Weddings

Grounds For Sculpture Reviews

Grounds For Sculpture

Grounds For Sculpture

Trenton, NJ
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 34 Reviews
View more information

34 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 34
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
Sort by:
  • Sabrina
    Sabrina S. Married on 05/23/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Magical Wedding at GFS/Rat's Restaurant

    We originally toured Grounds for Sculpture and Rat's Restaurant in February 2020 pre-pandemic and then quickly put our wedding plans on hold. Once we decided to do a micro-wedding many months later, we reached out to Grounds for Sculpture and Rat's Restaurant who worked together to make our tiny wedding memorable and perfect. We worked primarily with Lauren from Grounds for Sculpture for the ceremony and Kathy from Rat's Restaurant for the reception. Lauren and Kathy were both excellent to work with and responded to my MANY questions via email about all of the small details. They really showed their commitment to creating the wedding of your dreams. On the day of, Lauren & Kathy and their teams of staff and volunteers were friendly, helpful, and made everything go smoothly without any issues. The customer services was phenomenal, the food was delicious, and everything looked better than I imagined it.
  • K
    Kristen Married on 10/17/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect wedding venue!

    Wow, where do I even start with this review. I am so thankful I was able to have my wedding at Rats Restaurant at Grounds for Sculpture. When you enter Rats you walk into a fairytale-like location. The venue is absolutely beautiful and unlike any wedding venue I have ever seen. The service at Rats is 10/10, every single person working our wedding was wonderful and our guests couldn’t stop telling us how kind all of the workers were. The food and drinks were delicious. Most importantly, the event coordinator, Kathy, will put your wedding planning stress at complete ease. She is so sweet, puts her heart into her work, is easy to contact, and because of this she made our wedding day perfect. Planning a wedding with Rats is guaranteeing a beautiful event for yourself and I couldn’t recommend them more.
  • Sally
    Sally R. Married on 09/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Magical

    It was very important for us to have our wedding at Grounds for Sculpture because this place was very dear to us. It is where we had our first date and where my husband proposed to me. So it was extremely necessary for us to have our wedding where it all began for us. Rat’s Restaurant staff were absolutely perfect for hosting our reception. Everything kept raving about the food and the all around venue for our wedding as a whole. We wish we can do it all over again. Thank you for allowing us to have our special day in our special place ❤️
  • L
    Lisa Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome Venue!

    We were looking for a unique wedding venue in NJ and Grounds for Sculpture definitely hit the mark. We loved that you have plenty of options to choose where to hold your ceremony, cocktail hour and reception depending on the sculptures you like/venue size that you’re looking for. The greenery of the grounds came out beautifully in our photos.

    Prior to the wedding the GFS event coordinator Lauren was in touch with us whenever we had questions and ironed out many details. On the day of the wedding there were tons of staff and volunteers around to direct our guests to the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception (thanks Marcie and Jenna!). They also had golf carts for anyone who wanted a ride. They were flexible with providing us a bridal suite and room for the groomsmen adjacent to the reception area.

