Elopements by Ella Reviews

26 | Oakland, CA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Elopements by Ella

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

26

17 User photos

Order by:
  • Peter

    Peter Adamyan · Getting married on 04/08/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A photography that cares about what you want.

    Ella was wonderful, she really listened to us when we told her what we wanted instead of trying to tell us what this type of shoot requires. She understood what we wanted, and in particular what we DIDN'T want, and delivered on it! She was comfortable to be around, which was the most important thing for us.

    Sent on 12/05/2019
  • G

    Gina Ham · Married on 11/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Engagement and wedding photos

    Ella Sophie is wonderful to work with! She had a way of capturing the best moments during these special occasions and was on top of making sure we included everyone we wanted. Ella is also open to suggestions or requests, and gives direction during the shoot to help us feel relaxed. Also, the turn around time for images was extremely fast and easy to access.

    Sent on 12/23/2019
  • Heather

    Heather · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Do yourself a favor and pick her!

    With all the vendors we had, Ella was hands down the most professional, responsive and knowledgeable. From the very first conversation, I knew we were in good hands. She was honest with me about her skills and humble in the fact that it was important connect with your client. I felt throughout the entire process that I didn’t just hire photographer, I had hired a close friend that really cared, much needed in the chaotic of wedding planning. She helped me build my timeline, gave me realistic advice without making me feel like I was compromising my vision. She helped me understand the little details that make a wedding go smooth. So she is an amazing person. Cool. Her work is even better! The photos were candid and intimate. Just what we wanted. They captured the true essence of the moment and who we were. She kept us on track and timeline went off without a hitch. Our wedding day was exactly what we wanted. She is worth every penny. We are very thankful we found her!

    Sent on 12/05/2019
  • Hannah

    Hannah Yanow · Married on 03/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect photographer= Ella!

    Ella Sophie helped my partner and I take photos that we never thought were possible, for both our engagement and elopement! We had never taken professional photos together before our engagement photos, but when Ella got us in front of the camera, it was the most natural thing in the world. She had us laughing, just being us, hanging out. It was the most authentic photography experience I have had because she let us just 'be' rather than do something posed. We hired her for both our engagement photos and our elopement photos, and both experiences were fantastic. Our elopement only had 6 other people there, and Ella became a part of the group seamlessly. Couldn't have asked for a better photographer!

    Sent on 12/16/2019
  • E

    Elizabeth Molnar · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Natural and True Photography

    Ella Sophie was a dream to work with! We both felt super comfortable and at ease around her and our photographs reflect that, they are natural and represent our true selves. We highly recommend her and her work!

    Sent on 06/20/2019
  • Ben

    Ben Walker · Married on 10/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience

    Ella did all of our wedding photography, including an engagement shoot and the wedding itself. The outcome was fantastic - lots of wonderful photos - but it was the process that really made the difference. She was professional (on time, communicative, honest) but also easy going and very likeable, which made both of us feel super comfortable. She advised us on all aspects of the photography, but was also invaluable in providing advice about many other aspects of our wedding.
    Stop looking for a photographer and just give her a call!

    Sent on 06/30/2019
  • L

    lindsay · Married on 10/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Ella photograph boudoir portraits for me, something I had never done. I'm a fellow photographer, so to say I'm picky about who photographs me would be an understatement. When working Ella, I didn't just fell comfortable with having my photograph taken, but I was comfortable with being photographed in my underpants! That is a huge deal for me! I've struggled so long with body image and wanting to feel great in my own skin. Ella immediately connected with this and made me feel elegant, confident and happy in my portraits. I left feeling great- but nothing tops being able to view the portraits after the session. I looked freaking amazing! These images are going to be something I hold on to forever because they celebrate ME! Thanks Ella!!!

    Sent on 01/08/2018
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let's see where do I start?

    I suppose I'll start with a list of PROS and CONS:

    PROS:
    -She's artistic AF, but also sneaky type A and reliable AF. I love that I know she will always be on top of communication/on time.

    -She always responds to emails in a timely fashion, and clearly knows how to work tech, beyond photoshop.

    -She is HONEST in the nicest way possible. She isn't afraid to tell you when you're doing something that looks weird, or in my case when I need to lift up my chin, change an angle (REAL GIRLFRIEND STATUS, amiright?)

    -She can work in many settings. I started off with just a personal shoot, and became SO obsessed with her that I then had her photograph my business, dog, wedding and epic adventures before and after. I'm obsessed with her

    -She's got magical fingers/timing/lighting to capture the moment and your essence. Every time I've shot with her she comes out with SO many usable, beautiful images where I end up not being able to choose favorites. My personal shoot, I expected ~10, I chose 60. My business shoot, I expected 25, I chose 200. My wedding photos, I expected 100, she gave me ~5,000.

    -She promotes women and small businesses and makes you look like a bad ass no matter your setting.

    CONS:
    -She was new to the Bay Area when I met her so I was able to have her a lot to myself.. She's MUCH busier now and high in demand, so book your session STAT!

    CONCLUSION:
    Words really cannot express how much I love Ella Sophie. She never asked me to write this review, but I could not think of any other way to show and gush my appreciation for her ability to capture really important moments/parts of my life. Working with her is like hanging out with an old girlfriend. You're super excited to see each other every time and then you just naturally fall into place. I already can't wait for our next shoot. :)

    Sent on 12/13/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My partner and I planned our wedding in about 6 months. We had to divide and conquer the tasks, and it was quickly decided that I would be the one to find our photographer. By the time I was looking for a photographer the wedding was 4-5 months away, I anticipated having some trouble finding someone who was available, in our price range, and someone who I would appreciate having at my special day. Ella was perfect. I found her through recommendations of other photographers and by screening her photographs, which were beautiful and creative. We chatted on the phone, and then we met her in person to ensure it was a good fit--and it definitely was a good fit. I appreciated her direct communication with us about her contracts, her time, and the logistics of photographs. The photographs turned out beautiful, intimate, and perfectly reflective of our big day. I'd choose Ella again for any event!

    Sent on 12/14/2017
  • J

    Janet · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ella and Chris are absolutely amazing! They are so organized and were fantastic at talking me and my husband through the process, including step by step ideas of how the big day would go. We made a list of photos I had to have in advance and they turned out fabulous. Ella did an outstanding job of capturing the magic of the day as well as the warmth, joy, and laughter of our relationship and our relationships with our family/wedding party/etc. Not only where the photos of the ceremony and guests outstanding, but the artistic shots of each detail of the day will help us relive the magic of our wedding forever. We could not be happier with Ella and Chris, thank you both so much for helping us capture the best day of our lives!

    Sent on 11/08/2016
  • T

    Tessa · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the minute that we decided to book Ella as our wedding photographer, we knew that we had made the perfect decision! She was responsive, flexible, incredibly creative and made us feel comfortable and at ease throughout the entire process. Most importantly, she is so easy going and is a great person to have around on your big day! For those not used to being in front of a camera (like us!), she provides just enough guidance while still allowing the photographs to be candid and natural. We were so impressed and happy with all of the photos, and would highly recommend her services to anyone looking for a top quality, professional photographer!

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ella was such a pleasure to work with for our wedding, she has an easy going vibe which was just what we needed. She was great with communication and her photos came out beautiful. Highly recommend working with her!

    Sent on 11/29/2016
  • User5607754 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I did a boudoir photo shoot with Lea Sophie as a Christmas gift for my boyfriend. I had never done anything like this before and was super nervous on the day of the shoot, but she immediately put me at ease and made me feel comfortable in front of the camera. We spoke on the phone a few times before the shoot to plan everything, and she suggested that I make a Pinterest board for inspiration, which we went over together to make sure she understood what I was looking for. I could tell that she put a lot of thought and effort into the shoot so that the finished product would truly be a reflection of who I am. Her photographs are beautiful and sophisticated and unlike any other boudoir photos I've seen. I would recommend her to anyone!

    Sent on 11/11/2015
  • D

    Danielle · event on: 12/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lea is an amazing photographer! She shot a boudoir shoot for me, (twice!) and always knows how to bring out my best qualities, making me look amazing. She is very professional and fun to work with, and will produce just what you're looking for. This is the second shoot I've done with her because she is easygoing, I feel comfortable working with her, and he shoots amazing work. For a great deal and great pictures, I highly recommend working with Lea! Thanks again Lea, I couldn't be happier with my photos!! :)

    Sent on 12/15/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 11/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, where do I start? Lea truly captured parts of myself emotionally and mentally that I never knew I had. Our recent boudoir photo shoot was exactly the self image revitalization that I needed. She made it very comfortable to be only partly clothed and express myself freely. It was such a pleasurable experience and I felt pampered the entire time. Going into the photo shoot, I was quite nervous and assumed that I wouldn't like the pictures because I was self conscious. After a quick turn around time, Lea had sent me the photos and I bursted out in tears of happiness. What she saw in me, she captured on her lens and made me see myself in a different light per say. I highly recommend her!

