Weddings

Evins Mill Reviews

Evins Mill View more information

26 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 26
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

54 User photos

Sort by:
  • Lauren
    Lauren T. Married on 09/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best wedding experience

    We got married at Evins Mill on sept. 12 and we couldn’t have asked for a better venue. We had decided to change our venue a month before our wedding and it would not have gone as perfectly if we went to any other place. William is highly organized and detail focused. After our first conversation with him he sent me a email with all of the little details we had discussed about the wedding. The food was absolutely incredible and they were very helpful in the ordering process. They have a day of coordinator who was on every detail and so sweet and patient with our flower kids. The lodge accommodations itself was super clean, nice and beautiful. The staff was incredibly helpful and wonderful. We are still getting compliments on our wedding day and may just have to renew our vows here every year. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to have a amazing wedding or just a weekend away.

    Evins Mill's reply:

    Thank you Lauren! It was very much our pleasure. I will pass on your kind words to the staff. We appreciate the opportunity!
  • Tania
    Tania Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A serene beautiful venue for a wedding weekend

    Danny and I visited Evins Mill over 2 years ago and fell in love with this place! 🌿 Everyone who came into the bridal chamber while I was getting ready said that I was the calmest bride they had ever seen, and honestly there’s so way to feel stress when you’re at Evins Mill.
    We had the whole place for 48 hours (Friday - Sunday) so there was no rush, no concerns about anything not being done on time, and we had our rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception all in one place which made it super easy!
    There’s 19 rooms on site, so we stayed there with our closest friends and out of town guests - so no one had to drive to get to any events!
    Everyone was enamored with the place and couldn’t believe we found it, the feeling they all shared throughout the weekend was peace and calm as though they were at a retreat in the woods. The venue was key and definitely set the mood we wanted for our guests and made our whole wedding weekend so magical ✨

    Evins Mill's reply:

    Thank you Tania! We are so appreciative of you and grateful for the opportunity to work with Danny and you. Thank you for taking time to post this review here! William
  • Emily
    Emily H. Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best wedding weekend

    Absolute dream of a wedding venue. I hate to even call it a venue because it felt like home for our wedding weekend. We envisioned all of our closest friends and family staying together on site and getting to know each other and that is what Evin's Mill enabled us to do. William, the owner, was so helpful from the start and patient with any questions and concerns we had. The staff, including Tina the wedding coordinator, treated us so warmly. All of my family commented to us how great everyone was that they encountered. The grounds are gorgeous. We had a family hike down to the falls which is such a sweet memory for us. The food was incredible! We had quite a few dietary concerns and chef Jason gave us the BEST options for those guests. We have a lot of friends and family who are vegetarians and vegans and they all told us how cared for they felt and how delicious it all was. We had 75 guests for the ceremony and reception and I think that number of people filled the reception hall beautifully. Our wedding weekend is such a happy memory for us and our families and friends.

    Evins Mill's reply:

    Thank you Emily for taking time to post a review of your wedding weekend here! It is helpful. We are deeply appreciative of you and Adam Ollendorff for the opportunity, and are equally gratified to know that you, your family and your friends had such a lovely experience. Thank you!
  • M
    Magan B. Married on 11/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic value for gorgeous property with accommodations

    Evins Mill is a FANTASTIC wedding venue! From the beginning, the staff was very professional, and you could tell they've done a lot of weddings and know exactly what to do. Our guests loved the lodging options, and we got tons of compliments on how beautiful the property is (saved us lots of money on buying decorations). There were several different areas where guests could relax before and after the ceremony. Tina, the day of coordinator, is so sweet and accommodating - I am so thankful we had her to help us! The servers and bartender at the reception were friendly and hard-working. Just go for a tour of the property - you will not be disappointed. Smithville is about 1-1.5 hours away from Nashville, but once you are there, it feels like a peaceful retreat. And I cannot forget to talk about the food! Everything we have ever eaten at Evins Mill has been delicious, and the guests were very impressed as well. I seriously cannot think of anything bad to say about this place - we will definitely make trips here in the future to celebrate our anniversary or just hike to the waterfall on the property.

