Hand Scribed Calligraphy Reviews

9 | Buffalo, NY
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for Hand Scribed Calligraphy

Recommended by 99%

9
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • S

    Sally · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a local wedding planner in the WNY area, so I have used Joan a number of times and when it came to the Rehearsal Dinner envelopes she was my first choice for my son wedding. I love her creativity and her attention to detail. She is amazing. I highly recommend her.

    Sent on 03/15/2017

    Hand Scribed Calligraphy's reply:

    Thanks so much Sally. I have always enjoyed every project you hired me to work on with you.
  • J

    Joan · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joan did a beautiful job making a couple of signs for my daughter's wedding reception. A welcome sign and a Please sign the guest book sign to be displayed on tables.
    The calligraphy was whimsical and unique. Perfect for our reception!

    Sent on 07/01/2017
  • L

    Liz · Married on 07/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joan took the time to get to know us and the style of our wedding. She created beautifully addressed envelopes for our invitations, and place cards for our seating chart. Everything was beautiful and elegant and we had so many compliments!

    Sent on 08/08/2017
  • A

    anne · Married on 02/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Joan on two occasions to hand scribe a wedding blessing for each of my children as a wedding gift. The calligraphy was beautiful. She was very professional and reasonable. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 03/19/2017

    Hand Scribed Calligraphy's reply:

    Thank you for writing this review for me. I really appreciate it! : )
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter & I worked with Joan for several months leading up to the wedding. Joan created our envelopes for the invites, programs, place cards, table numbers, menus, chalkboards for the Guest Book and Sweets Table and other unique, one-of-a kind items. One of my favorites is a verse that she surrounded with beautiful water colors on a 12x16 board that we had matted and framed for the memorial candle. It is breathtakingly beautiful! During the few months that we worked with Joan, we were constantly changing decisions and giving her additional items to complete. Her work ethic to get these items completed by the deadline is something to be admired. Never once did she tell us something couldn't be done and ALWAYS delivered! Her talent, her passion, her imagination and her beautiful heart come through in every piece that she creates. All of our guests complimented her work throughout night from the church to the reception. Words like unique, elegant, amazing, charming and special were used. Joan is not just for weddings. My husband was so impressed with her work that he went to her during the Christmas holiday to have her create a few special gifts for me, that now have a special place in our home. Joan is a kind, loving faithful woman. The combination of her personality and her talents make her an absolute pleasure to work with. Joan is a gift! She made a very special and exciting time even more memorable. I would highly recommend her and her work as she goes above and beyond!

    Sent on 03/16/2017

    Hand Scribed Calligraphy's reply:

    You finding me through "Yours Truly" was Truly a gift for both of us. Thank you for trusting me with every part of your wedding. I had so much fun working with you and for you! Creating artwork from my heart using paint and ink was one of the best " jobs" I could have asked for. So grateful that you all appreciated my creations.
  • S

    Spencer · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joan has done a few different pieces for me and they are always EXCELLENT! She is thorough, responsive and, of course, immensely talented at what she does. Her prices cannot be beat for the quality of the work she does.

    Sent on 04/02/2017
  • M

    Meagan · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Joan to do all of the signage for my wedding. The largest task involved writing ~240 names on 2 very large antique mirrors ...which would serve as the seating chart for the reception. I cant begin to tell you how beautiful the mirrors came out. Not only was her lettering beautiful, but she clearly spent a ton of time planning the spacing and organization of the names on the mirrors. Her output was truly perfect and it was one of my favorite details of the wedding! A number of guests commented on the signage throughout the wedding venue. From the welcome sign to the custom drink menus to the seating chart, I truly could not have been happier that I hired Joan to handle this task. Joan, thanks for being professional from start to finish and for taking on this project despite the short notice and the significant amount of work that the signage for my wedding entailed!

    Sent on 03/18/2017

    Hand Scribed Calligraphy's reply:

    Meagan, all I have to say is WOW! Thank you so much for such kind words about my work. I really had such a great time creating those BIG seating charts on the two mirrors. It was a challenge but I welcome them. I loved to hear the wonderful comments on my work. Could not be more happy for you! Thanks for your taking the time to write this wonderful review for me! : )
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 08/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The painting that Jim did is beautiful and captures exactly what I envisioned in my mind. The timeless, elegant character of the words compliments the painting perfectly and together they are a truly stunning piece of art. I couldn't wait until our anniversary to give it to my wife, so I presented it to her early. My words brought tears of overwhelming love and happiness to her eyes exactly as they did on our wedding day, and she is so happy to have them preserved so beautifully. Thank you, Andrew

    Sent on 03/23/2017
  • A

    Aaron · Married on 08/13/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I had a great experience with Joan. I contacted her to do some wedding vows on short notice for our five year wedding anniversary. I appreciated her prompt and personalized service. My wife cried when she saw the gift and how beautiful it was. Looking forward to framing it. We appreciate how beautiful it turned out since we will be looking at it for decades to come!
    God Bless you for helping me! and the Kingdom too!
    : )

    Sent on 03/23/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review