    Sent on 11/29/2015
  • C

    Clarissa · Married on 10/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lea and her husband were a wonderful choice as our photographers! She captured the amazing moments of our wedding day that allow us to relive our day in photographs. I'm constantly complemented on the pictures that were taken. She was candid during the actual day and captured the true emotion. She did everything she needed to get wonderful pictures including climbing on a chair to get a picture from above and planning a gorgeous first look setting in a venue she was not familiar with. Lea was professional and had a fair price for the quality service she offers.

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lea and her husband Chris were a pleasure to work with! When I first spoke to Lea over the phone, I told her about my ideas as far as photography and she was very open to them and even made her own suggestions (which I loved!). I could tell that she really understood what I wanted and she was very easy to talk to. From our first conversation, I quickly set up an appointment so that we could meet in person. When making the appointment, I informed her that we have a 6 month old son. So, instead of coming to her, she offered to meet us at our apartment (luckily we live close to her and her husband). At our meeting, she explained each package and made sure to suggest the one that would best fit our wedding day. She showed us her work from past events and brought over sample photo albums for us to look at. After speaking with her, I knew that we had finally met a photographer that not only fit our budget, but also understood our vision :) After booking our wedding date with her, we quickly set up another date to do our Engagement/Family pics. We told her that we wanted to do our pictures in the city and she quickly emailed me a list of places. During our photo session with her, she was very easy to work with and made us feel comfortable. More importantly, her and her husband were extremely patient with our son who was getting a little cranky during the end! In the weeks before our wedding, Lea was very responsive to all emails and made sure she found the right place for our pictures. I told her that my fiancé and I wanted to attend our cocktail hour so she made every effort to find a place that was in close proximity to our wedding venue. Her and her husband even drove around looking for the perfect pond for our photos! During our wedding, she worked hard to capture every moment. After our wedding, we received our photos within a few weeks and couldn't be happier! I'm looking forward to working with her again for future family photos :)

    Sent on 12/20/2015
  • J

    Jake · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ella was not only a consummate professional but extremely friendly and easy to work with, which allowed us to be completely relaxed and photogenic! Great person and professional.

    Sent on 11/03/2016
  • User5609026 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved working with Lea. She was friendly and relatable and she does amazing work.

    Sent on 11/11/2015
  • J

    Jeremy · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything you could want or need in a wedding photographer. One of the easiest parts of our wedding was the pictures thanks to Lea and her partner! Professional, comfortable, and beautiful.

    Sent on 06/02/2015
  • H

    Hansi · event on: 10/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an evening event in Manhattan - a group of about 30 people. We had planed to have the photographer for about 2 hours But it turned out to be longer. Lea had no problem staying on. The crowd was not easy to photograph but Lea was very professional and thanks to her creativity the result was just great. We got many (!!) positive responses from our guests and the photo collage was used in some of our guests websites.

    Sent on 12/04/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were incredibly happy with our wedding photos. Leah was very helpful and professional. She was able to get some wonderful candid shots of our family and friends, capturing them laughing, smiling and hugging. She did a great job making sure to include everyone and her attention to detail was impeccable. Our wedding was outdoors and she planned out good locations to create a tasteful backdrop. She brought good lighting for late night dancing shots. She was very timely in providing us with the pictures. We are so glad we hired her to do our photos and would highly recommend her!

    Sent on 12/04/2014
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 09/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The minute my husband and I became engaged , I was planning for our wedding. Immediately I already had my eye set on Lea Sophie for our wedding photographs. I had worked with her previously and I knew how talented and professional she was to work with. We got married this past September on a nice crisp fall day. Our guests commented on how lovely Lea was at making sure all of our wedding day was captured. She took some of our favorite shots with the breeze of the day.
    My husband and I were speechless when we saw our wedding photographs for the first time. She was quick at putting together our album, we appreciated that very much. She catches beautiful moments without you even knowing, not a surprise when working with Lea.
    I've looked at her wedding photographs online and can say she is an artist when it comes to adapting to whatever preferences you have. She can work with anything given to her, she is a true artist she is friendly and accommodating to your needs.. We loved working with her and could not have imagined a better experience with a photographer! Bride Sommers

    Sent on 12/12/2014
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lea was an outstanding photographer for our wedding. She has a great eye and captured all the special moments.

    Sent on 12/04/2014
  • User7127481 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Ella Sophie. The only thing that could have been better was getting a little more direction when we were doing group shots following the ceremony, but all the photos came out beautifully!

    Sent on 08/24/2016