Weddings

Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church Reviews

Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church

Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church

Cliffside Park, NJ
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 111 Reviews
View more information

111 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 111
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

71 User photos

Sort by:
  • Jacqueline
    Jacqueline Getting married on 03/09/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Father Joe did a beautiful, intimate and fun wedding ceremony!

    During uncertain times and many COVID restrictions and much fear in the world, the one certainty is love. Father Joe was there to unite me and my husband in our backyard with our small group of family and friends. His ceremony was so beautiful and intimate yet also relaxing and fun. He is a ray of sunshine that brought a beam of light around us on a day that I thought would be affected because of the darkness of the world. I was so wrong, I could not have asked for a better day and in part it was because of Father Joe! I would recommend him to any bride or groom who is looking to make your wedding about your love and unity. For our entire day, I forgot about all the worries of the world! That is what every wedding day should be!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Jacqueline - THANK YOU for those kind words - but it was you and Dave that made this day so holy and special - I was SO impressed that you let Dave wear that cool football jersey - it truly made the day a superbowl win! Blessings always +++ Fr Joe
  • Allie
    Allie R. Married on 10/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing experience!

    My husband and I recently held our wedding on 10/10/21 and had Father Joe as our priest to perform the Sacrament of Marriage for us. We absolutely loved having Father Joe as part of our wedding both leading up to and including our marriage ceremony! Especially given that we have experienced such challenging times recently due to the pandemic, working with Father Joe was such a breath of fresh air and allowed for a level of comfort knowing that we had his love and support to get us through!

    The entire experience of working with St Joseph Mission Church was absolutely incredible. From the moment that we reached out to the church we felt the love and excitement radiating from our email. Every single interaction since then far exceeded our expectations. We were thrilled to get to know all of the priests during our attendance at mass, precana and virtual meetings. We worked most closely with Father Joe as he was the one to perform our Sacrament. We could not say enough positive things about him- he was truly amazing.

    We have to say- the amount of compliments and praise that we received after our ceremony about Father Joe was outstanding! Every single person that we spoke with in attendance could not say more kind words about Father Joe. Everyone loved his involvement and several people even requested his information, which we were more than happy to share with them for their own weddings or children's weddings.

    Father Joe also went above and beyond to stay after our ceremony to sit with and talk to my grandmother as she has not been able to attend church several years due to mobility issues. It meant the world to her and he truly helped restore some happiness and positivity in her life!

    We truly enjoyed getting to know Father Joe and look forward to staying connected with him in the future!!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Allie & Vinny - BLESS you both for everything, your kind words, you true happy spirit and a wonderful day full of love - is all because of both of you! I was honored to be a small part of it. Spending time with a beloved grandmother and giving communion was truly a gift from God +++ Hope to see you at our Christmas Concert - Sunday Dec. 5 at 1pm - Saint Matthew Church - 2201 New York Ave., Union City NJ - Peace & Love, Fr Joe
  • Jac
    Jac Q. Married on 10/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    If we could give Father Joe 100 stars we would!!!

    We couldn't have done this without Father Joe! Being Catholic, we wanted to be married by a priest but also believe that love is love and were looking for more progressive views. Father Joe was so supportive during the entire process, and helped ease our anxiety while planning a wedding during a pandemic. We truly enjoyed our Zoom pre-cana session as well as the in person one when church reopened with other couples going through the same worries. The pre-cana was fun and stress free and focused on what was really important-our love for each other.

    Cue to the ceremony! I cannot thank Father Joe enough for such an amazing ceremony. He arrived early and spent time talking to and comforting my mom (I had just lost my uncle a month ago) as well as members of the bridal party. He offered communion, did a run through of what to expect, and even got me some tissues when I started to get overwhelmed. He also made sure to hide me in the kitchen as my guests started walking in before I could hide. He truly was such a positive and calming presence during a time of craziness!

    The ceremony was BEAUTIFUL. It was outside, but even so, Father Joe made sure to discuss mask wearing prior and what our comfortability levels were. We love that it was a perfect blend of seriousness but also lightheartedness and laughs-which was perfect for us. He incorporated our "homework assignment" into his message and had all of our guests in tears. When a shuttle full of guests arrived a little late, he invited them to come sit down, which I later found out everyone was so happy about because the venue told them they were not allowed to go sit down until the ceremony was over. Every single guest came up to us after the ceremony was over to talk about how amazing Father Joe was. They wanted more information on who he was and they all raved about how it was the best ceremony they've ever been to. My bridal party is still telling me how much they loved it!! This truly will be one of our favorite memories forever. would recommend him in a heartbeat-especially to any couple currently dealing with the weight of the pandemic. We have found our priest and look forward to more celebrations with Father Joe! I

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    I had so much fun at your wedding - there is nothing like hiding is the kitchen with the best School Teacher ever - bless you both for your kind words and truly for such a real sense of joy and love that you showed the world - hope to see you at church and PLEASE call upon if you need anything +++ blessings, Fr Joe
  • Iris
    Iris R. Married on 09/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A very happy bride!

