George Peabody Library Reviews

117 | Baltimore, MD
See photos, pricing and details

117 Reviews for George Peabody Library

Recommended by 93%

117
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

3 User photos

George Peabody Library 1
George Peabody Library 2
George Peabody Library 3
Sort by:
  • H

    Hilary · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have picked a more perfect venue for our wedding. Peabody certainly has rules and strictly enforces them; however, I found the rules easy to apply and work with. The staff was organized and friendly. While they kept the event running smoothly and effortlessly, I hardly noticed they were there until I need them. Getting to watch the guests' faces as they entered the stacks room was reason enough to book the venue! It is truly a breathtaking and magical place.

  • O

    Olivia · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One visit to the George Peabody Library and it speaks for itself. The venue was so gorgeous we needed little else to decorate for the wedding. The Peabody staff were wonderful to work with and quick to respond to questions. While leading up the wedding, they were well organized and helpful with planning related issues. They were fantastic the week and especially the day of the wedding. While there are some rules and regulations to the venue, it didn't hinder our ability to celebrate the way we wanted to. We used the exhibit hall for cocktail hour and the library for the ceremony and reception. We loved the change of space between the ceremony and reception. Many of our guests commented that they enjoyed reading more about the venue during the cocktail hour through the exhibit. The accommodations of the bridal suite to get ready was a wonderful extra addition for us to use and relax on the day.

  • D

    David · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were incredibly lucky to be able to have our wedding at the George Peabody Library. Having grown up in Baltimore, I have visited the library many times and was well aware of its reputation as one of the grandest venues for events. When a Saturday night in June opened up at the last minute, we grabbed it. We were not disappointed. The space more than lives up to the reputation and is even more spectacular than it appears in pictures. One of the best aspects of having our wedding at the Library, however, was working with the Johns Hopkins Special events staff. They were ALWAYS available, had great recommendations, and were incredibly easy to work with. When a slight issue came up during the final planning stages, they swooped in and took care of things immediately. I cannot recommend this venue enough!

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 06/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married at the George Peabody Library on 6/17/18. We held both our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception in the space. We had a small wedding with <100 close family and friends and the venue felt just right for us. Judy Moskowitz and her attentive staff are the absolute best--very accommodating, professional, and responsive. We were blown away by their level of service and we are so glad we were able to hold our wedding at the Peabody. We actually did not even look at any other venues!! The venue is absolutely gorgeous and (as one of our guests told us) the space literally takes your breath away. The venue is very good value because 1) the tables and chairs come with the venue (and you do not have to rent these separately); 2) the space is already beautiful and requires minimal to no additional decoration; and 3) special lighting is not necessary (we did not use any overhead or floor lights and our photos were excellent). We love telling people that we got married in a library surrounded by books and there is something so fun about rocking out to an incredible live band in a usually quiet and introspective place. Furthermore, we met each other while working at Johns Hopkins so it was special to be able to get married at a Hopkins property. The Mt. Vernon neighborhood is dear to our hearts and of course we loved having our professional photos taken in the immediate area surrounding the Peabody. There is not a single thing we would change about that special day and the George Peabody venue and staff were a huge part of making this day the very best day of our lives.

    George Peabody Library 4
    George Peabody Library 5
    George Peabody Library 6
  • K

    Keir · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved this venue! We felt like we got exactly what we wanted for our wedding and the staff was amazing. Tons of our guests commented on how beautiful the venue was. We couldn't have asked for a better place!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 12/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our guests loved this venue, we received so many compliments on the space. The Peabody staff was communicative and very helpful.

  • S

    Sam · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Peabody Library in mid-September 2017. This was felt like a wedding out of our dreams. This is an amazing venue and you have to see it to truly feel how magical it is. The cocktail hour room is the perfect size and beautifully lit. It is a great transition to the magic you will feel walking into the reception hall which is the actual library. The venue has a preferred vendor list of caterers and this made things very easy for us. We chose Occasions and they made everything leading up to our wedding day a breeze. An added bonus to this venue is the private tour of the private selection of books.

  • M

    Megan · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough amazing things about the Peabody! Firstly, the venue itself is something out of a fairy tale. Everyone at our wedding was positively raving about the beauty of the space and haven't stopped complimenting the venue since our wedding. We're so pleased to have chosen the space - it made our day absolutely perfect!

    The Peabody accommodated our request to have the Oriole Bird attend cocktail hour and he was positively the hit of the event! It was great to bring a part of Baltimore sports into the historic space!

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 01/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The George Peabody Library is an absolutely stunning venue. Even when we were there the night before for the rehearsal, and nothing was set up, the space was magical. We were so happy with the process, each person we worked with, and all of their vendor suggestions. They answered all of our questions and worked together with our coordinator to make the whole event as smooth as possible. Yes, it's a bit expensive, but the Library is worth every penny. I could not be more thrilled with how our wedding went. And now we get to remember its beauty in all of our pictures!

    Such a pleasure to work with them.

  • C

    Crystal · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Peabody was our dream wedding location. Everything was wonderful, from the room itself to the helpful and friendly staff. We added some lighting to the room for the event and it really made it feel extra magical. The Peabody is more expensive than some other venues in the area, but it was well worth it for us in the end. Our guests and vendors all told us that it was the coolest wedding venue they'd ever been to. As a side note, we added the tour of the rare books room at the library for our wedding party on the rehearsal day and it was amazing. Paul gave a really interesting tour that everyone really loved. We would 100% recommend the Peabody to any bride and groom who are bibliophiles and want an awe-inspiring event.

