Skip to main content
Weddings

Happy Chicks Bakery Reviews

Happy Chicks Bakery

Happy Chicks Bakery

Cincinnati, OH
4.8 out of 5 rating, 22 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
22 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating
95% Recommended by couples

Awards

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 09/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So delicious!

    We are so glad we went with Happy Chicks for our wedding cake! It all began with our delicious tasting appointment and we immediately knew we found the perfect place for our wedding cake. Jana embodied the name of the bakery and you could tell she really loves what she does. They offered so many unique and delicious flavors and design options. Thank you Happy Chicks for making our wedding day so sweet!
  • A
    Alyssa S. Sent on 03/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lavender Vanilla Wedding Cake

    We were so happy that we chose Happy Chicks Bakery for our wedding cake. We wanted to have something that tasted amazing, looked great, fit my dietary needs, and was original. I didn't tell anyone that the cake was vegan because I didn't want anyone having a bad view before they tasted it. With no suprise, no one could tell, or care, that it was vegan! We had a 5 tier cake in lavender vanilla with our wedding flowers decorated on top. We could not have been more pleased with how it turned out. Now, every time we are in the area, we pop in to get little cupcakes to bring us back to our day.
  • Missy
    Missy Sent on 12/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    DELICIOUS and beautiful cake

    My husband has a whey protein allergy, which means that he can't have dairy, and we thought that finding a wedding cake he could eat would be difficult and maybe not so tasty. We were so excited to find a vegan bakery in Cincinnati and even more excited to find that it's DELICIOUS! We went for the tasting when all of our parents were in town and my husband's dad said we didn't have to go anywhere else after trying Happy Chicks. They were great to work with and people said great things about the different flavors we had. We tried so many things that we liked and there was no surcharge for having each tier as a different flavor. The cake was beautiful and simple and we loved it.

    Also, other places we looked didn't have good dairy-free options AND were more expensive.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Amber
    Amber Sent on 09/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was very happy with the service and my wedding cake from Happy Chicks Bakery. They helped me design my cake and it turned out beautifully, just as I had pictured. It was also delicious and they were easy to work with!
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 05/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing and delicious wedding cakes for our dessert bar and perfect brunch items for our group as we got ready the morning of our wedding. The deliveries were timely and the food was delicious! Thank you!
  • Kendra
    Kendra Sent on 04/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    One of the Best Parts of Our Wedding

