Excellence Playa Mujeres Reviews

10 | Cancun, MX
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Excellence Playa Mujeres

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

10

13 User photos

Sort by:
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DREAM Wedding with 51 people - Chic + upscale + ornate + under the stars

    My husband and I had our wedding at Excellence Playa Mujeres in December and it was absolutely our dream wedding.

    Lorena, our wedding planner, was so
    responsive and helpful throughout the entire planning process which started 6+ months before the big day. We planned everything over email via very detailed lists/photos/back and forth convos regarding all details and pricing.

    The night before the wedding we had a two
    Hour welcome party at Ceco terrace. We decorated the terrace with a big bar, a custom wooden welcome sign with our names on it, a custom photo table with polaroids and a guest brook, bistro lights, DJ booth, cocktail tables, and flowers/vines. It was a blast. Waiters passed out appetizers and we had signature cocktails (and every other cocktail under the sun!) flowing. Lots of dancing, drinking, talking and laughing. It was the perfect way to welcome our guests. Afterwards Lorena arranged for us to do a private rehearsal dinner at the Italian restaurant for no extra charge (planned the dinner last minute the week we arrived- couldn’t plan it ahead of time without incurring an extra fee).

    Our ceremony was on the beach with a stunning gazebo dressed with hundreds of roses and large flower arrangements. Music was played via a full DJ/speaker setup. I had a wooden walkway and a special place for guests to put their shoes with bistro chairs. The aisle was lined with orchids and tiki torches.

    The cocktail hour was at X lounge (right behind the ceremony) which we decorated with lights / tables / vines / Flowers. The waiter staff passed lovely appetizers and theme cocktails for an hour and a live carribean trio played music.

    Our reception was also on the beach in an elaborate large white structure under the stars with wooden floors, chandeliers, lights, Flowers, and decorations galore. The crew started building the structure the morning of the wedding, at 6am! It was really a fairy tail.

    Important!! I HIGHLY recommend getting the digital photo booth for the reception. This was sooo much fun + comes with props + the photos turned out to be awesome (great lighting). The guests had SO much fun with this.

    Nearly all of the decorations for all events were provided by alquimia (partnering agency to EPM, Vanessa was my rep who was extremely easy to work with and super nice!! Alquimia have an amazing catalogue with really everything a girl could want wedding wise!). Take a look at alquimias catalogue - I promise everything is ACTUALLY as beautiful as in the alquimia catalogue pictures.

    I can’t emphasize how gorgeous the whole wedding was. It was magical and many of our guests said it was the best wedding they’ve been to.

    We brought our own DJ and photographer (we have friends in NYC who did this for us), but the resort can provide this if needed as well.

    I had my hair and makeup done at the spa along with my bridesmaids, my mom, and the mother of the groom. They use MAC cosmetics makeup and did a phenomenal job all around. I brought extensions for my hair which they had no problem clipping in and doing a nice loose up-do.

    If you love the beach and want a chic upscale wedding for 80 people or less - go with Lorena and Excellence Playa Mujeres!!

    Sent on 12/28/2018
  • Melissa

    Melissa · Married on 10/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding and stay of a lifetime!


    Wedding and stay of a lifetime!!

    Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres
    Pending review


    Upon arrival we were greeted with cool towels and champagne. We were ushered to our two story suite over looking the beautiful resort and the ocean when looking from the opposite way. Everything we ate our entire stay was AMAZING! The lobster house, the streak house (go visit Edgar!) and the Indian (go visit Angel!) were our favorites. Breakfast at Toscana's was amazing every single day. The martini bar's drinks were beyond incredible! Diego from the courtyard bar was hysterical and inviting! Lucia got us whatever we needed when we were by the pool, she was so kind and attentive! The people listed above were our favorite staff members during our stay. All of our guests even knew who we were talking about when we would mention them. Service was beyond a 10 everywhere we went! When it was time to meet with our WC Maribel we found out that she had broken her ankle the day prior and we had a stand in Mayla. We are so so so grateful we had Mayla, she went above and beyond for us in every which way! We never once had to worry, our wedding day went flawlessly. She made sure everything was perfect. She was so calm and relaxed that it allowed me to do the same, we put all of our faith in her, and boy did she deliver! Thursday night they had a white party and reserved 5 tables for all of our guests to attend instead of having a rehearsal dinner. They had music and a fire show with amazing food and drink. Saturday night the day after our wedding Hector the Manager for the entertainment found us by the pool and asked how many tables to reserve for the Mexican themed night. He did not need to do that but it was so appreciated as our guests and us had another amazing night! We love the Excellence and LOVED Mayla and everyone we encountered! We cannot wait to go back next year! Get married at the Excellence Playa Mujeres you will NOT be disappointed :)

    Sent on 11/09/2018
  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our destination wedding here July 2018. I can't say enough good things about this resort and Lorena, their wedding coordinator. Thankfully it did not rain, but they had a back up plan in case. Their wedding packages are very reasonable and you get a lot for what you pay. It was a beautiful perfect wedding. I would do it all again if I could and not change a thing. My family and friends were blown away by the staff and accommodations.