    My husband and I got married post covid on September 26th, 2021. We were the first couple to get married in St. Joseph’s church since closing their doors during the pandemic. We couldn’t have wanted our ceremony any different and we cannot thank this perish enough…Father Joe, the deacons and other staff of the parish that went great lengths to make our ceremony safe, intimate, and beautiful! They followed proper safety precautions during our service and communion. My friends and family felt safe and have been talking about our beautiful service now for two weeks!

    My husband and I were discouraged about the wedding process before meeting Father Joe. We wanted to get married in the Catholic Church this year but didn’t have many options. Once we met, he didn’t make the process complicated whatsoever. I just remember the entire process leading up to our special day being so stress free. Hallelujah!!

    Father Joe was there for us every step of the way, answering our emails, texts and calls to try his best to make sure we had everything we needed leading up to our wedding. We had the option to customize our ceremony to our liking and got to pick our our own music! It was truly something special. Father Joe even gave us a few recommendations of vendors to use for our special day (which we used!)

    Father Joe was so helpful and I thank god we connected. We’re lucky to say that he will be our priest for years to come!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Iris and Doug - I can't thank you enough for your kind words and also for your great goodness and love. It is both of you that made this Mass in Church so wonderful - and also getting to meet Doug's grandmother who as Married on that same altar truly was a gift from God - please come back to mass anytime - we are back at Saint Matthew Church on Oct 17 - 1pm - GOD bless you both +++ Fr Joe
  • Christina
    Christina C. Married on 09/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So grateful to have found St. Joseph Mission Church

    We are so grateful to have had Father Joe marry us. We were on the search for a while for the perfect church to become part of and raise our future children in- a place where everyone is accepted and welcomed. Father Joe helped us through this very difficult time of having to reschedule our wedding due to covid and was there for us every step of the way. He got to know us as well as our family. Because of him our ceremony was exactly how we always pictured it. We look forward to continuing to attend mass and being part of St. Joseph’s for years to come.

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    The most fun Disney wedding I have ever done - the readings alone that you picked Christina made the day so special - in addition to both of you making the day so bright and wonderful - forever grateful - blessings and love, Fr Joe
  • Merissa
    Merissa Z. Married on 08/27/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Jason and Merissa Manos

    Wow - what an amazing experience working with Father Joe for our August 2021 wedding. During such unprecedented times with the pandemic, Father Joe was so encouraging and flexible with our journey together. We met and spoke with Father Joe several times prior to our wedding and we knew immediately he was going to be the perfect addition to our wedding. Aside from helping us with preparing to wed and facilitating important conversations between my husband and I, Father Joe also listened to some of my emotionally charged stories from working as a nurse during the height of the pandemic in NYC. We felt so comfortable with him and it showed during the ceremony as he made our ceremony so beautiful and personal. He even suggested a beautiful Jewish wedding blessing to have read during our Catholic ceremony in honor of my Father’s religious background which was a beautiful way to tie in part of my upbringing. All of our guests raved about the ceremony that Father Joe gave us and we will absolutely continue to keep in touch with him as we continue our journey as a married couple! Thank you Father Joe and Saint Joseph’s Mission Church!!!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    GOD bless you both and all the nurses in the world who have done so much this year! You are truly the hands and heart of God - Merissa you and Jason blessed me on this holy day, thank you for taking me of this amazing journey of faith - hope to see you at Mass! Call upon if you need anything! Peace and joy always, Fr Joe
  • Gabby
    Gabby C. Married on 07/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Ceremony

