Weddings

Entertainment At Large Reviews

Entertainment At Large

Entertainment At Large

San Diego, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 20 Reviews
View more information

20 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 20
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
Sort by:
  • Nancy
    Nancy B. Married on 07/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic wedding DJ who kept the party going!

    DJ Mike is a great DJ! The music was perfect the whole night. He picks up on what the guests like to hear and we did not have one moment where the dance floor was empty! He was easy to work with and so organized. He is efficient in gathering all the info he needs to have for the introductions, toasts, and songs to play at certain times. Thank you Mike for making our day so special!

    Entertainment At Large's reply:

    Thanks so much for the kind words Nancy, I appreciate it! It was a great celebration and I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I hope our paths cross again and I wish you all the best!!
  • E
    Erica Married on 11/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great DJ!!

    Mike was our DJ for our wedding last November. He was recommended by our wedding planner and a couple of our friends.

    His price was really great, especially for the high quality of service he provided. Working with him was very easy and straightforward. He made recommendations on our timeline and made sure we had the right music chosen for the ceremony and reception.

    Included in his fee was set up and take down. Everything was very easy. He DJ’d during our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. He was always on time and was very professional and a nice man to work with.

    Most importantly got our guests to dance and have a good time!

    He was very sweet to our guests as well. A few of them went up to him with special song requests and he happily played them.

    We’re so happy we booked with Mike, I couldn’t recommend him any higher.
  • A
    Anna Married on 01/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike DJed our December wedding in Balboa Park and he was great! All of our guests commented on how great he was at reading the crowd and playing a great mix of music. He was very accommodating and did a great job listening to our requests. We couldn't have asked for anything better.
  • User1967890 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amazing DJ! Highly recommend for any event. Kept the party going and was very easy to work with.
  • J
    Jenna Married on 08/02/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    DJ Mike was a great entertainer for our wedding. He was very knowledgable about what was needed at the Hotel del Coronado and he worked very flexibly with us in meeting our specific needs for our wedding. He was quick to respond and he did a great job editing some songs for our wedding events. People were on the dance floor the whole night!! Thank you Mike!!
  • User1713313 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike did such a wonderful job during our reception! He was very professional, easy to work with, and he gave us a great deal to boot. Our guests all had a blast during the reception, and he played all the music my husband wanted, I wanted, our guests wanted, and more!
  • H
    Heidi Married on 06/07/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike did a terrific job making sure the ceremony and reception ran smoothly and on schedule. It was clear he had done it many times & the music kept our guests dancing!
  • H
    Heather Married on 04/05/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike is a fantastic DJ. He saved us from a bind when another DJ was unable (through no fault of their own) to provide their services at our wedding earlier this month. He swooped in, was very reliable and responsive, kept our evening on track as a great emcee, and had our guests dancing all night! I would highly recommend Mike as a DJ who will respect your choices, get everyone participating, give great advice, and is also the opposite of obnoxious, like some DJs are! Would use again in a heartbeat!
  • A
    Angela Married on 09/01/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It is very important to have a good wedding DJ and I could not have picked a better wedding DJ. Mike made our night a night to remember. People are still talking about how amazing the music was and how great the night flowed. The dance floor was always full and he did a great job switching for our traditional arabic music to american music. Everyone loved the special serenade and people said it was the best thing they had ever seen at a wedding. He is by far one of the best Wedding DJ's in San Diego and I am so happy to have picked him.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 11/12/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I wouldn't hire any one else for my daughters' weddings! That's right-BOTH their weddings -within 3 months of each other! The uplighting was spectacular and the huge success of the reception was totally due to Mike Hogan's professionalism and talents as an MC and DJ. The reception ran flawlessly..
  • D
    Danielle Married on 08/28/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike Hogan is absolutely fantastic. He is extremely friendly and personable and he made our ceremony and wedding flow flawlessly. The lighting was beautiful and the sound was perfect. There was never an awkward moment, he made sure everything kept moving, he introduced the speakers with ease and made everything so fun. He goes beyond just merely announcing and is interactive with the guests without stealing the spotlight. He was completely in tune with what we wanted, and he was an absolute joy to work with. He incorporated our music preferences with current hits and kept the dance floor full all night. Mike had an incredible knack for making sure all the vendors worked together to make the wedding a huge success. Our guests said it was one of the best weddings they've ever been to and I know Mike played a huge role in that. I can't thank him enough, you will not be disappointed if you hire him for your event. He is the whole package and worth ever penny!
  • C
    Cindy Married on 11/06/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the first to the last song Mike had the dance floor packed! He was an amazing DJ and it was such a pleasure to work with him. We received so many compliments on how great the music was and how much fun everyone had dancing – a true testament to Mike's ability to keep the party alive!

