Entertaining Company Reviews

20 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Entertaining Company

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

20

4 User photos

Order by:
  • Genevieve

    Genevieve · Married on 02/22/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Impeccable from Start to Finish

    My husband and I are so happy with our decision to book Entertaining Company for the food at our wedding. The level of service, quality, personalization, and flexibility/creativity was just so much higher with EC than with any of the other options we considered.

    Our excellent experience was due in no small part to our wonderful coordinator, Michelle Sterling, who always conveyed the sense that we were not just one event among many: we were an important client worthy of custom and individual attention, even though we were working with a limited budget. Here, too, Michelle helped to stretch every dollar to create the most luxurious and delicious experience possible for us and our guests.

    The tasting was incredibly charming and well planned. Michelle met us in a room that she had decorated according to some of the colors and themes we had anticipated. We felt like we were chatting with an old friend, as their highly professional staff brought out plate after plate. This, too, put Entertaining Company above the rest: we went home with boxes and boxes of leftovers! I come from a family that equates food with love, so this sent me a message big time! The portions were generous, the presentation was lovely, and Michelle was open to exploring tweaks and making suggestions based on her experience. When I mentioned during our initial conversation that I have some Polish heritage and was interested in potentially reflecting that in the menu, Michele went all out, sourcing pierogi for a late night snack, complete with little decorative Polish flag toothpicks, LOL, and researched Polish appetizers extensively. They offered to create brand new menu items for me, including a killer deviled egg topped with buttered bread crumbs, and a miniature cabbage roll that my guests are still talking about. The fact that Michelle and the team were willing to volunteer such personal touches really made me feel like our wedding was important to them and not just one more event among many.

    Throughout the planning process, Michelle was an invaluable resource. She responded to emails quickly, reminded us of important dates and milestones, stepped in as necessary to help advise, even with other components of the event, was tremendously helpful at the final walk-through, and was a pro at keeping the entire project on track and on time. I’m a certified Project Manager, and Michelle’s organizational and service skills were everything I could’ve hoped for and more.

    Flash forward to the wedding day: everything tasted wonderful, was hot and fresh, served on time, with no mistakes or issues that I know of. Maria was our VIP Waiter, and Tammy was our incredibly skilled and calm Function Director. Both were extremely present and available if we needed anything, but they were also perfectly happy to run the show themselves! When my husband and I stole a couple of moments between the ceremony and the cocktail hour to catch our breath, Maria snuck into our room and brought us champagne, punch, and two of every appetizer so that we could enjoy them before the craziness really set in. And something else that I will never forget is that as I danced and ran around the rest of the night, I noticed that there was always an EC team member standing near me with glasses of ice water on a tray! Every so often, they would approach me and hand me water or offer to hold things for me. This was not even a service I had thought to expect (!), but it was much needed and really sent the message that every staff member at an EC event will make the most of their time and energy to take care of you and your guests.

    It is now many months after our February 2020 wedding, and we are still being told all the time that the food at our wedding was incredible, and in fact that it was the best wedding food our guests had ever had. We one hundred percent agree and would book them again in a heartbeat! Thank you to Michelle, Maria, Tammy, our tasting day servers, our chefs, and every other member of the Entertaining Company team who came together to make our day so lovely and memorable!

    Sent on 11/12/2020
  • K

    Katie · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Above and beyond

    From start to finish, working with the Entertaining Company was wonderful. We were picky to start (and price-conscious), and Moriah and Jane thoughtfully put together several proposals with changes big and small to help us get to our perfect catering plan. The tasting in their office was another clue at how thorough EC would be—they designed a tasting room to look like our venue with our table shape, chairs, and linens. We had a great meal and conversation and took leftovers home.

    On our wedding day, Jane, Colleen, Natalie, and their crew were amazing. They set up the whole space, including things we and the florist had left. They moved flowers from ceremony to reception, organized the flow of the buffet, and offered table service for drinks during dinner from our BYOB bar. Throughout the night, my husband and I were carefully looked after—being offered food and drinks consistently no matter where we'd gotten off to. Toward the end of the night, we were completely wowed by EC when they served the late night snack we'd cut for budget. They added it back in for us as a surprise!

    We could not be happier we chose EC for catering and hope you will too!

    Sent on 08/11/2019
  • Kate

    Kate O'Rourke · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Caterer in Chicago!

    If you’re thinking about using Entertaining Company - look no further, seriously. I used Entertaining Company for my wedding in August 2018 and they were absolutely outstanding. All of the staff working, from Banquets to Servers to Bartenders, is highly professional and well-trained. Presentation of all food was careful and consistent. Everything tasted amazing and we got tons of compliments from guests on the food! HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Special shout-out to amazing Sales Manager Denise Robinette for incredible communication and delivery of our vision! Thank you!!

