Weddings

Faculty Club at Cohen House Reviews

Faculty Club at Cohen House

Faculty Club at Cohen House

Houston, TX
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 29 Reviews
View more information

29 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 29
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

8 User photos

Sort by:
  • C
    Carla E. Getting married on 11/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Venue for a classy wedding

    Our experience was fantastic! The venue is perfect! The staff was great! The best part was Crystal! She was super to work with and lived up to everything she said she would do! We can't think of anything that could have been better!
  • D
    Deborah P. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing venue and great value for what you get

    Cohen House has exceeded all of our expectations. Crystal and the team are attentive, responsive, and really deliver all that they promise. The food was really good and service as well. We could not have been more satisfied!
  • C
    Courtney E. Married on 08/30/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful experience! Terrific staff and food!

    We decided to move our wedding up almost a whole year due to our little bundle deciding to make a surprise appearance right before our original planned date. This left us only 2 months to plan EVERYTHING. I am so glad we decided to have our wedding at Rice (my alma matter) because Crystal (and staff) were AMAZING. We ended up having both the ceremony and reception at Cohen House. The food was delicious and really a steal compared to what other venues were charging. The whole event turned our way better than I could’ve imagined and it really was thanks to Crystal. She was so sweet and very prompt/responsive. I was initially overwhelmed but Crystal was just the best and i have to say the day of was pretty stress free.
  • Lauren
    Lauren Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience!

    From the day we contacted the Cohen hHouse until the day of our reception, we thoroughly enjoyed working with Crystal and her team. Crystal was detail oriented and really made our day "picture perfect".
    We got so many compliments on the beautiful venue, welcoming staff, and delicious food.
    Typically at weddings, the food is mediocre at best. This is NOT the case for the Cohen House. The food was incredible! It was cooked perfectly and so so SO good!
  • M
    Margaret S. Married on 02/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue, excellent service

    We found Cohen House to be an exceptional wedding venue. Crysta, the venue coordinator, was wonderful to work with, her professionalism and experience made our planning effortless and execution of the event seamless. Our confidence and trust in Crystal was developed upon our first meeting with her. Crystal and her staff were fantastic and worked together as a team. I can’t say enough about the food and service. Cohen House is beautiful and it’s floor plan allows for a natural flow to a reception from cocktail hour to dancing. The outdoor patio with fountain and gorgeous oak tress is an added plus. We highly recommend this venue.
  • E
    Elaine G. Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Very easy planning + beautiful venue

    So glad we ended up hosting our reception at the Cohen House. 1) Planning was incredibly streamlined -- all the essentials are provided in the package with Cohen House, including a credit at House of Hough for linens, alcohol & bartender, food, silverware and serving, tables, set-up, service, and a knowledgeable coordinator who will work with you and your planner to best lay out the event. 2) Food was great -- we had very good feedback on the steak (all cooked perfectly to medium rare) and salmon, along with the fresh baked cookies and mini vanilla milkshakes we had as a late-night snack. Food at the reception was surprisingly much better than the tasting! 3) Layout allowed our 165 guests to have cocktail hour in the library, dinner at the lower level in the main room, and dancing on a slightly raised level in the main room, plus a beautiful outdoor space. Our event flowed perfectly with the different spaces for each part of the evening. And the library and outdoor space allowed guests to have conversations without music at an overwhelming volume. We had a DJ, which worked well in the space; a band might be a little tight depending on how many guests. 4) Using the chapel on Rice campus for ceremony made the whole event logistically very seamless for our guests -- dedicated shuttles ferried guests from parking to the chapel and back to the reception.
  • J
    Justine Married on 03/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cohen House was spectacular! Crystal, the venue coordinator, was a dream to work with! Love this beautiful venue!
  • K
    Katie Married on 12/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding reception at the Cohen House went flawlessly! It was such a beautiful, unique venue with delicious food and plenty of space for our large wedding. They were so easy to work with and quickly responded when I had questions. I could not recommend this venue any more!
  • J
    Julie Married on 11/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were completely satisfied with every aspect of our wedding ceremony and reception for our daughter.
  • R
    Renee Married on 11/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our guests cannot stop complementing the Cohen House venue! We were able to feel completely relaxed and enjoy the moment.
  • O
    Opt Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everything about the Cohen House was perfect!

    The building is gorgeous and barely needs any decoration. We originally planned to have our ceremony outside under the big tree, but because of the weather we moved inside to the living room, which was equally beautiful (and air-conditioned!). There are also easily accessible restrooms and ramps, which we appreciated, and very easy parking.

    Food was one of our top priorities and we were not disappointed! We went with a standard chicken/beef/veggie plated dinner, but their menu is huge and full of so many amazing-sounding options. I wish we could've tried more!

    But the best part of working with Cohen House is definitely the staff. Working with Crystal for over a year was such a blessing. She guided us through every step, answered my *MANY* emails, provided us with sample menus/timelines/seating charts, and kept us on-schedule on the day of. We also worked with Anita for our rehearsal and on the wedding day and she went absolutely above and beyond. She was so patient with us during the rehearsal and didn't rush us at all even though we started very late, and after the ceremony spent nearly 15 minutes helping me try to fix my dress when the bustle broke. There were also several other little details that the Cohen House staff took care of without us even asking. For example, we had a bunch of markers for the guest book and they put them in a nice glass container. We also had some paper signs that I was imagining just placing straight on the table, but they put them in frames on little stands. It was so nice, and did no go unnoticed.

    I would absolutely recommend having your wedding or event at Cohen House.

