Weddings

Gary's Catering Inc Reviews

Gary's Catering Inc

Gary's Catering Inc

Wixom, MI
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 21 Reviews
View more information

21 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 21

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • Brittany
    Brittany N. Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Catering Review

    Gary's was amazing to work with! Food tasted delicious and everyone loved it! We did the BBQ/grilling onsite option and this had to be the best decision. It was all so fresh and everyone was dying for the food after smelling it cook since they walked in. Would highly recommend!

    Gary's Catering Inc's reply:

    Thank you so much for posting a review of your experience with our service for your recent Wedding! We are thrilled to hear that everyone loved our fresh BBQ and that you would recommend our services to others. Best wishes Brittany & Alex!

    Congratulations and Best wishes Brittany & Alex!!
  • Ashleigh
    Ashleigh Married on 09/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Would highly recommend!

    We used Gary’s catering for our wedding and could not be happier! We received so many complements on the food- it was unreal. If you do the summer BBQ menu they actually bring a huge grill and cook your food right there- no heating up any of your meat. Their sides were also fantastic! I highly recommend the garlic bread, tenderloin skewers, and Mac n cheese! The staff were very helpful and professional. 5 Stars!!!!

    Gary's Catering Inc's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review of your experience with us for your Wedding. We are thrilled that you both are happy with the customer service you received during the planning phase of your Reception and of course delighted that you and your guests enjoyed the fresh BBQ menu and that our onsite staff were both attentive & professional. Best Wishes to you Ashleigh & DJ!
  • T
    Tarah Married on 11/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We are so happy that Gary’s Catering helped us with our wedding! We wanted to do something a little different and they came through. We had the bbq setup with pulled pork, ribs, chicken skewers, and six sides. Everyone was raving about the food all night!!
  • Ashley
    Ashley W. Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    One Stop Shop!

