Expressway Music DJ NYC Reviews

96 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

96 Reviews for Expressway Music DJ NYC

Recommended by 98%

96
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
96 Expressway Music DJ NYC Reviews
Sort by:
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn’t stop dancing!

    We used Expressway to DJ our wedding ceremony and reception last week at Perona Farms in NJ. David Swirsky was wonderful!! He showed up to our venue 2 hours in advance of the start of our ceremony to set up and he did a fabulous job! He spoke with my husband and I in advance of the wedding and really took our wants and likes into consideration. He made sure to play almost everything on our request list. Expressway’s database to customize a request list is quite extensive! David did such a professional and expert job of combining the tastes of all of our guests as It appealed to all kinds of musical interests and balanced English and Spanish music. Our guests, particularly myself, danced the entire night!! Everyone truly enjoyed themselves and commented afterward how much fun they had. David is such a professional and kind guy! He had just as much as fun as we did and It showed!!

  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fun and helpful team!

    David and his team are super easy to work with and had great suggestions for our big day! It was such a fun dance party and no one wanted to leave the dance floor at the end of the night. Highly recommend.

  • R

    Ruka · Married on 09/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I hired Expressway Music to DJ our wedding and they brought the whole event to the next level. Dave kept people on the dance floor all night. His ability to read the crowd and remain flexible in choosing songs ensured that our reception was a true party - I’ve never seen so many people constantly dancing at a wedding until ours! He was extremely receptive to our personal tastes in music and was happy to take song requests in the moment, which also made our guests very happy. There wasn’t a moment in the night where an unpopular song was played and the transitions were so natural that we barely noticed them. Everyone should hire Expressway Music for their next event - they will make it truly memorable.

  • S

    Sunny · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Dave and his assistants are beyond amazing. They’re willing to go the distance to make your life easier. Any requests or questions I had were answered right away. On the day of the wedding, DJ Dave played amazing music throughout the night that even got my relatives from Korea (who are not dancers) onto the dance floor. I would recommend to any couple who wants to show their guests a good time!

  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are not enough nice words I could say about Dave and his team! They are absolutely AMAZING!!! I had a very specific vision for a karaoke wedding, and was unable to find any DJ who could really understand what I wanted. After having one conversation with Dave I knew I had found my DJ! He really understood exactly what I wanted, and he delivered perfectly! So many people came up to me afterwards commenting on how well our DJ flowed seamlessly between karaoke and dancing and did not miss a beat!! Dave is a great guy, and truly loves what he does, and exudes this when he works your wedding! His passion and enthusiasm are contagious and he got every person dancing (even on our muddy dance floor!) the entire night! I am so thankful I found him to work our wedding and would recommend him to anybody who has an event coming up!

  • Victoria

    Victoria · Married on 07/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the very beginning Expressway Music was very attentive. My husband and I are both musicians and we can both be a bit of music snobs, and they listened to everything we were asking for. Alberto was our DJ the night of our wedding and he killed it! Everyone loved him.

  • C

    Christina · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David Swirsky was awesome - great personality, really easy to work with, and very responsive. Charissa was also wonderful in coordinating the event with us. Highly recommended!

  • L

    Long · Married on 01/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It doesn't get any better than David (DJ Swirksy) and his staff! From the very first meeting they made you feel comfortable and a part of their family. We can't thank them enough for all their hard work and tremendous ability to ensure the celebration was unbelievably fun! We received nothing but compliments on the music and song choices and that is mainly in part because of our amazing DJ!!!!

    We couldn't have asked for a better celebration and it is because of people like David and Charissa that enabled it to be executed flawlessly. From the perfect placement of the speakers, to the introductions, song choices, overall vibe of the evening it couldnt have been done with out them and their incredible personal service and we can't thank them enough for ensuring our special day was truly special and FUN!

    If you are looking for the perfect DJ who has the proper staff, professionalism, and care about YOUR event then this is the right vendor!!!!!!

  • P

    Penny · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Call Dave ASAP! He told us he could read a crowd and he was absolutely right! Most of the guests at my daughter's wedding were up on their feet dancing and smiling. His experience, breadth of music knowledge and amiable personality made him such a quality member of the team my daughter put together for her wedding. As most weddings, we had many age groups, many cultures and personalities and he nailed it. Everyone had such fun. We had some unique additions to add to the night and Dave was gracious and accommodating with sliding these musical additions in effortlessly. From when guests arrived, throughout the ceremony and then throughout the reception, he was just the best!! Thank you!