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with the George Peabody Library Events staff for our wedding was a dream! Everyone in the Events Office; particular Judy Moskowitz, was highly responsive and very informative. The staff went the extra mile to make our Big Day run smoothly, such as sending me photos of library catalog measurements for my escort cards and taking the time to discuss a detailed floor plan with us during our final walk-through. The space is magnificent, but the staff will make you feel like royalty.

  • J

    Julie · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura and Judy at the Peabody were amazing to work with - always prompt with responses and answered questions thoroughly. We couldn't have been happier with how our wedding went! They worked so well with all the other vendors - we didn't have to worry about a thing! They even helped me use Peabody postcards as our save the dates! This is not just a breathtaking venue!!

  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I ADORE this venue! We had our wedding at the Peabody in July 2016 and the library was transformed into the most magical place. From the ceremony where light streamed into the main library through the skylight, to the intimate cocktail hour in the Exhibition Room (where our guests were excited to view the exhibit), to the unbelievable reception catered by Occasions. The staff at Peabody were incredibly prepared, responsive, and easy to work with. All of our needs were met above and beyond our expectations. One of our wedding guests loved the Peabody so much that she's decided to have her wedding there in March! Highly recommend this venue.

  • S

    sarah · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I never really had any doubt we would be married here. We knew we wanted a library, we knew we wanted to get married somewhere that was already dressed up enough and had an elegance of its own. When we saw the George Peabody Library's website we had to get married here. From the day I emailed Judy at the Private Events office, to the night of the wedding after we walked down the steps as husband and wife, we were thrilled with the experience. Professional, courteous, knowledgeable, patient, kind and caring, the Private Events staff was marvelous. It made it so easy that there were only a few caterers to choose from, and even better that there was a preferred vendors list for us to choose from to naturally narrow decisions down. My husband and I have no connection to Baltimore, and so when guests asked why we chose that to be the location of our wedding, we would say "wait until you walk in the room". Several guests came up to me that evening and the day after the wedding and said "we get it". The evening couldn't have been more magical, thank you!

  • A

    Alison · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say? The most beautiful venue in Baltimore. The books, the atrium ceiling, the lovely architecture -- all made this the most striking location for my daughter's reception.

  • N

    nikki · Married on 04/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Peabody was an absolutely breathtaking and beautiful venue to get married in. The staff of the Peabody did an excellent job and were very responsive as soon as we signed the contract through our wedding day. I would highly recommend this venue to any bride looking for a venue that will blow the guests away and make your wedding day super special.

  • Rachel

    Rachel · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were thrilled to have our wedding at the Peabody! The staff was very helpful along the way, the venue was beautiful, and we had a wonderful time. Highly recommended.

  • M

    Mary · Married on 01/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the most beautiful venue!!

  • A

    Alysa · Married on 11/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone we worked with at the Peabody was so professional and polite. Photos are not allowed in the bridal suite, which some brides may not like, but it was fine by me because I did not care to have those anyway. It was kind of a hassle having to find the right people on the day of to let us back into the bridal suite (you need a key to get up to it in the elevator) and our things had to be out of the room by a certain time so it was a little hectic running around. It is a little pricey for a venue - but for the "wow factor" and the convenience of having the ceremony, rehearsal, cocktail hour, and reception in one spectacular location it was worth it in our eyes and overshadows the little bit of stress of the bridal suite situation. They made the selection of our other vendors very easy by providing a "recommendation" list which we used to decide on the other services we needed. It made planning our wedding so straightforward! If we had to chose all over again, I will always choose the Peabody.

  • User6129472 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Getting married in this spectacular historic setting was a dream come true! The library provided a breathtaking, romantic, and memorable backdrop for our ceremony and reception. Our guests were blown away by the library and we continue to get compliments on our venue choice. Judy and her team were incredibly responsive and organized throughout the planning process. They worked seamlessly with our wedding planner and the other vendors we hired, including Bonny from Chef's Expressions, who provided a wonderful three-course meal for our guests.

    As others have noted, there is an additional fee to take photos on the spiral and grand staircases at the Peabody. I recommend that Hopkins absorb or add this fee into the total rental cost for the library so that everything is paid for up front. One other thing to keep in mind: if you have close to the maximum number of guests for dinner and dancing, the dance floor will be fairly small, especially if you hire a large band.

  • User6040870 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Peabody wedding was amazing. The venue is stunning and the staff is helpful, kind, and accommodating.

  • E

    Eileen · Married on 10/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved this venue. It was perfect for our Welcome/rehearsal dinner and it is beautiful. The staff was very helpful and easy to work with. The only complaint I have is that they charge you to use the circular stairs for photos!! To me that's nickel and diming people. AND you can only use them for a 2 hour period instead of all thru your party time. Other than that, everything was great!!

  • J

    Julie · Married on 10/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my rehearsal dinner here and loved it. My guests all said that it was jaw-droppingly beautiful. It is really a special venue and I'd love to host another event here.

  • User4578526 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am thoroughly convinced that there is no venue more beautiful. Judy at the Peabody is wonderful and was super responsive and ensured everything went smoothly during planning. Beware of some hidden costs (use of staircase for photos, use of piano). Also, there is no parking in the area, so you will need to arrange to have shuttle (I highly recommend) or a valet service for guests, though then you have to worry about people drinking and driving.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review