Weddings

Gretchen Gause Photography Reviews

Gretchen Gause Photography

Gretchen Gause Photography

Healdsburg, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 18 Reviews
View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 18

11 User photos

Sort by:
  • A
    Alexandra Y. Married on 04/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best thing we did for our wedding

    Hiring Gretchen was truly one of the best decisions we made for our small elopement ceremony (during COVID times). First of all, she was a joy to work with. She is kind and flexible and helped us structure our ceremony so that we would get the best shots and lighting. She came early to scope out good places to shoot. She made us feel so comfortable (even though we had never taken professional photos and were nervous about it). We even forgot that she was there at times! Her photos are so breathtaking-- she captures so much emotion in her photography-- we couldn't believe it.

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Thank you Bili!! It was an absolute gift to work with you and your wonderful guests! I love that you all took the time to really spend with your zoom guests even though they were so far away. Totally beautiful. And photographing you two connecting with each other was gorgeous! I'm grateful for the opportunity... Thank you and big hugs!! x Gretchen
  • Alexa
    Alexa M. Married on 12/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gretchen is a dream!

    Working with Gretchen was an absolute dream. Her ability to put us at ease and make us feel comfortable and natural in order to capture memories that will be cherished for a life time was so impressive. She was extremely communicative and professional and clearly explained what could be expected from working with her from the very beginning. The images she captured left my husband and I in absolute awe! She worked diligently to make sure we were comfortable during this crazy time of Covid and approached all our concerns and asks with compassion and understanding.
    She brought so much love and joy to the experience and I couldn’t recommend working with her more.
  • Devon
    Devon R. Married on 10/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A gift I'll treasure forever

    Absolutely don't think twice about hiring Gretchen. From the start, photography was one the the most important things to us in our wedding planning process - it is the only way we have to capture the emotion and memories of the day, and it's the photos that will stay with you for years to come. I was so tired of seeing overdone boring "wedding photography" that as soon as I saw Gretchen's work I was in love. Gretchen's photography is so beautiful: perfectly composed, beautiful use of light, and above all she is able to capture emotion and interaction in such a natural way.

    It was so important to us that we have Gretchen with us that day, we actually chose our date making sure that she was available. Being the first person we brought on, I'll also say that beyond her role as a photographer, Gretchen was so helpful to us in other ways - she proposed the first timeline that our coordinator later picked up and was always happy to give the best recommendations for other vendors. She goes above and beyond!

    She is a joy to have by your side on your wedding day. Whoever you hire as a photographer is going to be with you A LOT so this is super important. She has such a calm, wise & thoughtful presence that not only didn't distract, but added to the feeling of the day.

    Looking through our wedding photos for the first time with my new husband (!) was like re-living that day in the most beautiful way, and living for the first time all the moments she captured that we missed. She really gave us a gift that we'll treasure forever. These are now my absolute favorite photos of myself, my husband, and my family. We feel so lucky to have worked with Gretchen, and now we're always trying to think of opportunities to be able to work with her again :)

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Ah Devon :) Working with you two was absolutely amazing. I loved your day and you two and your guests and everything about it all!! Thank you for your incredibly kind words and for having me :) So much love to you guys!
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin S. Married on 10/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Two words: hire gretchen!

    Gretchen is absolutely fabulous and I've recommended her to anyone and everyone who will listen.

    We booked Gretchen for both our (now postponed to 2021 due to COVID) large winery wedding and our intimate elopement this year. When researching wedding photographers, we were struck by Gretchen's ability to capture authenticity and tenderness and the evocative quality and composition of her shots. After our first intro call, Gretchen's kindness, warmth, and genuine interest in our relationship, values, and love story sealed the deal.

    Her approach is not staged or posed, instead she seeks to capture you and your partner's love in its truest, most organic form. She strikes the perfect balance of active coaching (e.g. catching the right lighting, framing the shot) and blending into the background. She was also super flexible and up for anything, expertly finding and capturing amazing vignettes at an unfamiliar location (SF Botanical Gardens). Gretchen made our elopement so so special and we cannot wait to have her shoot our big wedding next year as well!

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Caitlin!! I can't wait either!! I'm so happy to be working with you!! Thank you for having me and for these super kind words. You guys are so kind, so generous and are lights in the world
  • amelia
    Amelia Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding Photographer of our dreams

    I can't say enough good things or words of gratitude for Gretchen. Her photos speak for themselves but what you don't see is how excellent she is at capturing them. It felt like she was invisible but always there to catch any special moment. She's so warm and kind and completely put us at ease. With minimal direction she was able to help us get exactly the type of photos we wanted. We really did have a budget wedding but knew the one place we wanted to work with an experienced person was for the photos we would have forever. Not only is Gretchen's pricing reasonable, it's worth every penny and more. 

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Amelia... oh gosh what can I say. THANK YOU, for your big heart and kind words and for having me! Your playlist was killer, your food insane and your love glorious. What an absolute honor to be a part of it all!! Be well and take care of each other in these wild times! xx
  • D
    Dan N. Married on 08/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our Dream Photographer

    Gretchen was the perfect photographer for our special day. We had to work within a pretty tight time frame at our venue but she was incredibly communicative and accommodating. She was always where we needed and wanted her. More than that, she got so many amazing candid shots of our friends and family and knew just how to find the perfect light for our formal shots. In particular, the photos from our sunset session are ones we'll cherish for the rest of our lives. She really captured the energy and love and magic of the day.

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much Dan. I had such a great time at your wedding!! Your people know how to get down!! And goodness have we not seen your images plastered all over insta! Your ceiling decor was so stunning! I hope you and Elizabeth are wonderful :) Be well!
  • Darren
    Darren D. Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Artistic beauty wrapped up in a photgrapher

    Gretchen exceeded all of our expectations in a wedding photographer. She came recommended by another photographer who's style we loved originally, but was unavailable. Gretchen was patient and understanding of our style and needs/wants. She and her assistant helped us create lifetime memories of our special day that beautifully captured our love, along with the fun and excitement that our guests experienced. Her love for capturing "moments" rather than 'stand and pose' images makes Gretchen's artistry rise to the top. Go Team Gretchen!!

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Ha!! Go Team Darren & Matt!! ❤️ You two were just the best ever to work with. What gorgeous vows, gorgeous design and gorgeous guests ;) You had it all! Thank you for including me in the magic 🙏🤩
  • C
    Courtney Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Phenomenal photography and beyond!

    Gretchen is simply the best. She's so at ease and really helps you to feel at ease and comfortable with every moment. Not to mention that her photography is just killer! You will feel like royalty :)

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Courtney!! You and your big heart. Thank you for these beautiful words. I'm forever grateful to have met you guys and will always hold our first coffee shop meeting close to my heart... I think we could have chatted for hours! Or did we? haha :) Big hugs! xx g
  • J
    Jessica Married on 10/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gretchen was amazing to work with from start to finish! I knew from the moment I saw her website that we needed her to be our wedding photographer. She has an eye for capturing beautiful moments and the emotion of those moments. She is so kind, caring, and fun! My husband and I are a bit camera shy, but the first day we met her for our couples shoot she instantly put us at ease. We felt like our close friend was taking our photo (albeit a very professional friend, able to offer us gentle direction). During both the couples session and our big day she captured everything flawlessly. Your search is over, you have found your girl! Gretchen, thank you for the beautiful photos that will allow us to re-live our day for many, many years to come!

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Jessica!! I sure hope you two are doing wonderfully and I hope this images bring decades of joy to you all 💕 Thank you for the sweetest of words and for sharing such a beautiful day with me! It was a pleasure and an honor... Many big hugs!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Finding vendors for your wedding is a lot of work and often an incredibly difficult decision. That wasn't the case for us with Gretchen, I knew I wanted her the second I came across her website. In fact, we sent in our retainer check after our first email, without meeting her or even a phone call, because we were that certain and didn't want to risk loosing her to someone else. I have to say, this easy decision was also one of the best we made in the entire wedding planning process.

    Working with Gretchen was just as easy- it really felt more like a close friend was taking our photos. She was amazing at making us feel comfortable but also keeping the entire day on track and moving smoothly.

    As for the photos themselves, to say they are beautiful would be a complete understatement. I didn't think it was possible to recreate the love and magic I felt that day, but there it was again right before my eyes. I looked through all the photos 4 or 5 times immediately upon receiving them and just cried tears of joy the entire time. The day of the wedding went by so fast that in a way it felt like a beautiful blur, but seeing these photos I was transported back to specific moments of love and emotion, and that fuzzy blur ironed itself out into a collection of absolutely amazing memories I know I will never forget- and thanks to Gretchen's photos, never have to.

    Gretchen- from the bottom of my heart, thank you for your raw talent, your big heart and for capturing a love 20+ years in the making <3

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Ah Lauren :) THANK YOU. Your words are incredibly kind and my heart is so full. I don't know why I am so blessed to work with folks like you but I truly am. Maybe I made you feel that way but I also felt that way! Everyone, you two of course in particular, welcomed me with open hearts and I felt like I was a guest. I'm so happy to have been a small piece of your story! Lot's of hugs & cheers to you!
  • K
    Kate Married on 08/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I've been waiting anxiously to write Gretchen's review. I hadn't gotten my photos yet, but wanted to write one anyways because her calming, organized, FUN, and beautiful presence on the day of our wedding was enough for me to sing her praises. She created a calm and celebratory environment, even in spite of a scattered family and slightly-buzzed bridal party. But it didn't feel honest to write a review before I got my images ... well, we received our photos yesterday and I am SPEECHLESS. I didn't think that the other-worldly kind of joy I felt on my wedding day could possibly translate into photographs, but Gretchen somehow pulled it off. Our pictures are genuine, candid, organic, and clearly the product of an artist who has the patience and vision to capture the perfect moments. I wasn't convinced that I even cared about pictures on the day of our wedding, but now they're the most precious thing I own. The only thing I would do differently would be to invest in the largest package possible with Gretchen, so I could've captured every moment of our wedding weekend. Gretchen is incredible - both as an artist and a person. Other than saying "I Do", choosing Gretchen to be our photographer was the best decision I made on our wedding day.

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Goodness gracious Kate! Your wedding is one of my all time favorites! Still want those gold chairs from your reception ☺️ The looooove and your family were both out of sight!! I hope you're wonderful and all taking care of each other! I love getting little sweet peeks in on ista! Hugs!
  • M
    Mary C. Married on 07/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gretchen was the first vendor I booked when I got engaged in Oct 2017. I knew, without a moment's hesitation, that I wanted, no, I NEEDED Gretchen to be the person to capture our wedding day on film. She is pure magic and her photos capture more than just smiling faces, they captured the beauty, the spirit and the light of the day. Had I known, I might have skipped formals all-together because the photos produced candidly were where the real magic happened. I've never seen myself or my loved ones captured this way. Every single person I've showed photos to is amazed at the texture, the richness and the incredible talent of our photographers. Thank you again Gretchen, you are our very, very favorite.

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    MC thank you so much for this!! You & your families and some of my very very favorites ever. I don't know what I'm going to do when you all are married! Maybe I'll need to come out for some gathering just to say hi and hug everyone :) Be well! xxg
  • V
    Vanessa Married on 07/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was referred to Gretchen by a friend. After the first several exchanges via email, I knew I selected the right photographer; prompt, kind, and professional. I hired her a year before our wedding as I know in wine country, the early bride gets the first worm...er...photographer. Gretchen’s contract was clear, the expectations were explicit without room for ambiguity. I felt confident having her as the person who would be responsible for documenting the biggest day of my life. Gretchen even went with me to the wedding venue and advised on the best placement for the ceremony, lighting-wise.

    Little did I know how important Gretchen’s role in our wedding would be. You see, I feel ill for our big day. I had food poising and as a result ended up missing most of the event. The moments I did make were wrought with pain and impatience. Gretchen gave me space and her presence was grounding.

    Needless to say she captured some pretty amazing photos. She IS Gretchen Gause after all. I was able to make it through my ceremony and then retreated back to bed. I called Gretchen and told her she could leave the venue. She refused to go and stated, “someone has to be here to capture this”. And thank God she did.

    When I received the photos, not only did I find them better than expected, but she curated the moments of the day to present images that were heartfelt and honest. The photos reflected the immense amount of joy that I was not able to see myself. She turned the memory of my wedding from darkness to light.

    She also gave me more images than was included in the original agreement and offered to shoot my husband and I on the house should we ever desire.

    Best money I ever spent. Thank you Gretchen! xoxo

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Vanessa! I felt so sad for you that day. I can only imagine how you were feeling and there was literally no way I wasn't documenting what I came to capture. At the very very least you were definitely going to have some photos of the day's beauty, even if you couldn't participate. I'm so incredibly happy that those images had such an impact and brought you such joy. That was always deeply my hope but knowing that just fills my heart to the brim!! THANK YOU!!
  • Krista
    Krista Married on 05/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gretchen Gause is a true artist. Her style is like no other. She has the ability to capture so much emotion in one image. I found Gretchen while scrolling through Instagram. I fell in love with a single image of hers and knew then that I had to meet her. After corresponding through email we met in person. Right off the bat Gretchen is warm, super approachable and genuinely wants to get to know the couple she is working with. She also has this cool-artsy vibe about her which I loved We were able to work with her for both our couples shoot and our entire wedding day. She came to our home for the couple’s shoot and we moved to the Marin headlands where we originally got engaged.

    Gretchen is an expert! She contributed greatly to our detailed wedding day timeline and took the lead on timing for all photos as well as organized a shot-list to make sure all formal photos we wanted were captured. She is a master of light! We really wanted some images among the rolling hills as the sun was setting and she had impeccable timing in capturing these shots while keeping in mind that dancing at our reception was a priority for us.

    She was able to tell the story of our wedding day so organically. We have such great candid shots of our guests, images of every detail of our wedding and intimate moments of my husband and I. When I go through the gallery of photos I truly feel like she captured the feel of the day! She didn’t miss a thing and even caught things that we missed. My family and friends were drooling over wedding photos and agreed that she captured the day exactly how it happened. You can really see the happiness in our photos.
    We feel lucky to have worked with Gretchen and would highly recommend her for wedding photos and more!

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    You know, each and every couple that I work with has this really true, deep down special place in my heart. Sometimes I read these reviews and I can remember exactly how the day's events unfolded. Your sunset images in particular, with that lovely walk up the hill with you two and just how the sun touched your shoulders. You both glowed. It was such a gorgeous sight and such an amazing wedding day. Thank YOU for including me in the magic!!!
  • K
    Karen Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We cannot recommend Gretchen enough. We had a strong feeling when we met her, and even though her services was a little over our budget, we decided the extra cost was well worth it. From when we hired her to the day of the wedding, she took time to get to know us, listen to what we were looking for, and quickly responded to our inquiries, especially when it looked like rain would change our entire shoot.

    We were impressed by her professionalism and warmth, and she is extremely easy to work with. We received our photos in a timely fashion, and we could not be happier with the results. In searching for photographers, we were extremely wary of our images looking too posed, too saturated, too saccharine and corny; Gretchen took great care to make our photos look natural, candid, and almost ethereal. We were so lucky to have her!

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    You are so kind. It was my absolute pleasure! I'm forever grateful to have been witness to such magic Karen!! THANK YOU!! Plus rubber boots are now my all time favorite wedding shoe ;)
  • User2319165 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gretchen Gause is an amazing photographer! When we first met with her she let us know that she wasn't interested in creating a Pinterest wedding but in really capturing the essence of our wedding, which was really important to us. We wanted a photographer who was a little more artistic and who would capture great candid photos rather than just the formal posed photos most wedding albums consist of. Our wedding was really small so having a photographer we were comfortable with was really important. Gretchen made us feel at ease and comfortable (even though we are both camera shy) and we're really happy with the photos we got. We hired her another shooter for 8 hours to really capture everything. Although she's located in Northern California she also does work in LA.

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Your wedding has and will always hold a very special place in my heart. Both of you are just such wonderful humans. I'm very lucky to have been a part of your journey <3
  • K
    Kate Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gretchen is a true dream. She photographed both our engagement and wedding, and I could not be happier with our decision to do so.

    Coming from a couple who really love photos, we were going for a very specific style/vibe. From day one she was open to working with us on our vision, and taking into account all of our weird little requests. When it came time to actually take the photos, she was overwhelmingly calm and easy. It felt like we'd already known her for years and that she was just our dear friend taking pictures of us. She made the entire process so wonderful, and I truly could not recommend her more!

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    You two brought all of the magic!! I was just there to document what you are already showing the world! <3 So much love for you two!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 06/04/2017
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    When I began planning my wedding, I didn't want a professional photographer because I think wedding photos often look so staged and artificial. Then I saw Gretchen's work and was deeply moved by the beauty of the emotions that she captures in her images.
    I am so grateful that she was available to work with us. Our photos are beyond anything I had hoped for and capture all the love and joy that we feel, in the most beautiful way. Gretchen has elevated her genre to the status of ART. Not only do we have beautiful photos from our wedding, but we also have timeless portraits of those we love to cherish for the rest of our lives.
    I also have to say, that neither my husband, nor I, like to pose or have our picture taken. Gretchen made it all very easy and fun. We were able to forget about her and enjoy ourselves while she captured everything meaningful in the most stunning image. She is a truly gifted and talented Soul!

    Gretchen Gause Photography's reply:

    Hi Lisa! Oh man :) This is so incredibly touching. YOU guys made it easy & fun! You and your whole beautiful family. It was such a treat to be included in such an intimate and magical day on the beach. Your love for each other lit up the day!! I don't know that I've laughed that much at a wedding :) It was so full of life & joy and the hike was such a perfect entrance into your new lives together. Wishing you all the best in the years to come!! <3