Skip to main content
Weddings

Events By Duke Reviews

Events By Duke

Events By Duke

Houston, TX
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
69 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
99% Recommended by couples

Awards

69
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

12 User photos

  • Marykate
    Marykate S. Sent on 11/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing! I can't wait to hire him again!

    I just had my wedding this past weekend and had hired DJ Mr Duke for it and he was amazing! First of all, his setup just looks amazing! It looked so elegant unlike most DJ set ups! The lighting he added around the venue was awesome too and really added to the party vibe. He was awesome at following my list/suggestions and would change it up to get the party going. I've already given his contact info to a lot of my guests and my coordinator was SHOCKED she hadn't heard of him before! The photobooth was so much fun too and I loved getting a copy of all the photos my guests took too! On top of all of this - his price can't be beat either!! Definitely recommend!!!

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Marykate thank you for the awesome review, we loved your wedding guest and so happy you and Conner had great time. May God continue to bless your union.
  • K
    Karen V. Sent on 06/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Well-rounded, professional DJ

    I’ve used James for two parties and each time he has been punctual, professional, and so much fun. He played every song we requested and knew how to keep people on the dance floor. I will definitely be using James for all of our parties going forward!
  • E
    Emilie G. Sent on 06/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Such a great DJ!

    We hired DJ Mr. Duke for our wedding and he delivered! Our dancefloor never died down, the guests had an absolute blast. James was so easy to work with. The planning forms helped us put all our thoughts together. His setup also looked really sleek! Highlight recommend the lights package! Those looked amazing.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Emilie,

    Thank you for the awesome review and it was my pleasure being apart of your wedding day. I’m very happy you enjoyed you special day

    Best,
    James
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • E
    Emily M. Sent on 04/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing DJ

    I hired James to work my wedding and he did an incredible job. He made sure that the timing of everything was spot on. He played every song we requested and had uplighting to make the space look extra magical. He included a photobooth that made for some wonderful pictures. He was punctual and flexible with our timing as far as schedule of events went (we were late to everything lol). He coordinated with our event coordinator and photographer (Mike Rathke -- https://www.weddingwire.com/biz/rathke-photography-humble/394e0926ec469828.html) to make sure everything was right on time. He also had some nice jams for when we didn't have requests. 5/5 stars, definitely would recommend.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thank you Emily for the lovely review! I had a blast djing your wedding. Funky playlist to work with, warm family and friends, and killer venue—it's not every day you get to DJ for a great crowd.
  • R
    Rachel S. Sent on 09/30/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent DJ and Photobooth

    Highly recommend working with Eventy by Duke for your event! We did a lot of research and he is the best price you will find for wedding DJ and Photobooth in Houston. DJ James offers professional and outstanding service while still keeping the planning process very easy with his online client Event Planner! We couldn't be happier with the music at our reception (salsa, R&B, country, rap, classics), his MCing of the events, and set up. He was also very patient and understanding with our 6 month rescheduled date due to COVID. Thank you!!

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Rachel and Stephen Thank you for the kind words and great review. You two are great and your reception was a ton of fun! May your union continue to be blessed. #newlywebs
  • Brandy
    Brandy R. Sent on 10/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Wedding 09 26 2021

    DJ Duke was the best Dj. He was very professional and arrived on time for his setup. He was the DJ for our ceremony and reception. When I tell you all that he kept all of our guests on the floor dancing and didn’t miss a beat. Even as the night was winding down, my husband and I danced until the very last song. It was an absolute pleasure working with him and we will definitely use him for future events that we have. We highly recommend DJ Duke for all of your DJ needs.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words, Brandy! It really was an honor and a pleasure to be a part of your special day. Congrats again!
  • W
    Waunita M. Sent on 10/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very professional and timely!

    DJ Duke listened to our requests and kept the dance floor busy from beginning to the end! My guests kept telling me DJ Duke was the absolute best! Highly recommended!!

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thank you so much Waunita! You were a dream to work with and we loved spinning for your fun loving friends and family! Thank you and congratulations again!
  • A
    Arielle Sent on 10/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A great time!

    Dj Mr. Duke was amazing and very professional! I followed him on IG months before my wedding and knew I had to book him!!

