Hamley Bake Shoppe Reviews

23 | Meridianville, AL
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Hamley Bake Shoppe

Recommended by 89% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

23
Order by:
  • E

    E · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is a reason that Hamley Bake Shoppe stays booked out so far! Stephanie did an absolutely incredible job on our grooms cake and wedding cake (small, personal cake on top of a cupcake tower). The flavors were phenomenal. I don't usually like frosting because it is often too heavy, but it was perfect. We had so many compliments from our guests. I cannot recommend Hamley Bake Shoppe enough!

    Sent on 10/18/2016
  • S

    Susan · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie baked wedding cakes for both my daughter's receptions. They enjoyed working with her and we all loved the cakes which were delivered perfectly to the venues where she added flowers and extra adornments left by the brides. We would not hesitate to call upon Hamley Bake Shoppe for all our confection needs.

    Sent on 06/02/2016
  • S

    Susan · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect cake: exactly what the bride wanted and delivered on time and set up beautifully.

    Sent on 04/16/2015
  • S

    Savannah · Married on 04/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cake was there and set up on time. It was the best tasting cake I have ever had! Everyone there raved about it.

    Sent on 04/08/2015
  • User3953896 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie did such a beautiful job on both of our cakes for our wedding. Not only did they look good but they also tasted amazing. We did a cake tasting a few months before and it was really hard to choose. :) I also love how she will bake us a fresh top tier for our 1 year anniversary. Highly recommend :)

    Sent on 11/03/2014
  • User4490607 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie with Hamley Bake Shoppe is FABULOUS! She listened to everything that my new husband and I wanted when it came to our cake. We had a very unique cake which was a split cake half bride and half groom. She gave very good insight and suggestions. Her cakes were so delicious! We had lemonberry, chocolate, and vanilla. All of my guests raved about how delicious all the flavors were. When she delivered the cake, my first reaction was tears. It was beyond what I could have imagined. She did such a good job and it was by far the most beautiful cake that I have seen. I will highly recommend her to anyone needing a cake for any occasion. I loved working with her and will for sure be using her again. Thank you for all of your hard work, Stephanie!

    Sent on 10/21/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVED our weddings cakes! Great and easy to work with and great details on Stephanie's cakes! Will definitely recommend her to friends!

    Sent on 07/22/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED our cake! What little we got of it anyway :) our guests also loved it! We had a 5 tier cake all different flavors! And they were all a hit! It was beautiful and Stephanie was amazing!

    Sent on 05/31/2014
  • J

    Jacey · Married on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Stephanie. She was professional and was extremely helpful in every way. She gives you several choices on cake and icing flavors and does not charge extra. The cake was such a hit every last piece was eaten. We will be using her for other occasions for sure.

    Sent on 12/26/2013
  • Chelsea

    Chelsea · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie is amazing!!! I explained to her what I was looking for in both a wedding cake and a groom's cake. She went above and beyond. I asked her to create a replica of my fiancé's guitar and it turned out amazing. I also wanted Darth Vader to be peeking out from under my wedding cake (we are Star Wars people). She created a perfect Darth and had him hiding. IT WAS PERFECT! Stephanie is great and trying to make everything perfect for you. I highly recommend her!

    Sent on 12/22/2013
  • Mariah

    Mariah · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie came highly recommended to me to create my wedding cakes and I must say, I was really impressed. Stephanie is very personable and genuinely wants the cakes to be everything you hoped it would be and more! She did a wonderful job on my wedding cake and it was beautiful and delicious!!! I had a vision and described it to her (no picture) and she made it come to life! Also, she did a great great job with my husband's groom cake and of course, tasted yummy as well. I was highly impressed by the quality of the cakes, both appearance and taste, and the price which fit perfectly in our budget. She is very sweet, funny, and easy to work with. :)

    Sent on 12/23/2013
  • S

    Savannah · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hamley Bake Shoppe is hands down, one of the best kept secrets in Huntsville. They are so creative, willing to try new things, and frankly, they do more than make cakes-- they create art. If you are looking for something unique, quirky, or traditional, Hamley can meet the challenge. Additionally, their cakes are DELICIOUS! So many choices of flavors and each one tastier than the other. Most of all, the owner is so easy to work with, is professional, and takes the responsibility of making your wedding cake seriously. Check out their Facebook page to see some incredible pictures. You will love Hamley Bake Shoppe!

    Sent on 12/22/2013
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 04/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie does an amazing job! Very professional and creative, she makes all your decisions stress free. Many flavor options and her designs continue to amaze me. We can't wait for our anniversary cake!!!