    Sent on 08/06/2018
  • Michelle

    Michelle · Married on 10/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    *side note* If you are considering this booking, since we had our wedding there, we can refer you and you will receive a free upgrade to the GOLD package! My email is michellereynolds@outlook.com and I am looking forward to hearing from you :) best wishes. I have been to the Excellence several times. After our first visit here (before we got engaged) I knew this was the place I wanted to get married and my boyfriend at the time agreed. From the service to the decor to the food and drinks, let me tell you this place is 5 star! I fell in love the minute I walked in and saw the martini bar which was at the bottom of a double wrap around stair case. The check in was super easy and every single staff member was so attentive. I will say the Excellence pays attention to every detail. After booking our wedding we flew back in to meet with our wedding coordinator, Ariana. She is one of my favorite people still to this day we have kept in touch. Ariana is so kind and quick to respond. Our wedding was everything we dreamed of and more. All of our guests gave us so many compliments I couldn't be happier. Destination weddings can be tough with guests canceling on you last minute, but if you are debating on whether to have one, or have it here, don't hesitate just book it! If you are considering this booking, since we had our wedding there, we can refer you and you will receive a free upgrade to the GOLD package! My email is michellereynolds@outlook.com looking forward to hearing from you :) best wishes.

    Sent on 08/02/2018
  • Brittany

    Brittany · Married on 03/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband did all of the research for this all-inclusive resort for our week long honeymoon. I already want to go back. This was my very first all-inclusive I have ever been to, and Excellence really set the bar high! The entire resort is clean, beautiful, and fun for a newly wed couple or even for an anniversary. The food was amazing, the service was incredible, and not once did I ever feel disappointed with any aspect that the hotel had to offer. We were given the "honeymoon package" which came with cute little chocolate surprises to our room, romantic red roses and rose petals in our room, several discounts off on their spa services, etc. Their spa is INCREDIBLE! My most favorite spa in the entire world is the Nordstrom Spa and I would have to say, that Excellence is a step above! It was an incredible experience. My husband and I received one of the top Couple's rituals at the spa, and it was incredible. We met several other couples at the resort and they were each on their 3rd, or 4th, or 5th trip back, that's how much the hotel really cares about their customers. People always come back for more! We are already planning our return trip back. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a romantic honeymoon get away.

    Sent on 04/20/2016
  • R

    Ricky · Married on 09/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Destination wedding? No Problem. Words can truly no express the appreciation that my husband and I owe Excellence Playa Mujeres. If someone a year ago would have told me that the resort would blow my expectations away, i would have said, maybe, but this, was something totally beyond our wildest dreams. In 2014 my fiancé and I chose to have a destination wedding. In thinking of a venue we thought we would pick somewhere. Yes the communication leading up to about 4 months prior was a little sparse, but now, we understand. They have SO MUCH going on. Cindy our wedding coordinator was insanely busy, but as time went on she was more and more involved. My opinion be patient - she will respond i promise.

    The food - amazing. The service - impeccable. The DJ - amazing. The resort - fantastic. I would seriously go on for days. We had about 50 people @ our wedding, it wasn't terrible hot (BRING bug spray for the evenings). The pool and beach were beyond our expectations. We are planning on going back for our one year and feel we would get a whole new experience, its big but not TOO big, and it didn't feel crowded.

    Cindy - Thank you to the moon and back - You made our day incredible and have the memories for years to come.

    Brittany + Ricky

    Sent on 09/14/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just spent 10 days at the excellence on our honeymoon. We stayed in building 9, which was right by the beach, main building, and main pool. We upgraded our room to the excellence club two story roof top suite, which was gorgeous. I would definitely recommend springing for the excellence club rooms if you can swing it. We were at the excellence lounge everyday, where they always had fresh snacks or a small buffet. We would usually hit the lounge after a day at the beach/pool for a snack before cleaning up for dinner. They also have a great bar with even better selections. We worked with several great concierges (located at the excellence lounge and in our building), who helped us with everything we needed. They always greeted us by name and were checking in regularly to see if there were any problems. If there was an issue, they addressed it immediately.

    Sent on 07/20/2015
  • Willie

    Willie T. · Married on 07/22/2021

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Stop infertility in marriages.

    The day I will always call a day that God has made for me was that day I read an article about a wonderful and powerful spell caster "Lord Erhun" on the internet who has helped countless people with different problems of life. I was suffering from a 3 years divorced with my husband whom I love so much and appreciate a lot. My husband divorced me after 11 years of marriage without giving him any child not even a miscarriage for once in my life. The world was on my shoulder because I have gone through different medical solutions but none was able to make me conceive. I was so devastated and lost all hope of ever getting a better life again.

    Everything turned around the very day I read an article about the great Lord Erhun who finally helped me with his powerful spell to end my divorce and reunited me with my husband and also restored my fertility with his powerful spell. Today all my problems are over because I'm a pregnant woman now with a set of twins and I have my husband back into my life with much love like we have never had a divorce I am so great to those who took out time to write articles about the good work of Lord Erhun. Don't be drained by whatever you might be facing in life contact Lord Erhun to get solutions to all your worries. His email (meetlorderhun@gmail.com) WhatsApp +(44)7862133661. Contact this great spell caster and all your heart desires will be granted just like me today.

    Sent on 05/28/2021
  • D

    Diane · Married on 07/22/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Excellence was AMAZING!!!The ceremony was more than I imagined and the beach was the perfect backdrop. Don't forget to actually enjoy the moment on your special day!!!

    Sent on 08/12/2017
  • User4890041 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ceremony and reception went off without a hitch. Low grade for responsiveness b/c our initial wedding coordinator got fired and my husband and I went for 2 weeks without hearing back from anyone. Once we did though, everything flowed smoothly and no bumps were encountered. I highly recommend this resort for weddings. The staff was beyond incredible and made our day more special and fun then we ever could have imagined.

    Sent on 05/04/2015