Grand River Center Reviews

70 | Dubuque, IA
See photos, pricing and details

70 Reviews for Grand River Center

Recommended by 89%

70
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.4
Sort by:
  • Michelle

    Michelle Cook · Getting married on 02/14/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love it it such a good place everyone should go there

    They do pretty much everything that you would want to do it that place

    Sent on 01/31/2019
  • M

    Miranda · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue

    The venue was absolutely beautiful. Great outdoor space for a ceremony. The wedding coordinator Emily was very accommodating! Best day ever!

    Sent on 10/06/2019

    Grand River Center's reply:

    Thank you very much for the kind words. You were a pleasure to work with and the wedding was beautiful. I want to thank you for entrusting us with your special day.
  • K

    Kawdrh11302018 · Married on 11/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grand River Center

    Our reception at the Grand River Center was amazing. We had a small enough guest list that we were able to hold it in the River Room which is an amazing space - all of our guests were so impressed. Working with Sherri was so easy. She really has everything down and runs a smooth operation. Everything was taken care of, all of the little details thought of, and the service was amazing. Most importantly though, we and all of our guests had so much fun!

    Sent on 12/17/2018
  • J

    Jeremy · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Easy to work with and always available to answer questions. They really seem to care about your special day and want to make it amazing!

    Sent on 10/11/2018

    Grand River Center's reply:

    Thank you, Jeremy and Stephanie, for the review. It was great working with you as well!
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Grand River Center was so great to work with and they made planning our day so much easier! Sherrie was wonderful to work with and it was an honor to have her officiate our wedding as well. The staff was so nice and took care of all of our requests. The food was wonderful and our guests talked about it several days after. We can't imagine having our wedding and reception anywhere else!

    Sent on 06/19/2018

    Grand River Center's reply:

    Stephanie, so happy we could make your day one to remember! Thank you for allowing us to share your day.
  • R

    Raya · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience!!! Great service and staff.
    Everything was perfect, we just had to relax and enjoy our day!!

    Sent on 04/24/2018

    Grand River Center's reply:

    Raya thank you for the review. It was great working with you and your family! Thank you for coming to the Grand River Center!
  • Ohheyitscait

    Caitlin · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding this past weekend was perfect, and it was all thanks to the wonderful staff at the Grand River Center. My husband and I don't live in Dubuque, but it is a nice central point for all of our families. But when we first looked at the grand river center, it was perfect. The views are unbeatable, the pictures look amazing. But the best part about the grand river center? Sherri and Samantha and the staff. Sherri was not only our DOC, but she was our officiant. She ensured everything went smoothly, when she was not checking on us, she was making sure the staff knew what to do. In the planning process, we were pretty indecisive and we changed our mind a lot. It was never, "well I don't think we can do that" it was, "we will do our best to make sure that happens." Honestly, if we asked for something, we were given it. We even customized our menu. My dad was floored by the service. They allowed him to bring his favorite wine in and serve it to his friends, making him feel very special. There were no hiccups throughout the day, because the staff was so well trained. We were worried about the grand river center having multiple weddings on the same day. But there were no problems. Every wedding was treated as if they were the only ones there. We had a very private ceremony at the grand river center, with no problems either. We did have some wedding crashers from other weddings, but they were quickly escorted out. So seriously, reader of this review, give them a call, schedule an appointment with Sherri. She is the best and will make your day perfect. (And in all honesty, if Sherri left and went to another venue, we probably would have followed her to the other venue lol.) Some other things to consider: if you absolutely do not want to have other events occurring on your wedding day, or if you want to have a completely private event, you may want to look somewhere else. This didn't matter so much to me. 10/10 would have our wedding here. 10/10 would recommend.

    Sent on 09/25/2017
  • M

    Molly · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had THE MOST AMAZING reception. More than we could have ever imagined. Samantha is SPECTACULAR... so easy to work with, very accommodating, very hard working, and treated our wedding as it was her own down to every last detail, nothing went unnoticed and the night was perfect. She did way more than we had ever expected her to do. No way we would have been able to do this without her. Not only was Samantha amazing the other staff (Sherry, the kitchen, the bar, etc) nothing short of awesome. Guests could not say enough good things about the River Center, the food, the staff, the location, the beautiful area, and the whole night. Everyone had SOOOO much fun.

    Sent on 09/06/2017
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sherri and the staff at the Grand River Center were awesome to work with. They were able to show us all the options that were available so my daughter and her husband could have a beautiful ceremony and wedding reception at the Grand River Center. We had so many compliments on the venue, especially the cocktail hour in the River Room. Thank you for making their day wonderful!

    Sent on 09/12/2017
  • J

    Julia · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We fell in love with the view of the Mississippi on our first visit to Dubuque and knew that the Grand River Center was a great place to hold our wedding. Sherri Sherman and Samantha Runde were wonderful to work with. We wanted to utilize some different decorating and lay out designs. Instead of "no we don't do it that way", their response was always, "we will make this work." Sherri, Samantha and the entire staff worked diligently to make our event perfect. Our guests had a wonderful time and our daughter's wedding was nothing short of spectacular.

