Gateaux Inc. Reviews

46 | Minneapolis, MN
See photos, pricing and details

46 Reviews for Gateaux Inc.

Recommended by 99%

46
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0
46 Gateaux Inc. Reviews
Sort by:
  • User6178622 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I give this vendor 5 stars. They are excellent to work with and have great ideas. Best ever.

  • User4991431 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't say enough how wonderful it was working with everyone at Gateaux. They were so accommodating and had wonderful creative ideas to help us put together something we couldn't have even dreamed of. They went out of their way to accomodate unique request when it came to the tasting. Cake tasted and looked great, everyone was so nice and I wouldn't ever consider working with another vendor for cake. Loyal customer going forward!!

  • J

    Jamie · Married on 10/04/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gateaux created a beautiful and delicious gourmet cake buffet for my wedding. It was fabulous! We had 9 different flavors, all equally delicious! Guests described the cake as "awesome," "delicious," "to die for," and "amazing." It was so yummy! It also looked absolutely amazing!

  • J

    Julie · Married on 08/17/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robin and her crew are beyond amazing, they are not just cake connoisseurs but rather artists. When we first sat down with Robin, we were expecting to have a meeting like we did with other bakers; one where you taste a few cakes then decide if you want white or chocolate and how many tiers you would like. Our meeting with Robin was so much more than that. We spent 2 hours telling her our story, she pretty much knew everything about us in the end and because of that was able to draw up a cake that was SO personal to us. We left and decided to taste the freshly baked cake samples that she had given us to try. After shoving piece after piece in our mouth, we all looked at each other and said we gotta have them at our wedding!! We booked them right then and there. It was a delicate cake with a large flower on it, the petals had words/places/things that were important to Kyle and I throughout our relationship. There were also fallen petals down the side with the same message. It was perfect. People were in absolute awe of our cake and just adored the detail that went into it, it was so much more than a cake--it was our story. It was also so delicious and so fresh, everyone devoured their (quite large) slice. She also created the perfect mini version of our sweet pup Leo eating one of the petals! The proceeds from the fondant pup go to the ASPCA which is such a thoughtful touch. Thank you Robin, your creative mind made our wedding cake so memorable!

  • E

    Erin · Married on 08/17/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was amazing! I really liked working with Robin at Gateaux. She's clearly passionate about what she does and is really creative--she never does the same cake twice. To make sure the flowers on the cake matched my blush dress perfectly, one of her associates went to the Wedding Shoppe where I got my dress and took a Pantone swatch to get it exactly right. She also made a custom stencil for our work and let us sample quite a few types of cake before choosing the flavor.

    If I could change anything, it might be the flavor of the cake--it was good, but not blow-your-mind delicious. Some of the guests said that considering how pretty it looked, though, they expected it to taste not so amazing, but were pleasantly surprised that it was actually good. So there you go. Also the pricing is, I think, on the higher end, so a head's up on that. But what you're getting is extremely professional work and the highest level of care for the craftsmanship. I didn't have to worry about any details and there were absolutely no mix-ups, which is super valuable when you're planning a wedding. I do recommend them!

  • T

    Tam · Married on 07/27/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robin, the owner of Gateaux, is amazing. She is super sweet, charming and also talented. I fell in love with her unique, artistic designs when I first checked out her website. You will not find another amazing cake designer like Robin in the TC area. She delivers what she promises. My cake was stunning, in fact, I was in awe when looking at it and didn't want to even take a bite because it was such a piece of art!!!

    She was so flexible in changing the flavors and will go out of her ways to make sure that you are happy with the end product. For example, I didn't like any of the flavors during the first tasting and wanted something different, which she definitely tweeked and made it fantastic.

    My cake was at the higher end of the $ scale, but it was worth every single penny. It looked like something from a bridal magazine! I cannot say enough about Robin, Jenna and Gateaux so please make your reservations now to design a once in a lifetime wedding cake!

  • User3459920 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gateaux not only supplied our incredible cakes for our wedding, but also did our invitations and dinner menus. Gateaux has a great selection of invitations and definitely on another level for one-of-a-kind pieces. I was extremely thankful for how patient and understanding they were with how many times I changed my mind on colors and so forth. They turned proofs around in the same day as we asked for changes. I highly recommend Gateaux for a one stop cake and invitation shop!

  • M

    Maggi · Married on 09/22/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was more impressed with my cake than my Vera Wang dress. That's how awesome it was.

  • G

    Melanie · Married on 09/24/2011

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gateaux was one of the vendors I HAD to have so I called her right after getting engaged! Working with Robin was so much fun!! She is insanely creative it is just fun to watch her come up with designs on the spot while talking with you and your fiancee. Our dog is a huge part of our story so Robin made an EXACT sugar replica (she even had him go to her shop to sit for photos!) of him and had him strategically placed on the cake peeking out from behind an orchid! We LOVED it and so did our guests! Proceeds from the addition of having Mr. Baxter on the cake go to the ASPCA, just another reason to love Gateaux. We also had Gateaux do our full dessert buffet as well as the cake. We had cake pops (a MUST), petit fours, shorbread cookies, gummies, swedish fish, turtles, and oh so much more! It was beyond incredible. Gateaux is by far the BEST cake designer and your best choice, you will be astonished at what she creates. *Look for Gateaux in MSP Weddings spring 2012 - real weddings section. Our wedding!

