Gourmet Goodies Reviews

24 | Nicholasville, KY
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for Gourmet Goodies

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

24
Order by:
  • Amber

    Amber · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best food ever

    After tasting there food I knew I would choose them. Worth every penny!

    Sent on 11/10/2019

    Gourmet Goodies's reply:

    We are so glad you were pleased with our services! Thank you for letting us be part of your story.
    Congratulations on the start of your new chapter.
  • J

    Jessica Scott · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great food and even better service

    Working with Gourmet Goodies was simple and easy. I never felt so taken care of especially with fear of running out of food. The food was amazing and exactly what we asked for. Not only that but the service was seamless!

    Sent on 11/11/2019
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ms Thelma and her crew were simply wonderful! From the first meeting to the taste testing right down to the wedding dinner... everything was fantastic. We got so many compliments on how good dinner was and the set up was beautiful. Thank you Gourmet Goodies for helping make my daughters wedding day perfect!

    Sent on 11/06/2017

    Gourmet Goodies's reply:

    Caitlin, thank you for the very nice review. We are always aiming to provide the best quality of service and we are extremely happy to hear everything went perfectly for your daughter's wedding day.
  • K

    Kourtni · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can only say great things about Ms. Thelma and her team at Gourmet Goodies. From researching online, consultation meeting, tasting, to the wedding day was nothing but smooth sailing. The pricing is reasonable and you get quality/delicious food! My guests raved about everything we served, especially the Caribbean Jerk Chicken! The staff were polite, efficient, and quiet so much so I didn't know they had cleaned up and left once everything was done. I highly recommend Gourmet Goodies!
    So many options and again everything was delicious! Thank you Ms. Thelma!
    Sean and Kourtni Lightsey
    10/14/17

    Sent on 10/29/2017
  • S

    Susan · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thelma was so helpful and spent a lot of time with us. She provided everything we wanted and the food was delicious. Many of our guests commented that the food was some of the best that they had had at a wedding. The toughest part was deciding what entrees to pick. She offers so many! I would definitely recommend Gourmet Goodies!

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • R

    Robyn · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Gourmet Goodies for our wedding and I can not say enough good things about Thelma and her staff. From signing the contract to the end of the wedding everything was perfect. She was so easy to work with and did exactly what we wanted. The pricing was great for all that was included. The day of the wedding her staff was top notch. They were so friendly and polite with all of my guest. I will definitely use her in the future and I will recommend her to others for sure.

    Sent on 11/09/2016
  • C

    Christine · Married on 09/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the time I found Gourmet Goodies' transparent menu (Buffet, $X per person, includes 1 entrée, 2 sides, 1 salad, beverages) I knew they were the caterer for me, if I could get them to my venue. Their website flyer had a list of different entrees, sides, salad I could choose from, and indicates what you can get for price upgrades (pricey entrees, extra entrée/side, appetizer, dishes). They aren't mysterious like other catering companies, providing only sample menus and hinting they can design a custom menu with sliding price points. I don't cook, and don't know how to design a menu. I am a person with a budget and need to know how much I will be spending, what I am getting, and whether it is worth it to upgrade to a more expensive entrée, add a second entrée, and get appetizers. I don't have time to research tons of food options and present it to the caterer. GG's base price is affordable enough I felt good about doing upgrades- but you don't have to upgrade & it'll be great.
    Gourmet Goodies, led by the very competent and professional Thelma, has clear information on the website. The contact phone number and email is right there, and not hidden.
    They arrived when they said they would, and got right down to business. Their presentation is beautiful. My photographer, a superstar at the area I held my wedding, asked who my caterer was because they seemed so professional. At the end, GG packed up leftovers for me and I was able to enjoy the next day.
    Not only was Gourmet Goodies flawless, Thelma also went above and beyond to help me out with a few things, which I won't divulge specifics so no one expects it ;)
    Lastly, the food was delicious- all my guests raved about it. I wanted to just drink their sweet tea all night too.
    During the planning process, I had a lot of questions, but Thelma or one of her employees would always answer to the best of their ability, and everything was spot on. I was lucky to find them.

    Sent on 09/28/2016
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 07/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We searched around for caterers, but no one was in our budget until we discovered Gourmet Goodies! We wanted a Mediterranean inspired buffet for our wedding and Thelma was able to come up with some wonderful recipes that were delicious! The price includes much more than food as well. The staff was also great to work with and responded to emails quickly.

    Sent on 07/10/2016
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 06/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got country ham biscuits with homemade honey mustard dipping sauce and it did not disappoint! The women were so great to work with and let us try one before we bought! They were so easy to work with and highly recommend if you are looking for local place to get some goodies!!

    Sent on 08/15/2016
  • User5635381 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Both price and quality of food were great. There was plenty of food for our 250 guests and everyone was through the buffet lines very quickly. The venue did not have a kitchen on site and was ~1 hour away from her facility, but they were still able to keep the food warm and fresh.

    Sent on 11/22/2015
  • Alex

    Alex · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beth and her team are magicians. Our original cake vendor bailed on us after being booked with them for 6 months. Beth took us in without any hesitation and gave us a very personal touch. We had them make our favors (chocolate covered oreos), some pieces for our hotel goody bags (chocolate horse heads), and our cake. We had a lot left over because we also had a chocolate fountain, but it was delicious and everyone that had a piece agreed. The flavor was amazing and the cake was moist. Their list of flavors is extensive and can feel overwhelming, but there is something for everyone. I highly recommend at least going for a free tasting to prove that this is the place to go! I won't use anyone else for a wedding, birthday, celebration, or just because I want sweets!

    Sent on 07/29/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was both delicious and beautiful. Beth was outstanding in replicating the design we wanted and her service was impeccable. We would defini

    Sent on 05/10/2015
  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thelma and her team were great. I was never worried about the food for the wedding because they had everything in order when it needed to be. The food was delicious and we got so many compliments on it. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for an awesome caterer!

    Sent on 07/14/2014
  • User3084861 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding cake was beautiful and tasted amazing! Beth at Gourmet Goodies was so patient with us while we picked out a style and flavor for our cake, and she did an amazing job setting up and decorating our cake table at the wedding!

    Sent on 08/16/2013
  • User2633393 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend Gourmet Goodies to cater any occasion! Thelma and her team not only prepared absolutely delicious food, but were reasonably priced for outstanding quality. Our guests at the rehearsal dinner and wedding reception still rave about the food! Everything was hot and there was plenty of food for everyone. Thelma and her team also made sure the cake was cut and ready to be served without someone having to tell them to do so. They just took the initiative and did what needed to be done. I would definitely use their service again!

    Sent on 10/17/2012
  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 11/03/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The owner of Gourmet Goodies, Thelma, is awesome! She is very reasonably priced, and her food is soooo good. Our guests raved about the food...especially the hash brown casserole :)

    Sent on 01/11/2013
  • Alexandria

    Alexandria · Married on 09/23/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gourmet Goodies was amazing. The food tasted great and their service was wonderful. I planned most of my wedding from out of town so I had to handle most things through email and phone calls which worked but if you have the option I would definitely try to go in to see Thelma. Her assistant answers her emails quickly but if you need Thelma you have to go in or call and I found it much easier to get on the same page with Thelma in person and she is a wonderfully sweet lady.

    Sent on 10/10/2017
  • J

    Jacqui · Married on 09/07/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Gourmet Goodies did an excellent job at our wedding! No one could believe I'd gotten catering for the price I did, and they were doubly surprised after they tasted how good everything was! Multiple people told us it was the best wedding dinner they'd ever had- including our friends who all used much more expensive vendors. I'd recommend going to a free tasting so that you can meet Thelma and try her dishes. There are so many to choose from and the tasting really helps narrow it down. They also did our cake, and it turned out beautifully. We had pistacchio, pink lemonade and champagne flavors and all three were a hit. I'd definitely recommend them to anyone looking for great food at any budget!

    Sent on 09/18/2013
  • M

    Stella · Married on 06/13/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We spent less than $2000 for dinner and apps for 85 people. The food was really really good. All of the Bourbon Glazed chicken was eaten by the end of dinner as well as their awesome yeast rolls. We also asked to keep our leftovers so we got the rest of everything else. Thelma also fixed two boxes for the photographers as well as a box for my husband and I (it included the apps we missed out on because of photos). I would definitely recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 07/15/2011
  • User3812159 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Sweet Shoppe, part of Gourmet Goodies, did our wedding cake and desserts. The opted out for the big meal at the wedding and did a desserts bar instead. They made the wedding cake, cupcakes, and cake pops. It was all so perfect!! The cake was a naked funfetti cake and it was stunning. By the time my husband got back to the reception after pictures, the cupcakes and cake pops were gone! Everyone was talking about how amazing they were. She were so easy to work with- even when I changed my mind on the flavors like 3 times! Beth was so great and kind!! We will be getting all our cakes from there from now on!

    Sent on 10/20/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/14/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Gourmet Goodies stood out to me because their prices were so much more reasonable than Lexington caterers. Thelma and Beth were easy to work with. Thelma met me twice after hours at her shop to help me plan the menu and pick out the cake. Beth did a great job decorating. Thelma was willing to make items not on the menu, but everything she had was so good, I decided to just order from her menu.

    Beth's cake was out of this world. It was the exact design I gave her off of theknot.com and tasted great! All the guests raved about the cake and the food. It was all top notch. Tremendous value and service!

    Sent on 09/17/2013
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/08/2009

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Gourmet Goodies was recommended to me by a friend who had eaten their delicious cake. I met with Thelma, and was impressed with the cakes she had done. We came up with the perfect cake for me, and I was really excited. When they were delivering my cake, it fell over in the car. I had ordered a 5 tier cake, but ended up with a crocked 4 tier. Honestly no one knew there was a problem, because they worked really hard to make the cake presentable. But it wasn't the cake I ordered or wanted, therefore they gave me a 75% refund. I could tell that Thelma felt horrible about what happened, and she said that it was the only time in her 30 years something like this had happened. I will definately use Gourmet Goodies again, because her customer service was great and she went out of her way to make sure I was happy. Everyone thought the cake was delicious, and her prices are great! Definately give her a chance!

    Sent on 08/27/2009
  • K

    Katie · Married on 08/20/2016

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I deinitely challenged Thelma and the chef (I believe his name was Bill --?). They did their first all-vegan wedding for my wedding. And it was good! My main complaints were the days before the wedding.
    To begin, at our first meeting, Thelma, like EVERY other caterer I had met with, argued w/ me & tried to "convince" me to use animal flesh & secretions in my wedding food -- that wasn't going to happen. When I told her to stop asking, she ceded & didn't bring it up again. Meeting w/ the chef set me at ease. He's a super nice and talented. He even said he'd make me something special.
    But after signing the contract up to the wedding was not great. I would email a question, & I'd get some vague reply back. And we never did a tasting. Thelma also kept increasing the price. Yes, I understand that animal-free products can be a bit more expensive, but she knew this before the initial quote & I was already supplying many of the condiments. Plus, Thelma waited till the last minute to order things, which was stressful for me.
    Thankfully, the chef was VERY competent. The vegan mac 'n cheese he made was excellent. The brussels sprouts were awesome. But, the item he made just for me was supposed to be a roasted heirloom tomato. When he served it to me, it was beautiful -- but raw! Thankfully, I love tomatoes, & it was still yummy-- but it wasn't as advertised. My other issue is that I had asked for less cantaloupe & more strawberries, grapes. Frustratingly, the latter were eaten up very quickly, & lots of cantaloupe remained. Also, during the wedding, Thelma approached me 2 times while eating & 2 times while talking to guests to ask me about serving the dessert. She should have asked BEFORE the wedding. I seriously wanted to tape her mouth shut so that I could relax.
    Oh -- and the Gourmet Goodies crew did a great job cleaning up everything; they were all very friendly!
    Overall, the food was good. The price was ok. But communication wasn't great.

    Sent on 08/30/2016

    Gourmet Goodies's reply:

    Katie, thank you for your feedback. We appreciated the opportunity to push our limits with your all-vegan wedding. We wish you the best of luck.
  • AlmostMrsAndrews

    Celli · Married on 06/03/2017

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    I didn't have the 5 star experience everyone else had. My suggestion is be very specific on details and give yourself enough time to ensure that the crew followed through. Had I done so, I think I would have been able to ensure ice was in the glasses and the food was warm and properly in chafing dishes. If I had been able to squeeze time in, I would have been able to direct them better on feeding my band, who I paid full plated price for, the same as the rest of my guests. Her policy is vendors are fed last, after everyone else eats (at that point the band would have been playing so that wouldn't have made sense) leaving enough food for 30 being thrown away (my no shows and band didn't eat)
    Unfortunately we don't see eye to eye on these things and I had a roomful of guests be sure to let me know they had cold food and warm drinks and a band who I had to buy the meals they left to go get. (part of their contract was to be fed)

    Sent on 07/09/2017