Skip to main content
Weddings

Gemma's Fashion & Sewing Reviews

Gemma's Fashion & Sewing

Gemma's Fashion & Sewing

Chandler, AZ
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 52 Reviews
View more information

52 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 52
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

22 User photos

  • Heather
    Heather F. Married on 04/02/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gemma Created My Dream Dress

    Gemma and her team are incredibly talented and responsive! Gemma created the dress of my dreams with custom alterations which included removing a long train from a silk dress, adding boning for support of a strapless dress and removing lots of unnecessary material from underneath. I felt very secure in my strapless dress because Gemma heard my fears and concerns and made it bust-proof!

    Please look no further, Gemma's Is the Destination for your dress needs!

    Plus, she helped me find the perfect hair accessory for my beach wedding.

    Gemma's Fashion & Sewing's reply:

    Great photos. Thank you for allowing me to work with your dress and made it look beautiful on your wedding day. Congratulations Chika. Love Gemma
  • Andrew
    Andrew M. Married on 02/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Top Notch Quality

    Gemma helped us in a tight spot and provided us with the most care. Her team is amazing, and they provided the best alterations. Pick here if you want the best quality alterations and care for your dress.
  • Maressa
    Maressa K. Married on 11/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gemma makes an ordinary dress into the wedding dress of your dreams!

    Gemma is such an amazing person and did equally an amazing job on my wedding dress. From the very beginning she was very responsive and helpful, even in the craziness of the unknown with COVID. Gemma was able to get me in right away to alter my dress. She knew exactly what I needed to make the dress fit perfectly and even knew what I wanted when I couldn't figure out a way to articulate what I wanted :) She was able to do some custom alterations by adding a slit to my dress and adding straps. She also made me the perfect custom veil to go with my dress that was simple, beautiful, and elegant. It complemented my dress very well without taking away from it. We had to push back our wedding by a year and she was able to keep the dress safe until I was ready to pick it up. When I got the dress and tried it on for that last fitting, it was perfect! It was everything I had hoped it would be. For our wedding, I couldn't get over how wonderful the dress felt and looked. It was beautiful! Thank you again so much, Gemma, for making a wedding dress into the dress of my dreams!
  • Holly
    Holly Married on 02/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    10/10 would recommend

    Genma and her team are the best! They took such great care of me and my gown and in the end it fit like a glove! I would absolutely recommend her to anyone needing alterations. I’ve included a before and after pictures of the dress fittings!

    Gemma's Fashion & Sewing's reply:

    Thank you for sharing your pictures. I appreciate it. Thank you for the wonderful and thoughtful comment. Congratulations to both of you.
  • L
    Laura Married on 01/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful results!

    Gemma was incredible in making my dress fit me like a glove! She also guided me on how to sit in the dress and how to bustle the dress since I never really wear dresses! She is so knowledgeable and is an expert in wedding dress alterations. Highly recommend!

    Gemma's Fashion & Sewing's reply:

    Hi Laura, Thanks for the wonderful and thoughtful review. You have been very accommodating and patient throughout the process. Thank you for allowing us to help you look great on your wedding day, it was a pleasure taking care of your needs.
  • M
    Madison Married on 11/11/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Summary of my Experience

    I brought in a dress that I was completely panicked about with a design in my head. Gemma perfectly matched that design with the help of her colleagues. The only downside is that I went WAY over my budget. But the work was worth the price.
  • A
    Amy P. Married on 11/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made me love my dress!

    Gemma completely transformed my dress! The entire neckline was redone to fit me better me better, she changed the shape of the back taking it from a "U" to a deep "V", and structurally re-enforced my dress. My photos don't do it justice, as I haven't gotten all of my professional ones back. I had second thoughts on my wedding dress when I purchased it, but after Gemma worked her magic I absolutely LOVED it and it fit me so well!!! She does amazing work and is worth every penny!!
  • D
    Debbie Married on 11/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awewome customer service

    So they saved me 3 weeks before my wedding. I had a truly horrific experience with Davids Bridal. They helped me by fitting me in and rushing a dress I purchased with Brilliant Bridal. Amazing.
  • C
    Carlie F. Married on 11/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing, stress free and affordable!

