Weddings

Funky Turtle DJ Service Reviews

Funky Turtle DJ Service

Funky Turtle DJ Service

New Brighton, MN
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 33 Reviews
View more information

33 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 33
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
Sort by:
  • A
    Anne Married on 02/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was fabulous. Our wedding guests of all ages loved him. He got everyone involved and everyone commented on how fabulous and fun the reception was because of the DJ. I highly recommend him and would hire him again for future events in a heartbeat.
  • K
    Kyle Married on 07/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was the best!! He has a great personality and is very organized. Adam answered any questions we had and had some fantastic recommendations for our playlist. He was very involved and did an awesome job as an emcee as well. The dance floor was busy the whole night and everything flowed very smoothly. We received many compliments on Adam throughout the night and after the wedding. He knocked it out of the park as we could not have asked for a better experience! TWO THUMBS UP!!
  • L
    Liz Married on 10/23/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I got married Oct. 23, 2015 and I have to say that Adam was such a pleasure to work with. He was funny, down to earth, and extremely accomodating in every sense of the word. I had made a list of songs we wanted played and we had gone over everything at least a couple of times before hand. Needless to say, he delivered everything that was promised. We had so much fun at our reception and we definitely have this guy to thank. You're awesome!
  • K
    Kyle Married on 09/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam and his wife Erin went above and beyond our expectations. We couldn't have been happier with them. Everything from the ceremony to the reception was perfect. Thank you so much guys. We had a blast and really appreciate it!
  • C
    Cindy Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a wonderful time during our wedding and reception. The added touch of personalization was the put our experience over the top. High energy and always ready for the next song. My biggest worry of an empty dance floor ...NEVER happened. Always playing to fit the crowd and situations. Couldn't have asked for a better night. Thank you again!
  • K
    Kristi Married on 09/05/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was awesome! Without saying he is the hest DJ I have ever been around, let alone had the pleasure to work with! He played for my ceremony and my reception and I have zero complaints. He had every song I asked for and then some, and was unbelievably attentive to everything.... He checked in with me throughout the day to make sure the songs I wanted got played, and even songs I had forgotten I'd asked him about! He kept the crowd entertained while we waited for dinner, played awesome dinner music and did sing alongs with the kids and the adults. I cannot say thank you enough! From the ceremony, to the reception everything was perfect. Thank you again Adam! To anyone looking for a truly awesome DJ service Funky Turtle DJ is it!
  • User2296169 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was outstanding to work with! He was super flexible and very accommodating!!! We couldn't have asked for somebody more professional.
  • A
    Avery Married on 08/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was an absolute joy to work with!! I initially hired him because of how personal his introduction was to me (compared to generic advertisers), and I was continuously affirmed in my choice. He went above and beyond finding the exact music we asked for, and once the big day finally came everything went as smoothly as a dream. The ceremony was outside, and all of the music we chose were recordings except for one singer and a pianist, so naturally acoustic balance was a big worry. But the balance was PERFECT, even on a very windy day. Everyone heard everything, and the transitions were seamless. The cocktail hour had a great jazzy vibe, and while the groom and I were still taking pictures, Adam actually brought us a plate of the appetizers because he figured no one had done so. It was seriously the most thoughtful thing, much more than I ever would have expected, and it really spoke to how considerate he was. The reception was a huge hit, with fantastic song selections. The music for a wedding is crucial to setting the vibe, and often makes or breaks a reception. But Adam did a fantastic job and really connected with us and our guests. Everyone had a blast, and no one wanted the night to end. We wish we could do it all over!!
  • E
    Emily Married on 08/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was amazing! We had a small wedding and wanted to cater to whatever our guests wanted to hear, Adam picked songs they would love to dance to and everyone had an amazing time. He started up the songs perfectly during the ceremony and kept things moving through the night with speeches, games and music.
    I love that through a google doc we stayed in constant communication and were able to change the songs as many times as needed up until the last minute. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.
  • User2274889 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was great!

    He was kind, polite, and interactive with everyone at our wedding. All of our guests, including us, loved his music selection. The variety kept everyone dancing and having an excellent time at our reception. Many of our guests asked who the DJ/MC was and gave us compliments on choosing Funky Turtle DJ. His setup sounded great, he had nice lighting, and he was understanding and accommodating of our particular requests. We couldn't have asked for a better experience with Adam and Funky Turtle!

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
  • B
    Becky Married on 07/05/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't really say enough great things about Adam. He is super easy to work with! We booked him several months ago, but didn't get a chance to sit down and talk with him until four days before the wedding, and everything still turned out great! We gave him some specific suggestions, and other more general ideas, and all his choices were wonderful. He also thought of things that didn't even occur to us, like a microphone in the largest dining room for toasts. He definitely kept the dance party going with everything from a "Let it Go" sing along for our large number of young guests to Queen and Journey for the adults to dance to. And he was not at all cheesy (a concern I definitely had about hiring a DJ).

    And, crucially, it is clear he knows a lot of music. I have been a musician since practically before I could talk, so I can always tell. We talked about everything from Wagner to Segovia to the New Pornographers, and he was with us the whole way, making suggestions as well as taking ours.

