Folktale Winery & Vineyards Reviews

5 | Carmel, CA
See photos, pricing and details

5 Reviews for Folktale Winery & Vineyards

Recommended by 84% of couples

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.1

Awards

5

2 User photos

Folktale Winery & Vineyards 1
Folktale Winery & Vineyards 2
Order by:
  • User6297754 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue. Very flexible and accommodating. Responsive to email and organized. Lots of places for pictures. Nina was awesome!

    Sent on 10/05/2016
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Folktale winery was the perfect venue for our wedding! We had the ceremony at the courtyard, cocktail hour at the green house area and dinner in the barrel room. Our day of coordinator and folktale's venue coordinator worked together to make everything go smoothly. Everything was beautiful and we couldn't have picked a better place to say I Do.

    Sent on 09/25/2016
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 11/11/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved Folktale Winery & Vineyards. It was the perfect place for us to have our intimate and romantic wedding. We had our reception in the Greenhouse and the Gallery. It was such a beautiful and memorable space. We worked with Christian throughout the year and she and the rest of the Folktale team executed an amazing evening that my friends and family continue to rave about! We are from Texas, so finding other vendors was a little difficult but she helped make recommendations and even reached out to the ones we picked to help coordinate for the day of. The culinary team is outstanding! We had beef, chicken, and salmon dishes that were excellent. Cooked perfectly! They even allowed us to stray from the set dessert menu and made us chocolate chip ice cream sandwiches to help make it more personal. Christian also sent a bottle of wine for the holidays, which is so very thoughtful! We were so pleased with every little thing and we couldn't have asked for more!

    Folktale Winery & Vineyards 3
    Folktale Winery & Vineyards 4
    Sent on 12/28/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/22/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A beautiful venue with numerous options depending on your style & wedding size. Parking lot is on-site so guests do not have to walk far. We had our ceremony in the front courtyard and reception in the wine garden/greenhouse area. The great part about the venue is that it naturally decorates itself with the foliage, landscaping so not much was needed decor-wise. We came upon Folktale by chance as at the time of researching venues, Chateau Julien was in the process of being "closed". When it reopened as Folktale Winery, we were considering as an ceremony only venue but after visiting, really enjoyed the vibe of the winery. It has a very inviting, laid-back, service-oriented atmosphere which is what we wanted for our wedding day. We ended up having our whole wedding day here with the bonus of Classic Catering being a preferred vendor. You can get a feel of the venue by partaking in their events they host during the week and weekend. Our first wedding coordinator wasn't the greatest in responses and email comprehension which made it a tad frustrating trying to coordinate details. A few months before the wedding, she had left her position due to relocating. It worked out for the best, as the new coordinator was great in responses and working out wedding planning details. Really, our day went well without any hitches with the best sunset and relaxed atmosphere. Of course, it helps to remember what really is important and focus on that if issues do crop up. We love the fact that when we are in the Carmel/Monterey area, we can revisit the lovely memories we shared with our family and friends.

    Sent on 05/13/2017
  • User6343890 · 2+ years ago

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    The winery is beautiful and our guests loved the location. However the staff was very incompetent. The coordinator stated she would be our "wedding coordinator" helping manage all of our vendors day of, be there to handle any issues that arose, and keep things moving on time. We were very disappointed with her execution of this on the day of. First, the wedding started over 30 min late because she had the wrong start time even though I sent her a finalized schedule weeks before. Also, she had promised her staff would direct people where to park and where to walk from parking to ceremony site but when my father and brother-in-law went outside, they saw people lost and confused and ended up directing parking themselves before the ceremony because no event staff was in sight. After the ceremony, the whole day was delayed, but instead of "managing the crisis" like they had promised, they continued to ask me, the bride, throughout the day what time we should do things now that we were off schedule - that was not something I wanted to worry about on the wedding day - I wanted them to figure that out like they promised the would. I would have hired an actual day of coordinator to handle these things, but they assured me throughout the planning process they would handle all of that. There were many signs of disorganization throughout the reception such as one table was missing two chairs, wine service was slow, a bartender said we were out of beer when we had plenty left over at the end of the night, someone confused the father of the groom about the reception start time and he missed his meal blessing... My guests seemed to still have a blast despite this, but it was a headache I would not wish on any other bride to deal with on her wedding day - if you choose this venue - hire your own coordinator and staff.

    Sent on 02/10/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review