Ellen Seagraves Reviews

12 | Bethesda, MD
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Ellen Seagraves

Recommended by 98%

12

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • J

    Jaunita · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen did a fantastic job with our flowers – for both the ceremony and reception.  She worked with us and brought her significant experience to help us choose our floral arrangements.  She was very flexible and helped us think through different options. When the day of the wedding came, everything was set up and looked great. Ellen had knew her work and was reliable – which allowed us to relax and focus on our big day.


  • B

    Brittany · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen was fantastic and recommended to me by a friend who uses her services for work events. We wanted someone who would work within our budget and she definitely did. She also really listened to what I liked and didn't and our flowers and greenery were exactly what I envisioned -- completely perfect. I could not recommend Ellen more highly!

  • User7669284 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Ellen provided the flowers and decor for our November 2016 wedding and reception. She did an AMAZING job and was a pleasure to work with. Ellen listened to our vision and took us shopping at a wholesale flower market. She also offered to work within our budget, and I was amazing at what she could accomplish for such a great value! The whole event came together beautifully. She even constructed a beautiful birch chuppah for our ceremony. Thanks, Ellen! ! :)

  • G

    Grace · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen was wonderful! She did flowers for both the church and the venue for our October 2016 wedding. She was great at working with our "vision" and listening to us as we showed her dozens of pictures we had found online. She helped us sort through our ideas for the bouquets, centerpieces, and so on. She also took us to a flower wholesale shop so that we could see the flowers in person. We learned a lot about flowers just by working with her. The day of, all of the arrangements were stunning! My bouquet was both gorgeous and not too heavy-- something I had worried about given that I loved the look of the wild, cascading versions. Ellen's work was perfect and we highly recommend her!

  • User3894548 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I feel so blessed to have the opportunity to work with Ellen. I heard about Ellen Seagraves from a friend's recommendation. She told me how Ellen was reasonably priced, and provided a spectacular display at her wedding. I e-mailed Ellen, and was able to meet with her right away. What made our meeting even more amazing, was when Ellen took me to the local floral warehouse to help give me an idea of what I liked and wanted. I was a pretty open-minded, not-picky at all-kinda bride. I didn't know what I wanted. I was just like, "hey, so you can look at my pinterest to see my pins of what I like, and if you can incorporate purple in, that'd be great!" I had no specific ideas of what I wanted. I had an idea of it in my head, but didn't know how to explain it. Ellen would ask me what I wanted, and I would just say..."Uh...". Ellen would then finish my sentence with, "How about this, and then we add this as well..." I would then be speechless. She just spoke my mind without me ever saying anything! Ideas after ideas would come pouring out of Ellen's mouth, and each idea would get more and more brillliant. How does she know???

    Ellen would make some sample bouqets/centerpieces before the wedding to make sure you like it, and to get an idea of what you really want. Everything that she made, I loved. They day of the wedding, I wanted to cry looking at all her work. It was everything I imagined, without me saying much to her. She is a genius! Everyone thought I spent a good fortune on the flowers at my wedding. Ellen's centrepieces were so beautiful, that there were none left for even me to take home!

    If you want someone who is sweet, patient, and an artistic genius, I highly recommend Ellen Seagraves. She will definitely increase the wow factor in your wedding. Words cannot describe how happy I am to have worked with Ellen, and to see her work on the actual wedding day.

  • User5104647 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen Seagraves is an outstanding wedding florist. She met with us to get a sense of what we were looking for and then went with us to the flower market a couple of months before our wedding so she could show us examples of the types of flowers she was considering. The floral arrangements, bouquets, and boutonieres she provided on the day of our wedding were absolutely stunning. We were so happy with Ellen's work.

  • K

    Kristin · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen did an absolutely wonderful job with the flowers for my wedding! She had a very personal touch, and she took me to the flower mart so that I could get a better idea of the flowers that were available to choose from. She made several samples for me and tweaked them over and over again until we had the exact colors that I was looking for. She was so patient and kind as we traded one shade of pink for another and one type of lavender rose for another. When Ellen walked into my hotel room with the bouquets on the day of the wedding, my bridesmaids literally oohed and ahhed at the sight of the flowers. I got so many compliments from guests and even the photographer about how beautiful the flowers were. I would highly recommend Ellen to any bride in the Virginia-DC-Maryland area. She worked tirelessly to ensure that I loved my flowers on my wedding day!

  • B

    Bethany · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen providing the chuppah, flowers, and candles for our wedding. She met with my husband and me at her home, discussing style, colors, preferences, and budget. As with all weddings, budgets are tough, and Ellen worked with us to find a combination that met our budget. Then she took us to the flower wholesaler to look at different options for both flowers and candles. Then she provided three examples of centerpieces for us to chose from ahead of time. She was very helpful and responsive through the entire wedding planning process.

    The bouquets and boutineers were beautiful and fresh for our evening ceremony. Whites and creams for me and my husband, blues for the bridesmaids and groomsmen, plus something specials for our moms and dads and grandparents. The chuppah was so lovely - exactly as I imagined. She stayed at the location to help flip the ballroom and put the centerpieces on the tables. We had half flower arrangements and half floating candles in tall vases. The room just sparkled when we walked in for dinner. Ellen was an amazing guide to the world of flowers and brought continuity and a glow to the ceremony and reception. I would highly recommend her.

  • User4109730 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen was so great to work with! She was very flexible with our budget, and had great ideas for our floral decor and centerpieces that turned out better than I'd dreamed! She also went above and beyond to visit our venue in advance and speak with the venue staff to iron out details. Ellen is truly amazing and I highly recommend her services!!!

  • C

    Charlotte · Married on 02/07/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were delighted with our wedding flowers! From the very first, Ellen and Hal took the time to really listen to what we wanted - style, colors, requirements - and from their experience, had lots of suggestions for what would work well. I met them a second time on a Saturday at a wholesaler and got to handpick the flowers I liked most. And they spent the time sorting various colors of red roses and chartreuse hydrangea and tea leaves on a cart until one combination just popped, and we both agreed that was "it". I could feel their excitement about the art of flower arrangements - they really cared about achieving a "look" and one that would create the right mood for our event, match our personalities. And I wasn't the pickiest bride, but I'm a painter, and I LOVE color.

    We felt very welcome to change our minds at any time up until the week of the event! And on the day of the event, they were on time (an hour ahead) and stayed to help attach all the boutonnieres and even arranged my veil while I stood outside the church awaiting the big entrance. My bouquet with its dark red roses and green hydrangea and a few popping green tulips was a cascading colorful display of natural, joyful beauty. True artistry.

    I recently attended a friend's less traditional backyard wedding on a beautiful spring day in the Hamptons. The flowers Ellen and Hal arranged in tall oblong clear vases with orange and blue glass balls inside stood on the long white tables underneath the white tents and simply transformed the place. The fanned leaves and pale orange blossoms created an atmosphere that transported the guests on a Saturday afternoon to someplace else exotic.

  • H

    Heather · Married on 10/20/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ellen is the best! Everyone loved the ceremony decor as well as the reception centerpieces. So highly recommended!

  • M

    Meagan · Married on 01/17/2016

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Ellen did a fine job. My biggest issue was the inconsistency in her work and communication. We met with her and picked out the centerpiece vase (to match other glass used at the venue) and we never saw it again. It was not what was used for our centerpieces.

    You will receive a fine price for her flowers, but I strongly recommend that anyone using her be very clear and direct (and document) any of your wishes.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review