    Evins Mill's reply:

    Magan - thank you so much. Not only for selecting Evins Mill as the location for such a special moment in your life, but also for taking the time to post a review here. Obviously, we are super happy to hear that David and you had such a favorable experience - and wish you both the very best! William
  • L
    Lauren Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Evins Mill was the perfect venue for our wedding and the day couldn't have gone more perfectly. Tina and the rest of the staff were absolutely fantastic. Our guests raved about the accommodations, the food, the setting, and the staff. We were initially a little nervous about looking for a venue in Tennessee as we are a same-sex couple. While ours was their first same-sex wedding, we couldn't tell. We felt they handled our wedding just as they would any other. We are eternally grateful for having found Evins Mill and for their help in making our day so special.
  • B
    Becki Married on 09/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our day was nothing short of magical! Everything we wanted and expected. Tina took care of everything. She was helpful and flexible and professional, and she knew everything we needed even when we didn't know we needed it. I wouldn't have changed a single thing. The property is beautiful and the food is delicious. Our honeymoon suite was beautiful and peaceful, as well. We really liked that we had multiple options on site for our ceremony and reception locations.
  • K
    Kellyn Married on 06/18/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Would do it ALL over again every day!!!

    My husband and I were married at Evins Mill back in June of 2016 and we had the time of our lives. There is not one negative thing I could say except that I wish it could have lasted forever. It is a magical setting...meant for bringing loved ones together. I know I am late in giving them my review, but I happened to think of it today when thinking of something to do for our anniversary this year. That is a great part about it...years down the road you can revisit your special day on a romantic weekend getaway. We rented the entire location for our wedding weekend and ALL of our friends and family still talk about how much they enjoyed staying there as well. Tina and William were both amazing to work with. The food....OH MY....we still dream about the food and my husband always regrets forgetting to go get his leftover macaroni salad!

    Evins Mill's reply:

    Kellyn - thank you so much for taking time and without solicitation to post such a lovely comment about your experience at Evins Mill. We love to hear it when any guest enjoys their time, but I think that is particularly true of our bridal clients. So thank you again for the vote of confidence, for the review and for considering a return visit for an anniversary celebration!

    With much appreciation,
    William Cochran
  • C
    Chad Married on 05/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    William, Tina, and their team were amazing to work with. My wife and I visited the venue a year before we got married. On our way home from our 1st visit we called William and reserved it. I literally can't speak highly enough of the place. I'm sure I called William and Tina way more than they liked but I never knew it. They kept everything professional and always returned my calls if I missed them. Even the day of the wedding I was still asking Tina questions and she kept her cool and always had the answer I was looking for!

    The cabins are hidden in the woods with views you don't expect in Smithville, TN. Having coffee in the morning on your balcony while watching the water run in the creek is always a great way to start your day! The food, oh the food, was excellent! Whether you get married close to Memorial Day or not it is a must to make the Memorial Day cookout! I can't wait until my wife and I go back, because we will be back!
  • S
    Shannon Married on 05/14/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Evins Mill was a gorgeous venue with excellent food, service, and an amazing atmosphere for my wedding weekend. I elected to rent out each and every room on the property and got a huge discount on the rooms for my wedding guests. The entire property was left for us and we had an excellent time in the game room, strolling the property, hiking to falls, and dining together. We even had a bonfire for the rehearsal dinner night. Every detail was perfect. They decorated our rehearsal dinner with fresh flowers they had leftover from a previous occasion at no extra cost. They provided a signature beverage that we didn't even expect. Everything was easy yet beautiful and amazing. I got comments from everyone that I had the best wedding they had ever been to. I can't wait to come back just to get away.... :)
  • A
    Ashley Married on 05/07/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My now husband and I wanted to have a mountainous destination wedding. We began researching options then planned a trip to visit venues in Tennessee. We started looking at all-inclusive locations closer to Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg. We were looking for something that provided natural beauty and so far we were striking out. The next day we traveled across the state to visit Evins Mill. We fell in love as soon as we stepped out of the truck. The grounds were absolutely breathtaking. We continued our tour with Tina and fell more in love with the venue with each step. The cabins were extremely beautiful and clean and provided the perfect cozy cabin feel. The waterfalls on-site added to the pleasant, peaceful ambiance of the location.
    We rented the venue for the entire weekend, which was perfect. The guests that were able to stay in the cabins loved the getaway making time to hike the trails and play in the game room. Friday night Tina helped coordinate rehearsal and dinner. She made sure everything was taken care of and flowed seamlessly the entire weekend. Many times throughout the day she came to check on me and the girls as we were getting ready. The staff took care of setting up everything including moving flowers from the ceremony location to the reception hall. And the food prepared by Chef Evans was AMAZING. My husband and I still hear our guests talk about the delicious food a year and a half later! Many of our guests commented on the gorgeous venue along with the food. Planning a wedding at a venue eight hours aways couldn't have been easier. William, Tina, and the entire staff at Evins Mill were wonderful with helping coordinate the planning leading up to the big day and the day of.
    The day was perfect and my husband and I cannot wait to take a trip back.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 10/25/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I had a wonderful wedding experience with Evins Mill. This all inclusive venue and the warm and professional staff made the planning enjoyable, which is definitely something every bride wants. The natural beauty surrounding Evins Mill first drew me to this venue, and is lovely in every season. The food was amazing with lots of choices, including vegetarian options. We enjoyed our experience so much we often visit for a peaceful getaway. I would highly recommend Evins Mill as a wedding venue, and wholeheartedly stand being my 5 star rating.
  • A
    Alicia Married on 10/04/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the beautiful scenery/grounds to the staff, nothing could have made our wedding anymore prefect. My biggest regret was not allowing the venue wedding coordinator to help me plan out the wedding more. Renting out the whole venue and staying the night is the way to go. The food is outstanding--I can't stress this enough! It is the #1 compliment among guests, along with the atmosphere. Also, make sure you take a hike to the falls and enjoy a glass of the local brew on tap!
  • K
    Katharine Married on 04/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Can't say enough wonderful things about Evins Mill! From the delicious food to the breathtaking views... every aspect made for the perfect wedding day. The recent upgrades and new guest chalet took it to the next level. Highly recommend Evins Mill as an event venue. People STILL talk about how fab our wedding was. You won't be disappointed!
  • B
    Brad Married on 10/19/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Inn at Evins Mill was the venue for our wedding on 10/19/13. Everything about Evins Mill was OUTSTANDING!! The location, the grounds, the food, and especially the staff is second to none!!
  • L
    Laurie Married on 06/29/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our son and daughter-in-law had a warm, family and close friends only, wedding at Evins Mill, which we all enjoyed so much. Being surrounded by nature, the gorgeous hikes, that is something money can't buy. Plus, they asked for a vegan menu and it was some of the best food I have ever tasted. Evins Mill is an accommodating, wonderful place run by unusually kind people.
  • B
    B Married on 04/27/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so thankful that we found Evins Mill, it was the perfect venue for our wedding weekend. We had recently relocated to Nashville so our small ceremony was comprised of family and close friends which flew in from out of town and having Evins Mill to ourselves for the entire weekend allowed us to spend much more time with our guests. The service and food was top notch! Our family still talks about how wonderful the weekend was and my husband and I couldn't agree more!
  • User1143257 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were fortunate to have been to the Inn at Evins Mill prior to needing to find a venue for our wedding (we actually got engaged down by their water fall about 9 month before the wedding). As soon as we first visited Evins Mill we knew that this would be the type of place we would like to have our wedding at.

    We had a small wedding, so it was so nice to have the entire place to ourselves for the whole weekend. Our family and friends were able to stay all together and everything was provided for us. We are Nashville transplants and all of our guests were from out of town, so to be able to have the weekend be a retreat for our guest was so special. The Mill and its staff delivered a truly amazing experience.

    Everything was taken care of for us. Dorothy, their wedding planner, helped make sure that everything went off without a hitch. Jason, their onsite chef, is fantastic. He even made ice cream for us to have with our cake. The food is local and always amazing. It was so nice to gather together in the morning for breakfast and to celebrate long into the evening.

