Encounters Reviews

50 | Columbia, MD
See photos, pricing and details

50 Reviews for Encounters

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

50

10 User photos

Order by:
  • R

    Renee · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew that in planning our own wedding, we’d need help at least “managing” the logistics of The Big Day. Karin and Peyton did that and so much more. Our wedding ceremony was a small private affair, but the party would be a big do-it-yourself event. We didn’t want a typical venue because we wanted control of the choice of caterer, the timing, the bar, the music – in short everything. We decided on an outdoor event, under a tent in the yard of our best friends. From recommending and coordinating the various vendors, negotiating the fees, and following through on the details, Encounters did it all. They knew we wanted to control some things, and made recommendations, but followed our lead if we wanted to do something different. We went with their recommendations for the cake, band, tent rental, restroom trailer rental, and transportation from a nearby hotel where many guests stayed. I was so glad they were insistent on staff – when I saw how smoothly it went without our having to think about it, I realized it was the only way to go. We got a lot of comments about how wonderful a party it was. Guests talked about how much they loved food, band, everything, but I know the biggest part of what made it a success was the work being done that was “invisible” – that is Karin and Peyton and the wait staff. Karin had to make adjustments to timing when tables were delivered late, and not having paid for set up, we had to rush to get them in place and decorated. Plus I made some last minute changes to the layout, but Karin was on top of it. Peyton had to rush out to get sterno for the buffet when the vendor did not provide it. All was done with a smile. One thing I would do differently is to set extra plates aside so they wouldn’t be opened right away. For efficiency the wait staff opened all the packages at once, so there was no way to return unused items. But that was such a small thing in the scheme!
    I highly recommend Encounters Event Planners. Thank you both!

    Sent on 07/01/2017
  • K

    Kari · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best decision we made for our wedding was hiring Encounters. If anything went wrong the day of, I don't know about it! They handled everything and we had such an amazing time. Planning was easy as well, they provided a lot of suggestions and have so much experience and stories to share that helped me make decisions.

    Sent on 07/01/2017
  • J

    Judy · Married on 11/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When the wedding venue my daughter chose, told us that we should hire a wedding planner to help us with the "day of" arrangements, my daughter and I were worried about the cost and if we would be able to work with someone we didn't know. After reading reviews on Wedding Wire, we contacted Peyton and Karin Craig of Encounters and set up a meeting. From the first meeting my daughter and I felt confident that we had made the right decision to go with Encounters wedding planning. We used their services to help us find some of the vendors and keep us on track with all the pieces of the wedding planning that we needed to do. They responded to all emails quickly and gave us really good suggestions regarding caterers and favors. On the day before and the day of the wedding, they made everything go so smoothly we didn't have to worry about a thing. It was a glorious day and a fabulous celebration. Peyton and Karin are wonderful planners and I highly recommend their services.

    Sent on 07/15/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely LOVED Karin and Peyton!! They are so personable and they know their stuff! My wedding was absolutely flawless thanks to them. Everything ran smooth and it was stress free. They reminded me that it was our weekend and they just wanted us to enjoy our day and they handled everything else! I do not know what I would have done without them!

    Sent on 06/20/2016
  • User6598247 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karin and Peyton of Encounters were instrumental in our daughter's gorgeous wedding on April 9th, we can't thank them enough! This was our second wedding event with them, and they again were there every step of the way. The wedding was not held in a traditional venue, we held it in our home over 4 floors, with an amazing vintage Miami theme, and they ensured that our guests and more importantly our brides would have a great experience. Their attention to detail and relationships with vendors were key, from the caterer, to the lighting, to the sound and photographer, and our last minute tenting due to unexpected cold/snow they worked diligently to have everything in place. We heard countless comments from guests that they had been to many weddings over the years, and this was one of the best, and one that they will always remember. And most importantly, Karin and Peyton always take great care of the wedding couple, throughout the planning and especially on the day of. Our brides were thrilled with their big day and we thank Karin and Peyton for that!!