    Wow, not only does Happy Chick's Bakery have the best cake flavors, they also create stunning designs. My husband and I spent a lot of time looking for a bakery specializing in delicious, unique cake and icing flavors and HCB was the only one that fit the bill. Our tasting was fun yet relaxed and we were delighted to take the leftovers home with us. When I explained that we were envisioning a black cake with sugar flowers, they were excited about the idea and promised to make it happen. The end result was better than I could have imagined and our guests raved about the three flavors we chose. Best bakery in Cincinnati!
  • S
    Scott Sent on 11/08/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We did a dessert bar and everyone loved all the choices we had. The staff at the bakery were incredible and the treats we delicious! Worth every penny and look forward to getting more goodies from them!
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 07/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wow, this place was fantastic! It was absolutely everything I wanted it to be! I couldn't have imagined it turning out any better and I absolutely loved the fact that all the coloring and everything was all natural! I was worried about finding a good vegan cake that my husband would be okay with and he couldn't even tell! We ended up with about 130 servings of cake for about 100 guests and we only had a couple of pieces left!
  • User2603099 Sent on 05/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Made a delicious, adorable, ceremonial wedding cake for us.
  • C
    Crystal Sent on 08/05/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want a creative vegan, gluten free cake, give Happy Chicks Bakery a try. The customer service is exceptional and they really listen to your needs.
  • L
    Lisa Sent on 07/28/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They were so easy and flexible to work with. The quality is excellent for the price!
  • B
    Brett Sent on 01/12/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an absolutely amazing experience! We are vegan, so naturally we wanted a vegan option for our wedding cake. Guests thought it was absolutely delicious! HC provides so many unique flavor options, and the final tiered cake was stunning! We couldn't have been happier, and we always look to HC for our dessert needs :)
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 01/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Happy Chicks was amazing! My husband and I couldn't decide between cupcakes or a cake - so Happy Chicks helped us find common ground! We ordered a variety of cupcake flavors and they created a custom "tiny lady's wedding cake" just for me. It was a naked cake in their Grapefruit Poppy Seed flavor. It tasted amazing and the presentation was simple and beautiful! The ladies at Happy Chicks were super helpful and come highly recommended. They also make a fabulous lunch!
  • C
    Carly Sent on 06/03/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I loved working with Happy Chicks Bakery. They were extremely nice and willing to work towards my picky taste. They were flexible and took on our cake design with ease! I especially loved their recommendations on our cake, through helping with our decision (since I am extremely indecisive) on our cake flavor choices. They knew exactly what we wanted and listened attentively to our needs. I would absolutely recommend this cake bakery to anyone, they are the best!
  • M
    Mary Sent on 08/02/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Best cake I've ever had. Everyone was talking about the delicous icing! I have reccommnded this bakery to numerous people already. Amazing design and delicious.
  • H
    Heather Sent on 02/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We can't say enough good things about the Happy Chicks Bakery! We were regulars of theirs before we started planning our wedding, and there was no question for us that we would have them make the cake for our special day. With vegetarians, vegans, and people with various allergies and sensitivities (gluten, dairy, tree nuts) on our guest list, we knew we could get a lovely cake from the Happy Chicks that would meet everyone's needs and taste amazing. After attending one of their wedding tasting events, we picked three flavors that we felt would provide our guests with options, and which went together well if people wanted to sample a bit of each kind. The bottom tier was a lovely Caramel Chocolate Stout, we had their Yellow Dragon (coconut yellow curry cake with almond icing and almond garnish) flavor in the middle, and the top layer was a gluten free Caramel Macchiato. Knowing that cross-contamination is a very important concern, the Happy Chicks were careful to separate the gluten free layer from the second tier cake with a base hidden under the icing. They also advised the catering staff to remove the gluten free layer and move it to another area when it was time to serve the cake, and to make sure the server had a clean knife and fresh gloves. We were so happy to see that our cake was well received and that everyone's dietary needs were accommodated! All the different flavors were popular, and even though we ordered far more cake than was needed, we had very little left by the end of the night.
    We were also thrilled that our cake proved to be a stunning part of our wedding decor! We came in with a very detailed drawing of what we were hoping for, and they were able to create it in an even more beautiful way than we ever envisioned. We chose midnight blue for our primary wedding color, and the Happy Chicks were able to create two lovely shades of blue for our icing. All in all, we couldn't have been happier with our delicious cake!
  • M
    Megan Sent on 11/26/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wow! This bakery is amazing! Jessica and Jana went above and beyond for us! We planned a wedding with all vegan food because my husband and I are both vegan and we wanted our friends and family to know how wonderful vegan food can be. We always knew we were going to ask happy chicks to make our wedding cake because we knew their cakes are delicious as we always use them for our birthdays and other celebrations. We really wanted 3 flavors and Jessica and Jana were so patient and amazing when we had multiple rounds of tastings over the course of a few months. All the unique flavors were amazing so it was very difficult to choose! We ended up with 3 different choices for our guests (all of whom were non-vegans) and everyone loved them!! We received an abundance of happy comments from our guests about how delicious our cakes were. In addition to the taste- the decorating was beautiful. I would recommend happy chicks to vegans and non-vegans for unique and delicious cakes!
  • M
    Megan Sent on 10/18/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had pretty much given up having a real wedding cake at our wedding because I have dairy and gluten allergies. I was so excited when I came across Happy Chicks and realized I had a shot! Jess and Jana were fantastic--they made me a gluten-free, vegan cake, whipped up a specialty flavor for me out of season, they came to my work and did my cake tasting when I had a scheduling conflict, their prices are AMAZING compared to all the traditional bakeries I looked at, and the cakes themselves were as gorgeous as they were delicious! I can't say enough great things about these women or their work, and I'm really excited that I have a birthday coming up so I have an excuse to order another cake!
  • N
    Nichole Sent on 06/27/2018
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We have 1) a family member with a nut allergy, 2) a couple family members with Celiac's, and 3) I am vegan. So finding a bakery that can handle all of that for our wedding was going to be a challenge. We actually had contacted another wedding cake place & THEY referred us to Happy Chicks Bakery.