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words, Arielle! It really was an honor and a pleasure to be a part of your special day. Congrats again!
  • Kishondra
    Kishondra W. Sent on 10/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great service

    I love Mr. Duke service… he did and awesome job and I wish I can rewind my wedding day just because he had my guest on there feet

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thanks so much Kishondra + James!!! Your dance party was off tha hook! We also loved the really great toasts at your wedding!
  • J
    Jackie W. Sent on 12/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Phenomenal DJ Service

    We hired DJ Mr. Duke for our wedding and he killed it!! He is so flexible and easy, while also being very helpful and professional. Our group LOVES music, and loves to dance so the right DJ was really important. He made everything from our ceremony, to cocktail hour, to reception, and finally dance party absolutely perfect!! We had some pretty obscure requests and he made them happen. He is extremely laid back and trustworthy. Thank you DJ Mr. Duke for helping make our day perfect!!

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thanks Jackie! I was happy I was able to provide a high quality personalized experience for you, your friends, and family. I hope your brother was able to cough up the cash for you after his record setting bid for the garter auction! I look forward to working with you again and look forward to seeing you grow your graphic design business!
  • Madeliene
    Madeliene K. Sent on 10/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Spring wedding

    Amazing customer service and my guests loved him! So personable too. Will definitely be recommending him to anyone I know who needs DJ services!

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thank you Madeleine! Your friends and family were wonderful. The Lyceum Galveston, TX was such a beautiful venue. I always love getting the chance to DJ Weddings in my hometown.
  • Brionne
    Brionne W. Sent on 01/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    GREAT DJ for my wedding!

    DJ Mr. Duke was great! Very professional. Stayed on schedule on wedding day. Definitely played toward the crowd, which was great for dancing! I would definitely recommend!

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thank you Brionne and thank you for allowing us to be apart of your special day! We are so happy you enjoyed your wedding day. Wishing you many years of happiness.
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie V. Sent on 01/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding DJ Around

    Best DJ around. He guided us through the process and was the center of our reception. Would definitely recommend and use again for events.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Hi there, Stephanie Thank you for having me perform at your Wedding. You put together a marvelous wedding, and I was very proud to be be a part of it! I'm also happy to know that you didn't let 2021 ruin your wedding. We certainly partied like it was 2019! Keep in touch!
  • R
    Ryann L. Sent on 05/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome DJ

    He made our wedding reception fun! Kept people on the dance floor all night.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Congratulations Ryan and Neandre ! You were a dream to work with! We really enjoyed spinning for your super fun and beautiful wedding!!!
  • Paige
    Paige Sent on 10/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We had so much fun!!

    Thank you DJ Duke for keeping everyone on the dance floor! My husband and I had so much dancing to the music. Our family and friends also said we had the best DJ by far. He listened to our requests and played music everyone enjoyed. He was also super professional and on time! You will not regret booking him for your wedding or next event.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Hello Paige! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. You were an absolute joy to work with in planning and your wedding was so beautiful! With so many couples forced to cancel their weddings this year, it was wonderful to be part of your amazing day. Best wishes to you and Osahon for a long and happy marriage! ~DJ Mr. Duke
  • B
    Beatriz V. Sent on 02/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great service

    Dj Duke did a great job. He arrived real early to set up. Never bothered any of us with phone calls or anything. We arrived and he was ready to go, very prepared. It was stress free. He played the songs we wanted, did great playing to the crowd and taking requests. I would recommend his services to anyone, and we will be using him in any future events.
  • Denny
    Denny A. Sent on 01/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Kept the party going all night long!

    I got married January 18, 2020. Yes, it’s a bit late for a review, but I finally am going on my honeymoon (on our 1 year anniversary) and have time on the flight to thank my vendors. I initially found Events by Duke in a search on Thumbtack. Then I went and searched on Facebook and other platforms to see there were samples of the work that James did. Boy, I was IMPRESSED! I immediately contacted James and he was easy to work with. He answered all of my questions during the planning phase. On the day of the wedding, he truly impressed me! He was an awesome DJ and mood setter (up-lights)-- played every single song we requested, remixed our first dance song for us, and followed the script on all of the requested songs/dances/chants. He literally kept the party going ALL NIGHT! Our friends still talk about how amazing of a time they had dancing the night away. It was like we were all in college again (GO GATORS!)! I also can’t forget to mention that the up-lights he did for us truly set the mood of the party. If you are looking for a DJ who is easy to work with and truly keeps the party going, look no further! I highly recommend Events by DJ Duke!