    Gemma made my alterations process such a breeze! She listened to everything I wanted and knocked it out of the park. My dress was an absolute dream. She also went above and beyond to make a custom garter and a “babydoll” top from scraps of my dress. (And they don’t break the bank!!) Truly an amazing team to work with for your special day! Couldn’t have asked for better.
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 05/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gemma is truly a life safer--or should I say wedding saver! I was completely screwed over by a shaddy custom dress shop and with only 2 weeks until my wedding, I had no dress. I was lucky enough to find something close, but it needed a lot of alterations. In shambles emotionally, I was referred to Gemma. She and her team worked miracles and the dress ended up beyond perfect and just in time for the big day. Gemma is not only a wonderfully gifted seamstress, but a true designer and visionary who assisted me in every aspect of the alterations. But more than that, she is just a genuinely wonderful human being. I will never forget the kindness she showed me. Thank you for everything Gemma!!!!!
  • A
    Alyssa Married on 01/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gemma was so sweet and welcoming from the moment we walked in the door. I had really tough alterations since I need it to follow cathedral guidelines and Gemma was full of wonderful ideas. She was patient while I wasn't sure what I wanted to do and she gave great suggestions to help keep the dress beautiful and fun, while still following guidelines. The final product was absolutely gorgeous and I felt beautiful in it. I will definitely be going to Gemma for any alterations I need in the future. Thank you for making me feel confident and beautiful on my wedding day!
  • A
    Amelia Married on 07/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gemma and Lynn did any amazing job to help me re-design and tailor my dress to fit my body like a glove. While the base of my wedding dress that I bought worked well, I needed help to add a little extra pizazz to make it stand out. We removed the cheap beading off of my dress and they hand stitched Swarovski crystals to the shoulder and created a spray of crystals over the bust area. They repaired a tear at the back of my dress, hemmed my challenging ruffled skirt, added a bustle, refitted the sides to help the dress fit me better, and dry cleaned my dress before I wore it down the aisle. I felt stunningly beautiful and elegant on my day thanks to their care and workmanship. My husband was teary eyed when he saw me when we did first looks. Once you get your dress, make an appointment to see them as soon as possible. They are busy with a lot of clients. Gemma and her staff does an excellent job and is gifted in what she does. Their prices were reasonable too.
  • megz
    Megan Married on 05/20/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I purchased my wedding dress online and it was SUPER long. It fit right everywhere else, so I came in thinking all it needed was a hemming... but Gemma worked her magic and pinned the dress around me so it fit PERFECTLY! I am SO happy with the final fit.

    Gemma made my off-the-rack gown look like it was made just for me! I can't wait to wear it on the big day! THANK YOU GEMMA! :)
  • K
    Katie Married on 02/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gemma redesigned my dress into something even more perfect and beautiful than I could have ever imagined! She took a 5-year-old Maggie Sottero sample dress (purchased at Brilliant Bridal), and turned it into a one-of-kind, modern, and simple dress that was perfect for me. It came at a cost, but no penny was wasted. Her work involved replacing the corset with a zipper, removing beading on the bust, and transformed it from a v-neck to strapless sweetheart. It fit perfectly!

    Not only is Gemma exceptionally skilled, she’s also really compassionate. Everytime I visited the shop, she took time to make sure she understood what I wanted. She clearly loves what she does, and expressed so much joy and excitement for me. I also appreciated that she graciously offered fashion advice. When I suggested the idea of a one-strap wedding dress, she talked me through the implications (both in cost as well as her opinion on how it would look on my body type). In the end, we agreed to go in a different direction. She’s got the ability to not only envision the perfect dress for a bride, but also to understand the bride’s personality and discover what she will enjoy wearing.

    Thank you, Gemma!
  • L
    Laura Married on 01/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Whatever you need done, I believe she can do it. Do not worry about putting your dress in Gemma's hands. She makes dresses in addition to her bridal/formal dress alterations. My dress was bought abroad but six inches too long. With all the lace at the bottom and with the train, I knew it was not an easy job. The lace, beads and sequins had to be removed from the bottom border in order to cut off those six inches. I wondered what it would look like when that border was positioned 6 inches higher than before. She has the eye. She melded the lace of the border in with the lace that was up higher. It was not busy or cluttered. She may have removed a few things. I'm not sure, but it looked perfect. I didn't have a bustle before, so she created a french bustle. The cost may have been on the higher end of the range that I was expecting, but I guess that it was comporable with other places in the area. There was just a bit of sticker shock for me coming back from overseas. It was a bit over $300. I was initially thinking around $250. She gets really busy, so the sooner you get in the better. I was lucky my wedding was off season.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 12/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I found Gemma by driving by. I stopped in one day to see if I could schedule alterations for my wedding gown and they got me in a week later. I am SO glad I did. Gemma is absolutely wonderful. Every time I was in with my mom for a fitting (3 total fittings) we got individualized service. Gemma truly cares about her customers and she does a fantastic job with everything. I'd recommend Gemma to anyone and everyone! When I picked up my wedding dress, I thanked her and she gave me a big hug. I am so appreciative.