    My husband is not at all vegan lol, so when we went to the tasting he wasn't sure what to expect but he was thoroughly impressed! Everything we tasted was delicious, but our favorite flavors were lemon rose, chocolate caramel stout & chirmoya. We were able to do lemon rose gluten free cupcakes to accommodate our family members with Celiac's.

    Whether you are vegan or not, don't hesitate to check out Happy Chicks Bakery. Go to a tasting. Jana & Jess are SUPER awesome ladies to work with!! Our wedding cake was ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. They captured the design & colors beautifully, and the flavors were unbelievably amazing, which we knew they would be but the best part was surprising everyone there and telling our guests it was completely vegan!!!! :) The chirmoya flavor really surprised a few people who were adventurous enough to try it!

    Our three layer (and 3 flavor) wedding cake, GF cupcakes & delivery came to around $450 to feed approximately 75-80 people. They were happy to let me pay small amounts here & there - I'd randomly stop in, grab some cupcakes (don't deny yourself the little pleasures) & pay a little bit toward the wedding cake each time. Super accommodating. We could not be happier with their service, attention to detail, check ins, delivery & set up and especially the cake itself. Our entire experience was spectacular. And we will be ordering a one-year anniversary cake! :)
  • E
    Eva Sent on 08/10/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding in April, and this bakery was amazing. We had a four tier wedding cake, each layer with a different flavor, and each layer tasted amazing. The design was exactly what I had wanted, the flowers looked so perfect!! I came in the day before the wedding to pick up a smaller cake for the rehearsal dinner, and they were so excited about the cake that they showed me the flowers they had made for it. They're so passionate about what they do, and they do it well! Very good experience with Happy Chicks, would highly recommend!!
  • C
    Chele Sent on 08/23/2015
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We chose Happy Chicks Bakery because they were able to meet my fiances Gluten Free needs. Originally were were only going to buy a small round cake for us from them. However, when we went for our tasting we liked the "regular" cake so much that we decided to get our actual wedding cake with them too! Their ingredients are organic/fresh and made the unusual flavor combinations simply scrumptious! In the end we had a 3 layer round wedding cake plus a separate 4 inch round that was GF. I had found a picture online of a cake that I fell in love with. Happy Chicks did a great job re-creating that cake!
  • B
    Becky Sent on 12/31/2018
    2.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Disappointing

    I am writing this review on behalf of my daughter who got married in September. A year ago my daughter would have recommended Happy Chicks to anyone, vegan or not. However, after the experience with her wedding cake with no resolution to us, she no longer can. She and her husband met with Happy Chicks to do the cake testing and spent time discussing and sent follow up emails to discuss the color and look of the cake. They were looking for a copper accent on the cake. They were told that if they could not replicate the copper color with frosting then Happy Chicks would cover a section of the cake in fondant that could be removed before eating. This did not happen, and the copper accent can only be described as baby poo yellow green. Both my daughter and I sent emails to let Happy Chicks know we were disappointed with the result. They did apologize but then also said that colors were not guaranteed and the color on the cake was the closest they could come to copper. They also said the color would have been closer to copper if they has used fondant. I'm still not sure why that option wasn't used since it was originally explained as an option. If Happy Chicks had contacted my daughter and said that they could not create the copper color, she would have changed the design of the cake, rather than serve guests something that looked so unappetizing. The cake tasted great, but it is so disappointing that we will not be able to enjoy the pictures of the cake. Unfortunately, the taste does not last forever, but pictures do. Besides the apology, no other solution has been offered, and all the photos my daughter has of the cake just reminds her and her husband of their disappointment
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message