    Sent on 11/07/2018
  • T

    Tina · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have no idea where to start...my husband and I had such an amazing experience working with Julie & her team in planning our wedding and then on our wedding day.

    From a planning perspective, when we begun planning the food was the item we were the most perplexed about since I'm indian and my husband is not indian. We were struggling coming up with a way to have a wedding that combined our favorite aspects of both cultures while also making sure our guests felt welcome and comfortable. Thanks to Julie we were able to make that a reality. She helped us create the absolutely perfect menu, took all of our feedback from the tastings and never hesitated to provide her opinions based on her expertise. Working with her from day 1 we were completely at ease because of her wonderfully welcoming personality.

    And then there was the wedding day...which was absolute perfection. I want to highlight a couple of details from the wedding day that our guests told us about that still stand out to me and help attest to the amazing service entertaining company provides. Several of our guests told us about how no matter where they were during the cocktail hour - the servers would come and find them to make sure they got food. During dinner, one of my uncles ordered chicken but then when he saw the fish meal he realized he wanted fish. It would have been completely normal for a server to say no but instead they brought him out fish too! During dessert, my brother told a server that my grandma is allergic to eggs and they brought our a separate tray just for her with all the non-egg desserts. Those are just a couple of mentions of their amazing service but there are many many more examples. And then, of course, their food tasted absolutely amazing - it was just as good as our tastings, if not better!

    Sent on 08/05/2017
  • M

    Meagan · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our guests couldn't help but gush about how great the food was!

    Sent on 12/22/2016
  • C

    Christina · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    By far the best food we have ever had at a wedding. We worked with Regan.. who is amazing. I could write an entire review on how fabulous she was to work with and how she guided us to make the best choices for our budget and gave us honest feedback. EC has such a unique POV when it comes to wedding food - and our guests absolutely loved everything. They also have the capability to accommodate your unique asks - they made the most insane charcuterie boards for our tables. From cocktail hour through to end of the night bar service (and even late night snacks!) we had zero complaints.

    Sent on 05/28/2016
  • R

    Rocio · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow!!!!!! The best of the best!!!!! Everything was so amazing!!!! I have recieved so many compliments on the food and service!!!!! Everyone was so amazing!!!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!

    Sent on 08/29/2013
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 01/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Entertaining Company provided the most delicious wedding food we have ever had--and I'm not just saying that because it was our wedding! After almost two months, I still have people calling me to tell me how much they loved the delectable appetizers, the decadent gnocchi, and the beautifully presented chicken. Even better, the staff was completely professional and on top of everything all night--not one person said that the bar line took line or that their food was cold. The staff, especially Molly, one of the event coordinators, is a joy to work with and the food is creative and amazing--you can't go wrong!

    Sent on 03/11/2013
  • Ryan

    Ryan · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome food. We cannot say enough about how great Rachel and the Entertaining Company staff was. Everyone complimented us on how good the food was at the wedding. Rachel put together a unique and fun menu that fit our taste. The price was a little more than what we had wanted to spend, but we are glad we did. It was completely worth it.

    Sent on 06/28/2011
  • D

    Diana · Married on 10/04/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I started calling caterers for our wedding this past October, I found that the majority of caterers weren?t very interested in helping me. We wanted to have Italian food at our small wedding, and were hoping that would fit into our small-ish budget. I wrote an email to several caterers, some of whom I never heard back from. But Rachel Schwanz, from the Entertaining Company, got back to me right away. Really?5 or 10 minutes after I wrote the email she was on the phone, chipper, offering to help and explaining how all this catering stuff works. I did continue to investigate other companies, but from that first conversation I felt confident that I would like Rachel?s proposal best, and that she and I would be a good fit working together to make the food and drinks at our wedding what we wanted. Rachel is INCREDIBLY patient. Being new at the planning thing, I had a lot of questions, a lot of needs, and a lot of revisions, and she was always kind to me, never lost her patience, and continued to be helpful and supportive. Working with her was easy. She was honest, and she really helped us craft a menu that would both work with our budget and please our guests. She had lots of good ideas and suggestions to guide me and make the process of planning easier.

    On the day of our wedding, it was such a joy to see her there. She makes everyone feel welcome and happy, and several of our guests mentioned how much they liked her. She, along with Donna and Matt at the Ivy Room, made our wedding really seamless and successful. The Entertaining Company staff was REALLY nice and accommodating, and the layout of the chairs and tables was perfect and worry-free (at least it was for me!). Rachel coordinated the details adeptly and artfully. I really grew to feel close to her in the time that she helped me plan, and she was so good to me, my now-husband, and our guests on the day of our wedding.