  • P

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so happy that we had David at our wedding. Not only did we get lots of positive comments from our guests, but we were thrilled with the music he played. He was great to work with, and did an excellent job understanding the crowd and figuring out what music people would enjoy. Everyone had a great time, and we definitely could have kept dancing long into the night!

  • K

    Kris · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had DJ Dan emcee my wedding after seeing him for years do Karaoke Night. I figured, "he's awesome doing karaoke, let's go with what I know."

    I had NO IDEA that he'd be the most adept, fluid, engaging, masterful wedding guru! (And I had no idea that he had been doing weddings so often that he even has a license to be an officiant. :) )

    To start, DJ Dan is a testament to the difference between getting a FLAWLESSLY GREAT and experienced DJ who knows his craft...vs getting a good DJ. My mom had told me when I was planning my wedding that the entertainment "makes or breaks the wedding." And she was right. My entertainment made my wedding the best night of my life.

    Dan met with us weeks before the wedding and asked a bunch of questions about things I had never even thought of, and even the slightest weird request was taken note of ("can we have the law and order sound effect before every toast?" Yep, he did it!)

    At the end of the meeting, my fiancee said, "You know what? I was stressed about everything...until today. I just feel like Dan can take care of any curve ball." That peace of mind alone was worth its weigh in gold.

    Dan called the band before the wedding and coordinated every last detail with them. He accommodated every last weird song request, and had this innate ability to know exactly what to play to keep the crowd on their feet! It was amazing, and perfect, and I couldn’t have asked for a better DJ/emcee.

    Here’s the thing. Other places I talked to tried to convinced me I needed a separate DJ, a separate emcee, and a separate singer. Dan did all 3. And on top of everything? The whole booking process could not have been more seamless or pleasant. Quick to respond. Eager to please. Just wonderful beyond the telling of it.

    This was such an important day, and I wanted everything to be perfect. Expressway Music made sure that it was, and for that, I am so incredibly grateful.

  • E

    Eric · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Expressway was amazing from the beginning. David was so kind, accommodating and fun. He handled our wedding with the upmost professionalism and created a night where no one wanted to leave the dance floor. Thank you again for the amazing night of music!

  • S

    Sandra · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were worried about the wide age range and variety of people attending our wedding. We expressed our concerns to Dave and he assured us he would have no problem at all. Thanks to Dave, our wedding from the 6:00pm ceremony through well past midnight, was seamless! From the romantic and intimate ceremony music to the way he was able to entertain every generation present. The dance floor was PACKED for our ENTIRE reception! People are still talking about how great our wedding was. Two months later! Dave and Charissa were so helpful and accommodating! At the conclusion of our reception, the one thing we wish we had gone bigger on, THE DANCE FLOOR! If you want the energy of your wedding to truly reflect the couple you are, Dave is the man! Through his expertise, Dave was one of the most influential vendors in making our wedding day the best day of our lives!

  • S

    Steven · Married on 04/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David at Expressway Music was fantastic to work with for our wedding. He listened to what we wanted beforehand and delivered with flying colors. The dance floor was packed for the entire wedding and he has a knack for feeling the "flow" of the wedding and know when to slow things down and when to pick them back up. We received many compliments from our guests on our choice of DJs.

  • B

    Beryl · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently worked with David Swirsky from Expressway Music to DJ our wedding and could not have been more pleased! If it were up to me, I would crown David the best DJ of all time! This was the one area that I let my husband take the lead, given that he had stronger music preferences than I did. I actually spoke on the phone with David only a week before the weeding and I knew immediately that my husband's instincts were right and he was the perfect person to DJ our wedding. David was particularly fantastic given that we had quite the range of musical requests. His enthusiasm and musical knowledge was appreciated by everyone at the wedding. Not only did he give us everything we asked for, he played music we hadn't even told him we liked and it was perfect! David gave us exactly what we wanted--a party of guests who danced the night away. The music exceeded our expectations and was a huge part of having the wedding of our dreams, which we had!

