Weddings

Gabriel Harber Photography Reviews

Gabriel Harber Photography

Gabriel Harber Photography

Oakland, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 13

8 User photos

Sort by:
  • Jinhee
    Jinhee Married on 10/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fun, comfortable, whimsical

    Working with Gabriel was joyful and very easy! He was super responsive from the get-go and very helpful with his numerous years of experience, not just photographing weddings and moments of celebration, but also in the planning and execution processes that go into them. Wedding planning during COVID times has not been easy, but he was always flexible with protocols and respected social distancing. His style of photographing is very natural and puts you at ease. He captures people in their natural element and the moods of the context. He is also very comfortable with animals and photographing them, which was helpful for us and our pup Lulu, who can be anxious and energetic. Gabriel was also willing to talk to us about our budget and meet us where we were at. Highly recommend!
  • J
    Julia C. Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best decision we made throughout the entire wedding planning process

    Hiring Gabriel to be our wedding photographer was the best decision we made throughout the entire wedding planning process. He really captured the essence of our wedding, and his photos will be our memories for years to come.

    If you want prescriptive, posed photos of you and your favorite people, I'd recommend you go elsewhere. However, if you want to capture the heart and soul of you and your partner, friends, and family on your wedding day, there isn't a photographer more suited than Gabriel Harber.

    Word of advice to others shopping around for a wedding photographer: you and your partner will end up spending *most* of your wedding day with the photographer you choose (probably more time than you will spend with your bridal party). So make sure you choose someone you'd truly you'd want to be around. Gabriel was a unique and calming presence throughout the day, and we had the best time hanging out with him as he captured our day through wind, sun, sleet, and snow. He made sure that the day ran smoothly, had excellent planning and coordination, and was extremely flexible, rolling with the punches and adapting to whatever came along. He's truly worth every penny, and we'd hire him again in a second.
  • Krissy
    Krissy B. Married on 05/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The very best at what he does, and a pleasure to work with!

    I honestly cannot say enough good things about Gabriel and the photos he takes! I discovered Gabriel by searching through many pictures previously taken at our wedding venue, and his work immediately jumped out to me. His ability to capture the intimate moments throughout the day in a way that felt genuine, and not staged or cheesy, is exactly what we were looking for.

    Gabriel was a pleasure to work with throughout the entire wedding process and was a calming presence day of. A true artist, he always new the spots with the best light, and areas that would capture a truly unique moment. I would use Gabriel again in a second!

    I should add the photo booth station was also such a fun add on to the pictures to round out the moments he captured himself - I will treasure our wedding photos always! Thanks, Gabriel!
  • S
    Sara J. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fabulous! Highly recommend!

    We could not be happier about our experience working with Gabriel for our wedding. We loved his style of capturing the intimate moments between us in candid shots, with very few posed photos during our post ceremony couple shoot. Gabriel has a fantastic eye for finding interesting and scenic spots for shooting. As others have said, he managed to get shots of nearly everyone at the wedding, and captured the candid moments that helped us experience everything that was happening during our wedding- even seeing our guests as they watched us during the ceremony. And working with him was a total pleasure; we got along with him and working with him during our photos felt natural because we were chatting the whole time. We got our photos the same week of our wedding even though we were the fourth wedding he shot that week, and the photos are so fabulous we can't stop looking at them We feel so lucky to have Gabriel there to capture our special day.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We (Rachel & Kevin) got married twice this year. The first time was in San Francisco City Hall on a Tuesday; the second time was in Litchfield, NY on a Saturday. We were fortunate to have Gabriel there for both events.

    We did an elopement session for our SF City Hall wedding. Gabriel has shot at SF City Hall many times and was able to interject and get us the best spot in the building to have our ceremony that day which we greatly appreciated. We were tasked with figuring out some nice places for post-ceremony pictures that day. When it was clear Kevin and I had failed (i.e. we chose to aimlessly wander around random parts of Potrero Hill), Gabriel helped us get it together and picked out a couple spots by the water and Bay Bridge to finish out the session. The pictures came out great and we ended up using one of our SF City Hall pictures on our wedding invitations for the NY celebration.

    Gabriel is easy going, full of stories and adaptable. He was super fun to have as our photographer; our guests came up to us many times throughout the night to underscore that fact. Immediately following our ceremony, he easily herded all 150 of our guests together for a group photo. During the cocktail hour, we wandered off for bride/groom shots. Gabriel, having never been to the wedding site prior to the day of the event, was able to pick out beautiful spots for pictures. The pictures turned out incredible. He also did an impeccable job of wandering around the reception to get photos of all our guests.

    Finally, Gabriel is crazy fast at turning around the photos. We got all 900+ of our photos in THREE DAYS. He has an innate ability to capture beautiful, candid shots. We were and continue to be beyond thrilled with his work. 