    Gemma's Fashion & Sewing's reply:

    You are so wonderful girl. Just the way you are I could not asked for more. Thank you for the wonderful working experience. I will miss you and Mom. Merry Christmas and have a blessed wedding. Love you Gemma
  • K
    Katie Married on 11/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gemma was fantastic and amazing! She took all the stress and worry out of what is one of the most stressful parts of your wedding as a bride, the dress fitting and alterations. She is a pro and you can tell that she loves what she does by how much time and care she takes in ensuring that you dress fits and looks great on you and that you walk off that fitting pedestal filling like the most beautiful and confident bride. My dress was all lace and silk and quite a bear to alter but she took so much care and time to ensure everything fit just perfect . She even worked with my mom to make a special garter that incorporated the lace from my dress. Gemma is the only person you want touching your wedding dress.
  • M
    Megan Married on 11/19/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amazing experience!! Gemma was so kind and helpful always made sure what I wanted was done. Never made me feel stupid or uncomfortable. Great all the way around.
  • L
    Lisa Married on 11/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gemma is amazing! I brought her a designer dress off a rack that was WAY to big for me. She had so much to take in and with that, she had to completely redo the sleeves. There was a lot of work involved and you wouldn't even know that the changes were made. Everyone was in ahhh of my dress and how well it fitted me. I definitely recommend Gemma for your bridal dress alterations. She cares about her work and it shows. Thank you so much!! :)
  • B
    Bethany Married on 10/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gemma was the perfect person for altering my dress. I wanted a high slit in my wedding dress and Gemma nailed it! She was able to turn my wedding dress into my dream dress! She was very willing to accommodate and go for the look I was wanting. Gemma was always very professional. I will definitely be going to her in the future when I need alterations!
  • S
    Shana Married on 05/06/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gemma was wonderful and the service was so fast. I had ordered an evening gown to wear for my wedding and the dress arrived way too big. I took my dress in to be altered on 04/20/16 and it was done on 04/28/16. When I told Gemma and the ladies my wedding date they were so sweet and assured me the alterations would be done on time. They did a wonderful job on my dress and had it ready in record time.
  • J
    Jodie Married on 04/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am so glad I found Gemma! She was just amazing! My dress fitted like a glove and every experience in the store was excellent. Just the most friendly, positive, helpful ladies. They made the fittings fun and I felt beautiful. I would definitely recommend using Gemma for alterations and fittings.
  • F
    Faith Married on 03/05/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gemma as well as her sister and staff are amazing! They have exceptional customer service, as well as a incredible talent with alterations. Thank you for all you did for me as well as all my brides maids.....you are AMAZING!
  • J
    Jordan Married on 02/27/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot express how grateful I am that I found Gemma. She took my off the rack dress from something that was "meh", to something that was completely me. I didn't have easy alterations, I am talking major dress modifications. I had the zipper back changed into a corset, needed a bustle, and wanted sleeves added so I didn't have any armpit rolls hanging out. The result was better than I could have imagined. It looked like the dress was made that way. They took such care and precision making sure that everything looked perfect. I will be forever thankful to Gemma and her team for making me feel like the most beautiful bride in the world.

    Gemma's Fashion & Sewing's reply:

    Awe! Jordan you are an amazing person. We love you. We hope to see some pictures in the future so we can use your redesign for future brides. Thank you and God Bless! Gemma and Team
  • A
    Amber Married on 12/29/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I originally bought my dress from Brilliant Bridal in June of this year. From the time I bought my dress until my first appointment with Gemma, I had lost 20 pounds. By the time I had my appointment, the dress that had fit when I bought it was now 4-5 sizes too big. I also gave Gemma the task of a modesty build up of a bolero since I'm LDS and need to have my dress a certain way. I've watched my dress morph from this ill fitting dress that I hope I would still love to this beautiful perfectly fitting master piece. We're not even done with the final fitting and I'm already thrilled with the results I have been seeing. I know that she had to do an insane amount of work on my dress and she couldn't have done a better job. She, her sister and her nieces are always such a pleasure to work with. They understood my fear and helped reassure me along the way that everything will turn out okay. I wouldn't hesitate to refer anyone who needs work done to their dresses to Gemma.

    Gemma's Fashion & Sewing's reply:

    Thank you Amber for writing us a great review. We love you and see you soon.