Weddings

Flora and Fauna Fine Food Reviews

Flora and Fauna Fine Food

Flora and Fauna Fine Food

Arroyo Grande, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 12 Reviews
View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 12

18 User photos

Sort by:
  • T
    Travis Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best wedding food you will ever have

    When we decided to do a destination wedding, we knew we wanted an emphasis on food and wine. We wanted our ceremony to have the feel of a great dinner party with excellent food, good wine, and exemplary service. Flora and Fauna did not disappoint. We sampled food with them well before the wedding, gave our ideas and thoughts, and together developed the perfect menu. The food was delicious then, but cooking for large groups is challenging. We were hoping the food come wedding day would be as good as we remembered it. I would argue that it was even better. From the passed appetizers to the large displayed charcuterie board to entrees of flat iron steak and halibut, there was not a weak link. It was all truly delicious. We had multiple comments from family and friends stating that it was the best wedding food they had ever eaten, and that it rivaled some of their favorite restaurants.

    But more importantly that the food, the service was phenomenal. Courses flowed out to the tables smoothly. The timing was perfect. Everyone was served nearly simultaneously without awkward delays or waiting. There was also someone available to wait on you when you needed it, but without being intrusive or pushy. There were attentive to everyone's needs throughout dinner and very attentive to all of the details. You will be hard pressed to find a combination of food and service this exemplary anywhere, catering company or restaurant. If you enjoy excellent food and even better service, Flora and Fauna is the caterer for you.
  • Jasmine
    Jasmine Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Food was Hot, Perfectly Cooked, and Delicious

    Nothing pains me more than to go to a wedding where the food is mediocre, served cold, and or overcooked...and I'm Persian so I've been to a lot of weddings. The care and attention Flora and Fauna put into serving our guests a beautiful meal with high-quality ingredients was truly amazing. Everybody, and I mean EVERYBODY, loved the food and was ranting and raving about how amazing dinner was. And presentation was gorgeous, there were edible flowers rolled into the butter (so pretty). At our tasting, Chef Heidi surprised us with an intricate rice and tahdig (crispy Persian rice), which she had never made before and it was PERFECT. She is so freaking talented, her staff provided great service, poured balanced cocktails, and kept our guests happy. You should absolutely hire her. Worth every penny. She's a no brainer.
  • Erin
    Erin M. Married on 04/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Look no further...

    Flora and Fauna literally blew our minds with their amazing food. Food was easily the most important thing about our wedding day. We were really hoping to include unique food options that were both delicious and memorable. We were so impressed with Heidi and Tami. They helped us create a personalized menu that included poke, bison, duck, fish, crab. pork and short rib appetizers. Each appetizer was so unique and also quite frankly the best things we have ever eaten. Our guests were raving about the food. Our plated meals were plated so beautifully they were like pieces of art. Flora and Fauna were also very accommodating for my guests with dietary restrictions and they even brought out a plate with specially made appetizers for those guests. I could easily rave about them all day, but we were honestly so impressed we would hire them over and over again.

    Flora and Fauna Fine Food's reply:

    Awwwww...
    Erin, Thank You so much for your kind words. It really was our honor to be a part of your beautiful families for the weekend. From beginning to end it was a pleasure to work with you all. Your own passion for food made it easy to create a memorable menu along side you. hashtagidealclient
    We want to wish you and Nick all the happiness and constant love you can handle.
    XO-Tami, Heidi and The FnF Gang
  • Jenna
    Jenna G. Married on 11/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Food was incredible

    We splurged on our food after having our tasting with flora and fauna. Their food and service is nothing like I have seen before. Wedding food can be hit or miss and man we’re they a hit. So many people came up to us at the wedding raving about how incredible the food and cocktails were. We had FF make the mixers for our cocktails and they were amazing. Everything about the food and drinks was beyond incredible. The presentation was sooooo pretty. Don’t settle on just any average food and go with flora and fauna. You won’t regret it
  • G
    Giovonne V. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious food!

