38 Reviews for Eugene Kam Photography

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
High-Res Images (2)
Digital Files (2)
Prints (2)
Liability Insurance (1)
38 Eugene Kam Photography Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Eugene was amazing!!!! I love that his package included a engagement photo shoot. He has been in the business awhile so he knows all the good spots to take photos. Eugene was professional, friendly, and an amazing photographer. After just meeting him, it felt that he was a friend. We were very comfortable with him as a photographer. Everyone at my wedding could not stop raving about him. He was so efficient in getting through all the family photos. A few days after the wedding he came by our hotel and dropped out some prints from the wedding along with a USB drive with all the photos. They came out BEAUTIFUL!!!! I highly recommend Eugene. He's been in the business a long time and so my wedding coordinator (Natalie of Aloha Bridal Connections) and our officiant (Bruce Ah Leong) were familiar with him which made things run more smoothly.

Profile Picture Mimi, 8/12/17, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, Prints, High-Res Images
5.0

My husband and I just got married about 2 weeks ago, but we have been planning this wedding for about 2 years! We booked our venue at the Kahala Hotel and & Resort and the package we purchased came with an hour photography from their preferred list. We had pretty much contacted all of the photographers on the list, but Eugene was very responsive, professional, and willing to work with our budget without judgement. This wedding was a destination wedding for us as we were planning from California. So he was able to accomodate and respond to all of my questions. We also looked at his website and saw that his work is very beautiful and connected with our personality as a couple. During the wedding itself, Eugene knew the property really well and was able to take pictures where I wanted as well as places he felt was the best backdrops. Eugene and his assistant were very professional, captured the best moments, and really made us feel comfortable when taking our photos with the bridal party and family and friends. It was a very beautiful and emotional day. On top of all of this wonderfulness, he was quick and fast with our photos. We did not order any prints from him, but he even gave us some prints of the best photos of the day. He did such a great job. We thank you so much Eugene for taking pictures of the best moments of the day. I love every photo and we just look so happy. Thanks so much again!

Profile Picture Tiffany, 3/27/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: High-Res Images, Liability Insurance, Digital Files, Prints
5.0

Hiring Eugene was easily one of the best decisions we made for our wedding! We interviewed quite a few photographers before choosing Eugene. He has such a cool vibe and we really connected with him. It was so easy working with him and he made us feel so comfortable. Our package included an engagement shoot. Our engagement photos turned out so beautifully!! The wedding photos themselves are breathtaking. Our family and friends absolutely love them (and so do we!). Check him out, you will not be disappointed.

Profile Picture Daira, 11/1/16, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Highly recommended! He worked with me all the way in Iowa and a 5 hour time difference to coordinate our photos and listen to what we were looking for! He scheduled our photos through the morning up to our reception to take advantage of all of our time and get all of the shots we wanted even with the groom and I not seeing eachother until I walked down the aisle! Everything was perfectly timed thanks to him! He was so kind and fun to work with! He knew all of our 10 bridesmaids and groomsmen by name! We even did a trash the dress session with him! So much fun!!! He took special photos of our cake with my parents' 42 year old cake topper and of my dad and I with our matching custom cowboy boots! He took the perfect mix of action and posed shots! Couldn't have dreamed of a more perfect photographer!

Profile Picture Maggie, 8/28/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Extremely professional!! He is very accommodating to my needs. So far, I've looked at his samples, and I'm extremely impressed with how well he can have the couples and groups pose for a beautiful photo. That's what my fiancé and I definitely need! Our schedule for the Catholic wedding and reception is tight, and I highly appreciate his flexibility.

Profile Picture User4903845, 2+ years ago, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.6

We had a destination wedding at the Halekulani resort in Waikiki. The hotel catering manager recommended Eugene for our event. I am so glad he did. Eugene is a talented and skilled photographer. He used different angles and lighting to achieve pictures that were out of this world. He made us look like models by suggesting poses that were exquisite and complimentary to the wedding day vibe. The only area where I could not give him a 5 were in responsiveness and value. He is not the cheapest around although for the money the results were worth every penny we paid. It also took longer than expected to get our photo book order due to an outside vendor issue. Other than that, I would highly recommend Eugene Kam photography for your wedding in Honolulu. You will not be disappointed.

Profile Picture Maichi, 7/1/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Eugene was a true gem to work with. We had to change the date of our engagement session due to weather, and he accommodated us very well. He was open to any of our ideas or thoughts and went beyond what we expected. His use of color and beauty of shots is not easy to find in other Aulani vendors. He was the only one without any washed out shots, you could see what was behind his subjects. Very easy going, easy to get along with and feel comfortable. Worked really well with our 6 yr. old. His assistant Joy was VERY helpful with my dress and helping me get ready. She also has a great eye for catching great shots. Hands down the best pictures I've ever had taken, I wish he was in California because I would use him for all our picture needs.