    Gary's Catering was awesome! Their prices are unbeatable, especially for the quality of service. I worked with Tina and she was awesome and so helpful while going over the menu with me and she didn't push anything on me! She just simply told me what they offered, explained everything, gave me options as well as telling me what people usually do for this and that, etc. Their food was AMAZING. All of it, and they even had a veggie burger option for me! The day of my wedding, an employee working by the grill helped me out with my food because i was carrying my dress and it was slightly raining (outdoor wedding). She was so sweet and all of the staff members were great. They have so much more than just food though! Take a look at their website and what all they have to offer. The response time is also VERY good when you're emailing them. Thank you to everyone at Gary's Catering! I would and will recommend you to anyone and everyone that I know!
  • K
    Kaitlin Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Fantastic catering company! We all know that the food can make or break a wedding, and Gary's catering definitely made our wedding! Everyone is still coming up to me and telling me how great the food was at our wedding. Our wedding was in a barn and so we had to bring in just about everything ourselves. Before we had even booked, Gary's invited us in for a tasting (up to 6 people!) and we were able to try the entire menu that we were considering. Sherry, the event coordinator, was easy to talk to and very helpful in the planning process. We decided on the barbecue package, where they bring the grill and cook certain items on location. For us, this included BBQ chicken, beef tenderloin skewers, and garlic bread, all of which I highly recommend!! Their pulled pork also got many compliments from our guests. The waitstaff that came with Gary's was excellent: they carried my plate for me as the bride, dismissed the tables to the buffet line, and cleared the tables once our guests were done with dinner. We also rented a tent and water goblets through Gary's. The delivery of the tent, water goblets, and silverware was on time and professional. We were very happy with the service we received from Gary's catering throughout the whole process, planning - wedding day. I would highly recommend Gary's catering for your catering needs!
  • Ashleigh
    Ashleigh Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am SO glad I chose Gary's Catering to cater my wedding reception. From the first phone call with Sheri, I knew I made a great choice. She was amazing to work with - courteous, professional, prompt, friendly - and she really worked with my budget. Since we lived far away from our reception location, Chef Joseph set up a tasting session outside of their normal business hours to accommodate us. In the days (weeks, months) leading up to the wedding, Sheri continuously checked in on me and accommodated all of my last minute changes and requests with no trouble. We were also able to rent our tables, plates, and silverware from Gary's for a fraction of the cost elsewhere, which saved us both money and hassle.
    On the day of, I (as the bride) was hardly able to pay attention to and keep up with everything going on, but the site coordinator made sure that I was well taken care of so I didn't have to worry. She came to me at the head table to carry my plate and walk me through the buffet to select my food. She even frequently checked in on me to see if I needed anything - and by anything I mean she would refill my water (a service I hadn't opted to purchase for the wedding) and even get me drinks from the bar. Their staff even broke the buffet tables down and carried them off the dance floor, which was also a chore I never paid for - they just did it because it needed to be done! I was floored by their professionalism and service.
    As far as the food itself, everyone RAVED about it (and still do).
  • R
    Rachel Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They are not the easiest company to get ahold of and get an appointment for a tasting but once that step is done...we fell in love with Gary's. We went to a handful of caterers before we met with Gary's. They only let you sample a small bite and Gary's fills your plate! They want you to get an actual taste of the food you are buying. I told the Chef what I was looking for and he ran with it. We loved him and this company. Sheri was quick getting back to us and letting me know prices. They even let us pay as we went, so the bill was zero months before the wedding. We did a backyard BBQ type food for our barn wedding and people raved about the food! The other vendors called it the best food they'd had at a wedding. People actually ate so much, there wasn't much dancing later in the night because people were so stuffed. I wanted the food and drinks to be memorable...and thanks to Gary's the food was :)
  • User2315366 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    amazing food, amazing service so you don't have to worry.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 06/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Every single person that attended our wedding said it was the BEST wedding food they have EVER had! I was absolutely amazed at how well everything turned out! We had a June wedding with about 250 guests. The food was awesome & wait staff was awesome. They cleaned up after everyone ate and assisted with ANYTHING to be honest. Testing food went great with Chef Joe and Sherri was great emailing back and forth with all the details I kept throwing her way. We chose the upscale dinner buffet C - it was basil cream chicken breast, beef marsala, six cheese jumbo ravioli with spinch artichoke feta on the side, fresh greenbean almandine, rosemary roasted potatoes, michigan tossed salad & assorted rolls. I'm drooling typing it because it was just THAT GREAT! I highly highly suggest them and ANY catering I book in the future will ALWAYS be through Gary's!!!!!!
  • M
    Monica Married on 10/04/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding was a few weeks ago and I am still getting compliments on how good the food was - that was all thanks to Gary's Catering. We went for a tasting early on in our planning stages and the food was delicious, so we signed the contract right away. My mother went with us and she's fairly picky, so when she enjoyed the food at the tasting, we knew we were making the right choice. The servers were very friendly and efficient and everything was completed on schedule. The quantity of food was pretty much spot on - we didn't run out of anything and we didn't have that much left over. I don't plan on getting married again, of course, but I do hope that I have another occasion to use Gary's in the future as I would do so in a heartbeat.
  • User1148270 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had so many compliments on the food! We ended up doing a cookout bbq for our wedding reception and it was perfect. There was LOTS of food and options for vegetarians which I really appreciated. Sheri was fabulous to work with too, she quickly responded to any questions I had and made the whole situation easy. I would STRONGLY recommend them and totally plan on using them again for the future.
  • Sara
    Sara Married on 11/02/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    By far the BEST wedding food!
    Great staff, great service, very satisfied.
    Go with Gary's, and I assure you, you WILL NOT be disappointed!
  • Jallon
    Jallon Married on 10/22/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gary's save the day for my. At the original hall I had selected they totally gave me the run around about a caterer. I found Gary's just searching on the web and when I found them they had everything I wanted, food selection, price, and more. Everyone raved about how juicy the chicken was and that's hard to do especially in large quantities. I recomend them to anyone who is searching for a caterer. The service was great, they were very professional and friendly. I would definitely use them again and again and again. Great Job Chef Joe!!!!
  • C
    Christopher Married on 09/09/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gary's catered our wedding reception and everything went perfectly. The food is super fresh and delicious. The service is very professional and prompt, and they went above and beyond our expectations. We were on a tight budget since we were paying for most of the wedding ourselves, but Gary's offered us a premium catering experience that fit our price-point.