    Sent on 07/14/2017
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 stars says it all plus some! I was the 3rd party helping to plan my nieces June 2017 wedding reception at the GRC, from 250 miles away! There is NO way we could have accomplished what we did without the constant help from Sam and Sherri. There were numerous phone calls, emails, and even texts over this past year. Not once did they not reply in a timely manner. They offered help and guidance when needed. They would patiently listen to my unorthodox ideas without instantly saying "nope can't do that". As you plan you will quickly find out, that having someone who will honestly listen to you is a HUGE deal! Sam and Sherri helped to make my niece's wedding day a day she will never forget. For that alone...I will be forever grateful. Let's do it again Sam and Sherri:)

    Sent on 07/25/2017
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sherri with Grand River Center was outstanding! She was super responsive to all emails and questions and made sure our day went smoothly from start to finish. Our food was amazing and the bar staff was great. I highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just had our dream wedding at The Grand River Center. I cannot say enough good things about the staff who helped us pull off our magical day. Samantha Runde took our every request and turned them into a reality. From wine glass tiki torches and an ice cream bar to personalized slideshows during our dances, she made sure our vision became a reality. Not only that but, her "day-of" attention to detail allowed it all to happen. We had lost our bowls for the ice cream bar toppings and couldn't get our slideshows to work (among other things) and she jumped right in to get things all set up and even got our slideshows going on her own computer. Our day was literally flawless because of this amazing team. Sherri Sherman made sure our catering was set up perfectly, from a full cocktail hour and plated dinner to late-night pizza...we have gotten compliment after compliment on the food and service at dinner. We had over half of our wedding coming in to celebrate from out of town and using the River Room for the ceremony added to the experience of having our wedding along the Mississippi River. Our guests thought the venue was beautiful (as did we!). If we could do it all again we wouldn't change a thing. You are in good hands with this crew.

    Sent on 10/13/2016
  • Vicki

    Vicki · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We received SO many compliments on our ceremony and reception that we had at the GRC. Melissa and staff were VERY responsive to emails, even when I had questions the day before/ day-of. They worked with us on figuring out the perfect layout for each detail of our ceremony and reception. Melissa was SO helpful in remembering all the details that I was likely to forget. It was a HUGE relief to have everything we needed right there: catering, ceremony, reception, and coordinator on-site. A BEAUTIFUL venue with AMAZING people to work with!

    Sent on 03/22/2016
  • A

    Alison · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and the rest of the staff at GRC was a dream to work with. They were so accomodating and helpful to help us make the most of our budget and provide the absolute best for our guests. They went above and beyond to make our day special and I received so many compliments from friends and family on how delicious the food was and how professional and kind the staff was. There are no words to thank them enough for making our dream day come true and to be even better than imagined!

    Sent on 02/19/2016
  • User3328767 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was AMAZING working with the Grand River Center. They were extremely responsive, helpful and flexible in scheduling times to speak with us. They went through a few different wedding coordinators over the year we had them booked, but it honestly didn't make a difference. They were still helpful and organized. The venue itself is also beautiful and many of our guests commented on how much they liked the venue. The food was also excellent! The only thing I didn't like was their tasting. They schedule everyone who is having a wedding within a certain month span to come to their tasting, so around 300-400 people. Everything was just served buffet style and lines were long. It was all you can eat though, which was nice. They also had the wedding coordinator and her assistant answer questions after the tasting, which was helpful, but a bit overwhelming with so many people. Overall, it was a great venue and I was never stressed out when it came to anything regarding the venue. I highly recommend them!

    Sent on 10/30/2014
  • J

    Jalesa · Married on 05/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Grand River is beautiful! Our wedding was so gorgeous! The staff is friendly and helpful!

    Sent on 07/29/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The GRC is awesome to work with. They are so experienced, professional, and accommodating. I would highly recommend JoAnn and the staff at the GRC.

    Sent on 07/20/2012
  • J

    Jen · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You can't go wrong with a wedding at the Grand River Center. Brandon was AMAZING to work with. I'll be honest that I was a bit nervous how everything would work out with so many weddings at one place but some how they pull it all off without a hitch. Food was great! Our guests still tell us so. They are VERY organized and make sure every detail is not forgot. Couldn't be happier!

    Sent on 03/20/2012
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/28/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved it!!!

    Sent on 06/14/2011
  • A

    Abby · Married on 11/27/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JoAnn and the staff at the Grand River Center did an outstanding job with our wedding reception! We greatly appreciate all of the attention to detail, and truly were grateful for the excellent work the evening of our reception, someone on the staff was always checking to make sure we were happy and well taken care of.

    Sent on 12/13/2010
  • R

    Jan & Gery · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Grand River Center is a great place for a reception and the staff is awesome to work with.

    Sent on 10/13/2010
  • M

    Maureen · Married on 09/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JoAnn and her team at the Grand River center do a fantastic job from start to finish. They are responsive, helpful, and flexible. They worked with us to plan our reception to fit exactly what we wanted. The staff who runs the event (catering and chefs) do a great job with a large group. The food exceeded my expectations and the service was lovely. The river walk is beautiful for cocktails and showcases Dubuque nicely. I would recommend Grand River center to ANYONE!! Thank you JoAnn & Co for the beautiful job you did on our wedding!

    Sent on 10/07/2010
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 09/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JoAnn was amazing. She was so easy to get along with and was willing to work with me, which is pretty hard (planning a wedding 2 1/2 hours away, I had no internet, and I worked a 7 a.m. to 6p.m. shift) The food was amazing and reasonably priced. I would not have done anything different.

    Sent on 10/06/2010
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Grand River Center was very easy to work with. They were very responsive to any questions we had, and everything was the way we wanted it. The staff was fantastic.

    Sent on 10/06/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review