    Sent on 04/19/2016
  • M

    Mary · Married on 10/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Honestly, if it weren't for Peyton and Karen, I think my husband and I would have been in divorce court. From the instant we met them we knew it was a great fit for us and our daughter and her husband. They were consistently professional and always available for any of us. It was almost like they became "one" with our family during this process. Both Karen and Peyton are excellent listeners, empathetic, caring and kind. With their many contacts in this business they were able to find many discounts that served us very well. At the last minute one of the vendors (who we had found) backed out of our arrangement, and Peyton was quick to find a solution. We miss talking with them and hope we can get together soon as friends. Truly a wonderful experience.

    Sent on 12/25/2015
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    October Wedding

    My husband and I used encounters to help plan our beautiful October wedding. I cannot say enough good things about our experience working with Karin and Peyton! They were so accommodating, patient, and responsive. The connections they had and savings they got us more than paid for their services.

    We had an unbelievably beautiful wedding, and I know it would not have gone as smoothly, or looked as perfect without the help of encounters.

    If you are considering using an event coordinator, DO IT! I cannot overstate how amazing it was to have them on board when planning my wedding.

    I regret not posting this review sooner, but somehow forgot in the midst of married life and new job and grad school.

    Sent on 07/24/2019
  • User6052071 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were living in 2 different states in the Midwest while planning for our wedding in MD. We were glad to have Peyton & Karin as our wedding planners. They were really helpful throughout the process and especially the last-minute things few days before the wedding and on the wedding day!

    Sent on 12/14/2015
  • C

    Chuan · Married on 07/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peyton and Karin are very professional and responsible wedding planners. We scheduled our wedding ceremony only one month after we reached them and surprisingly they gave us a very good and unforgettable wedding plan, everything looked very well planned, and we are 100% satisfied with their help!

    Sent on 08/04/2016
  • User5210552 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is second wedding we have used Encounters as our wedding planners. The first time around I was skeptical about the need for a wedding planner. I am the father of the 2 brides. After my first daughters' wedding September 13, 2014 I became totally convinced that wedding planners are amazing and worth every penny we paid them. Encounters negotiated contracts with our vendors and saved us money for those contracts. I admit I am not very good at negotiating so their help was very significant. Responsive?? Texting, emails, phone calls went on constantly. They responded on weekends late at night and whenever we had questions. The timelines they setup were incredibly helpful. And on the day of the wedding, you want Encounters on the job. You want someone to tell people what they need to do and when they need to do it. The reception was in a large tent at the National Aquarium. A storm moved in and forced everyone to evacuate the tent and go inside the NA. Encounters handled this crisis such that no one knew it was a crisis. All our guests raved about how seamless the transition of moving from the tent to inside went. Encounters worked with the vendors to setup inside NA and everyone had a blast. Encounters saved what was potentially a disaster for my daughter and her new husband. And I repeat everyone had a fantastic time at our reception. I'm glad I don't have anymore more weddings to pay for!! :-) But if I did, I would use Encounters again in a heartbeat!! Peyton and Karin are awesome!!

    Sent on 06/27/2015
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not only were Karin and Peyton fantastic to work with during the wedding planning process, but their attention to detail and expertise during the wedding ceremony and reception resulted in an amazing event.

    We got married in NC and even though Karin and Peyton were not familiar with the area, their connections and knowledge in the process provided us with exactly what we needed in wedding planning services. They were meticulous and kept us on track with decisions and scheduling even when we were struggling to figure out what we wanted. They were able to get to know us and offer suggestions that really matched our style and theme.

    After almost a year of planning, it was incredible how smoothly the entire day went due to this dynamic duo's efforts. They handled unexpected situations so quickly that neither we nor our guests knew anything had happened. As a nervous bride, it was a relief to know they were in the driver’s seat and had everything under control. Their involvement allowed me to relax and be in the moment of our special day. They worked very well with the venue and managed all of the external vendor operations.
    In addition to the wedding ceremony and reception, the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner were a huge success due to their planning and diligence.

    We have attended several events they have planned. Every single one of them has been unique to the couple’s styles, but all have been fantastic. They set the bar very high in event operations. If I had to give advice to anyone who was about to plan an event or wedding I would recommend they hire Encounters. We appreciate everything they did for us and would work with them again in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 05/01/2016
  • User3025732 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I think about my wedding, I think about how hiring Karin and Peyton was one of the best decisions that I made. I work full-time, my husband has a completely erratic schedule, and my mom doesn't live in the area, so I knew I needed help in choosing vendors and logistics for my wedding. So I interviewed numerous wedding planners, after meeting with Karin and Peyton, I knew they were who I would work well with. And I made a great decision. They recommended great Baltimore area vendors for my desserts and flowers, were very responsive, and had some great ideas and suggestions - particularly on things that I, as a first-time bride didn't even think about. I was especially happy that they were there to handle setting the schedule and the logistics with the vendors, as well as any issues that arose (I don't even know if any did because they handled everything)! Overall, Karin and Peyton made the wedding planning not nearly as stressful as I was worried it would be, and they helped make my wedding day a stress-free event that I could sit back and enjoy!! I cannot thank them enough for their wonderful service!

    Sent on 10/08/2015
  • User4325003 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing planners. Super friendly and extremely professional. As a professional working full time it was very helpful to have Karin and Payton to assist us in finding vendors, negotiating prices, and expecially setting everything up. It was very calming to know that if something went wrong and a vendor fell through they knew a list of people who could jump in last minute.

    Sent on 08/14/2014
  • User3765488 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I would highly recommend Peyton and Karin for any wedding planning services! They were so knowledgable on every aspect of the process and have a great repertoire with many different vendors. We honestly could not have pulled off our big fat crazy indian wedding without their help, especially planning from out of state (married on the eastern shore, live in NYC).

    We had countless vendors that were so impressed (or relieved they were helping out with our plans) with Peyton and Karin and how well versed they are in the business.

    Peyton / Karin were there every step of the way, from the very beginning to the end - they were instrumental on the wedding day dealing with all of the vendors (and our demanding family), so we could enjoy our wedding day!

    Sent on 12/30/2013
  • S

    Steve · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recommend Encounters enthusiastically and unequivocally. We went with Karin and Peyton after a work colleague raved about them. They are calming and patient, very parental and caring, and complement each other and work wonderfully as a team. With both our parents up in NY and us in Baltimore, it felt like we had a constant ectopic source of support for our wedding. Whenever something came up, they had seen it before. Nothing phased them.

    Karin and Peyton have decades of industry experience between the two of them and have run a successful joint event planning company for many years now. They've gained experience with hundreds of vendors in the Baltimore/DC/Annapolis area and every time it came time to choose a new vendor, they tailored a perfect, short list that took into account our style and budget. As the planning went on, they knew us enough to zero in on the one or two vendors per category that they thought we'd love, which we did. I can't say enough good things about all the vendors they helped assemble for us. They made for us a superstar team, with everyone on the team dedicated to making our wedding awesome.

    In the end we had a beautiful waterfront wedding on the Eastern Shore with a wonderful ceremony, reception, photography, flowers, and a wonderful weekend planned in Annapolis complete with rehearsal dinner and Sunday brunch. Once again, they were wonderful in helping to plan and actually execute the weekend, especially the day of. They really took care of us behind the scenes and made sure we were fed and calm and enjoying ourselves! The wedding and whole weekend went beautifully and it is all thanks to Karin and Peyton.

    Sent on 06/05/2013
  • E

    Eric A. · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We highly recommend using Encounters for any event planning, they did an outstanding job for my wife and I wedding. They use their expertise to plan every detail to our liking and desire. I would recommend them to anyone and would use their services again for any future events I may have.

    Sent on 05/04/2013
  • T

    Tiffin · Married on 01/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my now husband and I began to plan for our wedding, we realized that the task was going to be too large to do on our own with both of us working full time jobs and me going to grad school. We heard about Encounters and sent an email for a meeting. Right away Karin and Peyton responded and were ready to meet and begin to plan. They continued that responsiveness throughout the 6 months we had together of planning. They always listended to what we wanted and gave suggestions based on our vision. They were more than happy to work with our budget (which wasn't a huge one). Based on our personalities, our budget, and our vision; Encounters created a wedding day that (one month later) I am still glowing over. The Encounters team is amazing and I will spread positive words about them to all planning for their big day!!

    Sent on 02/24/2013
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 10/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a pleasure to work with Karin and Peyton Craig, and I would definitely recommend them to anyone planning a wedding or other event. They always responded quickly to telephone calls and e-mails, recommended excellent vendors and provided helpful advice and input regarding everything from the dinner menu to the typeface on the wedding invitations.

    They also did an excellent job on the day of the wedding, keeping everything organized at the church for the ceremony and making sure the reception went smoothly. The Craigs are very professional, and selecting them as our planning team was one of the best decisions that we made in preparing for the wedding.

    Sent on 10/27/2012
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karin and Peyton are absolutely wonderful to work with. They each have their own specialty areas troughout the planning but work together as the perfect team. They think of all the little, but important details that come up that you never even think of. Wedding planning can get really stressful! They lead you to the right people to work with based on their experience in the business that will get the job done right. The most important thing to me was that they were never pushy and listened to what I liked with open minds and helped figure out a way to make it work for us. They will do as little or as much as you need them to do. When my wedding day came and they showed me around the ballroom before the guests entered I was in awe of how beautiful and perfect everything was. When all the fine details and what seemed like the little stuff came together it was just stunning. I could never have done it without them! All we had to do on the wedding day was try to relax and enjoy ourselves, they took care of everything, and I mean everything else. Peyton even got my husband and I a drink when we were taking photographs during the cocktail hour. I have had so many compliments from guests that I don't even know how to respond anymore. Encounters helped me create the wedding of my dreams, it was a fairytale come true that never would have happened without them!

    Sent on 10/17/2012
  • A

    Al · Married on 09/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peyton and Karin were absolutely fantastic! We could not have done it without them. Our only regret is not having them with us from the day when we got engaged! They were prompt to answer all our questions, to give us fine recommendations, and they were spectacular during the day of the wedding making it enjoyable for us and taking all the worry away on our special day. The whole thing went so smoothly! We were really really happy with them! They also worked our friend's wedding and they were great as well, so I can say that by having them on my own wedding and watching them in action at another, I have no doubt that they would excel and would provide an outstanding service again and again and again!

    Sent on 01/01/2013
  • A

    Denise · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karin and Peyton were there whenever we needed them. They provided quality resources and kept us moving to the next decision. Planning a wedding is an enormous undertaking but having the support of Encounters made the whole experience wonderful. The day was perfect, the memories are wonderful.

    Sent on 10/22/2011
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 08/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karin and Peyton were awesome! We couldn't believe how smooth the wedding day was, all of the details were taken care of and we just had an amazing time. The vendors that they helped us choose were all 10's. If we ever get married again (joke!), we would definitely go with Encounters.

    Sent on 10/24/2011
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 07/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karin and Peyton are an outstanding team and hiring them was the best thing we did for our wedding. Although we planned from a distance, everything went very smoothly. All the vendors they recommended were exceptional. Karin and Peyton worked very hard on the wedding day and it was noticed by all. We could not have asked for better planners. We felt very comfortable with them. The service they provided was personable, professional, courteous and accommodating. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

    Sent on 10/30/2011
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am not exaggerating when I say hiring Karin and Peyton was the best decision we made when it came to our wedding. My husband and I both work full time so it was extremely important for us to find someone who was helpful, responsive, flexible & organized since we were planning 170 person wedding over an entire wedding weekend. Karin and Peyton went above and beyond this and made our wedding the most memorable experience. If there were any issues that arose during the wedding, we never noticed because everything was perfect. It's been a year and half since our wedding and people still come up to my husband and I and say our wedding was the best wedding they've ever been too. I have to attribute this Karin and Peyton's expertise and service. If you are looking for a wedding or event planner you should definitely hire Encounters as your coordinators. There is no one more I trust!!! Thank you Karin & Peyton!!!

    Sent on 12/25/2012
  • Meredith

    Meredith · Married on 01/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BRAVO!!! I absolutely loved working with Encounters. They are true professionals with years of experience. They attended to every detail, and have an extensive network of already existing vendor relationships. They were thorough, friendly, and just a joy to work with.

    On the day of my wedding, they were there right there with me thinking about all of the things I didn't want to be thinking about so I could just enjoy the day. They made sure that every detail was accounted for. I was so blessed by having them there. I'd highly recommend them!

    Sent on 01/25/2011