Skip to main content
Weddings

Fernbank Museum Reviews

Fernbank Museum View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.6 out of 5 rating
4.6 out of 5 rating
48 Reviews
92% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

48
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
Weddingwire
4.6/5 48 reviews
Google
4.5/5 7520 reviews
  • G
    Grayson E. Sent on 05/08/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue Ever!

    Wow! We could not have imagined a better venue. The cafe was the perfect location for our ceremony and looked every bit as grand at the great hall where we held our reception. The great hall perfectly accommodated our 200 guests for a buffet dinner with plenty of room for a large dance floor. The dinosaurs make for a an insanely cool backdrop, but it's also easy to avoid having one in every single picture. We also had a cocktail hour in the lobby of the museum which worked out perfectly. The DJ's music setup in the great hall reverberated up through to the lobby, so he didn't even need to move his equipment for cocktail hour. The museum was extremely accessible thanks to ramps and an elevator, which were much appreciated for our grandparents.

    The two event planners with whom we worked were very professional and organized, helping us plan out the space, schedule walkthroughs and rehearsals, and understand cost breakdowns. Their preferred venders lists were very helpful. Overall, the space was perfect for us, and the venue staff were easy to work with. We would highly recommend Fernbank to any couple.
  • Steve
    Steve K. Sent on 11/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An amazing all-in-one venue for your wedding... and your vendors!

    The Fernbank was the perfect venue for our wedding of 150+ people, and Hallie Swift & team were amazing to work with!!!

    When looking for a venue, we wanted something within the city that had a great room for everyone to be in together all night and had indoor/outdoor combinations for 150+ guests. The Fernbank hit all of that AND MORE!

    Finding something that didnt require guests to be in multiple rooms was very difficult in the city but the Fernbank was a great all-in-one for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception to each have their own dedicated & BEAUTIFUL space!

    PLUS, you really can't top the wow factor of having your reception and dance floor under their giant dino skeletons. This will absolutely wow your guests and just add such a fun element to the night.

    Also, the venue is perfect for your vendors and will make the day so much easier on you and/or your wedding team. Hallie Swift was our venue coordinator and she was great to work with! All of our vendors also had talked about how great the loadin/strike/loadout and the communication is with the Fernbank. Happy vendors, make for a great wedding as well!

    We are so glad with the decision to have our wedding here and love that we can continue to go back in the years to come to relive those memories.
  • A
    Chris J. Sent on 02/21/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fine Art Wedding Photographer

    I've photographed a couple weddings at Fernbank and its truly one of the best venues in Atlanta. I've shot over 150 weddings across the southeast and this is one of my favorite locations. The amount of creative space both inside and outside to work with in making portraits in almost unending. Also, it's just a very classy environment. I hope to photograph another wedding here soon! - Chris Jones, Sowing Clover Photography
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Kaylyn
    Kaylyn Sent on 07/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Such a unique wedding venue!

    The Fernbank Museum is such an awesome and special wedding venue! As museum buffs and science nerds, we loved having our wedding at Fernbank, and our guests really enjoyed the unique space! Lauren was also amazing to work with and did an excellent job making sure that everything was perfect for our wedding!

    Fernbank Museum's reply:

    Thanks Kaylyn! It was such a pleasure working with you and Daniel with your wedding and I wish the best in your marriage!
  • N
    Nancy Sent on 05/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our daughter had to get married on May 6th due to grad school schedule and who knew this was the most popular date in Atlanta to get married! We were shocked when our first venue choices were already booked 13 months out from our date. When Fernbank was available we quickly snatched it. We now realize that it should have been our first choice all along. The space they give you is amazing! Our cocktail hour was on the steps outside the museum and beautiful. The guests then went down the spiral staircase to the reception. Everyone stopped to take photos because it was stunning. We got comments like "best wedding I have ever been to," "how did you find such a cool venue?" etc. Sarah was great to work with and always smiling and ready to help us when needed. We embraced the museum and organic theme of the museum with our centerpieces, but you could also create a very formal space. It was more than we had hoped for!
  • C
    Chanell Sent on 05/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah Parris is amazing! When we met her at Fernbank a year before the date we set, we knew this was the place to go. She was incredibly responsive, always friendly and calming (the weeks leading up can be crazy stressful), and ready to give tips for ceremony/reception logistics. I cannot imagine having the wedding anywhere else. From sending us layouts, telling us what decorations were approved and allowing us to do multiple walkthroughs, Sarah was on it!
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 12/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We worked with Jennifer, who isn't even their wedding contact, and she was absolutely FANTASTIC! She gave wonderful advice and was extremely accommodating. The Fernbank made our dream wedding happen. We've gotten nothing but compliments on the wedding, including that it was the best wedding they'd ever been to!
  • User2650043 Sent on 06/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Fernbank was a great location for a wedding reception! The space was large enough to accommodate all of our guests without feeling crowded. We got so many compliments on the uniqueness of the space! All of the staff were extremely helpful and wonderful to work with, especially our main contact Sarah Parris. She was willing to work with us on any details or ideas we had and ultimately helped to make the night better than all of dreams!
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 06/12/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved having our wedding at Fernbank! Everything went as planned, and it was a gorgeous venue. It was nice to be able to have the ceremony and reception at one location since we had a lot of out of town guests that didn't know the area very well. Sarah was amazing to work with, she responded promptly to each and every one of my many emails. Im so glad that we were able to create memories at this amazing venue.
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 03/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our recent wedding at Fernbank and it was great. Sarah the event coordinator was great as well. The venue is beautiful. We were able to use much of the facility, the ceremony was in the cafe, the cocktail hour in the main entrance, and the reception in the great hall (with the dinosaur in the background). My only suggestion if you want extra cool photos is to add uplighting. If you are looking to have a beautiful and unique venue, this is a great place to have your wedding.
  • Dimes
    Dayma Sent on 02/23/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Fernbank Museum was the perfect venue for us. We used the Lobby for our ceremony and the Great Hall for our reception. The venue is beautiful and and spacious. Our group of ~91 fit in both the Lobby and Great Hall with plenty of space for tables, chairs, and vendor areas. The dinosaurs are so impressive that we were able to keep to our budget by using professional lighting to really make them "pop" and forgo a lot of expensive decorations. Since this is a museum, we knew that we would not have full freedom to decorate the space. The coordinator, Sarah, was specific in what we could and couldn't do, and she helped come up with ideas to make the space ours and yet respect the museum.

    Our initial meeting was very informative, and we felt taken care of even though we booked a year ahead of time. Sarah was always quick to respond to emails and she was very flexible and kind while working around my hectic schedule for our meetings. She spoke with my other vendors and organized them very well. I don't know how many times I would ask to tweak something about the beverage contract, it must have been at least 5 times! I was met with patience each time and a quick updated estimate.

    On the day-of Sarah was absolutely wonderful. She was attentive and quick on her feet; a great problem-solver. She made sure my husband and I had as stress-free of a day as possible.
  • User2008406 Sent on 01/13/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Fernbank was AWESOME! Such a fun and unique venue and Jennifer and Britain were so easy to work with. I was planning my wedding from Texas and they made it as stress free as it could be. Jennifer was great about constant communication as well as working with the vendors to coordinate things (both the ones I brought in, and the caterer that they work with a lot). There were not many places that could hold over 200 people for both ceremony and reception indoors (for a January wedding) and they did it flawlessly! Would absolutely recommend! If you are concerned about cost consider an off season wedding - its saves you money not just on the venue but other things as well (cake, caterer, band etc!)
  • H
    Heather Sent on 04/20/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Britain was absolutely amazing! Our reception at the Fernbank was flawless. I would highly recommend this venue. She was very accommodating in our request for a special Georgia beer bar. The final walk through was a breeze. You could tell she's done this before and could anticipate anything each vendor might need. I can't recommend the Fernbank enough!
  • H
    Holly Sent on 08/16/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at Fernbank was absolutely perfect. The museum is so beautiful on its own that it doesn't require a lot of decoration, and our event looked so fancy with just a few simple floral arrangements. Also reasonably priced for a summer wedding in Atlanta. Would recommend to anyone!
  • User1619600 Sent on 05/15/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue was beautiful and very accomodating. Britain Lamon was fabulous. She was very professional and very attentive to all of our needs.
  • A
    Amy Sent on 04/15/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Fernbank was all I could have ever imagined and asked for as a wedding venue. We decided to have all components of our wedding in one place; Fernbank made this not only possible, but unique. We had our ceremony in the lobby, our cocktail hour on the terrace, and our reception (dinner and dancing) in the Great Hall under the dinosaurs. So while our entire day was housed under one roof, each part of our special day had its own unique area. I do not know many other people who can say they were married and danced the night away under a T-Rex!