    Gabriel is very direct and means what he says. We saw this at both of our events this year. Very rarely is there any ambiguity around what was expected of us or what was to be expected from him.

    We’d hire Gabriel again in a heartbeat!
  • N
    Nick Married on 05/19/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I literally can't say enough good things about Gabriel. Hands-down the best decision we made with our wedding. He was super easy to work with and accommodating -- not to mention fun and personable -- and his photography is absolutely amazing. We spent a long time looking for a photographer with real artistic talent who captured lively, original candids, and he delivered in every way. Not only could we not be more thrilled with our photos, but we've received more positive feedback from our guests about Gabriel's photographs than anything (even to the point of some of our friends who had gotten married recently before us ruing having not hired Gabriel). As I said, one of the best decisions we made for our wedding (besides marrying each other, of course), and can't recommend him highly enough to others.

    Since I don't want to post any of his pictures below without his permission, here's a link to the album: https://www.facebook.com/nkelman/media_set?set=a.10103934403710223&type=3&fb_dtsg_ag=Adx1c0AMtlTfMAOwrt_WiZ8Mjo2CY8E5SpJDiMwP38AFbA%3AAdyIPOYWyrWkRpsLDwbiHCq_NSiQ7fVIlvg1Q28qvWCYbg
  • A
    Adam Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gabriel was supposed to photograph our wedding in Santa Rosa in October 2017. Unfortunately, we had to cancel that wedding due to the wildfires. However, Gabriel was so supportive and understanding throughout the whole process. When we ended up scheduling a much smaller wedding 3 weeks later closer to our home in LA, Gabriel was willing to make the trip down for us, moving his schedule around to do so. He even stayed with a family member to keep our costs down. But here's the most important part: his photographs were AMAZING. Completely beautiful, interesting, and exactly what we hoped for. Gabriel's a great guy, a joy to work with, and wonderful at his job. I would recommend him to anyone.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 10/07/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Love my wedding and engagement shoot photos from Gabriel! He works quickly and gets tons of amazing photos. The turnaround time was quick - I think we had the wedding gallery online within one week. Gabriel's prices are in line with other bay area wedding photographers. The photos are beautiful and natural looking. I highly recommend Gabriel and couldn't be happier with his photos.
  • T
    Tom Married on 09/09/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    You may have read this many times whilst looking through reviews of wedding photographers. But honestly, Gabriel is a true professional with a unique eye for capturing special moments at your wedding. My wife and I live in New York, so we didn't get to meet him in person before the big day in San Francisco. He was very thorough inquiring all our preliminary image ideas/expectations over email. When we did meet Gabriel on the day, it was almost like meeting an old friend! He mingled easily with our family and guests, gave fantastic ideas, direction, was extremely personable, but always professional at all times. I have read that some wedding photographers can 'interfere' on the big day, but not Gabriel. He has a wonderful talent for blending in and getting those magic 'in the moment' organic shots.
    Gabriel went above and beyond my wife and I's wedding picture expectations and we are delighted with the results.
  • D
    Doug Married on 08/05/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gabriel did an amazing job of photographing our wedding in downtown San Francisco.
    He has an brilliant eye for composition and was a delight to work with. His artistic photos speak for themselves. What they don't tell you is that he is so polite, so professional, and so gracious that he made what could have been a stressful process effortless.
    Thanks again, Mr. Harber!
  • User2300138 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Boo and I were looking for a photographer who could capture us with minimal posing (we're both pretty camera shy), and Gabriel DELIVERED.

    He also got our guests at their best, documented our party in a dreamy light that I never imagined possible, and delivered the final product SUPER quickly.

    My favorite part, though, had to be looking up during our ceremony to see he'd climbed a steep forest wall to snap an awesome perspective of us and our guests.

    THANK YOU FOR ALL THE AMAZING WORK!
  • User2333657 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Gabriel is so laid back, easy to work with, professional and all around GREAT! I knew it was one thing I did not have to stress about at all - very quick turnaround time on the proofs and hard to choose which photos to get printed because there were so many amazing shots!
    If you're looking for a lot of family/wedding party posed combinations, he'll do them a bit reluctantly, so keep it short and organized - but his ability to capture beautiful candid shots of everyone enjoying themselves is better anyway!
  • User2323765 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We love our pictures from Gabriel and really enjoyed having him with us on our wedding day. Our friends who have gotten married recently have commented that we got many more quality pictures from him than they got from their photographers.
    He is a lot of fun to work with and takes beautiful portraits. While his price is on the expensive side, it was totally worth it. He traveled on some pretty gnarly roads to get to our ceremony site.

    Thanks Gabriel!