    We are so happy we found Father Joe and Saint Joseph Mission Church. My husband and I wanted to have an outdoor ceremony at Park Savoy in the traditional Catholic style that we were brought up upon. We were having a hard time finding a priest that would be willing to do a service outside the church and after some research, found Father Joe. This was one of the best decisions to have him and his team be a part of our special day and our journey from becoming engaged to becoming husband and wife. Father Joe is kind, patient, easy to work with, and just makes you feel at ease. He put together the perfect ceremony that had everyone engaged throughout the entire time. Our ceremony was the right balance of traditional Catholic style with a few modern elements and even some humor and personality. This was the first wedding I’ve been to where guests remembered and could not stop talking about the ceremony, which says it all. We received so many compliments about Father Joe and our ceremony. Most of all, we were so happy with the experience. Everything was beautifully and eloquently said and it really felt personal. There were many happy tears shed. One of the parts of our ceremony we enjoyed the most was my husband and I sharing the “3 reasons why we love each other”. It was so different from other wedding ceremonies and set the tone for the day beautifully. What a standout moment and something we will never forget. My husband and I were fortunate in that we were able to keep our original wedding date and did not have to reschedule it due to COVID. However, Father Joe was wonderful in hosting monthly check-ins with all of his couples to see how everyone was doing and offering any help and guidance as we all navigated the pandemic. Father Joe was always available to answer any questions over email and we enjoyed our one-on-one meetings with him as well. He made us feel very prepared for entering into marriage and we felt like he was there for us every step of the way. We feel like we have a priest for life and are so blessed to have had him be a part of our special day. Thank you Father Joe for everything. Our wedding would not have been the same without you!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Gabby & Brian - THANK YOU for all of your kindness and grace during this year and planning through a pandemic - it is your love that showed the world - that God, Faith, Hope and LOVE always wins. The day was truly wonderful because of both of you and your family! And of course the "doves" were great +++ Bless you both, please come to Church we are back at Saint Matthew Church -2201 New York Ave., Union City on Aug. 22 - at 1pm. Love and great thanks again! Fr Joe
  • T
    Theresa K. Married on 06/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We cannot thank Father Joe enough!

    Our marriage ceremony with Father Joe was truly special! Eric and I instantly felt a sense of comfort and ease with Father Joe, like we had known him forever. He is warm, funny, engaging and offers a beautiful outlook on marriage, partnership, life, love and family that was so refreshing to us and all those that attended our wedding. Father Joe was kind enough travel some distance to Sullivan County, NY to hold our rehearsal the night as well. Father Joe, thank you for making our wedding day so extra special and memorable!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    God bless you both and thank you for a wonderful weekend in the NY State Countryside - getting married by that beautiful stream and sound of the water, birds, and the true song of love that came from both of you was indeed holy! Please come and visit us at Church - we are back at Saint Matthew on Sunday Aug. 22 at 1pm - 2201 New York Ave., in Union City - THANK YOU for these kind words - hope to see you soon! Fr Joe
  • Michael
    Michael Married on 06/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Father Joe is the best!!

    Our ceremony was better than we could have ever imagined all thanks to Father Joe!! He was fantastic from beginning to end. He helped us and was a great resource not only in helping create “the most beautiful ceremony“ many of our guests ever had been to but also in guiding us in other aspects of the wedding planning process. Father Joe clearly loves what he does and it shows. He really cares and wants to put on the best ceremony because he really cared about us and other couples. All of our family and friends have been talking about how amazing our ceremony was. He makes an effort to get to know them and makes the ceremony so personal - he’s such a professional. It rained during our ceremony so we needed to go under a tent and he didn’t skip a beat even directing some of the event personnel on what was needed. In speaking with our parents before the ceremony he was able to incorporate some of his discussions in his homily and ceremony(it rained during when my parents got married as we and he incorporate that) It’s hard to put it into words - he's amazing. We are so happy we were fortunate enough to have father Joe marry us. We will stay very close to Father Joe not only because he now has a special place in our hearts but also because all of our family members and friends are asking for his contact info not only for weddings but for other ceremonies. Thank you and Father Joe we love you

    Mike and Brittany

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Mike & Brittany - I love you both!!! Thank you so much for those amazing and kind words - but both of you did all of this by showing the world the power and how important love and faith are - thank you for teaching me at lesson as well ! I hope to see you at church - anytime you are able - here is the info - and call upon me if you need anything +++ bless you both! We return to public Mass at Saint Matthew Church at 2201 New York Ave., Union City on the following dates at 1:00 pm with Pre-Cana to follow

    July 4 – A special Blessing Mass to welcome us back and gifts “ HAT day” to all who attend will be given – thank you for supporting us and we are here to support all of you!
    July 25 – Aug. 22 - Sept. 19 - Oct. 17 - Nov. 21 - Dec. 5, 2021
  • Jana
    Jana M. Married on 05/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Father Joe is the BEST!

