First Light Studios Reviews

29 | East Hartford, CT
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for First Light Studios

Recommended by 99%

29
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • B

    Brianna · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So glad we found First Light Studios!

    We are so glad that we found Kevin and Elvis while searching for a videographer for our wedding. They were incredibly easy to work with, were always readily available by phone and email, and delivered a truly beautiful product (in such a timely manner!) that really captured the essence of our wedding and will be something we treasure for years to come! We cannot recommend First Light Studios enough for anyone looking for a videographer who is professional, unintrusive, and really a joy to work with.

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly perfect

    Kevin and Elvis were the perfect team to capture our wedding day! In searching for a videographer I watched thousands of wedding films online and First Light Studios was exactly what we were looking for! They truly captured our day and recreated our dream wedding in their film. We are so happy we went with them! They were a true pleasure to work with and they really have an eye for capturing life biggest moments. THANK YOU!!! Kelly & Doug

  • J

    Jamie · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Video EVER!

    To Kevin & his wonderful team - We love love LOVE our wedding video - what more is there to say? First Light Studios did an absolutely amazing job putting our video. From the music selection chosen to syncing it with the special moments (including the speeches) throughout the day, everything about this wedding video was just perfect. We both teared up watching it and my husband joked "I love you more now that I watched that." Thank you to First Light Studios for capturing our wedding day and allowing us to relive the most important day of our lives over and over again - reminding us what an amazing moment it was for us. I especially loved how Kevin & his team captured the sentimental moments at the wedding ceremony and the fun parts of the evening at the reception. They have a real talent and we are so lucky that we hired First Light Studios! We can't thank them enough and would highly recommend to others to hire for their big day/event!

  • A

    Alison · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin and his team did an absolutely amazing job on our wedding video. We could not be happier with the final product. I've probably watched my video 100 times in the past couple days because I'm obsessed with it! Everyone we showed it to is blown away with the quality and editing. The songs and clips they chose all fit together perfectly to make the perfect video to highlight our special day. On the day Kevin and Elvis were very accommodating and professional. They were not intrusive at all but still got absolutely beautiful shots of everything. I would 1000% recommend choosing First Light Studios to make your wedding video. You will not be disappointed.

  • S

    Shannon Donofrio · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding video

    First Light Studios did an absolutely amazing job capturing our day. They listened to what was most important to us for the day and made sure we had all the moments we wanted saved forever. They have a unique and creative style that stood out amongst the crowd of other vendors. Reasonable price with quality work!!

  • M

    Morgan · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring First Light Studios to capture our wedding film was the best wedding decision my husband and I made. Period. Our final video is absolutely breathtaking and I truly believe that it could not have been accomplished this way with any other videographers. From the moment I first spoke with Kevin, I was completely confident that we were in good hands and I would have nothing to worry about with this team. On the day of the wedding, I was proven right! Kevin and Elvis fit seamlessly into our wedding day and we felt so natural having them both there. Their professionalism is unmatched and then the final product....my goodness. My husband and I both got goosebumps and bawled our eyes out watching it. I have literally watched thousands of wedding videos, and none even comes close to comparing with ours. The fact that we get to relive our wedding with this beautiful video for the rest of our lives is absolutely priceless. We could not have asked for a better team to tackle this project, and the end result is just astonishing. Thank you isn't enough - this wedding video has made my life.

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad we went with a video for our wedding day- Kevin and his team made sure we will always be able to relive our day and seee it through such beautiful shots! Kevin was willing to drive to our house and give us the raw footage immediately- it was organized by each part of the wedding. It was so beautifully done- we are so thankful! We also had feedback on the highlight video and Kevin was willing to work with us to make sure the video hit the mark for us. Thank you, Kevin and Elvis, for ensuring we will be able to relive our day again and again!

  • User6024077 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin and Elvis were absolutely amazing to work with. They were almost as excited as we were about our Block Island family venue for our wedding, and they immediately offered to throw in some additional items including the drone in exchange for us covering their transit and housing. We had a few quick and easy phone calls to align before the event, and they were incredibly professional the entire weekend. They were flexible, easy to work with, and managed to get all of the money shots while still being unobtrusive. They even stayed later than planned and captured some additional footage at no charge. The turnaround time for editing was a bit long, but Kevin was in constant communication with us about the status, and the final result was well worth the wait. We would 150% recommend First Light Studios for a wedding video that you will watch for many, many years to come. When we show it to people, they are always incredibly impressed and call it the "trailer" for our lives together. We watch it ourselves frequently as a reminder of our incredible wedding weekend.