    Before hiring them to cater, we sat down with Chef Joe and he gave us a free tasting that included everything from the salad and bread to the main courses. We were even allowed to bring our family to the tasting, all for free. We're both foodies and tend to critique what we eat, but everything we tasted was so well done, we had nothing to say!

    On the day of our wedding, we arrived to the reception hall and everything was setup and ready to go. When we were done with our toasts, the Gary's crew took care of table calling. They also took care of getting the bride's food. We got tons of compliments on the taste and quality of the food. And when they were all done serving, the crew cleared everyone's plates, tore down the buffet and cleared the service area - all without us ever even noticing. It was a perfect operation from beginning to end.

    We also hired a couple bartenders from Gary's to serve all our drinks - mixed drinks, keg beer, wine and pop. They were both excellent! The drinks tasted awesome, they were extremely quick and very personable. They also went above and beyond - we had a Keurig coffee station that my parents planned on maintaining, but they took it upon themselves to make sure it was constantly full of water!

    We had nothing short of an amazing experience with Gary's Catering and would not hesitate to hire them for any and all of our future events. We cannot recommend them enough!
  • Chontay
    Chontay Married on 04/09/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sheri was wonderful taking time out of her weekend to meet with us since we both work and couldn't go during normal business hours. She continued to keep in contact with us throughout the planning process. She met with us a second time to make the changes that we needed after we got our final numbers. They have so many food options to choose from and they made sure that everyone even those with dietary needs had something on the menu that they could eat.
    The day of the wedding went off without a hitch and everything was there and smelled amazing! There were two members of the Gary's crew there making sure that the chafers were replenished and then gathering the empty plates off the tables after the fact. They even got a HUGE plate of food to serve to the bride and groom, everyone else ate the food they got buffet style.
    The food was absolutely delicious! The chicken just fell off the bone and was full of flavor! The salisbury steak was mouth watering. At the end of the night the two crew members boxed up all of the leftovers for us to take home!
  • User1386749 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a backyard bbq reception and Gary's worked with us every step of the way and the food was DELICIOUS!!!
  • Joel
    Joel Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Above and beyond reception catering and exceptional food

    Gary's came highly recommended by our venue (and other venues) and was extremely flexible and helpful in customizing our BBQ catering experience for our wedding reception. We tweaked a lot of things as we got closer to our date (providing our own dinnerware, changing buffet table locations, etc.) and they were not only very agreeable with all our changes but also very helpful in recommending how exactly we should go about executing those decisions.

    Their professionalism and service the day of our reception was top-notch (they personally served my wife and I so we didn't have to get up from our table) and the food quality got us many compliments from our guests.

    Gary's Catering Inc's reply:

    Hi Joel & Katherine,
    Thank you so very much for your kind review and for the opportunity to have been a part of your beautiful Reception.
    It is of the utmost importance to us that you both are happy with our service, staff & cuisine!
    We wish you a lifetime of happiness and hope to have the opportunity to work together again.
  • K
    Kristen Married on 05/14/2016
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gary's has great food for an amazing price. Everyone was raving about the food afterwards. We got the BBQ buffet for our wedding (slow cooked beef brisket, cherry BBQ pork, chicken skewers, mac and cheese, green beans, salad, cornbread). There were absolutely no issues the day of the wedding, they took care of all the dishes, and if I had wanted, I would have been provided with the leftovers. I also got bar service from them as well, which was just as great. You work with Sheri on all the specifics, and she is very easy to work with and very prompt. I was always changing and adding things and she always gave me an updated contract very quickly. They were great!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 09/05/2015
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Working with Chef Joe, Sheri, and the rest of the catering staff at Gary's was a breeze! They delivered a DELICIOUS meal to our 150+ guests in Port Huron. I hav
  • MrMrsAshcraft
    Ellen Married on 10/24/2015
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Food was great, staff was super friendly. Everything was wonderful for our reception at The Valley in Ann Arbor. My sales person told me that I was to chat with the chef at some point but we never did. It was still good and we received what we asked for.
  • User1271201 2+ years ago
    Rating 3.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Great food. Not timely or good with communicating however. Staff who showed up to serve at the wedding were grumpy and not kind to our guests. They ended up running out of food before everyone got one serving. It was a beautiful day regardless of the catering service, however it would be nice to have efficiency and professionalism from your caterer.