    A friend of ours who got married before us recommended Father Joe to us while we were planning our wedding and we could not be happier with him as our wedding officiant and priest! We had to postpone our wedding twice due to Covid - and he was easy to communicate with during that process. Leading up to the wedding, we got to spend some "zoom" time with him and he's just so friendly and welcoming. My *husband* was raised in the Catholic church and I wasn't - but I never felt weird about that around Father Joe. Finally, on the day of our wedding (after a really thorough rehearsal the night before!) Father Joe started our wedding on the best note. He went out of his way to include my Mom who passed away in our ceremony which was really special to me and my family. Our guests RAVED about him and we just couldn't recommend him enough.

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Jana & Ricky - YOU are the ones who made the day so very special and holy - it was both of you - who showed such strong faith and your kindness and love to both each other, God and even me - shall never be forgotten. Prayers continue for Mom who is watching from Heaven and always will. Hope to see you at Mass - we are back at Saint Matthew Church, 2201 New York Ave., Union City starting on the 4th of July at 1pm - Bless you both! And thank you both again for everything +++
  • N
    Norah R. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    5/22/21 Sandy Hook Chapel (NJ) Wedding

    Our day simply wouldn't have been the same without Father Joe!! He brought such a special quality to our ceremony. All of our guests loved him and talked about how much they enjoyed the ceremony. All of the elements of our ceremony reflected our personality, our love story, and what we had envisioned for our day.

    We also made it a point to attend as many Pre-Cana sessions as possible. From the start, Father Joe made us feel at ease and welcomed. The sessions were great sources of marital advice; in addition, they were great opportunities to exchange stories and experiences with couples who were also planning their weddings during COVID-19. While we did get to have the party we envisioned, these sessions helped us stay grounded by reminding us that at the end of the day, the act of marriage, and not the party itself, is the most important part of a wedding.

    We could not be more grateful for Father Joe's kindness, support, and thoughtfulness. When we got home and unpacked, we even found a note from Father Joe amongst our cards and a Rosary inside our ring box. It was just a beautiful day and we are so happy Father Joe was part of it!!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    I cannot THANK YOU both enough - you indeed made this day so full of tradition, love, hope and fun....the band was amazing - but not as amazing as your family and all of the great joy that was on that beach+++ bless you always!
  • Peter
    Peter L. Married on 05/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Father Joe went above and beyond what we expected from our priest in receiving the sacrament of marriage.

    Father Joe has been more than helpful in making our marriage special and safe during a delicate time in this pandemic. It’s been a true blessing to have him by our side to guide us through the process and execute a wonderful ceremony on our wedding day.

    We can’t express how happy we are to have met such a wonderful and charismatic priest. Father Joe goes beyond making the process easy and makes us recognize how special we are in fulfilling this sacrament.

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    GOD bless you both - what a wonderful day made by a wonderful couple! Have a wonderful summer and come visit us at Saint Matthew Church in Union City - we are back for 1pm Mass - July 25 and bring the holy family with you +++
  • ELIZABETH
    Elizabeth G. Married on 04/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Father Joe was amazing!!!

    I am so happy we chose father Joe to marry my husband and I. We are both catholic, but wanted to get married outside the church. Father Joe made it perfect and is there with us every step of the way! My family and friends were raving about how special the ceremony. Thank you soooo very much father Joe!!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Elizabeth you and Nick were so amazing and truly made the day - so holy and special. My role is to bring God "out of the church" to where LOVE is...and both of you showed the world, that the darkness of this pandemic will not have the last word - GOD and LOVE will....thank you for being so strong in doing that! Blessing you both and thank you for these very kind words +
  • G
    Gloria G. Married on 04/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So nice we're getting married twice!

    I loved that Fr. Joe married my husband and I. He was so attentive and so thoughtful through the entire process! I had never heard of Saint Joseph Mission prior to getting married, but it truly felt like divine intervention that hew came into our lives. My husband and I could not be happier and are excited to be members of his congregation from now on.

    The Pre-Cana or Marriage PREP was very well organized and interesting. Father Joe and the other priests of St. Joseph's Mission made my husband and I feel like we were well attended to and listened to despite the virtual format. Zoom meetings are not always the most engaging, but that was not the case for our PREP sessions.

