Fernbank Museum of Natural History Reviews

40 | Atlanta, GA
See photos, pricing and details

40 Reviews for Fernbank Museum of Natural History

Recommended by 93%

40
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter had to get married on May 6th due to grad school schedule and who knew this was the most popular date in Atlanta to get married! We were shocked when our first venue choices were already booked 13 months out from our date. When Fernbank was available we quickly snatched it. We now realize that it should have been our first choice all along. The space they give you is amazing! Our cocktail hour was on the steps outside the museum and beautiful. The guests then went down the spiral staircase to the reception. Everyone stopped to take photos because it was stunning. We got comments like "best wedding I have ever been to," "how did you find such a cool venue?" etc. Sarah was great to work with and always smiling and ready to help us when needed. We embraced the museum and organic theme of the museum with our centerpieces, but you could also create a very formal space. It was more than we had hoped for!

    Sent on 05/14/2017
  • C

    Chanell · Married on 04/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah Parris is amazing! When we met her at Fernbank a year before the date we set, we knew this was the place to go. She was incredibly responsive, always friendly and calming (the weeks leading up can be crazy stressful), and ready to give tips for ceremony/reception logistics. I cannot imagine having the wedding anywhere else. From sending us layouts, telling us what decorations were approved and allowing us to do multiple walkthroughs, Sarah was on it!

    Sent on 05/11/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Jennifer, who isn't even their wedding contact, and she was absolutely FANTASTIC! She gave wonderful advice and was extremely accommodating. The Fernbank made our dream wedding happen. We've gotten nothing but compliments on the wedding, including that it was the best wedding they'd ever been to!

    Sent on 12/10/2016
  • User5253288 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fernbank was a great location for a wedding reception! The space was large enough to accommodate all of our guests without feeling crowded. We got so many compliments on the uniqueness of the space! All of the staff were extremely helpful and wonderful to work with, especially our main contact Sarah Parris. She was willing to work with us on any details or ideas we had and ultimately helped to make the night better than all of dreams!

    Sent on 06/16/2016
  • A

    ashley · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at Fernbank! Everything went as planned, and it was a gorgeous venue. It was nice to be able to have the ceremony and reception at one location since we had a lot of out of town guests that didn't know the area very well. Sarah was amazing to work with, she responded promptly to each and every one of my many emails. Im so glad that we were able to create memories at this amazing venue.

    Sent on 06/12/2016
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 02/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our recent wedding at Fernbank and it was great. Sarah the event coordinator was great as well. The venue is beautiful. We were able to use much of the facility, the ceremony was in the cafe, the cocktail hour in the main entrance, and the reception in the great hall (with the dinosaur in the background). My only suggestion if you want extra cool photos is to add uplighting. If you are looking to have a beautiful and unique venue, this is a great place to have your wedding.

    Sent on 03/30/2016
  • User4086449 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fernbank was AWESOME! Such a fun and unique venue and Jennifer and Britain were so easy to work with. I was planning my wedding from Texas and they made it as stress free as it could be. Jennifer was great about constant communication as well as working with the vendors to coordinate things (both the ones I brought in, and the caterer that they work with a lot). There were not many places that could hold over 200 people for both ceremony and reception indoors (for a January wedding) and they did it flawlessly! Would absolutely recommend! If you are concerned about cost consider an off season wedding - its saves you money not just on the venue but other things as well (cake, caterer, band etc!)

    Sent on 01/13/2015
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Britain was absolutely amazing! Our reception at the Fernbank was flawless. I would highly recommend this venue. She was very accommodating in our request for a special Georgia beer bar. The final walk through was a breeze. You could tell she's done this before and could anticipate anything each vendor might need. I can't recommend the Fernbank enough!

    Sent on 04/20/2015
  • H

    Holly · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at Fernbank was absolutely perfect. The museum is so beautiful on its own that it doesn't require a lot of decoration, and our event looked so fancy with just a few simple floral arrangements. Also reasonably priced for a summer wedding in Atlanta. Would recommend to anyone!

    Sent on 08/16/2014
  • User4103848 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was beautiful and very accomodating. Britain Lamon was fabulous. She was very professional and very attentive to all of our needs.

    Sent on 05/15/2014
  • A

    Amy · Married on 04/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fernbank was all I could have ever imagined and asked for as a wedding venue. We decided to have all components of our wedding in one place; Fernbank made this not only possible, but unique. We had our ceremony in the lobby, our cocktail hour on the terrace, and our reception (dinner and dancing) in the Great Hall under the dinosaurs. So while our entire day was housed under one roof, each part of our special day had its own unique area. I do not know many other people who can say they were married and danced the night away under a T-Rex!

    The contacts at Fernbank (we specifically worked with Britian) were always helpful and timely in responses. She answered all of the questions we had along the way and was available each of the times we came through to explore and do walk-throughs. She was very flexibile and helpful with getting our final numbers, beverages, plans, etc. together.

    I can not say enough positive things about getting married at Fernbank or using it for another event. The people were helpful and amazing, and the physicality of the museum speaks for itself.

    Sent on 04/15/2014
  • User1455305 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fernbank is the perfect place for a reception! I was amazed by the venue from the moment we first went for a visit. Britain, the event coordinator is wonderful! She and her staff made sure that my visions of a perfect wedding came true. Everyone at Fernbank is extremely friendly and flexible to work with; they promptly return calls and emails and ensure that all details are covered. I highly recommend this venue for anyone looking for a site that is unique and that guests will talk about for years!

