Esvy Photography Reviews

40 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

40 Reviews for Esvy Photography

Recommended by 99%

40
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • K

    Kristopher · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding video turned out well beyond our expectations. I must have watched it 100 times already. We are really happy!

  • A

    Anthony · Married on 06/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we first started looking for a photographer, we were so overwhelmed. Luckily we had a great recommendation from a friend and we did some research. We honestly could not have made a better decision. Darren was absolutely unbelievable in every way possible. He worked with us through everything we wanted and even put up with our 100's of (annoying) emails we sent as a nervous bride and groom. The pictures we received are just out of this world, we are literally recommending Esvy to every single person we know. Just top notch work and extremely professional. You cant go wrong here.

  • J

    Jacquelyn · Married on 06/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren and Katherine were absolutely phenomenal. I can't imagine having anyone else photograph our special day. They were so attentive and fulfilled all of our requests. From the engagement shoots, to the multiple emails, to the wedding day they were so hard working and the final product is amazing. Darren got us our thousands of photographs only a few week after the wedding... now thats dedication! You can tell they both love and enjoy what they do. They are true professionals and I couldn't recommend them more!!

  • C

    Corinne · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish it were possible to give more than 5 stars! I first met Darren (the lead photographer of ESVY photography) when he photographed my brother's wedding in 2015. After seeing the incredible results myself and my husband booked him for our wedding this April.

    When looking for a photographer you of course want the photographs to be beautiful and Darren MORE than accomplishes that. While his posed photos are incredible, the candid photos he takes, and his ability to capture all of the emotion and energy of a moment, is truly where you see what an amazing artist he is.

    Beyond wanting gorgeous photos, it was very important to me that I had a photographer who would not be an overbearing presence. Aside from his talent and his wonderfully calming and warm personality, my favorite thing about Darren is that I have now seen first hand at two weddings how he is able to seamlessly blend into the event while still capturing every moment. I do not think it is often that guests go out of their way to comment to the Bride how amazing it was to not have a photographer getting in the way of everything and commenting on what a wonderful and kind person the photographer was.

    He truly listened to what we wanted and made sure that we got every picture we could have dreamed of. If you want a photographer who will be able to perfectly capture the most important day of your life while making you feel calm, happy, listened to, and completely at ease then ESVY photography is exactly who you should choose. I am unbelievably happy with my decision to use them and I HIGHLY recommend them.

  • D

    Dan · Married on 01/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't recommend Esvy highly enough. Darren was fantastic. He was organized and professional.

    We had a DIY wedding in Los Angeles (which Darren flew out for). Because we were novices, we didn't order enough lighting for the venue. Darren stopped by during load-in, took one look at the space and immediately went out to rent additional LED lighting kits on his own dime. In short, he saved the day.

    He provided proofs within a day of the wedding and the shots look amazing.

  • R

    Rory · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just book Esvy. Great people and high quality imagery. My wife and I couldn't be happier with the pics we received. Memories that truly will last forever!

  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren was one of the best (if not THE best) vendor decisions that we made for our wedding. He was incredibly organized from our initial phone call and each moment leading up to the Big Day (initial consultation, engagement shoot, planning, logistics, etc.) but he really distinguished himself on the day of the wedding. With so many family members running around, hair / make-up professionals, and an overall tight timetable he was a calming, constant presence. Simply put, we can't imagine having anyone else as our photographer. The quick sample he sent us immediately afterwards was also incredible and has been very helpful with following up with friends / family who were unable to make it. We would highly recommend Darren for both photography and videography.

  • N

    Neethu · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren was awesome to work with! We had a big fat Indian wedding with 550+ guests so we were very careful when picking a photographer. We needed someone who could handle that type of chaos. After speaking to him the first time on the phone it was so easy to tell that our search was over. He was soooo laid back and confident. Even when things got really loud and chaotic at the wedding, he maintained his composure, and was able to capture all of the magical moments with such patience. He had no problem being outside in the sweltering heat to make sure that my husband and I got our private garden pics without the bustle of the hundreds of guests.
    I also saw his team jumping into action to capture all important parts of the military procession (military wedding), including the saber arch, cutting of the cake with saber, setting of the POW/MIA table etc.
    I can't wait to see his completed work!

  • J

    Jennifer · event on: 06/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé and I were visiting New York City and we booked an engagement photo shoot with Darren. Darren was prompt in getting back with us and we were able to coordinate our trip with the photo shoot. Darren was very professional and he made us feel at ease. We had a great time during our shoot and Darren made us look fabulous. He sent our pictures to us less than a week after the shoot. We would highly recommend him and would love to book with him in the near future.