    Sent on 01/07/2014
  • Tori

    Tori · Married on 03/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie Hamley was SO GREAT to work with, from beginning to end! She set up a fun cake tasting, and even let me bring three people with me to come taste her delicious cakes. She is so sweet and personable. And she is SO TALENTED at what she does! I sent her a lot of pictures of cakes that I liked and what she created was extremely beautiful and perfect. Another thing I love about Hamley Bake Shoppe is the free cake you get on your one year anniversary...no year-old frozen cake topper for us! I just thought that was such a personal and sweet touch. I highly HIGHLY recommend Stephanie Hamley. People still talk about how beautiful and how delicious our cake was. Book her! :)

    Sent on 12/23/2013
  • L

    Laura · Married on 02/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cake was fabulous and Stephanie was very creative. You bring in a picture of what you want and she will make it happen! Prices are very reasonable and delivery is stress free. I would highly recommend using Stephanie for your future wedding or event. Also, you get a FREE anniversary cake at your 1 year anniversary :)

    Sent on 12/23/2013
  • T

    Tanya · Married on 01/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stephanie puts so much work into making your cake beautiful! It looked stunning and tasted just as good! She was so flexible with price considering my husbands military like hers. She is so talented and stays booked so contact her early!

    Sent on 01/23/2013
  • A

    Angela · Married on 12/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED our wedding cake. It was gorgeous and exactly what I hoped it would look like. We had Italian Creme and Raspberry Swirl. Both layers tasted amazing, and we were asked by many guests about the baker. We've had friends use her since our wedding, and they were just as pleased. Stephanie made us a fresh topper for our first anniversary and the quality was exactly like our wedding day. The value of the product can't be beat. She exceeded our expectations in every way, and we will use her for future events!!!

    Sent on 12/20/2013
  • A

    Allen · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service we received from Stephanie at Hamley Bake Shoppe was the best anyone could hope for. In our particular case, the Groom's Cake was as much an attraction as the Brides Cake. My son, the Groom is employed at Porsche of Huntsville. Hamley Bake Shoppe was asked to prepare and deliver a special Groom's Cake with the Porsche Crest featured in the center of the Cake. The level of detail was astounding. Stephanie was able to replicate the Crest so closely to the real Crest, My son's co-workers stayed huddled around the Cake the entire time at the reception. At the end of the evening, every piece was gone - I didn't even get a piece. I had to wait till the One Year Anniversary make over to get my first piece. I would highly recommend Stephanie and Hamley Bake Shoppe to anyone in need of a Wedding or Special Event Cake.

    Sent on 12/21/2013
  • User3747429 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hamley Bake Shoppe provided exactly what our daughter wanted for her wedding. The cakes were beautifully and creatively decorated and tasted very good. They were delivered on time, which made the preparations less stressful.

    Sent on 12/22/2013
  • User3748655 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Love Hamley Bake Shoppe, they make the best cakes around and was very pleased with everything!

    Sent on 12/23/2013
  • A

    a · Married on 09/03/2017

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    While they were very nice people, what we taste tested and what was delivered to our wedding were NOT the same thing. We had a small cake for the cutting and cupcakes for our guests. Our cupcakes were HEAVY, DRY and almost tasteless; I checked with lots of guests to see what their thoughts were and they all felt the same way. The cupcakes tasted like they had been frozen for 6 months, or as one guest put it "like a bad muffin". The wedding was perfect, so having bad cupcakes is not the end of the world, but we just wanted to give a heads up to others. Perhaps they have a new baker? We don't know, we did email them a very nice email and never received a response, so 1/2 stars all the way around.

    Sent on 09/14/2017
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 06/30/2018

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Unfortunately, we had a poor experience with this bakery shop. The wedding cake and groom's cake looked absolutely beautiful, but that is only half the story. I had many guests tell me the cakes were flavorless, cold, and dry. They boarded on stale. I did finally speak to the owner. All she said was sorry and that the cakes were cold because she had to keep them cold due to the heat and humidity outside. We threw almost half the cake away! She offered no compensation. An apology was nice, but we spent a lot of money for those cakes to go in the trash! The samples we tasted were fresh and good, the cakes we got were not.

    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/06/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Ordered samples and they were amazing! We chose our groom's cake to be Earl Grey Tea flavored with cream cheese. The cake looked wonderful, but to our disappointment on the wedding day the cake was vanilla and extremely dry. I sent an email to try and explain the mishap and was told the flavor is subtle and the fondant can overpower it. So I decided to send one more email with pictures of the cake to the bakery. When we ordered the samples, the earl grey tea cake was grey in color. Our cake was very much vanilla in color and flavor. They still haven't replied. Very disappointed with our cake and the customer service.

    Sent on 10/16/2017