    Father Joe was always very, very responsive whenever we had questions and when we needed to change our plans due to COVID. Initially, we planned to get married and have a reception this April, but because of capacity limits we couldn't hoist all of our guests. When my husband and I made the decision to postpone the reception, but still get married on our original date, Fr. Joe was right there with us and happily adjusted his plans to meet our needs. We got married in our backyard with just our closest family and friends present and there wasn't a dry eye around us (getting teary-eyed just thinking about it!). We loved everything that Fr. Joe prepared. The ceremony was intimate and everything we could hope for.

    Additionally, when we rescheduled our reception date for this August, we reached out to Fr. Joe to see if he would be available to provide a "re-do" ceremony and he was more than accommodating. My only regret was not hiring a videographer for our backyard wedding because it was that beautiful!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Gloria & Luke - GOD bless you both and thank you for these amazing words and your kindness. Everything went so well because of you - the light of love that you showed the world in the midst of this pandemic could not have been brighter and more full of faith. I am so excited for the "re-d0" - I Do's - which will be just as powerful and full of the grace of God. Hope to see you at Mass before that - blessings and love always! Fr Joe
  • Brittany
    Brittany C. Married on 10/25/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everyone Needs Father Joseph at their wedding!

    Despite being in the middle of a pandemic, Father Joseph made sure our wedding ceremony was a day we would never forget. Leading up to the wedding he was always on call for us and super involved. He took the time to get to know us and my husband and I now consider him to be a very special friend. Everyone was coming up to us the entire night raving about how amazing our ceremony was. Father Joseph kept our guests engaged the entire time. We are so thankful for him and for making our wedding day so special despite a time of uncertainty. The day was filled with love and we couldn’t be happier. We will be keeping in touch with him for years to come.

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Brittany & Lenny - THANK YOU both for your kindness and love; but thank you both for being both essential workers and first responders saving lives during this pandemic - you showed the world what LOVE is suppose to be all about! I am your prayers today and always + may all of Gods blessings and protection be upon you +++ Fr Joe
  • Diana
    Diana D. Married on 10/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Spectacular Wedding

    Words cannot describe how amazing Fr. Joe was for our wedding. He truly took the time to understand us as a couple and what our wants and needs were for our service. His group sessions and one-on-one sessions really helped us see our vision for our future as a couple. Fr. Joe is responsive, punctual and one of the easiest people to talk to. Our families also absolutely loved him. We cannot recommend Fr. Joe enough.

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Diana & Chris - THANK YOU both so much! What an amazing day of love, tradition, hope and family. As well as being is such an Historic Church at Allaire State Park. May God bless you both and your families always +++
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca H. Married on 10/16/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    Truly cannot give enough praise to Father Joe for his partnership with us leading up to the ceremony and the day of, especially during these unique times. The ceremony was perfectly personable and he did so much to truly get to know us and make us and our bridal party feel comfortable and ready for our big day. Our guests could not stop talking about how great the ceremony was!!

    Could not recommend him enough!!!
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin D. Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We love Father Joe!

    Our wedding this past weekend was nothing short of magical. Father Joe made our wedding ceremony absolutely beautiful! He is an amazing speaker, he spoke so eloquently and made it so personal. We had a ton of guests come up to us during the reception raving about Father Joe and telling us that it was one of the best wedding ceremonies they have ever witnessed. Even during Covid- he was great to work with in the months before the wedding. He was so willing to help with anything we needed and quickly responded to my many emails. Even when we discussed switching venues because of covid, he was more than willing to accommodate us. Look no further for your officiant - he is the best there is!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Caitlin & Ryan - thank you for these kind words, but thank you for your grace, kindness, and love! It was such an honor to be part of your special and holy day - GOD and our Moms were truly with us on that mountain top and you made it all the more beautiful +++ blessings always, Your Priest, Fr Joe :-)
  • Angel
    Angel Z. Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Father Joe is a wonderful human being

    Father Joe was so flexible, warm, and personable throughout our wedding process. We had a small elopement with just family, so having vendors with amazing personalities was super important to us given how intimate everything was. He was kind and so compassionate to our needs - and also so responsive! We did pre-cana via Zoom with a few other couples, which was honestly an enjoyable experience - and we got a lot out of it! On the day of, everyone made comments about how awesome Father Joe was (which is extremely high praise if you knew my mother haha). Just a perfect day! Thank you so much!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Angel & Ricky - THANK YOU both for being such an inspiration to me. You both have shown the world that the darkness of this pandemic will not have the last word - GOD, Love, and Faith will and together those ideals through both of you show us what joy is all about. God bless you and remember I am your priest if you need anything +++ Fr Joe
  • Mark
    Mark B. Married on 08/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made our special day even more special!

