Weddings

First Presbyterian Church Reviews

First Presbyterian Church

First Presbyterian Church

Portland, OR
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 12 Reviews
View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 93% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 12

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • Sam
    Sam H. Getting married on 01/01/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream Day in a Historic Setting

    The wedding coordinator at the venue was very professional and in constant communication with us and our planner. He definitely takes personal joy in making this beautiful venue perfect for the wedding day. Definitely chip in the extra $$$ for an organist. This organ is huge and powerful. It adds quite a lot to the atmosphere.

    First Presbyterian Church's reply:

    Hello Sam, it was a pleasure helping to make your wedding memorable. You and Jaimie, your wedding planner and families were wonderful to work with. Of course I totally agree with your recommendation to have our organist play at weddings as it adds so much elegance along with the beautiful sanctuary. Thanks for the nice review.
  • Katie
    Katie W. Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Church

    First Presbyterian was a beautiful location for our August wedding! The planning process was straightforward and everyone was great to work with. At one point, we made a mistake with our event insurance. The FPC team was quick to reach out and they were understanding and patient as we quickly resolved the issue. For the rehearsal and the day of, Bill was incredibly thorough and made sure everything was ready to go. We love all of our photos in and around the church, it is a stunning location. Thank you, First Pres, for helping make our day so special!

    Photo credit: Olivia Strohm Photography

    First Presbyterian Church's reply:

    Hi Katie and regards to Andrew; I hope this finds you both doing well. It was a real pleasure meeting you and both families and a delight to help out with your wedding at First Pres!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 01/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This church is GORGEOUS! As I was being married in the winter, I knew that I wanted to be married in a setting that would be great for indoor pictures! The staff was so easy to work with and so helpful! I am so thankful I picked out this church!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 07/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Travis was so wonderful to work with throughout the entire planning process. He was flexible with meetings and our adjusting our rehearsal time to accommodate bride and groom, which was really appreciated. First Presbyterian Church is stunning and worth every penny.

    The only thing I would provide feedback on is because the church does not have AC, it dawned on me that we were faced with a 100 degree weather day (more rare than not in Portland) and there weren't many resources or recommendations for companies to bring in portable units as the church was extremely warm. I think it would be great to include just a reminder in informational packets that the church does get warm and has limited capability for AC units so guests can plan well in advance for these 85+ degree days in summer!
  • S
    Sasha Married on 09/27/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everything was great! Not only was the location absolutely BEAUTIFUL but the staff was so helpful both in preparation of the day and the day of! I am so glad we had our wedding and reception at First Presbyterian Church Portland!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 09/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The staff at FPC, particularly Travis, were excellent to work with. Communication was easy and questions answered promptly. Travis was efficient, focused and organized with our rehearsal and the ceremony went perfectly.
    We would recommend this amazingly beautiful and special church to all persons looking for an event venue. Our photos in the garden and against the brick of the church are beautiful!
    Thanks!
  • R
    Robert Married on 06/06/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the moment we stepped foot in the First Presbyterian Church, we knew we wanted to have our wedding there. The architecture and building itself is breathtaking, and it is a large enough church that easily accommodated our guest size of about 150 people (they can accommodate much larger weddings as well). Communication with the event manager Travis was a breeze, and he was always very quick to reply to any questions or inquiries we had from day one. We also had pastor Zane from the church for our ceremony, and he was welcoming and guided us through the planning process efficiently. We rented out the main sanctuary for our ceremony, courtyard for our cocktail hour (it would be a crime not to- absolutely beautiful!), and the geneva hall for our reception. Our day-of-coordinator that was provided by the church (her name is Destiny) was also very sweet and helpful during both the rehearsal and the day-of. All the other staff that assisted with our special day- the ones that cleaned up and set up things the way we wanted also did an excellent job! We are very happy with our decision to have our wedding here and would highly recommend to others!
  • C
    Christopher Married on 07/05/2014
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were recently married at First Presbyterian Church and could not have been happier with the results. Travis was an amazing coordinator for us at the church, and Amber Nettleton was an incredible officiant. We both agreed that our wedding ceremony was the highlight of a beautiful day, and First Pres is a big reason why it was such a success.
  • User2182229 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had an amazing experience having my ceremony at the FPC! The staff was very helpful and the venue is perfect!
  • B
    Carrie Married on 06/29/2013
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This church is SO beautiful!! I had to have it for my wedding upon first look!!
  • E
    Erin Married on 08/15/2016
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    The facility is simply stunning! My husband and I are so glad that we had our ceremony and reception at First Pres.
  • L
    Laura Married on 11/12/2016
    Rating 3.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    The venue was absolutely beautiful, and we were able to move our time around a little bit which was nice for them to accommodate. However, the rehearsal was extremely stressful, and I felt like I had to run the rehearsal and the planner was arguing with me about the form I had filled out outlining what we wanted the day to be like. It was not a great way to spend the night before the wedding, and did not give me a lot of confidence going into the wedding day.