    Definitely reach out to them far in advance of your wedding date as they book up quickly!

  • User5512607 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin and his crew did an amazing job. Calm on the day of with great ideas. We knew we loved their work before we booked but our finished video blew us away. It is something we and our families will cherish forever and watch over and over again. Would recommend them to any wedding couple 100%!!

  • P

    Mark · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a great experience hiring First Light Studios for my wedding! We were a pretty picky couple, and they blew us away with the final product. I can't recommend them enough!

  • A

    Annabelle · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin from First Light Studios did an excellent job for our wedding. We recommend doing a same-day edit. Our guests were very impressed with seeing footage from the day of the wedding during the reception. It was an amazing feature, that had everyone awestruck and cause my new husband to tear up. We also had a seven-minute cinematic film of our wedding, which summed up all of the best parts, without having to sit through 2+ hours of raw footage. Videographers are the new must-haves for weddings and we highly recommend Kevin, with great eye for detail.

  • A

    Alison · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin and Elvis were great! They do such beautiful work and we cannot wait to get the full video. The teaser they sent us after the wedding was incredible and has us so excited!

  • User6844207 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I imagine that every bride looks back on their wedding and thinks, "If only I did XYZ differently..." There are several things I would have changed about the wedding but NOT the hiring of First Light Studios. This was THE BEST investment we made for our October 2015 wedding. To this day, I still tear up when I watch our video. Kevin and his team were very prepared but stayed out of our way when the wedding came. We did not have to give any directions; they just *knew* where they had to be to capture the best moments. I hope that First Light Studios will be in the business in the decades to come. I would love to hire them again for our future children's weddings!

  • User4308579 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I searched day and night for the perfect videographer before making a decision. We knew we wanted someone who specialized in cinematic videos. We are so happy we booked First Light Studios. We have only received our preview so far, and it is AMAZING, we can't wait for the short film. We are so happy to have our entire day captured on video since it went by so fast and there are moments we didn't get to see as bride and groom. Kevin was very easy to work with and very responsive which was important to us since we live out of state. He is very passionate for what he does and I highly recommend First Light Studios to any bride and groom. Definitely spend the money on a videographer, the day is a blur and nothing is better than having a video to watch your perfect day happen again!!

  • S

    Shannon · Married on 06/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin and his team did a phenomenal job of capturing our wedding day on video. I loves being able to see all of the little moments I missed on the day and their editing was fantastic. Their team was so easy to work with and they always responded very quickly. I can't say enough good things about first light studios.

  • S

    Scott · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin did a great job with our wedding video. We were delighted with how quickly he got back to us, the quality of the video, and his responsiveness with our requested edits. Before the wedding itself, we arranged multiple calls to ensure we were all on the same page and that they understood all the little quirks that we had for our wedding (and believe me, there were plenty). As Kevin had another wedding the day of, he used two outside contractors (led by Quinton Brogan) to do the actual shooting: (we requested a meeting with them before the wedding to check-in with them as well, which Kevin was happy to arrange). He apparently has worked with them frequently in the past and they did a fantastic job: punctual, prepared, flexible, friendly, and non-obtrusive. Overall, we can't recommend First Light Studios enough; you won't be disappointed.

  • M

    Mike · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first met Kevin while we were documenting a wedding in Hartford. As a wedding photographer, I was impressed with his passion for weddings and his dedication to the craft. His work ethic is amazing and he was fantastic with my couple. He was so enthusiastic and easy to work with that I began recommending him. I've had the pleasure to work with him several times so when we began to plan our wedding we called him first. The real magic of what he does happens after the wedding. His film, in mine and my wife's opinion, are full of heart and laughter--it can and will make you cry.

    We are so thrilled to have had Kevin Larsen document our day. He has all the tools and personality to make your day easy and effortless. Kevin is a wonderful guy and I'm glad I can call him my friend.