    Sent on 04/02/2013
  • B

    Eleanor · Married on 06/21/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my ceremony and reception at Fernbank and it was the most beautiful setting. (My photographer had a field day!) Everything was so easy because it was all in one place and the people at Fernbank were very helpful, responsible and just plain wonderful!

    Sent on 07/16/2008
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 05/24/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have chosen a better place for my reception (the wedding was at a church). It was beautiful and so unique--all of our guests still talk about it! Jessica was very helpful and we had our own planner, too. It was all so beautiful and perfect! Just what we wanted!

    Sent on 12/06/2008
  • B

    Barbara · Married on 05/21/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Advise that if you rent this space, you really think about using special lighting (uplighting and pinspot lighting) - with lighting and the right florist the space, which is already gorgeous, will be absolutely magnificent. Our guests were completely wowed! Sarah Parris is wonderful to work with!

    Sent on 05/29/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/27/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fernbank was the perfect place for our wedding. The indoor space is gorgeous, the terrace is gorgeous, and Britain was hugely accommodating and easy to work with. It is a little pricey, but worth it.

    Sent on 09/30/2014
  • Z

    Zunera · Married on 08/31/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so excited to get in during Labor Day weekend! The Fernbank is one of the most beautiful museums (architecturally) in ATL and we're both science dorks, so of course we wanted to dance the night away with dinosaurs :-).

    Britain Lamon was responsive, professional, and worked well with our planner (Molly McKinley). We had our ceremony on the terrace and mocktails. The reception was in the great hall.

    Our guests were excited and we loved every minute of spending our day in such a beautiful setting.

    Sent on 10/07/2014
  • A

    Allison · Married on 06/21/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fernbank was absolutely amazing! It was beautiful for my June Wedding. Britain was great to work with. My photos there (I had the ceremony elsewhere) were stunning! My only qualm is that you have to use their approved caterers, which is typical and understandable, but I did not have the best experience with the caterer I used.

    Sent on 07/12/2014
  • K

    Karinna · Married on 06/07/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception at Fernbank. I absolutely loved the venue -the architecture and grounds are beautiful and made for great photographs. We received lots of compliments on how awesome the venue was from many of our guests. We initially selected the venue because it had space to have the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all inside. Thankfully the weather was great on our day and we were able to have the cocktail hour outside, but we appreciated the options.

    The team at Fernbank is awesome. They have vendors that they work with regularly and know how to work an event there.

    Sent on 06/22/2014
  • N

    Ken · Married on 11/02/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved our November wedding at the Fernbank Museum! As we started to look at different venues, we knew we wanted something different than your traditional banquet hall and the beautiful setting of the Fernbank was perfect. We also wanted something that would allow us to have our whole wedding at one venue, considering half of our guests were out of town. Our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all were hosted in different places within the Fernbank. The natural beauty of the Fernbank allowed us to decorate with minimal decor of flowers and candles to create a classy but simple elegant setting. And, probably most important, the staff, especially Britain Lamon was incredible easy, flexible, and an amazing pleasure to work with! The Fernbank really went above and beyond to ensure our day was special. For some individuals, the only two downsides may be the limitation on caterers (you have to choose one of their preferred caterers) and you must choose of one of the Fernbank's alcohol packages, but for us, it actually made our planning even easier (plus, we chose Proof of the Pudding and they were flawless). The advantage of the preferred caterers equates with your caterers knowing the space and delivering a quality experience. Since our wedding a few weeks ago, our guests have continued to comment on how beautiful and classy our wedding was and we cannot think of a better place to have started this next chapter in our lives. A special thank you to the incredible team of the Fernbank (and Britain Lamon) for making our day amazing.

    Sent on 11/23/2014
  • User3376819 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The museum is beautiful and versatile as a venue. We rented out the Great Hall which comes with the use of the adjacent outdoor terrace and the lobby. Because the weather wasn't cooperating, we moved our terrace ceremony inside to the lobby that day. A venue that comes with a built in rain plan is hard to find!
    Working with Britain, the coordinator, was wonderful- she was responsive and professional but still easy going. All of our meetings were on time, all of my questions were answered and quickly, and the event went very smoothly. Vendors knew where to go, what times to be there, etc.
    The only downside to Fernbank was the bar set up- you have to buy alcohol through the museum which ends up being quite a bit more expensive than if you were able to bring your own. However, most wedding venues operate this way (unfortunately) so it is not a deal breaker.
    All in all, I'm very glad we used Fernbank as our wedding venue.

    Sent on 09/18/2014
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 10/13/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Fernbank was simply perfect. It was the beautiful, unique venue we were looking for, and when it was transformed for our wedding night, it was breathtaking. We can't imagine having used another venue. Britain, our event coordinator, was amazing and a joy to work with every step of the way. Our guests were blown away by the Fernbank and we just loved it!

    Sent on 10/16/2012
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 04/22/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fernbank was a super stunning, spectacular space. It was so beautiful I felt like I didn't have to do anything wild with decorations and could just count on the natural beauty of the space. Everyone loved the space. It is pricey but I think you get the value you pay for -- a stunning space and very helpful team. One small note is that you do have to use an approved caterer and their alcohol service-- no big deal, both were great, but worth noting in terms of flexibility.

    Sent on 04/28/2018
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 06/27/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Fernbank was a beautiful setting for our wedding and reception. They were easy to work with and eager to please. Our photos were gorgeous. Their preferred vendors were equally great to work with. We are so glad we chose Fernbank.

    Sent on 08/03/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review