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren was perfect! He's very organized and communicated frequently so we felt prepared leading up to the big day. He took the time to get to know us as a couple which made the photos that much more authentic. His assistant was also as professional and attentive as he was. Throughout the whole day, they anticipated not only our needs but our family and friends as well. As anyone can tell you, the schedule for the big day never goes as planned. Darren helped us prepare in advance for possible delays and ensure we had ample down time to truly enjoy the day. I'm so thankful that he went above and beyond to make our day even more special than we imagined.

    Most of all, we're extremely pleased with the photos. His black and whites are flawless and his unique artistic eye unequivocally sets him apart from other photographers. (There are photos that when we saw them for the first time, we literally gasped out loud because they were so gorgeous.) It was a perfect day and he captured it perfectly. Darren is the best! You have to hire him!

  • User4296705 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren and his team (Esvy) were wonderful. They were professional, kind, patient, and had a great vision. I loved how meticulous they were about lighting, angle, and sunset. The photos are outstanding. Check out the blog. Darren made himself available for phone calls and meetings. We were so pleased with Esvy. We highly recommend them

  • J

    Jolie · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren is a professional to work with. His work quality is consistent and top-notch. We are very happy and pleased to work with him.

  • F

    Francis · Married on 06/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our photos from Esvy photography, it was exactly what we wanted in our photos and photography! Darren was great to work with, very professional. He was such a help with advice and tips leading up to the wedding, and more importantly seamlessly integrated himself on our special day to capture special shots in great angles without being a distraction.

    The quality of the photos were stunning and it was a pleasure to work with Darren! Highly recommended!

  • G

    Gregory · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren & Isaiah are amazing. From beginning to end, you could not get better service and quality! To start, Darren is just an amazing photographer in general. One reason I loved him before we even met him was because he was an aerospace engineer for 7 years, so I knew the technical side of photography he had down to a science (no pun intended). But, when it came do dealing with us, the client, he was super professional, punctual, & pleasant. Before we even met, he had the angles of the sun on our wedding date mapped out so he knew where the best shots would take place & when we had to take then, he scoped out our venue and found the best and most interesting places to take pictures, & he had a timeline for everything!

    Using his knowledge of the hundreds of weddings he has done, he made suggestions & gave us advice not only on the photography side of the wedding, but the whole wedding process in general! He was a calming & refreshing prescense to have. He always responded to emails immediately & was always there when we needed him, including when our original venue burned down 6 months out & we had to scramble to switch venues!

    During the ceremony and reception, Darren & Isaiah were omnipresent but unnoticeable. His candid pictures were so good that they look staged, his portraits are classy but unique, & there is not one boring shot out of the 2000 he gave us. My wife & I could not have asked for anything more from him. He captured our special day exactly how we wanted, from my wife getting ready to the last shot of tequila at the end of the night! He even came to the after party with us (as our guest) because we enjoyed having him around so much. And even after leaving us at 2am, we still woke up to an email from Darren with a preview of our photos at 8am! And after getting all the images on a USB drive, the album he made for us was so gorgeous! I honestly can't imagine anyone not choosing him over any other photographer.

    100 out of 5 star review!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first met Darren when he took my engagement pictures, and my husband and I absolutely knew he was the best and we booked him immediately for our wedding. Our engagement photos were beautiful and we even blew some of them up to have at our wedding. Darren and his assistant Isaiah were just amazing at the wedding. Prior to the ceremony he was so organized taking family and group shots, and during the reception you never once felt that they were surrounding and hovering you. I couldn't be happier with Esvy and Darren, and have already gone on to refer him more than once. I only have the kindest things to say about him and his photographs. Thank you Darren.

  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 03/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had an absolutely amazing experience with Esvy Photography. Darren exceeded my expectations. When looking for photographers we met with a couple of vendors, but as soon as we met with Darren, we were sold. Not only did we love his style of photography, which captured great candid photos and had more of our photo journalistic style and his photos were able to truly tell a story and make those looking at the photos feel as though they were apart of the event, My husband and I also connected well with his personality. Darren was also very quick to respond to emails and phone calls, and as a type A bride he was always great answering my million questions. Darren also did an engagement shoot with us so we would feel extra comfortable with him on our Big wedding day. We knew once we got those photos back we would not be disappointed on our day and we were right. Darren and his assistant arrived promptly and on time the morning of my wedding and they were able to capture all of the suggested shots we discussed prior. My bridal party also raved about how professional and patient he was, as he made sure he captured great moments and was even open to ideas we had:) All in All he made our day very special and I HIGHLY recommend Esvy Photography without reservation. I am in love with our photos and so happy I have these memories to looks back on for years to come!

  • J

    Jamel · Married on 03/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Esvy photography absolutely met all mine and my wife's expectations for a "perfect wedding". Darren and his team of photographers were very professional, creative, propt, and excellent coordinators. I must say I am one of the worlds biggest critics but could not find one negative flaw the way Esvy Photography handled my wedding. If you're indecisive on choosing a Photographer, one whom will make your event special and memorable I can guarantee Esvy is your BEST choice.