  • A

    Afua · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were recently married and the wedding was a hugely successful, largely thanks to Expressway Music. We could not have made a better decision when we chose DJ Dave and his team for our event. My husband was in charge of the selection and after interviewing and firing the first few, he came home one afternoon extremely confident with his selection. When I met DJ Dave a few weeks prior to the event, I immediately agreed. DJ Dave just felt like "our DJ". He was easy going, organized and extremely helpful in assisting us with organizing the flow of our evening in away that made sense. He was interested in our musical tastes and made sure that he had a good handle on the types of music that would appeal to our crowd. His team was accessible and replied promptly to any queries we had. He also took the time to learn the pronunciation of some of the uncommon names of the speakers at our event. On wedding day, he and his team really excelled. The violinist was a perfect accompaniment to the processional and recessional and DJ Dave didn't miss a cue with our complex choreography of the officiant, our scripture reading and our vocalist and the "I do's". Of course, the highlight of the night was the party during the reception. Our extremely discerning west indian and west african guests were on the dance floor all night. We heard them comment over and over again how fantastic the music was and how impressed they were with our DJ. DJ Dave went from dance set, to speeches (calling up our speakers with perfect pronunciation like they were his own family), to background music seamlessly. In short DJ Dave and Expressway Music were simply outstanding and we couldn't have been happier. Our wedding was spectacular!

  • M

    Mayra · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired David Swirsky to DJ our wedding and from the day we met him we knew we made the right choice. He spent so much time with us asking about our music preferences and about how we wanted the night to feel and he nailed everything. Our wedding was the most fun day of our lives and a lot of that was because of David. He was very responsive, professional, and friendly from day one. On the wedding day he made things run super smoothly and he kept the dance floor packed throughout the entire reception. He even struck the perfect balance incorporating salsa into our multicultural event. We also rented the open air photo booth. That was so worth it. People had a great time with it, the pictures came out great, the props were fun, and because it was open air, it didn’t detract from the decor of the wedding. Seriously, it was the most fun day of our lives. I can’t wait for another event so that we can work with him again.

  • Andriana

    Andriana · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave was absolutely outstanding!! He read the crowd, he listed to my suggestions and he planned the night to perfection!! I loved working with him and his team, they made my wedding the most incredible day of my life and my friends cant stop talking about how amazing the night was and what a fantastic party!!!! Thank you Dave!!!

  • J

    Jordana · Married on 01/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing time at our wedding. The DJ David and his assistant did an incredible job coordinating everything from the ceremony music to the party after. David can definitely get a party started right! Charissa who I spoke to on the phone was very caring and efficient. I would highly recommend this DJ and company.

  • User4933899 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave Swirsky is amazing! We received countless comments about how amazing our DJ was - not just his music choices and amazing cues, but his personality. Our venue was classic and sophisticated and he didn't try to make it into a downtown nightclub. He knew how to go with it and still make it incredibly fun for our guests. Several people asked for his info after to book him for future events. I can't wait to book Dave again for another event - he was amazing! So easy to work with, so flexible and just warm and genuine.

  • B

    Benjamin · Married on 10/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not a lot of people get to say that they had the perfect wedding... but honestly, we did. Everything was just right. Things ran so smoothly, from our introductions, first dances, big moments, and even the subtle background music setting exactly the tone we envisioned for our big night. We owe it all to Expressway Music! Every request we asked for was accommodated, and things we didn't even think of (like additional lighting) was brought to the table, without being "pushed on us" like some of the other guys out there. They had an online form that was easy to fill out that would say exactly what we wanted and even had a library of songs to choose from to help score the evening, and they were able to get any song we wanted. They really understood how to get the perfect balance of music that everyone could enjoy in 2014. They knew every detail of the event that was happening and they literally didn't miss a beat. Their professionalism every step of the way was only exceeded by the way they treated us like family. A+++++++ from a very happy couple. You are in great hands with Expressway Music.

  • D

    dana · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Dave was absolutely amazing!!!! WE had such an amazing wedding and so much of it was due to the music. We danced so much and all of our guests had a great time. DJ Dave was able to feel the crowd and know exactly what to play. I am still getting compliments about the music. He was so easy to work with and an absolute pleasure to have at our wedding.

  • User3628927 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Dan was fantastic!
    He spoke to my husband and I prior to the ceremony not once but twice so we could chat about the music we wanted played and how the night would flow. He was open to having music sent to him so he could incorporate special songs into the evening.
    Most importanty he kept everyone dancing all night long.
    I would highly recommend as he's incredibly professional and easy to work with!

  • C

    Claribell · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Dan was excellent. He responded to emails promptly and made sure that we had the music that we wanted for our wedding. He was easygoing and flexible and had our guests on the dance floor all night dancing to our favorite tunes. I would highly recommend him for your wedding day!!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review