    So many of our guests complimented both the cocktail hour and reception food and the beautiful cake that we had made on site. Also, awesome food tasting in Rats kitchen! Constellation provides great catering services and Kathy the director of catering helped as our point of contact for planning the wedding and coordinating with GFS. Mike the restaurant manager helped us to custom order some special drink requests we had and Mario the catering coordinator helped pull together loose ends in the week or two leading up to the wedding! Don’t be discouraged if catering is slow with returning emails - the team will pull it all together in the end!
  • L
    L Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This past September we celebrated my daughter's wedding reception at the exquisite Rat's Restaurant located in the midst of the dreamy, artistic Grounds for Sculpture. Under the expert and personalized guidance of our event coordinator, Kathleen Newman, who is so upbeat and fun to work with, our evening was filled with exceptionally and beautifully prepared cuisine, a well- organized timeline during the evening and engaging and excellent service from the entire staff. We were so appreciative of Kathleen for her assistance and consistent follow up with all of our questions during the planning process. It was a joy to work with her and we would like to thank all of the staff, including the bartenders, servers, chefs and kitchen staff, for facilitating and executing a fabulous wedding reception dream come true!
  • S
    Sue Married on 05/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had my daughter's Bridal Shower at Rat's Restaurant in April 2016 and things could not have been better!
    We got so many complements during and after the event on how wonderful the service and food and setting all were. The service was so exceptional- Nate and his crew were all eager to do whatever was needed and everything ran smoothly. They even helped us bring gifts to our cars and brought cushions to our two older guests (age 88 & 93)! My daughter is still on a high from the wonderful day and so many people said they want to come back and what a wonderful place we selected. There really are not enough words to say how happy we all were with the experience, it exceeded all our hopes: great food and amazing warm and professional service. Nate did an exceptional job in making sure everything was superb. My mother-in-law has memory issues and she surprised us on Monday by remembering how beautiful the day was and how much she enjoyed it! And of course I am so appreciative of Chris the Director of Catering for his consistent patience, good advice and unending help with the planning to make it a day we will all remember with so much happiness.
  • T
    Tana Married on 05/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We are so fortunate to have connected with Chris Carrell the event coordinator for Grounds For Sculpture. He went out of his way to ensure we had thought through all the wedding planning details that would allow for a spectacular event! Our guest could not have been happier with the food selection, which Chris helped us with. The 9 muses, where the ceremony took place was private and with the right amount of reverence for an outdoor ceremony. We had a golf cart available for our guests, but nearly everyone took in the beauty of walking back to the Pavilion for the reception. We are so grateful to the entire team at Rats for their attention to every detail. Without hesitation, we highly recommend this venue for your special occasion.
  • User2588619 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It was a pleasure working with Chris to plan our small wedding ceremony at the Nine Muses and lunch reception at Rat's Restaurant. Chris was so easy to work with and very organized. Every detail went as planned on our wedding day. The Nine Muses provided a wonderfully scenic venue to hold our ceremony and Rat's provided great food and ambiance for our reception. Most of our guests had never been to the grounds for sculpture before and could not believe such a place even existed. We could not be happier with how our day turned out and owe many thanks to Chris and his team!
  • N
    Nicolas Married on 07/04/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My fiancee and I worked with the team from Grounds for Sculpture and Rat's Restaurant for over a year to get our big day just right. Lauren and Chris were very friendly, supportive and knowledgeable. They gave us fantastic feedback and were very patient as they helped us organize our ceremony and reception. On our wedding day, the whole staff was well coordinated, helping our events run seamlessly and making our guests feel comfortable. We highly recommend Grounds for Sculpture as a romantic and elegant venue for a wedding.
  • C
    Chalina Married on 05/16/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We fell in love with GFS when we originally scouted it. How can you not? Having our ceremony at the Nine Muses provided a wonderful experience for us and our guests. From start to finish, working with Chris was an absolute breeze. We can't wait to visit again. This venue is like none other.
  • User2035030 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our reception at Rat's Restaurant at Grounds for Sculpture and it was absolutely perfect. They truly took care of us that day, and left us with no worries throughout the process. Any changes we needed to make along the way they were happy to take care of. There were specific linens I requested and they went above and beyond to get them. The room was stunning, the food couldn't have been better, and the service was exceptional. Every single guest was smiling and enjoying themselves the entire night. We had quite a few dietary restraints and they easily accommodated all of them. If you want a very classy, unique, stress-free night, this venue is the perfect option. We felt like royalty!
  • R
    Richard Married on 09/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    As a gay couple who waited 17 years to get married we needed to find a venue that was not only beautiful, had wonderful food and service but most of all made us feel comfortable on such a special day! The management and staff did all that and more!
    Not only working with them during the planning of the event but then the event itself and the follow up were all stellar! We decided on a 3 hour cocktail reception rather than a formal sit down so that we along with our guests could mingle and chat more easily!
    The Cocktail Hour is usually everyone's favorite part of the event so having it go on for 3 hours with different stages of food being presented was exciting and just the thing for our food savvy guests! All of that in that beautiful setting made for a day we and our guests will ever forget! The guests loved the fact that they also were able to visit the Sculpture Garden afterward which is a benefit of having your wedding there! FIVE STARS all the way around!!!!!