    The food, hors d?oeuvres and drinks at our wedding were exactly what we hoped for. Simple, elegant and delicious. We had several people with food allergies who were all well cared-for, and mentioned that they had never felt that safe about the food they were to eat at an event. We had Bolognese Pasta, artichoke ravioli, salads and sorbets on our menu and they were all wonderful. The bartenders made great drinks, and our friends and family loved them, too.

    All in all, working with Rachel Schwanz at the Entertaining Company was a dream. As a liason for the company, there couldn?t be a better representative?patient, kind, helpful, accommodating, budget sensitive, and capable. The rest of the Entertaining Company?s staff was great, too. We were so happy with the food at our wedding, and working with them, through Rachel, was a breeze, and a pleasant one. She cares so much about what she does, and she is great at her job. Trust her and the Entertaining Company with your party and you will be, even with optimistic expectations, happily surprised.

    Sent on 11/16/2009
  • emiliew

    Emilie · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They made our day so easy and fabulous - i think the thing my husband loved the most was having our own 'butler' following us around getting us drinks and orduorves! He still talks about that :)

    The food was absolutley FABULOUS and they had by far the best menus and customized a menu for our crazy tastes (Asian fusian + Italian anyone?!)

    Really top notch and made everything perfect!!

    Sent on 12/07/2010
  • T

    Erin · Married on 09/12/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been more pleased with the Entertaining Company. Wow! First off, the food was all absolutely delicious. Our guests couldn't stop talking about how tremendous dinner was - and the fact that they also made some of the best pies we've ever tasted was just unbelievable. Amazing! The service was also above and beyond what we expected - every single employee representing the Entertaining Company was relaxed, ultra-professional, and just really good at what they do. They seemed to be everywhere we and our guests needed them to be without ever being intrusive. We were so impressed and delighted. Denise was great to plan with and Tammy handled everything PERFECTLY on the day of! I would recommend the Entertaining Company to anyone looking to throw an amazing party!

    Sent on 10/06/2009
  • N

    N · Married on 07/07/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I didn't go into my trial expecting a lot out of EC, but man, was the food great. We paid a pretty penny (about $38K total for 210 guests - but we had a long cocktail hour, midnight bites, a water / snacks bar during our ceremony...), but people raved about the food. To me, it was worth it. They were great to work with and I would definitely recommend them to my friends.

    Sent on 07/10/2012
  • B

    Beth · Married on 05/15/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Wedding Wire quite a bit in planning my wedding (particularly not having a wedding planner) and so I felt like I should share my experiences with the vendors that we ended up choosing.The Entertaining Co catered our May 15, 2010 wedding, and I couldn't have been more thrilled with them. Molly M. was our coordinator and she was absolutely fabulous to work with. When planning our wedding, I considered proposals from about 6 caterers. After my first two meetings with caterers, I started to think I was going to have to settle for a menu that I was not too excited about- neither seemed to have heard anything I said when I described what I was looking for for my wedding (casual, elegant, unique). In fact one caterer actually came to our meeting with a menu listing meatloaf as our maincourse (not my idea of elegant), which was even worse because I had informed him during our 45 minute conversation the prior week, that my fiance was a vegetarian!

    Needless to say, meeting Molly was a breath of fresh air, she had clearly taken detailed notes during our phone conversation, and had created exactly the type of menu what we were looking for. We went through a couple of revisions, and Molly was always prompt, professional and thoughtful in her response. Throughout the entire process I could tell she really processed everything we were telling her, and made every effort to create exactly the type of event we wanted- basically just a big fun party for our friends and family with lots of booze, good music and great food. That's exactly what we got.

    The night of the wedding, the venue looked beautiful, and the staff was great, Molly was there the whole time making sure everything ran smoothly (and putting up with my 87 year old grandpa's stories!) There were a few very minor mistakes, but nothing significant (wrong chicken on skewers, lines formed because guests thought we had a buffet, instead of 3 separate food stations). Two comments we heard throughout the night were "This is the best food I've ever had at a wedding" and "This is like a 5 star restaurant".

    As impressed as we were with the food, service, venue set up, etc, the most significant thing for me was to be able to work with someone who was really dedicated to making our wedding beautiful and special. In the end, Molly listened to all of the different thoughts we had about what we wanted our wedding to be, and created an evening which was beyond what we'd hoped for. The Entertaining Co. is truly lucky to have her on staff!

    Sent on 07/23/2010
  • M

    Julia · Married on 10/10/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was fantastic at our wedding! Everyone especially commented on the appetizers (the lamb chops in particular as well as mini wasabi burgers). EC also made our cake, which couldn't have been tastier!
    Denise and Molly did a fantastic job of making our event perfect, Molly was in training so Denise took the reins, but Molly was excellent at responding quickly to my emails/questions.
    I would highly recommend Entertaining Company, both for it's excellent food and wonderful staff!