    Events By Duke's reply:

    It was so fun getting to meet your friends and family! I also enjoyed learning about Florida Gators. I'm glad y’all had good time! Glad we pulled together and created an amazing wedding. wedding. Great work, team! Stay in touch.
  • H
    Haley Sent on 01/23/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Happily Edwards After

    DJ Duke made my wedding night so much fun and stress free. He kept things moving and kept the guest entertained.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thank you for bringing me in to coordinate the entertainment for your guests! I absolutely love unique weddings and your's brings a smile to my face. Happy New Year and your wedding was highly memorable! Best wishes on your lives together!
  • S
    Shay S. Sent on 11/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Experience with Events By Duke

    DJ Duke was absolutely incredible! We were the most nervous about the DJ because we know it is the single most important part of the wedding and for us, it was particularly stressful because we wanted to a mix of Mexican, American and Jewish music. DJ Duke did an incredible job of mixing everything up really well and everyone was dancing the whole entire time. It was PERFECT in every way. We definitely recommend Events By Duke for all your wedding needs.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Shay, It was great being able to connect with a fellow music lover in the planning process. I thoroughly enjoyed your taste in music and your playlists that you developed have given me some ideas for songs to add to my own and will help enhance the experience of future brides and grooms. I am glad you enjoyed my custom Havana edit for your first dance. It worked out amazing with the spark machines going off ! I had so much fun performing your song with you and adding my own live mixing twist to the songs you provided. Congratulations again and best wishes on your lives together!
  • Patricia
    Patricia P. Sent on 10/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Robinson's

    I can't tell you how much fun we had our wedding night. We have a mixed family and Events By Duke played the perfect mix! Kept everybody on the dance floor the whole night. I definately would hire him in a heart beat!

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thank you so much Patty, it has been wonderful working for you both :-)

    Wishing you both years of happiness together!
  • T
    Taylor P. Sent on 09/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!

    My husband and I loved working with James! He was SO prompt in responding to all of my emails - both before and after we booked with him. Even when I emailed late at night, he would typically respond within 20 minutes. He read the room so well during the reception and kept the party going! He even took videos before and during the reception to capture special moments for us! He was also super kind and professional.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thank you, Taylor for the wonderful review! I'm so happy we were able to make your day memorable. We had a blast working with you guys and the venue was beautiful!
  • M
    Mimi Sent on 08/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Top notch. Professional, affordable, no hassle and kept the party going.

    Hiring Events by Duke was one of the best decisions I made for my wedding ceremony and reception. DJ Duke aka Mr. James Williams was super easy to work with, professional and affordable. He came early, neat set-up and moved from outdoors to indoors with no issues. He knew to play all our prioritized songs, felt the room and was able to get 140 Vietnamese, Irish, Italians, African-Americans and Mexicans (adults plus kids) to all dance and had a blast with each other. I have heard nothing but great things about my DJ and thank him for all the smiles he put on the floor. His photobooth was also a big hit and lighting was on point. I would hire him again and DEFINITELY recommend.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Mimi you and Danny were an amazing couple! My whole team couldn't stop talking about how much you made us feel at home! We had a great time and enjoyed the Arboretum scene as well! Thank you for the amazing review.
  • Clarissa
    Clarissa D. Sent on 02/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great DJ!!

    Book this DJ!! Client portal was so easy to access and enter song requests and dedications. Everyone was on the dance floor all night! Officiant had a lapel microphone and everything worked out perfectly.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    Thank you so much Clarissa! I appreciate you and admire the bond you have with your friends and family! I could tell how much they mean to you. It was great getting to know you and I'm glad I could create a unique, custom experience for you and your wife. Best wishes on your lives together!
  • G
    Gina Sent on 12/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic music all night!

    We had Delvin (I hope I spelled that right) and Caesar DJ/MC our wedding last night. They really got the feel of exactly what we wanted the whole night. I got compliments from the guests about the music they played during cocktail hour and dinner. They also nailed the timing on some specific things we asked for during the ceremony. During the dancing portion of the night, they got the crowd going with some favorites and didn't hesitate to hype up the crowd as well during dancing lulls. They really knew how to keep the energy up. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a DJ with great value.

    Events By Duke's reply:

    This is one of the most amazing reviews I've seen in my career and I'm incredibly proud that you said this about us. Thank you so much Gina. You were so pleasant to work with and professional. The pleasure was all ours!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message