  • User1932445 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I worked with Christopher and he was just wonderful! He made sure our event went off without a hitch and put a wonderful person in charge of food for the night so everything could be perfect. He was super responsive with emails and I found that being polite and grateful went a long way because he really went the extra mile for us on the big day. Rat's was the perfect place for our 40 person wedding and we wouldn't have changed a thing! Thanks to all of the staff there for making in an amazing evening.
  • User1559702 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The room was perfect!!!!! Different, Unique, SPACIOUS, AMAZING!!!! I am still getting phone calls from people asking about information to book an event there...
  • C
    Cindy Event on: 01/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris at Rats will work with you from start to finish to make sure your event is one of a kind, unique experience for you and all of your guests. Very unique french restaurant with incredible food and the ambiance of the grounds and room are lovely and beautiful. Your guests will be delighted they were invited to your event!
    It may be pricey but it is well worth every penny!!
  • J
    Jenn Married on 09/21/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held our wedding reception at Grounds for Sculpture and it was absolutely AMAZING!!!! Roxanne and Lauren were extremely helpful in guiding us through the whole planning process. They also helped us choose the most wonderful vendors (caterer, florist, DJ, etc.) that made the night a huge success! STUNNING and UNIQUE venue, great service - we wouldn't have changed a thing!!
  • D
    Daileen Married on 09/14/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wonderful setting for an outdoor wedding(9 muses). The indoor reception wan equally wonderful. Roxanne was terrific to work with.
  • S
    Shannon Married on 09/06/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Grounds for Sculpture is such a beautiful site to visit, let alone have your wedding. I am so grateful to have been able to have mine there, and Lauren McCalley and Roxanne Klett were so helpful in making it the most incredible day of my life. Our guests were blown away--it was surreal. The Nine Muses is such a breathtaking space for the ceremony. The Grounds are available to the guests all day and many of ours took advantage. They were so in awe of the beauty of the art--both botanical and man-made. Lauren and Roxanne were on point the day of the wedding, working with all of the vendors to make sure all details were accounted for. I am so appreciative to Lauren especially for fielding all of my questions leading up to the day. She never left me waiting for a response and was very patient and informative. Roxanne was so great, too, especially the day of. She made sure we had everything we needed. I absolutely recommend the Grounds for Sculpture as a venue for your wedding, and as somewhere you simply must see in your lifetime. It is such a special place.
  • Stacie
    Stacie Married on 06/29/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding at the Grounds for Sculpture on June 29, 2013. It was perfect! The weather was also perfect which allowed for our ceremony to take place at the Nine Muses and it was magical! The reception was inside the Johnson center and was amazing!
  • User1187851 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When the bride and groom announced their intention to marry, we called only two places. The priest and the Grounds for Sculpture. Sometimes a person's dreams become reality and that is precisely what happened for us. Christopher, the event manager of Rat's Restaurant on the Grounds for Sculpture, is the most precious person. His organization, attention to detail and kind professionalism created the foundation for the best wedding reception we could have imagined. The venue is breathtaking and truly enchanting. The food, everything from appetizers to dinner to dessert, is worthy of a dignitary. The beverages and service rate the highest possible stars. We continue to hear from our guests that they have never experienced such a feast for all the senses. The bride and groom say it was nearly an out of body experience and one they will never forget. What more can be said about perfection. Very highly recommended in every way.
  • A
    Alison Married on 05/04/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After visiting the Grounds for Sculpture and Rat's Restaurant, we were beyond impressed with the 40 acre sculpture garden. And after meeting Christopher Carrell, the private events manager at GFS and Rat's Restaurant, we were absolutely convinced that this is the perfect place to have our wedding. From the ceremony venue to the reception venue to the catering, GFS was able to take care of everything for us. They had even given us a list of recommended vendors that they had previously worked with that helped in our search. The quality of service was impeccable and we could not have asked for more or couldn't be happier about the way the day turned out. It was perfect.

    We also learned the day after from our guests that the entire staff was on top of everything and so accommodating - it was great to know that it wasn't just the bride and groom that were being given top notch service.
  • R
    Raj Married on 10/20/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Grounds for Sculpture is one of the most amazing locations for a wedding and reception. We had our ceremony at the Nine Muses and it was absolutely stunning. Our reception was at the Seward Johnson Center of the Arts. The great thing about the reception space is that it is a blank canvas. If you want a modern wedding or an vintage wedding feel, it can be done.

    I also want to note how helpful the team at GFS was. Roxanne and Lauren helped us throughout the process to make sure everything was setup for our day. Roxanne and Michelle were there the day of and helped things go very smoothly. There were multiple occasions where the team personally found me and asked me if I needed anything (for example, they got me a drink instead of having to wait in the short line!).

    I would definitely recommend this venue to any couples looking for a unique space that you can truly make your own.
  • J
    Julie Married on 06/23/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot imagine a more beautiful ceremony or reception than the one we had at Grounds for Sculpture. It is so unique and simply breathtaking. Roxanne made the planning process pain free and simple, and was there to accommodate everything we wanted and needed. Lauren, her assistant,was also amazing at making sure that every single detail of our wedding was perfect. I'm so happy we chose this venue, and will gladly recommend it to anyone!
  • S
    Summer L. Married on 05/12/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This place is a diamond in the rough! My husband, then fiancé and I had been reccomended Grounds for Sculpture and Rat's Restaurant by a friend. At first, I visited the website to look at the menu and so forth. My interest wasn't peaked and one day, while coming back from Philly, we decided to stop and check it out, well, the place was just magical. I've been to Europe and visited their parks, restaurants etc and I totally felt like I was back there once again. Within 15 minutes of being there, I said to my fiancé that this place would be amazing to be married at. Later after visiting the park, we ate at Rat's and from then on, we were sold and completly bowled over. The beauty of the park, quality of the food and staff, especially the event coordinator Chris, were amazing. Four months later, my family is still talking about how it was the best wedding they had ever been to. Now, my husband and I go there once a month for dinner and are always amazed at the quality of the place's services.
  • B
    Becky Married on 11/12/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Grounds for Sculpture is an amazing venue. Beautiful ceremony location and great room for reception. Roxanne was such a big help! Highly recommend.