  • K

    Kalee · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Kevin Larsen to film my October 2014 wedding and I can’t say enough about how pleased I was with his videography services. Kevin was extremely professional throughout the entire process and delivered a product that was truly priceless. On the day of the wedding, Kevin blended seamlessly with the background to the point that I almost forgot he was there. However, when I viewed my wedding video for the first time, I was astounded by just how much of the day he was able to capture! His footage was incredible but his editing choices (pacing/song choice/etc.) are what really set him apart from the competition. Kevin’s video captured all of the emotions that I was feeling on my wedding day in a way that a photograph never could. I highly recommend Kevin Larsen without reservation and encourage you to watch his videos on vimeo and his website to see his amazing work for yourself!!

  • paulene

    paulene · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin Larson is an incredibly talented guy! We are so pleased with his work on our wedding film and cannot be happier with it! During the shoot, he made me feel so comfortable and at times I even forgot he was present. He was also open to ideas during the shoot, like when I wanted to run through the field with my husband. He ran right next to us and thought it was so much fun. (That piece in the video came out awesome too! ) He even let us request a special song to be added into the film.

    I have nothing but great things to say about Kevin and his team. Thank you so much!

  • User4766175 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Video came out great, exactly what we were expecting! Would definitely recommend.

  • User4298165 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5/5, would contact again.

    But seriously, Kevin has been a pal of mine for many years and I'm not kidding when I say the man's passion is absolutely reflected in his work. My wife and I could not have been more appreciative with his professionalism, promptness, patience, and precision in filming the important parts of our wedding. First Light shows they don't cut corners or skimp on details as their equipment and personnel will show you. Even seeing his own wedding filmed showed me that these guys care and I'd absolutely recommend their services for any other weddings I know.

  • User4750640 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin did a very intensive videography project at our wedding. The final video was absolutely beautiful and it brings tears to my eyes every time I watch it. He covered all the important events at the wedding and incorporated them into the video at just the right time. I loved how he used my son's best man speech as the basis of the video. He has a unique talent that comes through his videos with great care and talent. I would highly recommend him to anyone. I used him for both my son's weddings and I was completely satisfied. Eileen Carnein

  • User4214352 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was immediately smitten with Kevin's work, as was my fiancee. We called him and sailed through an easy and stress-free online booking process. He had some interesting questions for us, probably par for the course for an upscale videographer but unlike the information I usually collect as a professional wedding DJ.

    In addition to my wedding DJ and special event lighting company my wife and I are in the restaurant business. We had grand plans to make a stop at one of our locations as part of our formal photos and don his and her aprons with our wedding party. Kevin got footage of our limo ride there and back and priceless shots of us slinging food behind the line with our entire bridal party.

    Not only that, Kevin came into town the day before the wedding and got us working alongside each other, pumping out food, & sharing smiles & idle conversation with our regulars and each other. This footage is among our most cherished & unbeknownst to us at the time proved a critical element to how our finished feature flowed.

    Additionally, I took time the evening before my wedding to do my own lighting for the reception. Kevin stopped by & captured footage of the catering staff and myself hard at work. This again played a vital role in telling our story,

    Then, on the big day, along with a second shooter, he captured every detail of the day, from the girls getting ready in the salon to the travels of the cards we exchanged (on & off of elevators and everything) & even us writing & reading them. There was a beautiful voice over of my wife reading a letter she wrote to me, the entire ceremony, all of the speeches & toasts, and every detail of the decor. Even my wife and I as we stole away a quiet moment in the Hotel's Pub where we first met 5 years & 1 day before.

    Kevin has a genuine artistic eye. Watch his videos & you'll see. Each one tells a story. He'll tell YOUR story. We tear up everytime we watch it & we'll cherish it forever.

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin and his team were very professional and made us feel comfortable throughout the day. We are extremely happy with our wedding film, it was beyond anything we could have ever imagined. It is a fantastic 16 minute video that highlights one of the best days of our lives. Our friends, family and even strangers can't stop complimenting us about it. My husband and I would highly recommend First Light Studios as your wedding videographer. We absolutely love watching our film, as it is another way to remember and relive our special day.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review