  • H
    Hanna Married on 06/24/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Cohen House was the perfect place for our wedding reception! The venue was absolutely beautiful and we received many compliments! The staff were very easy to work with and extremely helpful with anything and everything we needed. Crystal did a great job making sure everything was done within the right timeline and that we had everything we needed. We highly recommend the Cohen House!
  • G
    Georgia Married on 06/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough about how wonderful Crystal and her colleagues at the Cohen House were. They helped to make our wedding reception a dream! Everything was so gorgeous and the service was spot on, and Crystal was a pleasure to work with throughout the planning process. Any person planning a wedding would be lucky to work with the Cohen House!
  • B
    Beth Married on 04/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Crystal Fisher is the Event Manager and is wonderful to work with. She is responsive and listens to your ideas. Our wedding planner said after the reception that the entire staff at Cohen House was great to work with. We received many compliments on the food which is prepared by their in-house chef. The beauty of the venue speaks for itself. A very classy place!
  • I
    Irma Married on 04/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My daughter's wedding reception was in April from 8 pm to 1. It was a beautiful evening with the cocktail hour outside and the grounds were beautiful with lights on the big oak tree and the lit fountain. We had 170 guests and the room was a perfect size, 18 tables of 8 and a head table for the wedding party. I wouldn't have a band larger than 6 musicians. The stage was perfect & dance floor was a good size. Food was buffet style and everything was delicious. Crystal was so easy to work with and so attentive to every detail. So glad we went withtheCohen House.
  • E
    Elena Married on 03/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you want an elegant yet intimate venue, the Cohen House is a no-brainer. The inside of the building is elegant, and the food is absolutely delicious. When we told them we wanted to do some Latin food for the reception, the chef came up with some original and amazing options to serve our guests. The combination of the fountain in the back paired with the lit tree and the floor to ceiling makes for a stunning backdrop for your wedding. The photos turned out better than we imagined.
  • S
    S Married on 02/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hands down the most beautiful place in Houston for a wedding reception! The Cohen House is a gorgeous venue with a top notch staff lead by Crystal Fisher. She is well organized, efficient, professional and wonderful to work with! She handled any concerns in a timely manner. The food is delicious and the wedding photos are gorgeous with the fountain and oak trees in the courtyard. Wow we are so lucky we found the Cohen House for my daughter's wedding.
  • A
    Alexandra Married on 02/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cohen House is an exceptional venue for a wedding- beautiful living room and eating area looking into the courtyard. Quality of service is equally exceptional. We really enjoyed working with Crystal throughout the wedding planning process and the day of. She is extremely organized and we could count on her to make sure things were getting done. Additionally, she was very responsive.
  • A
    Anne Married on 10/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cohen House was the perfect place for a wedding! Crystal and her staff were amazing- easy to work with, responsive, and on top of every possible detail. They attended to my needs and made things go smoothly the day of the wedding. I couldn't recommend them enough!! If you want a beautiful space for a ceremony (outside garden with a lighted tree and fountain) and reception (dance floor, dinning area, outside terrace) this place is for you!
  • L
    Laura Married on 10/15/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is a wonderful, almost hidden gem in the heart of Houston. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating to all of our needs. I would highly recommend it as a reception venue.
  • H
    Hannah Married on 06/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was the absolute perfect place for my wedding. Wouldn't change a thing!
  • User1935365 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Really awesome venue. Everything was well organized and ran like clockwork. The staff were so helpful and really attentive. They could not have made the day smoother.
    The food was also fantastic. We did open bar and they did not skimp with low end booze, it was the good stuff.
    I would highly recommend Cohen House as a wedding venue. It felt really intimate and they go all out to make your day special.
  • User1421198 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved the Cohen House! Our wedding was beautiful, the food was fantastic and working with the site was extremely easy. They let us have the space on Friday to set-up, which made everything so much easier. The courtyard with the fountain and lit up tree was an amazing backdrop for the wedding and a beautiful outdoor space for cocktail hour. Everyone told us how beautiful and unique the venue was!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Crystal Fisher and the Cohen House was a great experience. The venue is gorgeous, one-of-a-kind, and all of the Cohen House staff were great to work with. It was great to have use of the lounge, dining room, and outdoor garden/patio area. Crystal was able to easily field my numerous questions throughout the planning process. We were using the Rice Chapel for the ceremony, and she helped me navigate that process as well. They allowed my daughter to take pictures in the beautiful garden during her bridal portraits which was an added bonus. The garden at night is spectacular with the gorgeous, lighted fountain and huge, twinkly-lighted oak tree. We received nothing but great compliments on the food; we chose a seated dinner, and the service was quick, efficient, and friendly. The set-up crew was great, they allowed me to bring in lots of personal-touch items, and Anita and her staff had everything packed up and ready for us to take home on the way out which was so helpful afterwards. I have nothing but great things to say about our experience! Thanks to Cohen House for making our daughter's wedding reception a wonderful celebration.
  • S
    Sandy Married on 10/17/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Cohen House did a wonderful job in every way for my daughters wedding. I especially want to thank Anita for going out of her way on everything. She is as professional as anyone I have ever worked with. She handled everything so well including the planning, organizing and follow thru of the event. I also want to say how absolutely wonderful the food was. I heard all night that it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding and I have to agree. I also have to say they went out of their way to do exactly what we wanted and even did new recipes for us. I also have to compliment on the servers and how efficient they were and how friendly they were. Thank you all for a wonderful wedding reception! Couldn't have been any better!