    Father Joe was amazing! From the first contact, Pre-Cana, preparation and the service! He made our special day even better!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Mark - thank you for everything - I still can't get that great flag flying in front of your home out of my mind, what a wonderful time, from a kind and wonderful couple and an amazing family + bless you both +++
  • Nicole
    Nicole D. Married on 08/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most beautiful ceremony!!!

    Father Joe was the last vendor that I found for my wedding - I was having so much trouble finding someone to marry us as we were both raised Catholic and wanted someone who would honor the Catholic tradition of a ceremony, but we also really wanted to get married outside and wanted to be able to write our own vows - something you are not able to do inside the Roman Catholic Church. I had contacted what seemed like a ridiculous amount of Old Catholic priests who advertised marrying people outside, only to have them stop responding to me or to never get back to me in the first place. I was getting discouraged, and then I found Father Joe and he picked up immediately, checked to see if he was available, and sent me a ton of information and a contract to sign all within a few hours! He even said after our initial conversation that if he wasn't available on the day of our wedding, then he would put us in contact with a priest who was! He was such a blessing to the whole process, and made preparation and Pre-Cana so easy and fun. When we had to make the decision to postpone our wedding due to Covid-19, Father Joe immediately agreed to marry us in our backyard for an intimate ceremony on our original date, but also to be there next year for a vow renewal when we finally have the big celebration we had planned. We ended up live-streaming our small ceremony so that our friends and family could join in and they've all said the same thing - that Father Joe made the ceremony so nice and special while still allowing us to make it personal and feel very specific to us! We are so looking forward to next year, and to being a member of Father Joe's church for life!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Thank you both for showing the world that this pandemic does not have the last word - LOVE and FAITH does - I am humbled by your kind words and loved being both of you and your family. So looking forward to part II next year - prayers and blessings, Fr Joe
  • Dawn
    Dawn M. Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Truly the BEST decision was Fr. Joe Ciccone!

    During this pandemic, many people are stressing with what to do. We rescheduled our Dec ceremony and planned it all in less than a week to have the service at our home. Fr. Joe made it personal and absolutely amazing. Be flexible, adapt and make it all yours. We transformed our yard and everyone LOVED it. That it was simple, casual and represented who we are, were the highlights. If you really want the formality and your dream, have a simple ceremony at your home or a relative's home. Zoom call it. Most important thing...FOCUS ON THE IMPORTANT THINGS. Keep it simple. You can always have a party and renew your vows and wear your dress again when it is all over. Go for it - marry the one you love....that really is all that matters.

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Dawn Marie and Wayne - BLESS YOU both - today, tomorrow, and always - and thank you for showing the world, that during these dark times - that Love, Faith, and Hope will always have the last word! I am your priest and friend forever, call upon me for anything ++++ Love and blessings for a happy life, Fr Joe
  • W
    Wayne S. Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Outstanding

    Fr Joe helped us so much. He made the prep work and ceremony so much less stressful.. he's easy going. Great sense of humor.. made our day incredible
  • Kevin
    Kevin K. Married on 07/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Father Joe is THE BEST!

    My husband and I decided to have a small mini wedding on 11/1/20 before our postponed reception. Father Joe officiated our mini backyard wedding...in the pouring rain.

    First of all, he was so great throughout all of the postponements and pandemic craziness. We enjoyed our precana session and Zoom calls with him and the other couples. He really takes the time to get to know the couples. The ceremony was personal and tailored to us and uplifting, even as we stood there with our umbrellas!! Father Joe truly made our mini wedding amazing. My grandmothers are still talking about how awesome he was!!!

    We are so excited for Father Joe to officiate Wedding #2 in August!! (Hopefully in the sunshine in this time!) He is the best!!! Highly, highly recommend!!!

    Saint Joseph Mission - Progressive Catholic Church's reply:

    Dear Kristie & Kevin - You wedding was even better than being on Noah's Ark :-) I truly had such a great time, the rain, was a true sign from above washing away any fear or doubt - I cannot WAIT until August - rain or shine I will be there + God bless you both. Here is an UPDATE on Church - It is with great joy and with the blessings of Almighty God (and after being fully vaccinated) we will return to public Mass at Saint Matthew Church at 2201 New York Ave., Union City on the following dates at 1:00 pm – these dates will also have small group Couples Prep Class (reservations are required) so please let us know if you would like to attend a date.

    July 25
    Aug. 22
    Sept. 19
    Oct. 17
    Nov. 21
    Dec. 5