  • K

    Jaime · Married on 06/12/2010

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my stepfather kept poking the Grooms Cake to make sure it was real, I knew Robin at Gateaux was a cake genius! She went above and beyond anything that we could have expected. And more important than the look? Her cakes are incredibly delicious! I cannot wait to order an Anniversary cake. Gateaux is the not the least expensive cake place in town but every penny was MORE than worth it.

  • D

    Dawn · Married on 05/15/2010

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Art + + Deliciousness + New Friend = Gateaux

    You'll never be sorry that you chose Robin to design your wedding cake. There's no one like her.

    Signed,

    A very satisfied customer

  • T

    Denise · Married on 10/17/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WORKING WITH ROBIN WAS AMAZING. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND HER TO MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS.

  • B

    Britta · Married on 10/10/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gateaux Inc. is fantastic. Robin is an absolute pleasure to work with. I planned my wedding long-distance and found it easy to communicate with Gateaux over phone and email. They worked around my schedule so I could do a tasting while I was in town. The cake was gorgeous.

  • E

    Ellen · Married on 10/03/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The time spent with the bride and groom to design the perfect cakes was appreciated. Both the wedding cake and groom cake were wonderful. They suited the couple and the venue and --were absolutely delicious. I am the mother of the bride; living out of town and helping plan a wedding can be a stretch. Gateaux answered concerns/questions immediiately by phone and email. Look no further.

  • Q

    Quinn · Married on 10/03/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cakes were spectacular, even better than I imagined. If you want a delicious cake that's unique and well made; go to Robin at Gateaux. She's great at making cakes that reflect your personal style and fit your occasion perfectly. She's friendly, funny, creative and has a lot of ideas to contribute. She is a perfectionist and a true talent.

  • M

    Molly · Married on 10/03/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gateaux is amazing! Robin is so creative, and perfectly understood what we were looking for. Quality is supberb. All our guests raved to us on how delicious our cake was!

  • 0

    Ali · Married on 09/12/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gateaux was by far my favorite vendor to work with and the cakes were amazing!!! Robin is so easy going, creative and helpful...I don't know why anyone would chose anywhere else but Gateaux!!! Plus, I love the way Gateaux does their cake tasting...it's such a fun event leading up to the wedding.

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/04/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robin is absolutely amazing to work with. Her cakes are beautiful and delicious! The cake buffet we had at our wedding was the center of attention - the guests loved it and so did we!

  • M

    Catherine · Married on 08/21/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robin and her team created a beautiful, memorable and personal cake for our wedding. When she agreed to put the lace pattern from my gown on the cake, she had no idea what she was in for! But, true to our expectations, the final cake design we chose was ABSOLUTELY gorgeous and we were very happy to hear she enjoyed the challenge and used her relentless creativity to employ some new techniques along the way! Oh, besides looking too perfect to eat, the cakes are delicious! We can't wait to find an excuse for Robin to make us a cake again!

  • ValandKieran

    Valerie · Married on 07/31/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was absolutely gorgeous! Robin was great to work with and had amazing ideas. She designed not only a unique cake, but one that was very true to our personality. We received so many compliments on the cake and our invitations.

  • S

    Rhys · Married on 07/18/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a bride, I was particularly excited about our wedding cake, and I had set my expectations very high. Gateaux Inc. surpassed those expectations and delivered not only a beautiful cake but one of the most delicious cakes (or sweets) I had ever had. Guests raved about the cake (inside and out), and the icing: working with Gateaux Inc. was truly enjoyable--In fact, many of my favorite wedding planning memories happened in their bakery. If you are excited about your cake, go w/Gateaux Inc.

  • L

    Laura · Married on 06/26/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robin sat down with me and my mom and designed the cake in multiple drafts until we were happy. She prepared several different cake samples for me and my husband to try in advance, and we had the most difficult time deciding - all of the flavors were terrific! I've never had a better tasting cake.
    The cake was designed to match my dress (the lace). I sent Robin pictures of the dress and it's unbelievable how real the edible lace looked! It was almost too pretty to eat ... almost. :)
    I would highly recommend this bakery. Your wedding cake will turn out beautifully.

  • A

    alex · Married on 06/05/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robin at Gateaux took my dream wedding cake and made it even better than imagined. It was amazing.

  • Julia

    Julia · Married on 05/30/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Robin was one of the best experiences of all our wedding vendors. The creativity and talent she brings to the table can not be found anywhere else. My husband and I not only got our wedding cake from Gateaux, but also did all of our wedding stationary. Robin's follow through and follow up is truly exemplary for all other vendors. I saved all of our cake sketches because they are all works of art; and our wedding stationary was just amazing. Robin and her staff are true professionals and the most wonderful people to work with on your most special day.

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/24/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know what to say about Robin and Gateaux... They created a cake that was the centerpiece of our wedding! So amazing and intricate that we took the professional pictures of the cake, blew them up and framed them to put around the house! Robin herself is a blast and creative beyond belief-- she took a picture that I loved of a grass fondant cake and turned it into a 5 layered outdoor wonderland with flowers, catepillars, dragon flies, ladybugs, bumble bees, frogs and a 3D cardinal. PLUS- you get all that and the cake is super moist! I gave them 5 stars on everything because when I mean it- once you work with Gateaux you feel part of their fun family and they go above and beyond to make sure you are happy.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review