    The contacts at Fernbank (we specifically worked with Britian) were always helpful and timely in responses. She answered all of the questions we had along the way and was available each of the times we came through to explore and do walk-throughs. She was very flexibile and helpful with getting our final numbers, beverages, plans, etc. together.

    I can not say enough positive things about getting married at Fernbank or using it for another event. The people were helpful and amazing, and the physicality of the museum speaks for itself.

  • User1124699 Sent on 04/02/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Fernbank is the perfect place for a reception! I was amazed by the venue from the moment we first went for a visit. Britain, the event coordinator is wonderful! She and her staff made sure that my visions of a perfect wedding came true. Everyone at Fernbank is extremely friendly and flexible to work with; they promptly return calls and emails and ensure that all details are covered. I highly recommend this venue for anyone looking for a site that is unique and that guests will talk about for years!
  • B
    Eleanor Sent on 07/16/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my ceremony and reception at Fernbank and it was the most beautiful setting. (My photographer had a field day!) Everything was so easy because it was all in one place and the people at Fernbank were very helpful, responsible and just plain wonderful!
  • E
    Elizabeth Sent on 12/06/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I could not have chosen a better place for my reception (the wedding was at a church). It was beautiful and so unique--all of our guests still talk about it! Jessica was very helpful and we had our own planner, too. It was all so beautiful and perfect! Just what we wanted!
  • B
    Barbara Sent on 05/29/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Advise that if you rent this space, you really think about using special lighting (uplighting and pinspot lighting) - with lighting and the right florist the space, which is already gorgeous, will be absolutely magnificent. Our guests were completely wowed! Sarah Parris is wonderful to work with!
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 09/30/2014
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Fernbank was the perfect place for our wedding. The indoor space is gorgeous, the terrace is gorgeous, and Britain was hugely accommodating and easy to work with. It is a little pricey, but worth it.
  • Z
    Zunera Sent on 10/07/2014
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were so excited to get in during Labor Day weekend! The Fernbank is one of the most beautiful museums (architecturally) in ATL and we're both science dorks, so of course we wanted to dance the night away with dinosaurs :-).

    Britain Lamon was responsive, professional, and worked well with our planner (Molly McKinley). We had our ceremony on the terrace and mocktails. The reception was in the great hall.

    Our guests were excited and we loved every minute of spending our day in such a beautiful setting.
  • A
    Allison Sent on 07/12/2014
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Fernbank was absolutely amazing! It was beautiful for my June Wedding. Britain was great to work with. My photos there (I had the ceremony elsewhere) were stunning! My only qualm is that you have to use their approved caterers, which is typical and understandable, but I did not have the best experience with the caterer I used.
  • K
    Karinna Sent on 06/22/2014
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception at Fernbank. I absolutely loved the venue -the architecture and grounds are beautiful and made for great photographs. We received lots of compliments on how awesome the venue was from many of our guests. We initially selected the venue because it had space to have the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all inside. Thankfully the weather was great on our day and we were able to have the cocktail hour outside, but we appreciated the options.

    The team at Fernbank is awesome. They have vendors that they work with regularly and know how to work an event there.
  • N
    Ken Sent on 11/23/2014
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved our November wedding at the Fernbank Museum! As we started to look at different venues, we knew we wanted something different than your traditional banquet hall and the beautiful setting of the Fernbank was perfect. We also wanted something that would allow us to have our whole wedding at one venue, considering half of our guests were out of town. Our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all were hosted in different places within the Fernbank. The natural beauty of the Fernbank allowed us to decorate with minimal decor of flowers and candles to create a classy but simple elegant setting. And, probably most important, the staff, especially Britain Lamon was incredible easy, flexible, and an amazing pleasure to work with! The Fernbank really went above and beyond to ensure our day was special. For some individuals, the only two downsides may be the limitation on caterers (you have to choose one of their preferred caterers) and you must choose of one of the Fernbank's alcohol packages, but for us, it actually made our planning even easier (plus, we chose Proof of the Pudding and they were flawless). The advantage of the preferred caterers equates with your caterers knowing the space and delivering a quality experience. Since our wedding a few weeks ago, our guests have continued to comment on how beautiful and classy our wedding was and we cannot think of a better place to have started this next chapter in our lives. A special thank you to the incredible team of the Fernbank (and Britain Lamon) for making our day amazing.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message