    Flora and Fauna were highly recommended by just about every venue we visited, and I totally see why! They were extremely responsive, incorporated our ideas and feedback, and the food was AMAZING! They were also really excited about doing a vegan wedding, and all the non-vegan guests raved about the food!

    Flora and Fauna Fine Food's reply:

    Thank You Giovonne + Ben!
    It really was our pleasure to serve and feed you on your Best Day Ever. Thank you for letting us be a part of it. We’re wishing you two amazing humans (as said by your guests over and over) the best of everything and a lifetime of happiness together.
    Warmest Regards,
    Tami & Heidi
  • Kim
    Kim Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hiring Flora and Fauna was one of the best decisions we made!

    As a couple with strong family ties to the restaurant and wine industries, food and drink are very important to us. Our guests expected great food and it was a priority that anything served at our wedding tasted awesome. Naturally, we were super picky about the catering team.
    When we saw Flora and Fauna’s sample proposal, we were intrigued enough to discuss our food ideas with them further. They were responsive with us every step of the way and really took the time to get to know us, understand our preferences and bring our wedding food dreams to life. In fact, our tasting at their Arroyo Grande kitchen was our favorite day during the wedding planning process. They were so flexible and worked with us to create a highly customized and robust menu that integrated dishes reflecting Middle Eastern, Lao, Vietnamese, Peruvian, and American comfort cuisine. They sourced from local farms, so everything was crazy fresh. And they made our eccentric food requests cohesive for our guests. Magic!!
    They were so patient in explaining to us the logic behind the number of chefs and servers we would need, and we were so happy that we went with their recommendation as everything they touched the night of our wedding went so smoothly - set up and take down was perfect; everyone’s food was hot; and bussing and clean up was very well organized.
    Their buffet service was so efficient since they were on top of replenishing dishes throughout service, and the way they displayed everything so beautifully elevated the look and feel of dinner. Despite people going back for more after their first plate, there was never a line!
    We’re almost 4 months past the wedding, and we still have guests reaching out to talk about how memorable the food was. We highly recommend Flora and Fauna - they are wonderful, good, honest people that also happen to be amazing caterers. They aren't a cookie cutter kitchen that only produces one menu; they really care about creating the exact menu their clients want! They are everything you want in a catering team - food obsessed, appreciative of all cultures, and eager to please your taste buds. Chef Heidi and Tami - we miss you!

    Kim & Ari
  • Karen
    Karen Married on 10/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The food was amazing!