    Hire Adam and be happy. The end.
  • R
    Reece Married on 06/28/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    To be honest, I wasn't quite sure if I wanted a DJ at our reception for a variety of reasons, but I am SO glad that I changed my mind and worked with Adam at Funky Turtle DJ service. Adam worked with us beforehand to make sure he created the environment we envisioned for our reception - simple, fun and casual. He also gave us great ideas on how to make the reception enjoyable for our guests. When I think of a DJ, I usually think of someone who plays mediocre pop music and makes corny jokes, but Adam is SO much more than that. For example, he helped set up our sound system for the ceremony, moved indoors when we realized it was too hot for anyone to hang outside, assisted my friends in organizing a toast, and even got my partner and I to sing karaoke! Adam played the music we liked (bluegrass, folk, and even Taylor Swift) and did a fantastic job getting people comfortable on the dance floor. We were so pleased with Funky Turtle and afterwards many of our guests said they had never experienced such a fun DJ. I would highly recommend Funky Turtle to both friends and strangers. Whether you're a dancing queen or just want to have some fun, Funky Turtle will work with you to create a unique, memorable experience that you and your guests will never forget. I cannot say enough good things about Adam and hope you'll be able to experience what makes his services so special too.
  • C
    Curtis Married on 05/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    He was simply amazing! Provided us with every thing we needed at a fraction of the price of anyone else. Set up and tore down his own equipment. Had every song we requested, and if he didn't he found it. Helped with issues we had during the wedding using his experience to help us in our time of need. Also was amazing with all of the guests and our children. If we ever need a DJ for anything again, he is our guy!
  • T
    Troy Married on 04/25/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was great and came highly recommended to us. He did our wedding reception in the Madison, WI area. My wife tasked me to find a DJ and I have nothing but good things to say about Adam. He made the whole process easy for me and this would of been my first time dealing with a DJ. My wife and I are so very happy to have found Funky Turtle DJ Service, everyone at our reception had a wonderful time!

    Many Thanks, Adam!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 03/21/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have never enjoyed a wedding reception more! What fun! So thankful for this service!

    Our reception was a tricky one. Our religion is Baptist...so song choices are limited. Adam was super sensitive to this, yet was able to pull of an amazing job!!!
  • S
    Shelley Event on: 01/30/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was flexible and energetic. At the last minute my son requested Karokee and Adam Stout has no problem integrating his requests on his 30th Golden Birthday. It was a tough crowd to engage, everyone just wanted to stay gathered around the bar. Adam did not give up, with much energy and enthusiasm he danced around the room determining music interests, etc and near the mid to end of the evening everyone in the room was dancing and did not want the party to end. I will hire Funky Turtle DJ Service for all of my special events, even if there are a hundred more events that I need to have. Thank you for making my sons 30th Birthday fun and memorable. You were so helpful with his slide show as well...your the best hands down...
  • J
    Jessie Married on 12/20/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After choosing Funky Turtle, that aspect of wedding planning became completely worry free. My husband and I have COMPLETELY different taste in music, and we don't always appreciate each other's ideas of what great music is. All I did was fill out the questionnaire that Adam gave us, share a list of songs we love, and he took them and played a great combination of music we both enjoyed during dinner and for dancing. During the reception and after, my husband, friends and family could not say enough great things about Adam as a DJ and his professionalism. He took requests and played something for everyone to get them dancing. I danced so much, as did my family and friends. Awesome job, Adam!
  • S
    Sarah Event on: 12/13/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was amazing! Hired for our daughter's birthday which was an 80s costume dance, he was all we had hoped he would be and more. He worked within our budget, was on-time, professional but fun, and respected our every wish. He even dressed up 80s style for us. I would highly recommend him and would rebook him for any event in the future!
  • J
    John Married on 11/22/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a great time as did our guests. Adam did great job of reading the crowd and was willing to play requests from the guests too. We would definitely recommend the DJ service!
  • M
    Marilyn Event on: 11/16/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam Stout wwas our DJ for our 50th wedding anniversary at Ramada Jnsvl. He did a fabulous job. We picked out some song's from our time and he put them in with his choice's. It was fantastic. Everyone loved him and commented what an excellent DJ he was. He helped make our day even more special. Adam is the one to hire for an event to be remembered.
  • T
    Tess Married on 11/07/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was so fun and easy to work with! My husband and I love Disney and wanted to incorporate that with our music and Adam had such a great mix of Disney and mainstream. My parents are bummed that he's in Illinois and not Colorado where they live so that they can use him for my sisters' weddings :) Our guests had so much fun and we thought the night was perfect! Thank you, Adam for giving us an unbelievable experience!
  • B
    Ben Married on 10/25/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam and team were super fun and friendly. He was very professional, and made us feel very comfortable, and was able to handle all the crazy family members request with ease. I would call him in a heartbeat if I am in need of a DJ again.
  • M
    Micki Event on: 09/20/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam is a FIVE STAR DJ! He was a hit with our Jr High kids at the Middle School dance! Word is he's the "Best DJ Ever!" Parents were also thrilled that he played "clean" versions of the most popular songs! Thank you so much Adam! We'd definitely recommend you to anyone! - Meridian Jr High PTO
  • Z
    Zeke Married on 09/13/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was amazing! We couldn't have dreamed of having a better officiant and DJ. He completely surprised us by coming up with a completely unique and individualized ceremony. It was perfect. We left the music up to him and we could not have chosen bower songs ourselves! If I could give more than 5 stars I would. Beyond the job, Adam really cared about making our wedding perfect for us. No question he is the best choice for a wedding officiant and DJ! Thanks Adam!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 08/31/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Adam was an amazing DJ at our wedding. He was well organized before the wedding, and played a great selection of songs. The karaoke was a fun option for guests. We didn't know what our last song should be and he suggested the perfect song. We danced together surrounded by all of our friends and family holding hands in a circle. I highly recommend Adam!