Profile Picture Valerie, 2/9/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We're highly pleased to have Eugene and Joy as our wedding photographers.
First, they're really nice and friendly. While I was still having my makeup done, they offered me a pillow so that I could be more comfortable. They taught me how to hold my gown to walk elegantly by myself.
Second, they're professional. We were comfortable as they give us instructions regarding how to pose. They could politely ask bystanders (totally strangers, not our guests) to stay away from the camera, so our pictures don't have many bystanders.
Lastly, we love the photos. We look natural and the locations look gorgeous. They have the quality of the pictures on wedding blogs or Pinterest.
We recommend Eugene Kam Photography.

Profile Picture User4695656, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Eugene and Joy were awesome to work with and the photos were beautiful! We loved that we were able to see some of the photos the same day since some were shown as a slideshow during the reception. Since our wedding was a destination wedding we didn't actually meet in person until the actual wedding date but Eugene was always available by phone and e-mail to answer any questions and to keep us updated. When we did finally meet it was as if we already knew each other. He really made our day very special.

Profile Picture Jill, 12/14/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I am so happy that we choose Eugene Kam photography. He definitely deserves more than 5 stars!!! They are so easy to work with and gave us amazing photos. I LOVE my photos and could not be happier. They respond promptly to all of my emails and it is obvious that they love and have a passion for photography it shows by their professionalism. I love that their style is so natural and not posed. He is easily the BEST in the business and it really shows.

Profile Picture Janice, 6/29/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Eugene Kam is not only the quintessential wedding photographer who is gifted artistically but he is also a wonderful guy who is easy to talk with and provides you with a wealth of information and expertise concerning the wedding planning process. I enjoyed seeing him guide the bridal party to pose just right and how he worked in sync with my videographer. He was so patient and gracious even with excited guests who stepped in front of him to take their own pictures instead of allowing him to take his pictures first. Eugene is truly a worthy professional!

Profile Picture Carolyn, 6/1/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.6

Eugene was absolutely top notch! He's professional, experienced, and efficient. Probably on the pricier side but we definitely got what we paid for and more. The pictures and final slideshow were excellent; we could not have asked for a better photographer for our wedding. Highly recommended.

Profile Picture User4213961, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Eugene and Joy are truly the best in the business when it comes to photography! They have an eye for perfection and are very passionate about their work. Both are extremely easy to work with and very accommodating. The experience that Eugene & Joy bring is priceless as they were able to capture our special day in photographs that we will cherish forever.

Profile Picture Charis & Travis, 4/20/14, 9 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

They provided perfect service for our special day. Picture came out more than what I expected. I will give 10 stars!

Profile Picture Hiroko, 12/31/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Joy from Eugene kam was our photographer on our wedding day. She was very professional, easygoing, and relaxed. Exactly what we had hoped for in a photographer!! She immediately put my husband and I at ease. We were married at the royal hawaiian and Joy knew exactly where to go around the hotel for the best settings. She was fantastic! I would highly recommend her to anybody looking for a friendly and extremely competent photographer in honolulu!

Profile Picture Krista , 12/27/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Having Eugene Kam as our photographer was the best wedding decision we made. We were told by several people that he is the best wedding photographer in Hawaii and now we know why.

In the planning stages, he met with us in person twice before the actual wedding and responded very quickly to our emails. Since we are currently living in California, we also had several phone conversations with him. There were a lot of elements that we wanted to include in the wedding, and he helped us clarify our vision and ensured that everything would run smoothly.

On the wedding day, he arrived early and instantly made everyone feel at ease. He knew exactly how to capture every moment of our wedding from getting ready, our first look, the ceremony, and our reception. He was even was able to organize a whole group photo of our 200 plus wedding guests. Our bridal party and guests felt really comfortable with him and it shows in the quality of his pictures.

After the wedding, he had our online gallery set up in just over a week! So we had a great time viewing our wedding pictures during our honeymoon! The photos themselves were breathtaking. As a bride, I felt that he truly captured all of my many emotions that day. While we was looking at the photos, we honestly felt like we were reliving each moment. He has the talent to even make crowded Waikiki Beach look romantic and timeless.

If you are having a wedding in Hawaii, definitely hire Eugene Kam as your photographer. He will be the best wedding decision you make!

Profile Picture Julie, 7/6/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Eugene Kam is the quintessential professional. He took time to get to know us and really listen to our ideas. He learned that my son-in-law is a musician and Eugene suggested that he write a song for my daughter and sing her down the aisle. We kept this a secret from her. On their special day, the groom began to sing, the bride realized what was happening, and there wasn't a dry eye in place! Eugene's idea was brilliant! He and Joy took the most creative, artistic photographs we have ever seen. Eugene went a step further...he hand-delivered the photographs to our home. Eugene Kam is the best in the business!!

Profile Picture Kristin, 6/15/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Eugene was amazing! He and his team truly exceeded our expectations. He was professional, fun and took stunning photos! Our wedding day was perfection not only because he was part of it but also because of the way he captured it. Our friends and family rave about our photos and I would highly recommend him!

Profile Picture Mary Beth, 5/27/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Eugene is amazing! He is artistic, creative, professional, and an overall pleasure to work with! His photos were breathtaking! He has a natural talent and such an artistic eye...he was able to capture the essence of our wedding day. We highly recommend Eugene!

