The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum Reviews

10 | Canandaigua, NY
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum

Recommended by 89%

10

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5

1 User photo

The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum 1
Sort by:
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend

    We recently held my parents’ 50th Wedding Anniversary party at the Granger Homestead. We had approximately 25 guests & everyone had positive feedback on the location we’d chosen.
    The staff (Colleen & Vicky) were wonderful! They were available if we needed them, but didn’t hover & let our guests enjoy themselves. They gave shortened tours of the Homestead and carriage houses as our guests requested them.
    I kept the decorations simple so as to not detract from the beauty of the homestead itself. We had appetizers & desserts catered so there was one table and one high boy, plus additional chairs, in each of the three rooms for our guests to eat at, or just sit and chat. It was a very relaxed atmosphere during the whole party & our guests really enjoyed themselves.
    I would highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 08/11/2019

    The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind review, Heather, and thank you for choosing to have your parents anniversary celebration at The Granger Homestead! You did such a beautiful job planning their party, and it showed - right down to the candy favors with the personalized touches on the bottom! Take care, and here's to many more years for your parents to celebrate!
  • P

    Pam Thompson · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Granger - A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood!

    My daughter recently held her wedding reception at Granger after riding in the horse-drawn carriage from the marriage at St. John's down the street. I cannot say enough good about the Granger staff, especially Collen, who was not only flexible, but responded promptly too all my questions over the 6 months prior to the celebration. She also worked very well with my wedding planner. The reception in the tent in the side yard was perfect, and we had the grounds for carriage rides and lawn games. We made use of the beautiful side porch when introducing the wedding party, and the sunset in front provided a lovely background for a photo of the newlyweds. The guests loved wandering through the beautiful mansion, and, also, the neighborhood as there made their way from church to reception. Many guests stayed in neighboring Bed & Breakfasts and Airbnb's. A reception at Granger was a wonderful way to showcase the City of Canandaigua, where we live!

    Sent on 07/03/2019
    The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum 2

    The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much for your lovely review, Pam! Erika and Sean are a beautiful couple, and Mother Nature seemed to be shining down on them that day as well. It was truly such a pleasure to work with you, as well as Emily, and it was such a joy to look out, and see guests enjoying the day, either on the porches, on the dance floor, or just walking the grounds. Thank you again, and our best to Erika and Sean for a life time of love and happiness.
    - Colleen
  • B

    Bethanne · Married on 03/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was perfect! We celebrated my grandmother's 100th birthday with about 75 guests at the Granger Homestead. The Home was the perfect place with the beautiful Chandeliers and the grand formal (but comfortable) setting.
    The guests loved the Home and raved about the party.
    Colleen was wonderful to work with. She was very helpful with suggesting the best table set up and places for the bar. I was hesitant to place the bar in the far room and Colleen was right. The guests will find the bar wherever you place it! It actually worked well in that room. There was plenty of room to move about and the bartender could easily get extra supplies from the back room as needed. Colleen was very patient with me as I tried to rearrange the set up even the day before the event! Colleen personally grabbed extra tables and assisted with all the extras as needed. She was there during the event and quickly responded to our extra needs.
    We used the Home's china. It was beautiful. The silverware was elegant.
    Grandma loved the event. Thank you to Granger Homestead and staff!

    Sent on 03/23/2017

    The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum's reply:

    Hi Bethanne,
    Thank you for your wonderful review! Your party was beautiful, and your grandmother is truly an inspiration. We were honored that you chose to have her birthday celebration here, and if we can ever be of any help in the future, please don't hesitate to let me know. All my best. - Colleen
  • D

    Denise · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I knew I wanted to get married and have a reception outside, which in Rochester means you have very limited options. We had put Granger on the list because we were already looking at other venues in Canadaguia and when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. We ended up using the house for our rehearsal dinner and the grounds for our wedding and reception. Colleen (the event coordinator) was wonderful and went above and beyond to be sure that everything we wanted was taken care of, she is truly wonderful and we could not have done it without her. The house makes an amazing backdrop for photos, both inside and outside! We could not have asked for a better venue, you also have the opportunity to bring in your choice of cater, which is rare and very nice perk.

    Sent on 08/17/2016

    The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum's reply:

    Thanks so much for the kind review, Denise. You and Than are a wonderful couple, and it truly was a pleasure, not only getting to work with you, but also getting to know you. All my best to you both! - Colleen
  • J

    James · Married on 06/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delighted with venue for our purposes. This was a rehearsal party the night before the wedding. Granger staff was more than helpful in planning, preparation of the event for 45 people.
    Colleen was incredible with service above and beyond: Last minute request she provided a quick overview for our guests which really set the tone for the party. In addition she provided a requested print, framed and ready to go that I was able to present to my bride the night before for such a memorable evening.

    Sent on 08/01/2016

    The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum's reply:

    Thanks for your kind review, James! It was a pleasure getting to work with you and Patricia, and although I hadn't spoken to a party about the history of the Homestead before, I appreciated the opportunity and gracious reception from everyone. All my best to you both. - Colleen
  • K

    Karen · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want a beautiful and historic venue this is where to go. The venue director, Colleen, was awesome. In a pinch we were able to switch around a few things, due to weather, with everything turning out great . This wedding was my son & daughter-in-laws wedding. They both love the history involved with people and places.

    Sent on 07/23/2016

    The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum's reply:

    Thanks Karen! Sean and Amy were such a lovely couple, and it was a pleasure getting to know, and work with all of you. Take care. - Colleen
  • User4957654 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience with Granger. I would recommend.

    Sent on 04/30/2015

    The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum's reply:

    Thank you, for your kind review. We very much appreciate it, and if we can be of any help in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me. - Colleen
  • User7323556 · 2+ years ago

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We had a very small wedding inside the Granger home. There were a lot of issues or constraints with were items can be placed in the home such as decorations, usage of all access points to the home which made it hard to set up the day of the wedding. Unable to set off lanterns outside, cannot use flower petals for outside ceremony, cannot use real flower petals for indoor ceremony due to carpet. There is no staff to help bride and groom except Colleen the manager of Granger which is still limited help. Setting up tables, placing napkins, etc, don't count on getting it done unless you or your bridal party does it. They do not help with any clean up either! Expect to only get a mansion with lots of restrictions. Beautiful place just not great for a small wedding. Outside tent wedding would be much better here!

    Sent on 10/17/2016

    The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum's reply:

    Hi Britni and Jayson, I'm sorry that you had concerns in regard to your wedding. We try to make our clients happy, to the best of our abilities, but unfortunately some situations are dictated because of the type of venue we are. The Granger Homestead is a not-for-profit, historic home, and therefore, we can't allow lanterns to be released, or real rose petals to be tossed inside. I must say though, the alternative to the lanterns that Jayson found was a beautiful substitution, and when our other staff member and I helped move them to the porch, it was a pretty amazing sight! In regards to set up and cleanup, that is done by your caterer and wedding coordinator. Some couples forgo the coordinator, in which case, I don't mind stepping in to help where I can. I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review, as I take each and every one seriously. All my best to you both, and I sincerely wish you many years of happiness. Take Care. - Colleen
  • W

    Richard · Married on 08/01/2008

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    Granger Homestead was a pleasure to work with...at first. We got an extremely attractive offer for the price of the facility ($1000) in addition to the cost of a parking attendant and someone to stay in the house as we had our reception.

    Sandy worked with us well and helped us out in the time prior to signing our contract. Once the contract was signed, however, this all kind of went out the window. We had been promised (in our contract), the use of the homestead's folding chairs. At the last minute, the homestead decided that their chairs did not look good enough and that we would need to rent replacements at $2.50 each. Our tables (we had thought that these were included) would need to be rented as well.

    My wife (then my fiance) had a very frustrating meeting with Sandy in the days leading up to the wedding. She felt basically ignored, as Sandy tried to make decisions about the timing of our reception, the arrival of our DJs and other facts that she should have been working with us on. The price of the reception went up by about $500-$600 because of these last minute changes.

    Granger Homestead looked great at the reception, but I will always be both saddened and disappointed by their last minute performance and changes to our agreement.

    Sent on 08/09/2008

    The Granger Homestead and Carriage Museum's reply:

    Our sincere apologies to you and your wife for your experience. I have been here for over 16 years, and have seen many changes in the Homestead ... staff included. I remember Sandy very well, and as of four or five years ago, I began doing the job that she had held. During those years, I've tried very hard to ensure that our guests not only enjoy their experience, but that they leave knowing we care, and that they matter to us. If you would like to stop back in to visit The Homestead, perhaps have a private, little, anniversary picnic on one of our porches, I would be more than happy to arrange that and to show you the many changes that have taken place since your reception. All my best to you and your wife. - Colleen

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review