    Sent on 02/25/2010
  • T

    erica · Married on 09/26/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Entertaining Company was a pleasure to work with. Wendy and Julie were responsive and helpful throughout the process. They have terrific menu options and a staff that was professional and reliable. Food is absolutely YUMMY! I would highly recommend EC for any occasion!

    Sent on 10/27/2010
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 08/15/2015

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After reviewing several Chicago catering companies for our wedding, we selected Entertaining Co for their creativity, flexibility and friendly vibe. We also chose them to cater our rehearsal dinner on a boat. My husband and I loved our tasting and really felt their offerings were several steps above typical "wedding food." They also worked with us to incorporate some personal touches, like serving a pork belly hors d'oeuvres with an Eastern NC BBQ recipe from my hometown and customizing our salad course down to every ingredient. Guests also raved about the sea bass entree. A few areas of frustration:
    1. We served two late-night food options, but many of our guests never saw these being offered. The staff seemed to barely circulate and there didn't seem to be much effort made to get these served.
    2. 75% of the wedding chose a steak entree, which was a bit overcooked. I understand when serving a large group it's difficult to cook on the rare side, but the meat generally seemed too well done.
    3. The dessert table was relegated to a corner and many guests never saw where the sweets were being served. This was done to ensure the dessert table would be close to the kitchen, but I might have liked a better recommendation on this placement.

    Overall, I enjoyed my experience working with Entertaining Co and would definitely recommend them to brides that want to offer a more elevated catering spread.

    Sent on 11/05/2015
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/23/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Denise and Entertaining Co. for our recent wedding reception at the Murphy Auditorium. We were thrilled with the service, presentation and taste! We were going for an Italian, very family style, classic, but fun vibe and Denise provided us with lots of really beautiful, but incredibly good, options for a family-style/ and buffet menu. Most importantly, we wanted our guests to be well fed, but were working on a budget. Denise helped us to balance all these requests and we were over the moon elated with the outcome at our wedding.

    In addition to just really good food, we were also really impressed with the staff at our event. The catering team was always checking in with my husband and I to see if we needed another drink (finding us in the middle of the dance floor) or more to eat. We polled our guests who were sitting at other tables and all noted the great service and that the catering team really were so generous and really made it like an enjoyable family meal. Both our cakes/desserts and late night snack were provided by another vendor/baker, but the team was still more than happy to help with passing out all the food – even preparing little to-go bags on the spot. The over the top attention to detail on this made all the difference to our guests and meant a lot to us the day after when we heard all this great feedback!

    We also could not have asked for a better onsite coordinator than Denise. We did not have a wedding planner, but Denise certainly took care of every detail – food and otherwise – at the reception. In the few weeks leading up to the wedding, we met on two occasions to ensure we were all on the same page and she really executed exactly to our will. She reminded us she was first and foremost there for us.

    I must admit that when we first were in touch with Entertaining Company ten months before our wedding I was really frustrated by the lack of response / delay in getting back to us with pricing, details, etc. However, I must say the end product was totally worth every bit of frustration. I know now that Denise was probably giving another bride/client the impeccable service she would give to us. Just be patient and it will all be worth it.

    Overall, we really think our reception was the most fun we’ve ever had in our lives and owe much of the thanks to Denise and the awesome team at Entertaining Company!

    Sent on 01/23/2011
  • J

    Janelle · Married on 05/17/2009

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I would strongly recommend working with Rachel, she had excellent ideas to help us decide what to serve. The best thing about working with these caterers was that they really stuck to our budget, I feel that I received excellent quality food for the price. I will say, however, that some of the other people that I initially worked with (before Rachel took over our event) were a little pushy. I will also say that one of our menu changes was overlooked so one of the items that we wanted was not served (it was a small change though and all of the food still tasted really good).

    Sent on 05/26/2009
  • M

    Mandy · Married on 10/31/2009

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      1.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    Well I must have gotten an off night. I've only ever heard great reviews of Entertaining Company and I had nothing but disappointments. We chose two stations and one of them was a Savory Bakery, the other was a Pasta Station. Our guests didn't understand that the Savory Bakery was not more appetizers so we had a 2 hour wait for the pasta station when we specified we did NOT want any lines for food. A small wait would have been alright but 2 hours!? Then they ran out of food and since dinner went over an hour later than expected, our "late night snack" came out about 15 minutes after the last people got pasta. So... I dunno. This was the one disappointing part of my wedding, I'm sorry to say. Wrote a letter and got a lackluster response back. Maybe my experience is rare but I'd still be careful.

    Sent on 12/29/2009