16 Reviews for Englund's Catering Service

5.0
out of 5.0
16 Englund's Catering Service Reviews
Sort by:

4.9

Englund’s Catering is AMAZING! OK, unless you work for Facebook or Google, most of us have a budget to stick to when planning a wedding. In my book, feeding your wedding guests is by far the most important part of the day and takes up such a large percentage of your budget. So, finding the perfect caterer is probably one of the most challenging tasks. We’re definitely glad we found Derry and here is why:

1. Transparency: He’s honest and upfront about his pricing and what it includes. It was very simple and easy to find online. There are no hidden charges or fees that sneak up on you. Some of the other caterers I talked to wait until the last minute to tell you “oh, it would be $1 extra per person for wine glasses, another $5 per table for linen” etc., etc. With Derry, he puts it all out on the table.
2. Freedom to bring your own alcohol: I work in the wine industry, so knowing that I could bring in whatever I wanted without having to pay corkage was a perfect score in my book.
3. Free tasting: He’s not joking when he says come and taste the food as many times as you like. We did 2 tastings with him and decided on the tri-tip (a must!) and the chicken. We normally would stay away from chicken for buffet style food because it’s usually dry and boring, but try out Derry’s chicken and you will know what I mean! When we went back each time after that to drop off wine, sign the contract and other stuff he ALWAYS, ALWAYS made sure to feed us while we were there! Super nice touch!
4. YUMMY FOOD: The tri-tip was tender and cooked to a perfect med-rare and accompanied with really good spicy horseradish. The potatoes were nice and creamy. There were so many guests that told us this was one of the best meals they ever had at a wedding!!
5. Midnight snack for the couple: at the end of the night they put together few trip tip sandwiches into a bag and handed it to us as we were leaving for our after party. It was perfect as we

Profile Picture angie, 11/15/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Spectacular catering! This food was simply amazing, and what a wonderful deal. My brother is planning on using them next year for his wedding because he liked the food so much! I am so glad that we used Englund's for our wedding. Everyone came back for seconds, and a lot of the guests took food home.

Profile Picture Katherine, 5/10/14, 6 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Derry, what can I say? The food was cooked to perfection on our wedding day. The staff were attentive and professional. They even prepared my husband and I a care packet for our trip. If the food is that good at the Cafe, I'm there! Wish I could give you and your staff higher than a 5!

Profile Picture Helen, 3/30/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0

Derry and his team catered our wedding! The food was incredibly delicious and he and his team have such a wonderful attitude of service. We felt like Derry was committed to making our day the best that it could be. He is easy to work with and flexible. People raved about the food at our wedding and we are still talking about it!

Profile Picture Kristina, 12/28/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

To anyone who has thought "it's no big deal, we can figure out the food for our own wedding - it'll be cheaper anyway": unless you're a professional caterer, DON'T DO IT. Hiring and expert like Derry makes your life SO MUCH EASIER!! His food is generous and delicious, his advice is spot-on, and his prices are super reasonable.

We got married 6 months ago, and our venue had 2 suggested vendors, so we set up meetings with each of them, figuring that'd be a logical place to start. The first place was set up to impress us and the food was fancy and tasty (and spendy). The second was Derry Englund's. Instead of trying to impress us with dainty little bites, Derry served us a sample of what our dinner could be. He had us at the first course - never before have I exclaimed so much about the complexities of a salad, but it was absolutely delicious, and so was everything else. I'm a vegetarian and my husband is a carnivore - both of us left sated, happy, and impressed. All of our interactions with Derry went that way (he lets you come in and try new options as many times as you need to, until you're satisfied - it's a good thing we don't live closer, or we might never have left).

Spectacular food aside, Derry also dealt with linens, bartender, and other details that we, therefore, didn't have to worry about.

Six months later, we still get compliments on how great the food was, and how well things went. In flavor, quantity, quality, and peace of mind, I'd recommend Englund's to anyone who is planning a catered gathering, from a birthday party to a national event, and everything in between.

Profile Picture Anna, 10/26/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

To anyone who has thought "it's no big deal, we can figure out the food for our own wedding - it'll be cheaper anyway": unless you're a professional caterer, DON'T DO IT. Hiring and expert like Derry makes your life SO MUCH EASIER!! His food is generous and delicious, his advice is spot-on, and his prices are super reasonable.

We got married 6 months ago, and our venue had 2 suggested vendors, so we set up meetings with each of them, figuring that'd be a logical place to start. The first place was set up to impress us and the food was fancy and tasty (and spendy). The second was Derry Englund's. Instead of trying to impress us with dainty little bites, Derry served us a sample of what our dinner could be. He had us at the first course - never before have I exclaimed so much about the complexities of a salad, but it was absolutely delicious, and so was everything else. I'm a vegetarian and my husband is a carnivore - both of us left sated, happy, and impressed. All of our interactions with Derry went that way (he lets you come in and try new options as many times as you need to, until you're satisfied - it's a good thing we don't live closer, or we might never have left).

Spectacular food aside, Derry also dealt with linens, bartender, and other details that we, therefore, didn't have to worry about.

Six months later, we still get compliments on how great the food was, and how well things went. In flavor, quantity, quality, and peace of mind, I'd recommend Englund's to anyone who is planning a catered gathering, from a birthday party to a national event, and everything in between.

Profile Picture Jeff, 10/26/13, 7 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Derry is amazing. We found Derry Through our Wedding coordinator.

His food is so Yummy... Not one person left with out feeling full and satisfied. All our Guest Kept Raving how Yummy the mashed potatoes .. Tri-tip and steak was.
The fresh fruit Dip is something out of this world.
We had buffet and the food was in abundance. my guest where able to have seconds.
I would use Derry again . you Cant Go wrong.

Profile Picture candice, 10/18/13, 7 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Derry is amazing he was a pleasure to work with from beginning to end! He and his staff took care of so much on our big day, the food was wonderful warm and in abundance!

Profile Picture Angela, 1/13/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Derry Englund is super flexible and worked with us to fit our needs. Check out their website to get started, but talk to Derry to discuss specifics. We were extremely happy with Englund's Catering both before the wedding and during the reception. The food was delicious and our guests were very happy. I would most definitely recommend Englund's Catering!

Profile Picture User2163014, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

You CANNOT go wrong with Derry. TRUST me! This is the BEST value around, but what is truly priceless is Derry's flexibility. He made sure I did not worry about a thing the days leading up to the wedding, including picking up dry ice to keep my ice cream cake frozen while at the venue.

The quality of food is top-notch and the cuisine is simply good. It's not pretentious and he doesn't skimp on the servings. You can trust that Englund's will have more than enough food the day of your wedding and you won't have to worry about running out.

Derry makes sure that you are confident with your decision ... you can have multiple tastings and bring your family! You can customize your menu ... I even did a Tri-Tip slider station at the end of the night for all my guests.

Everyone loved the food - there wasn't a single complaint! Go with Englund's - I promise you won't be disappointed!

Thank you, Derry and team, for such a stress-free wedding day!!

Profile Picture Jill, 5/26/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Amazing. Best service I could have ever hoped for. So fun to work with and they went WAY above and beyond what I asked for.

All the guest complimented the food for days after the wedding.

Out of all the vendors I hired for the wedding, Englund's is the ONLY one I feel so strongly about telling every bride to hire!

Profile Picture Julie, 9/24/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Excellent food, excellent service...I would highly recommend them. They have different pricing tiers to fit any budget.

Profile Picture Bethany, 9/24/11, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

The food was wonderful! Everyone loved the fresh fruit and the dipping sauce to go with it. Truly amazing!

Profile Picture Leslie, 9/25/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Derry is great to work with. The tasting is free and he totally works with your budget. He also added some things that he normally doesn't do. He is very flexible and so nice. All my guests loved the catering and the food is really good. They even brought a plate of food to the front desk - so thoughtful. All my guests had very positive comments on the food and the service. I would highly recommend Englund's Catering Service. The only downside, is that Derry is very busy so not that good on email. But he gives you his cell phone so that's probably the best way to get ahold of him.

Profile Picture Mika, 8/8/10, 6 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

We absolutely love Englund's! They were so much fun to work with. They set up and take down everything. During the reception, my new husband and I, plus our wedding party was waited on, which was really nice. They are all really friendly.

Profile Picture Shanna, 9/22/07, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Darry and his crew are simply amazing. I recieved so many compliments on the dinner they provided (and some even came from some tough critics). The staff was helpful and went above and beyond what I was expecting from them (which for them, is just how they do business).

Profile Picture Amanda, 8/25/07, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering