Expect The Best Reviews

12 | Columbia, SC
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Expect The Best

Recommended by 95%

12

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 5.0

3 User photos

Expect The Best 1
Expect The Best 2
Expect The Best 3
Sort by:
  • D

    Dana L · Married on 11/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent Wedding DJ

    Jim was recommended to us by someone we know in the event business. Our wedding was this past November in Charleston. She said Jim was the best and she was right! Jim took the time to talk with us and find out exactly what we wanted for our wedding reception. He was very maticulos in making sure everything went perfectly. The best part of the evening was our ‘Chair Dance’. Jim created an environment where everyone wanted to be involved and on the dance floor. If you’re looking for a wedding DJ, look no farther! Jim is going to do an excellent job and make it a night you won’t forget. Thanks Jim!

    Sent on 12/20/2018
    Expect The Best 4
    Expect The Best 5
  • T

    Tanya · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an amazing experience!! He was out Officiant and DJ. Our ceremony was perfection! And our reception was exactly what we had asked for and more!!! He kept it lovely and the dance party going. He kept everything on schedule and very organized during the process leading up to and the day off. Which was very important to us. There is absolutely nothing we would change nor nothing negative we could say. Thanks for making our day the best day of our lives!!!

    Sent on 09/09/2018
    Expect The Best 6
  • C

    Chelynne · Married on 03/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't be more happy with Gem, he remained calm happy collective on top of his game and always responsive through the entire process he was exactly what I needed for my wedding and extremely reasonably priced he's a good guy and valued his role in our wedding!

    Sent on 09/20/2016
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The task of planning an event that we could be proud of, while also being on budget, seemed daunting. Thankfully, we picked the right DJ. His experience really came in to play as he helped us successfully defuse a surprise situation with the venue. Of course, the dance floor was packed the entire reception. Gem seamlessly played each genre in a mix that generated excitement among our guests. In fact, I think that 2 of my groomsmen intend to book him for their upcoming weddings in Charleston. I highly recommend Gem to anyone planning a perfect wedding!

    Sent on 07/21/2016
  • A

    Anita · Married on 03/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gem Howell made our wedding weekend perfect! We booked him to coordinate, DJ, & officiate, and he masterfully performed perfectly in all 3 roles. Gem consulted with us several times to determine the best layout, order of events, and vendors. This was our first time planning a wedding, and Gem guided us to choices that we were happy with. He DJed the rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception, intuitively noting just the right song to play at the best time. His ceremony officiating brought our vision of what we wanted to fruition. He was so awesome that my 93 year old great grandmother was dancing! From start to finish, Gem's excellence in every detail made us grateful we chose Expect The Best!

    Sent on 03/30/2016
  • C

    Casey · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As most close knit families, we enjoy family times and celebrations. After a colossal proposal, the last thing on my mind was planning a wedding. I was still enjoying the fact that my now gorgeous fiancé agreed to marry this poor schmuck.

    Quickly rewind a couple of years to my identical twin's wedding: a gentleman named Jim Howell was DJing. He was the only choice for my brother's wedding, and I found out why during ours.

    Jim had a way of not only be a huge part of what made our wedding great but he also bonded quickly with the rest of our family. When someone does events as often as Jim one might think it difficult to harvest such excitement and joy. Jim's sheer passion showed through in a crowd of 150 people. We were totally against the whole "throwing the Bouquet and garter" practice so Jim suggested we have the longest couple dance. This could not have been a better suggestion. My grandparents were the last ones standing since they had been together for 61 "short" years as we found out when Jim gave my grandfather an opportunity to say his best wishes. Jim showed his genuine care and kindness as my grandfather took over the mic for a second time to announce his happiness for his grandson and new granddaughter.

    Some time has now passed since our wedding of course, and we are now about to attend another joyous wedding for my wife's sister. We know it will be exceptional as Jim will be the DJ, as well as the day of coordinator. We could not think of a better man for the job, or to call our friend.

    Sent on 10/09/2016
  • User4526644 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim is an excellent, very detailed individual. Who not only officiated my ceremony but was also the D.J. for the reception. Had a lot of compliments throughout the night from my guests. Will definitely recommend him.

    Sent on 11/14/2015
  • User5053357 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gem Howell was exactly what we needed to make the best night of our lives perfect! He seamlessly worked with my other vendors and made sure all the events we wanted flowed smoothly. I later found out that he even made sure our champagne was chilled before the toasts. Apparently he noticed it was just sitting on the cake table, so he took the initiative to make sure it was perfect at the appropriate time. He suggested the ideal songs for the introduction of the wedding party and also the cake cutting. In retrospect, my spouse and I would have paid double for Gem Howell. He was worth it for us!

    Sent on 05/07/2015
  • H

    Hans · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gem Howell was the best DJ I have seen, and I've seen a lot at weddings all over the country. He announced everything perfectly, coordinated all the events, and read the crowd well. I intend to book him when I get married!

    Sent on 04/18/2015
  • M

    Mardi · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gem Howell gave us EXCEPTIONAL value, officiating our ceremony according to our preferences AND also DJing our reception. Our guests deluged us with praises for his fun, interactive style. He kept us dancing. Gem's style is formal (just what we were looking for) but he knew when and how to lighten the mood. We DEFINITELY want to have him back for an anniversary party!

    Sent on 10/05/2014
  • K

    Kabreah · Married on 09/26/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gem Howell is awesome! We booked Gem to officiate our ceremony and DJ the reception following, but he also was pivotal in coordinating the flow of events as well. He made everything go so well that we were told many times by our guests what a great time they had. We wanted a fun wedding that wasn't over the top cheesy. Gem discerned our vision with a thorough consultation, and suggested the best plan for our day. His prices for each of his services were very reasonable, so we would highly recommend him.

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • User3754422 · 2+ years ago

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    His officiant service was perfect and very organized. Dj service, however, could have been much better. We were very disappointed when he announced my husband as the best mans name. He was also very rude to the owner of our venue. We were very disappointed as the dj of your wedding can make or break it. We had fun but had to request several songs bc he played pretty much what he thought should be played. He also was doing music for the ceremony and all but refused to do the rehearsal bc he no longer lives in the area. I was never offered the opportunity to pay an extra fee for the rehearsal. Was definitely given the very wrong impression at the wedding festival in Greenville, SC. I feel like it was a cluster bc he wasn't at the rehearsal.

    Sent on 11/12/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review