Profile Picture User3409944, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Eugene and Kristy were fabulous, we wouldn't have settled for any other photography company on our perfect day. Eugene elegantly combines traditional with style to really bring out the best in all pictures. AND we received the images super fast after the wedding!!! Thank you Eugene for making our special day absolutely perfect!

Profile Picture Heather , 8/11/12, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Professional and talented to the core. Beautiful and artistic photographs, with post-processing and touch up as needed. Many couples might decide to save on a photographer, but this is one area which is well worth its value. Wedding photography is more than just the technical aspects of taking a picture (which Eugene is certainly talented at), but also framing each shot and composing each picture to retell the story in the future of a day which cannot be recaptured.

- Tanya & Kelvin

Profile Picture User2501939, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.9

We absolutely LOVED Eugene and Joy! They really captured our special day with such beautiful photos. Watching them work together is an art form by itself. They moved through numerous poses, people, and scenery with such ease. Our bridal party, family and, myself never felt rushed or stressed. The whole 3 hour pre-ceremony photo session was actually a lot of fun and set such a positive tone for the ceremony.
After the wedding, they were very quick in getting our proofs and digital files to us. We had them within three weeks. We also purchased a professional album which just arrived. Its so beautiful and worth it to spend a little extra on the album they offer.
We highly recommend Eugene and Joy. Their professionalism and photography are so, so worth it!

Profile Picture User2635627, 2+ years ago, 9 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Firstly we live in Australia, and had our wedding ceremony and reception at the kahala resort (Oahu Hawaii).

As part of the organization we had to choose our vendor, with our photographer being the most important, we had reviewed our vendors thoroughly, and Eugene Kam stood out from the rest.

Eugene and Joy were so responsive in the early stages of organizing our big day,nothing was ever a problem, they gave us so much comfort that everything was in place, and also gave us so many ideas and advice on locations for photos. Their advice on timelines for the day was spot on, we couldn't have asked for anything more. We did all our correspondence via email from Australia and they were super fast in turning our responses around. When we arrived in Hawaii, Joy and Eugene made the time to meet with us to run through all our arrangements, to make sure we were all happy.

On our big day, Eugene and Joy were helpful, professional and relaxed. Which made our day so much easier.they were on time to our resort (Sheraton Waikiki) and made sure we captured our pre wedding images perfectly. Nothing was ever a problem for them, and we're extremely accommodating to our needs.

When we were having our ceremony at kahala, Eugene and Joy captured some great moments of us, but just as importantly our guests and our venue/location. To be very honest my wife and I did not even notice them at all, and our guests feedback was the same. The ideas and flexibility that showed to us made us so happy on the day. Our photos are PICTURE PERFECT. We were blown away with the finished product.

When we were all done, we had 2 weeks left in Hawaii, Eugene was able to finish off our DVD slideshow ( which is amazing) and have all our images on disk for us. He even came in on their day off to make sure we got it. These guys love what they do, but they really do love seeing their clients enjoy their special day. Eugene and Joy are there to capture the moments of a special day, we were able to let them do what they do best, and this just allowed us to really take in our day and remember it.

We are happy to be contacted in relation to this review, Eugene Kam photography was absolutely fantastic and we can speak highly of them. They are very professional, but more importantly they are passionate about making your wedding day perfect. Our photos are exactly what we had dreamed of for 12 months.

Thank you Eugene and Joy, you were fantastic, and we would love to drop in and say hi, on our next trip to Hawaii.

Shane and Christine (Sydney NSW Australia)

Profile Picture Shane, 5/16/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Eugene and Joy were a pleasure to work with and knew what they were doing. It was great not to worry about getting great photos that I loved! Eugene was quick in getting our photos back to us as well as our albums, which turned out fantastic. Eugene and Joy have very easy going and fun personalities, so it’s very comfortable to have them follow you around capturing your special moments. I couldn't recommend better photographers for your wedding!

Profile Picture Jamie, 3/24/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Stop reading. Just book him. (Later I will tell you, "I told you so!")

In case you didn't take my sound advice and kept reading, here is why Eugene and Joy with make you a believer. We got married at the Halekulani hotel, a first for us, but just business as usual for Eugene. He knew the hotel in and out and already had a game plan of where we would take shots and what angles. He was familiar with the staff and the staff all knew who he was. He and Joy truly have a true natural talent and artistic eye and clearly show a passion for what they do. They will both guide your photos to their vision but are still flexible to accomodate your needs (if you have any). Don't bother; just kick back and let them do their thing and you won't be dissappointed. Within 24 hours of the wedding he had already sorted through his 1000-some shots and made a photo montage DVD that was stunning. It was pretty wild to re-watch your wedding that just happened but through someone else's eyes (in this case, Eugene's and Joy's). We also ordered a photo album that also exceeded expectation. With all the stresses that come with wedding planning, booking Eugene will be one of the things you won't have to worry about and glad you did. So there you have it. "I told you so!"

Profile Picture Vincent, 3/24/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography