we met with Nancy. She was so kind to come in on her day off on Sunday afternoon and spend two hours with us showing us the venue and answering all our questions. She even helped with ideas on how to save money.

From there Paige help us start planning all the details. Her recent experience of getting married was a great help. She was very responsive and answered all of our questions and resolved any issues we had promptly. She was was willing to meet with us at all 3 of our venue walk throughs and never made an issue of it.

On the day of our wedding, Jeff was just as awesome as the other staff. He made sure everything was set up on time and ran according to program. Thank you so much to the whole team!

Profile Picture Ramesh, 5/2/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We first visited the Norris Pavilion on April 10 of 2014, a full year before the wedding. From then on, every step of the planning process has been smooth, and I have to thank Paige Baumann, the coordinator, for being so responsive and organized. The venue itself is beautiful, spacious, and perfect for large party; there is an outdoor ceremony space that can easily seat 150 guests and takes very little decoration because it is already so elegantly designed. The indoor reception area comes with a lovely, big dance floor, uplighting in the color of your choice, all the tables and chairs, as well as a bar in the cocktail area outside. The bathrooms are clean and the parking is free. Best of all, however, they are there with you every step of the way. I was able to trust in Paige because her emails were so clear and detailed, she was always able to answer every one of my questions, and she met me for multiple meetings where I was able to tour the venue with my family, my day-of-coordinator, and various others to show them what I was envisioning. In addition, they were super flexible and helpful in allowing us to create centerpieces with *live* goldfish in them, a feat that would not have been possible if they hadn't let us bring a giant bucket to fill with water the night before. If I had to do it all again, I wouldn't change a thing about the venue. It was worth every penny.

Profile Picture Siyi, 4/11/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Having our wedding reception at the Norris Pavilion was amazing! We could not have had a better experience! Everyone of our guests commented on how beautiful it was and how spacious it was with 200+ people. It's worth mentioning that the Norris has plenty of restrooms and there wasn't a wait for either the Men or Women's restrooms. This might seem like a strange perk to boast about but we've been to a lot of weddings where the restrooms were messy and the wait (especially for the women) was long.
The entire process was smooth despite there being a transition in event coordinators during the planning process. The new event coordinator Paige Baumann was amazing and very attentive to us and vendors. When planning a wedding things are stressful (this a fact) and having a major transition midway through is scary... but Paige was incredible! She contacted us right away and was up to date with all of the information from the previous coordinator, she didn't skip a beat. She contacted all of our vendors and made our day as stress free as possible.

Facts:
The Norris a big venue; we had over 200+ people and there was plenty of room for dancing, mingling and eating without feeling cramped. There's an outside patio that added to the evening that can be decorated as well.
Cost: One of the better deals we found and we looked all over the South Bay, Long Beach and the L.A. area. We had the entire place to ourselves and there was plenty of free parking across the street.
Plenty of spacious restrooms!!
We and all of our guests had a great time!!

Profile Picture User4721127, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Norris is definitely the place to go for weddings. Paige was helpful every step of the way, working with our wedding coordinator as well as the other vendors to make sure the day went without a hitch. She was communicative and accommodating, even for last minute requests such as extra tables.

This venue goes the extra mile by providing tables and chairs for the reception, as well as for the ceremony if you're having it there. If you wish, they will also provide dishes, flatware, and glasses, included in the regular rental price. They will also do the heavy lifting for setup and breakdown of said tables and chairs. There are other amenities, such as a stage (included), dance floor (included), and uplighting (included). As a performance arts venue, they can provide a piano for a small extra charge, sound system, and extra lighting. In fact, there are a ton of extra amenities you can get for a very decent price!

Profile Picture User4266119, 2+ years ago, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We had both our wedding ceremony and reception here in April of 2013-and we couldn't be happier at the way everything turned out! This venue is not your traditional wedding venue, as it's a performing arts center. We were looking for a venue that would allow us to bring in our own caterer and alcohol, and not surprisingly, there are few, if any, venues that will allow you to do both without charging you an exhorbitant fee making it financially ridiculous to go with an outside caterer/bring your own booze. You can here,but with some caveats-keep in mind that you CAN bring your own caterer in, but if it's not off their "preferred vendor" list, they will charge you $750. Trust me, this is not a lot in the grand scheme of things, and you get the caterer/food YOU want. As for booze, you can BYOB but it has to be served by an insured bartender. So no, you cannot have your cousin's friend's brother bartend at your wedding unless he's insured! As for rentals, the upside to having your wedding here is that they have all of their own place settings, silverware and drinkware, which, of course, you have to rent if you want to use them. However, it's pretty darn cheap to use their stuff, so do it. They also have basic round tables and some rather not-so-cute-but-comfy standard chairs you can use if you'd like. The downside: despite the fact that they have all of the above-mentioned items, you MUST take coordinate your own linen rentals to cover said tables. We had to rent our own table linens for the round tables and rectangle tables, and opted to rent chiavari chairs through our caterer who got a BOMB deal on them. This place is great if you are type-a like me and crazy organized, or have a wedding coordinator you've hired to deal with the nitty gritty details. This place is NOT great for you to have your wedding if you are expecting the venue to do everything. You will not be disappointed if you have your wedding here, though-we absolutely loved it!

Profile Picture Joy, 4/6/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I chose the Norris because we had flexibility in bringing in our own alcohol as well as choosing our caterer either through their preferred list or our own (for a fee). We ended up choosing the one they recommended since we had issues with the one we originally wanted. Anyway, the money we saved for having an open bar alone was major since we have quite a few friends/family who are hard core drinkers. In addition, the entire pavilion is available for you which makes it private for your party in comparison to hotel weddings. Only down side is parking is across the street at the mall which some guests complained about... But i parked in ViP since I'm the star bride! :)

The venue itself is very nice and they had a dark wood interior which really made my red fall wedding uplighting stand out and look amazing. Also, during the planning process, the Norris provides their event supervisor June Yates. She's a pro at weddings and helps you develop your timeline as well as how you want everything set up during the reception. If you don't have a wedding planner for those types of details like I didn't, it helped a lot and there was no additional fee for her guidance!

All in all, I was extremely happy with the services they provided. It was close to the church we got married in, we got to save money on open bar, and the venue was all ours. I would definitely recommend the Norris to anyone!

Profile Picture Kathy, 11/17/12, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Norris Pavilion is a gem hidden in Palos Verdes. As a non-profit organization they are really there to make your wedding beautiful and not preoccupied with overcharging and making money. June, their on-site coordinator, is very professional and experienced. She was so sweet and constantly focused on our wants and needs. The space is perfect for huge weddings and with their sound/light packages the place really glowed and stood out for the big day. We were able to do a ceremony and reception with 250 guests. Everyone loved the venue and it was such a pleasure working with all the staff there.

Profile Picture Sarah, 9/22/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Wonder place to have a wedding reception, i had 160 quests, it wasn't to large, but it had 25 foot tall ceilings! I rented all my dinnerware from them, and the dance floor. They have a lighting tech, and audio visual equipment for a slide show as well. They have a list of caterers to choose from, but you can bring in any caterer you want for a small fee. I chose Restaurant Christine, they were wonderful.

Profile Picture Devryn, 9/5/09, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9

Fortunately, our caterer, Critic's Choice, recommend we check out Norris since they frequently work together on events, and mentioned that Norris allowed for us to bring in our own alcohol and they had a venue large enough to host a reception 250-280 people. Once we visited the pavilion, we knew it was a beautiful place to have our ceremony and reception. Not to mention, it was very easy to work with Lara Avengoza from the Norris Pavilion and she was very accomodating. She was the point of contact for us, and she was very friendly, responsive, and helpful. Together, we were able to plan the ceremony and reception and layout quickly and without much issues. We even went back and forth with Lara as our guest list number kept changing and she was extremely patient with us, and figured out how to fit everyone in the main room. The only thing that was not that desireable was that the ceremony area in the terrace could only hold around 170 guests due to limited space, so we had to cut down the number of people coming to our ceremony to 150 and the rest of the 250 people arrived later for our cocktail hour and reception; however, this worked out okay for us.

We opted to have pin-spot lightning, uplights, bistro lights, and a gobo light (with our names on it) at our venue, while renting chiavari chairs through and outside vendor. Together with all the lighting done by Norris' team, our venue lit up beautifully with our theme colors and made all our decor and centerpieces stand out. It was absolutely stunning! The terrace area with the bistro lights was really nice at night in addition to the great summer weather there. Additionally, the restrooms are very clean and nice, and there were plenty of them so we didn't have long lines of guests waiting for the restrooms. They even put up a marquee outside with whatever we wanted to say on it so guests could know they were at the right place. We highly recommend anyone who wants to plan their own wedding reception to do Norris!

Profile Picture victor, 6/3/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8

After a long and exhaustive search of SoCal wedding venues, we selected the Harlyne J Norris Pavillion as our venue for both the ceremony and reception, and our guests have commented over and over that it was one of the best weddings that they have ever attended. The Norris Center is a performing arts center, so you have all of the advantages of lighting, sound, acoustics, bathrooms, bar areas, tables, chairs, etc that would normally be found in a place like this. If you want to get creative here, you have really unlimited options, and that is a lot of fun. Much of the success of your wedding, like any other wedding will be attributed to the quality of your caterer, service staff, DJ, decorations, etc. But as far as being a unique and modular space, the Norris Center is absolutely awesome. Our wedding ceremony was outside on the terrace area, which was then expertly converted from a and altar, aisle and chairs into an outdoor lounge with open bar, fire pits, padded sofas and cocktail tables and desert bar immediately after our ceremony, while our guests were having cocktails in another area. The cocktail hour itself was in the main foyer where guests had access to a bar, restrooms and the scenery of the fountain in front of the building. The reception was held in the main ballroom where you can use the gobo lights, custom lighting, disco balls, and a full theater sound system to do whatever you like. Possibly the best attribute of the Norris Center is the ability to bring in your own caterer and your own alcohol (depending on the caterer that you select). We hired Critics Choice Catering, and they were amazing. They supply a bartender, and allow you to bring in your own alcohol. Norris Center provides all tables chairs, cocktail tables, wine glasses, flatware, etc - another big advantage. The only downside is that you need to use their contracted furniture vendor, not a big problem because Choura was fantastic - it's just a bit of a flexibility issue.

Profile Picture Matt, 5/17/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8

I was recently married at the Norris Pavilion and would definitely recommend the venue. I thought it was a little pricey but it was worth it. We were able to bring in our own alcohol which saved us money on that end. June did a good job at coordinating the ceremony which we had in the courtyard. Everyone at my wedding raved about the place and thought it was a great venue.

Profile Picture Mandy, 5/8/10, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4

The moment my husband & I walked inside the terrace area we knew the pavilion would be our wedding venue. We had around 140 guests, and there was plenty of room for everyone to enjoy both indoors and outdoors. We had such a smooth and enjoyable planning experience with Lara, receiving prompt and comprehensive responses to all of our questions/concerns. We were also given a lot of flexibility when it came to visiting the pavilion with our vendors, as well as choosing the floor layout that worked best for our party. We ended up choosing a wonderful caterer from their preferred list, and benefited from having the option of bringing in our own alcohol without a corkage fee. There are some restrictions in place when it comes to decorating (i.e. no sparklers, glitter, etc.) and storage at the facility; however, there is nothing unreasonable in their agreement terms to worry about. We would highly recommend this venue to anyone currently shopping around!

Profile Picture Molly, 5/6/17, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Bridal Suite, Lighting/Sound, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Furniture, Lighting, Tables, Uncovered Outdoor, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware