Golden Nugget Hotel & Casino Reviews

23 | Las Vegas, NV
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Golden Nugget Hotel & Casino

Recommended by 86% of couples

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

23
Order by:
  • Mcafee2018

    Hannah · Married on 02/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing location.. All 30 of our guests stayed here including us and I couldn't of asked for a better experience

    Sent on 03/01/2018
  • H

    Heather · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Silke Hunt was very accomadating and went well beyond to make the wedding a truly beautiful and enchanting day! Would recommend

    Sent on 03/17/2017
  • Ellen

    Ellen · Married on 11/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our dinner at Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse at the Golden Nugget Las Vegas and it was wonderful. The Caesar salad was probably the best I've had in my entire life. The setting is wonderful and the Filet was tender and delicious. Would highly recommend everyone enjoyed their meals and experience.

    Sent on 12/06/2014
  • C

    Christine · Married on 02/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Mother, Daughter, Sister, Mother In Law and myself all had our hair done at the Golden Nugget Spa - we started at 11:30 and were completed by 1:30. My wedding was scheduled for 5:00 pm on Feb 22, 2012. There was only one styles as it was a midweek. I was a little nervious. How could one person do all the work. We just needed sets and styles. Both my sister and daugher have long hair, my mom and mother in law was shorter styles. Minewas shoulder lenght. Everyone had a different style they want. I wanted my hair up, but didn't know how she was going to do it, as I don't have enough hair to put in a pony tail or even a braide, she pulled my hair up and put it curls in the back. It was so elegant, I felt like a princess. My daugher,mother, sister and mother in law were absolutely gorgeous too. I would definately recommend the spa to have your hair, nails and any other services. You will not regret it.

    Sent on 02/29/2012
  • L

    Melissa · Married on 06/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Golden Nugget is a great establishment. They were very organized and tried their hardest to get all of my geusts as close as possible. We had the reception at the buffet and my family surprised me with my dream cake that the hotel was able to put together for me. I was in love with my room in the Rush Tower. It was very classy and had plenty of room for my bridesmaids and me to get our makeup and hair done; plus had lots of space for people just hanging out before and after the wedding. The pool area was amazing and I would recomend this hotel to any bride that would want her wedding in Las Vegas.

    Sent on 08/02/2011
  • C

    Crystal A. · Married on 03/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently held our wedding reception at the Golden Nugget, and everything was superb! The service we received exceeded all expectations throughout our entire event. The food was excellent and the staff really focused on making sure everyone had a fantastic night. We would highly recommend the Golden Nugget for both group rooms and as a reception venue.

    Sent on 04/06/2010
  • galaxydreaming

    Jody · Married on 08/10/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I only stayed at the Golden Nugget for the preparation of my hair and make up before the wedding, the rooms were lovely but the morning a blur with all the rushing around, I had an entourage of people organizing things for me, one of them being champagne and chocolate covered strawberries - what a delight! I travelled to the little chapel of flowers in a gold golden nugget limo, that was lovely and the driver very accommodating.

    Sent on 09/08/2009
  • D

    Diana · Married on 05/09/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Silke Hunt at the Golden Nugget was extremely helpful and professional. Our reception turned out beautiful, and my cake and food was delicious and beautifully presented. I highly recommend this venue for an intimate gathering. We had a total of 40 guests. Our DJ services were excellent as well.

    Sent on 05/26/2015
  • AlisonScott

    Alison · Married on 09/03/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The chapel at The Golden Nugget was perfect for our ceremony and invited guests. Silke was very friendly and easy to get a hold of anytime I had a question about the ceremony. Their pricing and wedding package options were fantastic. I would highly recommend this chapel!

    Sent on 09/10/2010
  • N

    Crystal · Married on 03/19/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my March 2010 wedding reception at the Golden Nugget and it was absolutely amazing! Everyone from the front desk staff to the banquet staff was more than happy to help us with anything we needed. Our catering coordinator, Silke Hunt, made the planning completely painless. The banquet room was exactly as I imagined and the food was excellent - I may have found my new favorite Vegas hotel!!! Thank you to everyone at the Golden Nugget for taking such great care of my family and friends during our Vegas wedding weekend!! It could not have been better!!

    Sent on 03/26/2010
  • Z

    Zamira · Married on 11/24/2004

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our whole party stayed an golden nugget, which also provided a reception hall and catered our dinner. It was easy to select the menu from their restaurants and the staff was very courteous. If you are planning a Las vegas wedding, you will like this place. Even if you are not staying there, it's great and very romantic for a reception location. With several restaurants on site away from gambling areas you can have a romantic reception. They can place you in a common dining area and separate with decorative lettice type fence, so your party has some privacy or you can rent one of their party rooms.
    Before the wedding we contacted the hotel and their resturants via e-mail, made our food selection, wines, etc. Upon arrival we were allowed to examine the area they reserved for our party (really small - 7 people) but the tables were away from others. When everything was over they delivered leftover cake and food to our room and even requested a refrig from the hotel. Our most enjoyable moment was the waiters coming out to sing "Amore" for us when we were getting ready to cut the cake and other people in the restaurant applouded.

    Sent on 08/21/2007
  • D

    Dana · Married on 09/20/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved the Golden Nugget for our family stay. The pool is awesome! The proximity to Fremont street is great. The only issue was getting 20 people back and forth to wedding events. It's expensive for limos that accommodate that many people.

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 09/06/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is an amazing venue with fabulous options. Doris' eye for detail, experience and genuine caring have made planning our wedding so easy. She will even tell you what you don't need!

    Sent on 02/24/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 11/18/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had a wonderful ceremony at the Golden Nugget. Silke was great with helping us set-up the event and Michelle was awesome on the day of the wedding with making sure everything went smooth. They even let us use our own minister for the ceremony which was very important to us. I highly recommend the Nugget if you are looking for a classic Vegas wedding for a reasonable price (we did the mid-week package) and a beautiful setting with professional service.

    Sent on 01/16/2015
  • Beata

    Beata · Married on 05/03/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The took care of me very well. I was really happy with service provided by Beuty Sallon in Golden Nugget Hotel. My hair were just perfect done. I looked great.

    Sent on 07/29/2008
  • ASanAntonio

    Agnes · Married on 12/15/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Decent for Vegas

    Overall, our experience with the Golden Nugget was decent for Vegas, especially for the Downtown area. We only wanted to host our wedding reception at the Golden Nugget 'cause our ceremony was at our parish. Anyway, there are pricing stipulations based on the size of the reception, and it's also mandatory for the Golden Nugget to provide the food and beverage for the reception. For us, there was a minimum charge of $65/guest 'cause we were expecting over 100 guests. Optional accommodations were also considerable, such as discounted rates for room blocks should our guests want to stay at the hotel. I believe it was around 15%. The stereotype of Vegas weddings being cheap isn't really true. It's cheap if you have a small wedding (e.g., elopement), but it's still an investment for a large event. We easily hit our $65/guest minimum simply choosing one of the buffet options and hosting the bar for 4 hours of the reception, so it's really the 22% service fee (think of it as mandatory gratuity) and 8.25% sales tax for Nevada. Reception accommodations that were made was that we were allowed to have a cake made and delivered for an additional charge from the Golden Nugget -- think of it as a huge cake cutting fee. Aside from selecting special table cloths and chairs, we had to hire an outside decorator. The wedding coordinator can also recommend outside vendors to you.
    As for our wedding coordinator, and I believe she's the only wedding coordinator for the Golden Nugget in Vegas, Silke was good. I honestly can't say that she was great or amazing 'cause she disappointed my husband during the process. She was great at returning our phone calls and clarifying what we were and weren't able to do. I also appreciated her honesty to what would probably be best for our guests like the food selection. Where it gets complicated in appreciating her is when it came down to knowing what we were paying for, or rather, expected to pay for. Price transparency has to be a top priority for any event coordinator and their administration when anyone is planning an event, and I'll just leave it at that.
    The staff during the reception was good, such as our servers and the bartenders doing a nice pour for the drinks. However, if you notice someone that isn't even trying to dress for the event like everyone else, wearing a baseball cap, jeans and t-shirts... Why on earth would you serve them drinks off of our wedding tab? Is having wedding crashers at a Downtown venue a high possibility? Yes, but it doesn't mean it should be shrugged off easily either.
    Finally, the hotel rooms and/or suites... Although the Golden Nugget renovated its Vegas location, the entire hotel was not updated. Our hotel suite that takes up 2 floors was old school 80s, which is what we wanted. Just want you all to be aware of that. Checking-in was hazardous 'cause us and our guests experienced 3-5 hour wait times for our rooms to be ready. Ugh. After talking to my sister (she works in hospitality), I have to blame the majority of that issue on other guests doing late check-outs or trying to extend their stay. My point: be as patient as possible if you notice a large convention/gathering in the city. Ours happened to be the rodeo. Another bit of honesty is that a few of our guests complained about the rooms not being cleaned properly - one still had fake lashes on his bathroom counter from a previous Golden Nugget guest.
    Overall, it ended up being decently hosted by the Golden Nugget. If we had the ability to do it all over again, I don't think we would unless they became more transparent and hired/created an additional wedding coordinator to help Silke. It's Vegas... people come here to have their weddings all the time, and Downtown is always open.

    Sent on 12/17/2018
  • User6576786 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We stayed at the Golden Nugget when we got married in Vegas, as did most of our guests. We liked being on Fremont Street because it gave you more to wander around and explore than being on the Strip. The pool was great and the Ice Bar was a nice place for our group to meet up throughout the day. Everyone was pleased with the rooms and there were plenty of food options. If you didn't want what was in the hotel itself, it was a short walk down Fremont to a multitude of options. There was also a shuttle that some of our guests utilized when they wanted to go explore the strip. I would definitely stay here again.

    Sent on 04/10/2016
  • S

    Susan · Married on 10/10/2014

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had a wonderful day. The wedding coordinator did a great job at keeping in touch with us and addressing all of our questions and concerns. We were not allowed to to do a few things we would have liked as far as decorations. It felt like a lot of our ideas were getting shut down. But in the end it was a wonderful and beautiful ceremony and reception. If you are having a small wedding with fewer than 50 guests I would definitely recommend checking them out.

    Sent on 10/20/2014
  • S

    Shae · Married on 11/11/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our accomodations were wonderful. I really enjoyed the fact that there was so much to do. Th casino, H2o lounge, shark tank with waterslide. Food was amazing. we rented 8 rooms total in our party and al of us were pleased with our stay.

    Sent on 12/02/2011
  • C

    Christie · Married on 08/12/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We had our reception at The Chart House in the golden Nugget on Fremont street. The Golden Nugget Bakery did our wedding cake. It was absolutely beautiful and the flavors were almost what we wanted. It was difficult to get in touch with someone at first but once we made contact we had no problems. They mixed up our order but I cannot blame them entriely because we did change our mind so we got a mix of what we initially ordered on the top tier and what we changed our order to on the bottom tier. Was still delish!

    Sent on 09/07/2011
  • H

    Autumn · Married on 02/23/2007

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The lady who did my hair did a good job but it was very spendy and the gratuity was included in the price. What if I did not like my hair I still would have had to give her a tip?

    Sent on 06/29/2008
  • User3876167 · 2+ years ago

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We had our ceremony in their chapel with a reception to follow. If you stick with the package, it's affordable and a great value, but if you want to make any changes what-so-ever (like I did) it's like pulling teeth to get the wedding planner (Silke) to understand what it is you want. I sent a detailed e-mail explaining how many additional flowers I would need (for the parent's and wedding party) and sent pictures of the cake I wanted and pictures of the bouquet I wanted and listed out what colors for everything, etc... Very detailed! I called to discuss this e-mail and 3 days later she finally got back to me and after the first 3 minutes of the conversation it was apparent she hadn't even read the e-mail. Then wanted to argue that we should get a smaller cake and was super confused on the flowers (colors, how many of each to order, etc...)

    We were told to call 3 days before the wedding to set up a quick rehearsal the day before. When my husband called to get a time he was told "well, we don't typically do rehearsals" after having been told for the last month that we needed to call 3 days before hand to set it up.

    They don't tell you in advance that the Master CD of your photos is NOT a flat rate to purchase. It's based on how many pictures are on the DVD that determines the value of it. Plus, it is not mentioned anywhere that you will need to set-up an appointment the day after the wedding to review your photos.

    The food was amazing and the cake was the best ever. People went back for seconds. It's a headache to get the final results, but it turned out good.

    Sent on 06/21/2014
  • Glenda

    Glenda · Married on 10/26/2013

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    We arranged our ceremony elsewhere in Las Vegas, but booked the Spa Tower Suite for 4 nights with the plan to invite our wedding guests to our suite after the ceremony for a reception. In addition, we got a block of rooms at the GN for our wedding guests.

    A year before our wedding, we booked our suite online and then contacted the hotel to arrange the block of rooms. It was an absolute nightmare dealing with the GN. Supposedly the contract was mailed to us. Never got it, so I called and emailed our contact person, Barbara, multiple times over a 3 month period, but she’d never return calls or emails. Nobody else in her office would assist us. Finally I had to get very stern with someone else in her office to finally get the contract emailed.

    My other issue with the GN was that the max # on our room block was booked, but when one or two guests cancelled their reservation prior to the deadline, the GN kept the rooms, keeping other wedding guests from being able to book the rooms at the price we’d locked in with the block. The month before the wedding they were also unwilling to give us an update on the number of rooms that had been booked or were still available.

    Upon arrival at the GN, we were treated indifferently, despite knowing we were there for our wedding, that we were spending $2000 on our suite, and that more than 16 rooms had been booked at their hotel by our wedding guests. I was not a bridezilla. We had excellent experiences with all of the Las Vegas businesses (cake baker, caterer, chapel, MUA, etc.) that we worked with for our wedding, but the GN was horrible.

    Sent on 06/18/2015