    We loved every second of working with Tami and Heidi. From the planning meeting to the tasting to day of the event they were fabulous. They truly listened to what we were hoping to accomplish with the food ( a big deal for my husband and I) and they came up with the most incredible menu. People RAVED about the food. We will use them again for parties and we will have two more weddings for our other daughters and you can be sure we already have the caterer picked out! They are AMAZING!
  • Victoria
    Victoria Married on 10/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    So here's the thing. I'm a trained chef and can be a bit hard to please when it comes to food. Although I'm happy whenever someone cooks for me, even if its' Mac & cheese I can still be hard to please. Well let me tell you about Flora & Fauna's Mac & Cheese. Out Of This World!!! We did an elevated BBQ menu since our venue was a ranch. They know how to elevate. Not only is their food incredible beautiful to look at, it's delicious from first bite to last. Cornbread, brisket, brined chicken...I can go on and on. Heidi & Tami won us over from the 1st moment we met them. I literally left telling my fiancé, I could totally live here and work with these girls. They were the absolute best. XOXO
  • Will
    Will Married on 08/11/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are looking for a caterer in SLO area look no further. We booked flora and fauna for our wedding and the food was AMAZING! When we went in for the tasting, it was so good we booked them for the rehearsal dinner as well. Both meals were fantastic, the servers were literally being attacked with the appetizers coming out of the kitchen. Tami and Heidi are quite a dynamic duo and made the entire process so easy for us. I think I groomzilla'd my way through like 3 or 4 menu changes and every time they were able to throw out amazing ideas with the quickness. Take a look at this cheese board. Have you seen a cheese board like this at a wedding? Didn't think so. Book em!
  • A
    Amy Married on 06/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    HIRE THEM, HIRE THEM, HIRE THEM. The gals at Flora and Fauna are some of the most amazing people I've ever met in my life. They are funny, professional, caring, accommodating, compassionate, and they have completely mastered their craft. They have relieved any stress I had trying to plan a wedding, as they offer suggestions and will help wherever needed. They are also so easy to get a hold of, which is a blessing in this industry. I can't even describe how delicious their food is, on top of their amazing personalities and customer service. I have literally never had better food in my life. Chef Heidi, bless you. I cannot believe the amazing food you created on such a restricted diet. Tami, you are an actual angel. Thank you for always supporting me, and making this so easy and so much fun. Cassandra, you are fun and bubbly and talented and perfect, and an incredible chef, as well. And for anyone who worked on my wedding who I did not get the pleasure of meeting, thank you, as well. You have all been the best of the best, and I will cater a random Wednesday night if it means I get to work with you all again. Love you lots. -Amy&Tommy
  • N
    Nickol Married on 10/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tami and Heidi are amazing. I chose the date for our wedding by first asking what openings Flora + Fauna's schedule had- they were exactly what I was looking for and I was willing to work around them. They were in line with our philosophies on food and I could not imagine another caterer feeding us. They have high standards, and source their food with love. They are creative, and know how to play. They are generous with their vegetables. They brought so much joy to the process. The staff they brought was friendly, attentive, and fun. One of the servers met us out by where we were doing family photos (which was a golf cart drive away) to bring us appetizers. It was so thoughtful- they wanted to make sure we were eating. One of the servers wore a flower in her hair, and had a smile on her face the whole night. Our bartender was kind and positive--(some of the older ladies totally had a crush on him). The entire team had a good energy, and brought joy to my wedding experience. Tami and Heidi concocted each detail with so much passion and love. All of our bellies were full of happiness...so many guests said they loved the food. The meat was perfectly cooked. The drinks were delicious. and they even helped us with incorporating traditional/cultural foods that we wanted.
    I love Flora+Fauna and wish I could eat at their table every week. :)
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 07/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Flora & Fauna is THEE best! We are so pleased to have found them! I cannot say enough amazing things about Heidi and Tami. They are both easy going, down to earth, and fun but also very professional and take their craft very seriously. They listen well and met with us a few times before our big day. They provided many seasonal options and after choosing the specifics of what we wanted as a part of our celebration, we really trusted their expertise on the rest. Food is an art to them and there is a noticeable pride taken with their work. We were immediately put at ease with their knowledge not only of food but of the business of A WEDDING DAY. The food was phenomenal! Their service was stellar! Everything was tasty, colorful, creative, flavorful, fresh, and displayed well. EVERYONE indulged with complete satisfaction. These ladies and their team took care of everything, even the things that I had not thought of. Their presentation, timing, staff, all worked seamlessly throughout. From the reception with appetizers and fun drinks to the flawless dinner. They did what they said they would do and then some. I really appreciated their attention to detail too. I was grateful that they took care of feeding our other vendors and made sure the bride & groom got some bites during photos. The set up and breakdown was done in an blink of an eye and without disruption of the evening of any kind. My husband and I were the most grateful that they took the time to wrap up food for us to take to our honeymoon suite. After a beautiful and long day it was nice to put on comfy clothes and DEVOUR. Food is a very important element and usually the center of bringing people together during a time of celebration. Choosing Flora & Fauna is choosing a team that shares their passion for a time such as this. Thank you so much for helping to make our day memorable. We are so grateful to have you as a part of our day. Sincerely, Jackie & Rudy Bachmann