    When we returned from our honeymoon we were so excited to receive a card and photos of our wedding from Mike. He captured some great shots of my husband and I and the fun time that we had on the dance floor.

    Mike kept the wedding flowing smoothly from start to finish. I know that there was a lot of work done in the background by all of our vendors and we truly appreciated being able to enjoy our day without having to worry about anything.

    Thanks Mike! I'd highly recommend you to anyone who wants a great DJ that is easy to work with!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 08/14/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike kept everyone dancing the WHOLE TIME! Everyone loved him and wanted his name after the reception. Nothing cheesy and he wasn't one of those dj's that just likes to hear the sound of his own voice. He let the music run the show and it was perfect.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 09/19/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike Hogan was great and kept all the guests dancing at our wedding. He actually had provided my dad with the name of a bagpiper to have outside prior to the cermeony and was arranged with out myself (the bride) and groom knowing about it. Mike supplied our ceremony music and I was not even concerned with any glitches as I have worked with him prior. He was great and played all the right songs keeping the night flowing smoothly. Thanks Mike! Kelly & Blake
  • A
    Aaron Married on 07/25/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike was WONDERFUL!! We would highly reccomend him to anyone looking for a DJ. He was very professional and worked well with all of the comingling events and staff. He played all the music we asked him to, didn't talk too much, and made sure everyone had a great time. He is such a nice guy!! He even took pictures of him own at the reception (for promotion) and made up a wonderful collage to send copies to us after the wedding.
  • M
    Nas Married on 03/28/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What can be said about Mike that hasn't been said a million times before. He is awesome! He was the highest recommended vendor. His name is on everyone's tongue, and for good reason. He knows what he is doing. He knows music, he knows entertainment, and he knows how to help your dream day come true. He blended our culture and love for music so beautifully, I couldn't have imagined it better!
  • T
    Tina Married on 06/02/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike was awesome. He was great for our crowd of 30 somethings. He may not be the best for the younger bride, those in their early 20's. But, he does have all the latest music and remembers names well. I mention that because I have seen some dj's who flub up the names of the wedding party and it's not good. I loved Mike!
  • jacquelyn4444
    Jacquelyn Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Who: Mike Hogan from Entertainment at Large

    What: ceremony, cocktail hour and reception music

    How Much: We paid $1000, but I think that is a discounted rate because Mike is a good friend of my dad's and he also did my brother and SIL's wedding four years ago. Even if his rate is $3000, we would have paid it, though, he is GREAT!

    What I looooove: Mike is one of the few DJs I have been around who does not irritate me... he is almost invisible, and yet he manages to keep the dancefloor packed and the reception flowing perfectly. The music he chose for our cocktail hour (Frank Sinatra, Norah Jones, etc.), dinner (Spanish guitar) and dancing (everything from old hip hop like Vanilla Ice and The Beastie Boys to ragaeton and salsa to country!) were fabulous and Mike did a fabulous job of keeping songs from our "Do Not Play" list far from our eardrums. Also, to be noted: When my uncle gave a pre-dinner toast, he suggested that we pass the mic around and let others who toast tell a story about my FI and I. Within a second, Mike Hogan had politely explained that would not be possible (as my FI and I breathed a sigh of relief) because "the chef would kill" him (when, in reality, I had told Mike that we did not want drunken toasts to carry on!). He literally avoided what could have been a disaster without missing a beat (DJ pun intended) and our tipsy guests got to keep their stories to themselves. Crisis averted! DJ Mike saves the day!

    The not-so-perfect part: Nothing... he is aces!
  • User855991 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike was very nice and professional and knew how to get the party going at my wedding! I would recommend him as a great DJ.
  • Marion
    Marion Married on 09/27/2008
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Used to light the venue. Everything looked perfect. No problems whatsoever!!