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Inn at Evins Mill. It may be a little far from Nashville and there might not be much in Smithville, but once you get there you are transported to the most incredible place.
  • User956605 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We just had our daughter's wedding at the Inn. We can't say enough good things about the Inn! The food was superlative, the service was outstanding, and the wedding coordinator was indispensable. The site was gorgeous- can't wait to see how the wedding pictures turn out! The rooms were exactly right for the setting- with nice amenities.
  • User945792 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We picked this location sight unseen and we were beyond pleased when we first arrived. The scenery was gorgeous, the views extraordinary, and the helpfulness of the staff went above and beyond any expectation we could have ever of dreamed of. Thank you so much for making our day unforgettable!
  • kh22
    Katie Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Evin's Mill is so beautiful! I went to tour for a venue visit and got to look around the property, and while I ultimately did not choose this as my venue because of solely logistical difficulties, I hope to go back sometime for a family reunion there because it was such a cool site and felt so welcoming. The cabins are quaint and it feels like you're in the middle of a forest, and the rushing water nearby is very soothing. The food through their caterer is AMAZING. We tried a sample meal, and I wish I could have them as my own caterer! The workers there were very nice and easy to talk with, and if I lived closer and their venue was slightly bigger (my wedding size was too big for the ceremony sites), I would have definitely chosen them. I so appreciate how nice and welcoming they were!

    Evins Mill's reply:

    Thank you Katie for taking the time not only to visit our property but also to post a review here. I'm so glad you had a favorable impression. Thank you again! William
  • A
    Ashley Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding at Evins Mill was wonderful. The venue was beautiful and all of the staff were kind and accommodating, and the food was delicious. They even managed to deliver beautiful fall weather. I would recommend having your wedding there, or even just visiting for a wonderful get away.
  • B
    Becky Married on 10/24/2015
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    From the moment my daughter & I we saw the Evins Mill property, we were in love. She loves autumn in Tennessee, and was captivated by the setting, able to imagine her big day held there. We said "Alright, if the food is even moderately palatable, we're in!", ...then the food blew us away! We booked for the whole weekend, aiming to give our guests a retreat experience, and the expense was quite worthwhile. The staff were very accommodating and personable, adding Tennessee charm to the already lovely property. The new husband and bride hope to celebrate each anniversary at Evins Mill, feeling it is "their place". (The recently-constructed Solstice rooms are very comfortable and well-adorned, but nothing beats the proximity to treetops and rushing water at the Creekside rooms).
  • M
    Michelle Married on 11/17/2007
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I highly recommend Evins Mill to anyone who wants a medium to small ceremony/reception in an intimate and relaxed setting. The venue is situated on a gorgeous property with several buildings and areas that can be used for either an outdoor or indoor ceremony. The Mill has an incredible chef on-site that created a wonderful dinner for the reception, as well as lunches and breakfasts during our wedding weekend. The real highlight of our wedding and overall stay at Evins Mill was the staff. Everyone was incredibly responsive and professional, without being stuffy. The only negative experience I had was during the initial planning stages (I was planning the ceremony & reception from overseas and all correspondences were done via email), but any miscommunication was quickly resolved.
  • H
    Naomi Married on 09/01/2013
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Evins Mill will always be one of my favorite places. It's beautiful, tranquil, and enchanting. I knew at our first visit that I wanted to get married here. Dorothy is their on-site wedding coordinator and she is an extremely valuable asset to them. She was so helpful throughout the entire 8 months that went into planning the wedding. And she worked very hard the day of the wedding. All of the staff is amazing, highly professional, and very nice. Destiny and Andy were two employees who were very attentive to my family and me. And the FOOD - I've never heard people compliment food at a wedding reception, as it's typically pretty standard (dry chicken, underwhelming potatoes, etc.) but my guests couldn't stop talking about the dinner! The food is AMAZING.

    The only caution I would give is that they sort of nickel-and-dime you with the costs. There seems to be an extra "fee" associated with everything, so what at first seems like one of the Nashville area's more affordable venues ends up costing just as much as having your wedding anywhere else. That was frustrating. With the amount of money we spent, it would have been nice to be given a break here or there. For example, the mark up on alcohol is almost ungodly. The kegs are twice as much as you'd pay yourself and they charge $12/bottle for a $4 bottle of wine. It would have been nice to have been offered a deal of some sort with this, since you can't bring in your own alcohol.
  • S
    Staci R. Married on 06/05/2015
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    The grounds are gorgeous, the wedding itself went very well, the reception was wonderful, food was fantastic, the overnight stay was great and breakfast in the morning was delicious! The staff were all very helpful and our overall experience was wonderful! The only issue we had was they delivered the bride's lunch upstairs to the bride's quarters prior to the wedding that included tree nuts and my allergy to tree nuts was WELL documented prior to the day of the event. Disaster was adverted due to a diligent Maid of Honor, but be aware to make any food allergies a HIGH priority with staff.