    Great Job ESVY!

    Thanks again,
    The Powells

  • S

    Sofia · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made me feel so comfortable on my big day and I have the beautiful pictures to prove it!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Esvy Photography for our wedding was one of the best decisions we made! Our photos and video highlight truly capture the essence of the night in such an authentic, natural way. Darren and his team thoughtfully covered all of the most memorable moments with a level of professionalism that truly impressed everyone, from the staff at our venue, to our grandparents. Esvy Photography went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and were very fair about rates. Darren took the time to understand our needs and personalities, and that really comes through in the content delivered. From the start, we were impressed by the level of experience and attention to detail Darren provided. His ability to walk us through scenarios and timelines that we would never have thought of going into this, gave us much more insight into how we wanted to frame our event from a technical stand point.
    Technicalities aside, we are so pleased with the natural, photo journalistic style that truly captures the story of our wedding in such a personal and intimate way. One last note, I would highly recommend adding the videographer! Having the video highlight is so MAGICAL, it brings you right back to to the feeling of those special moments every time you watch it. Darren and his team at Esvy Photography are exceptional.

  • User3410038 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing vendor. Super responsive, especially to emails which was key for me. Knows how to do their job, the day of, coordinated with the other vendors for a flawless events. Got all the shots I wanted and were able to capture all the magic of our special day.

    They really care about the pictures they take and the videos and we could not be happier with them. They are not the cheapest but the quality you get from them is priceless.

    They are fast too! We got our first 50 pix 3 hours after the end of the wedding. I would recommend them anytime.

  • User4392801 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren's work was great and we had quick access to our pics. Well worth it!

  • E

    Edward · Married on 11/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren had our wedding area scouted out days before the actual event, so when the day came, he was prepared, and new exactly when and where to take the most amazing photos based on time of day and even angle of the sun.

  • L

    Linda · Married on 11/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Assuming the photogs who have made your short list all have same technical expertise, it boils down to intangible traits. Darren's technical skills are top notch. Plus, he's tech savvy, which like-minded (social media) brides will appreciate. However, it's the soft skills that matter most. Before we arrived in town, Darren had already scouted out the ceremony site to survey the lighting, backdrop and sunset at Red Rock Canyon. We didn't have to tell him. He just knew to take care of it. Day before wedding he worked his tail off on a four hour photo engagement feel photo shoot. My hubby and I are not the easiest models to work with because we shy away from the camera and posing doesn't come natural to us. Darren was a great coach and very patient. Not to mention he lugged my purse around all night during the shoot. Day of the wedding he helped with random things that had nothing to do with photography really. That's just the kind of person he is. He's very meticulous and made sure our guests were photo ready (buttons, fly away hairs, lint, straight ties, posture etc.). Darren did try to convince us to do a "first glance" photo shoot. There will be specific shots that he cannot get once the wedding begins and time flies. I was hell bent on not seeing my groom until the ceremony, which means, yes, I sacrificed some shots. If you are not as traditional, then of course you'll go with the first glance route. You will be glad you did. Lastly Darren is very progressive. He's bubbling with vision and fresh ideas if you will let him. I think all these soft skills are a must with an in-town celebration but even more so with a destination wedding. Lastly his turnaround time is very reasonable for this caliber of work. Can't imagine going with any other photographer. Overwhelming blessed to have Darren as a photographer. ~newlyweds in Austin, Texas #teamesvyphotography

  • J

    Joe · Married on 10/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren and his team are great to work with, they did a fantastic job for our wedding. We had a traditional Indian catholic wedding in Houston, TX. On the Thursday before the wedding we also had a traditional Mehandi night. Darren was there for all the events and took so many great pictures! he came down from new York for all the events and stayed in Houston for 4 days for us! We had 17 vendors, all of them local except Darren. My wife and I have no doubt in our mind saying that he was the best out of all of them. He was on time, professional, and really cared about capturing all the great moments. You know right away that he has great passion for what he does, it's more then a job for him.The best thing about Darren is that he treats you like a friend. When you're planning a wedding, that matters, trust me. When we got the pictures back from Darren, it was hard to believe that he captured every moment. Between all the events from Thursday and Saturday, I think Darren covered about 20 hours and took over 5,000 pictures! Darren and his assistant were every where, taking pictures of every moment. At the reception, ever time anything awesome happens, Darren was right there clicking away. We found a photographer for life! Thanks Darren!!

  • E

    Ellisheva · Married on 06/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darren was an absolute pleasure to work with from beginning up until today. He is creative, friendly, and most importantly an INCREDIBLE photogrpher! I just got my wedding photos back and I could not be more thrilled. I would 200% reccomend Esvy photography to anyone looking for a reliable and reasonably priced service. Darren has been wonderful throughout this entire wedding process!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review