21 Reviews for Duke Farm

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Uncovered Outdoor (2)
Parking (2)
Indoor (1)
Covered Outdoor (1)
Event Planning (1)
21 Duke Farm Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

We started the wedding planning 2 years out & when we started looking at all of the barn venues we were floored on the pricing. After some recommendations through facebook, we found The Duke Farm. Harold & Debbie have been super easy to work with & flexible with visits to the location. Two gorgeous ceremony sites with nice elegant chairs. They even have a room full of decorations that you can use if you're having a more rustic wedding. Very afforable & provide various payment options to make it more manageable. We have not yet been married but so far we have been very pleased with everything. I plan to update this review after our big day!

Profile Picture Jade, 5/27/17, 9 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Parking, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

If you are looking for that dream wedding venue, then the Duke Farm is for you! We started planning our wedding a year and a half out (January 2014), and the day we chose to tour venues it poured down rain. Out of 4 venues we looked at, the Duke Farm had the best rain contingency plan, and the best venue owners! From the very beginning Harold and Debbie Wales were polite, organized, and willing to help in any way they could. They have a flexible schedule and will work with you on dates and times to visit. They’ve been using their home as a venue site for many years, so they can tell you what works and doesn’t work well. Including a vendor list that of people familiar with the venue. Plus, if you’re looking for rustic chic decorations, they have an entire back room full of decorations to borrow for your special day!
The ceremony site we chose was underneath their gorgeous Willow Oak (they have a pond site as well). The site is spacious yet it still has an intimate quality. The soft green grass, blooming wildflowers, and surrounding woods are a breathtaking outdoor experience. Sound travels exceptionally well, even without the use of microphones. Elegant white chairs that are owned by the Duke Farm for ceremony use. At the end of our wedding day we couldn’t count the number of times we heard “that was the best ceremony I’ve ever been to”. We know it wouldn’t be the same without this amazing site!
The reception site includes a 28 Ft. x 80 Ft. Pavilion that our 135 guests with room to spare. From the pavilion is a covered, flower lined, walkway that leads to the barn where drinks are served at the bar and dancing can ensue on the dance floor. Strands of white lights encircle the entire interior, adding that extra touch of romance for this magical setting. Our guests also enjoyed the breathtaking views as the sun set over the fields.
All in all, this wedding venue is affordable, personal and run by caring professionals.

Profile Picture Chelsea, 9/5/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Event Planning, Parking, Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
4.8

The Duke Farm is a beautiful, remote setting that is perfect for a laid-back wedding. The owners are very accommodating and have great tips for the best use of the property. They also have quite a few decorations they allow you to use, and they only host one wedding per weekend.

Profile Picture Mary, 6/20/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The owners, Debbie and Harold Wales, are two very personable people. They were very friendly, thorough, and organized on our first tour and every time we spoke and worked together afterwards. They are understanding and are willing to help you out with pretty much anything. I heard a countless number of positive comments about them from my family and friends and their amazing service on our wedding day. They truly put their heart into this business and love what they do. I would recommend The Duke Farm to anyone. Our wedding day was everything I dreamed of thanks to this great venue with excellent owners!

Profile Picture Britt, 5/23/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I had my wedding at the Duke Farm September 2014. The venue was so beautiful and absolutely everything a bride could ask for when wanting a country themed wedding. Debbie and Harold are the sweetest and most helpful people to work with. They are pretty much your wedding planners for the day making sure everything goes smoothly. Harold even took the kids on a hayride around the farm :) Plus, I topped the night off with fireworks! Who all can say they had fireworks at their wedding?! I give The Duke Farm 5 stars without a doubt!!
The Taylor's

Profile Picture Tracy, 9/27/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Harold and Debbie were fantastic and incredibly sweet. They spent a lot of time helping coordinate our unique seating arrangements and even helped us set up and break down all of our items. We would highly recommend them. They made us feel like part of their families. They helped coordinate with all of our vendors which limited the stress that might have been. Thank you, the Fleshmans

Profile Picture Eric, 9/13/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Having our wedding at the Duke Farm was like a dream come true for me. As a young child, I grew up on a crop/pig farm and loved every minute of being a "country kid". Later in life, my family had to move away from our farm and I have missed it ever since. However, I had always dreamed of having my wedding take place in a farm/country setting since this was the type of place that I loved the most and felt the most connected to.

Flash forward to present day: My husband and I had looked at one other potential farm venue prior to finding the Duke Farm. The first venue we looked at was quite beautiful and the owners very friendly, though the venue did not provide a "Plan B" ceremony option in case of inclement weather (which the Duke Farm does). Because of this, we continued our "Google" search for wedding venues and happily stumbled upon the Duke Farm not long afterwards.

Like many others have already said in their reviews, the Duke Farm is a fabulous country/rustic wedding venue with the most amiable and accommodating owners you could ever ask for. Throughout my wedding planning process, both Harold and Debbie made sure I knew it was okay to call or email them if I had any questions (which I often did!) I suppose I didn't know at the time, but I can honestly say now that Harold and Debbie were a big part of why I chose the D.F. as my wedding venue. They are such nice and genuine people at heart, and I truly value and appreciate that about them.

Things I loved the most about the Duke Farm:
1. Country/rustic setting: Secluded/private farm location, crop fields surrounding farm, barn on site (used for serving appetizers, drinks, and a place for dancing).
2. Wonderful owners!
3. Couple's choice of ceremony location: Willow-oak tree or pond. We chose the tree.
4. Plan B option in case of inclement weather: The Duke Farm offers their pavilion as the area to have the wedding reception, but if needed, it also doubles as the ceremony location.

Profile Picture Amy, 8/16/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Wow! The Duke Farm was the first place that my husband and I looked at for our wedding, and after meeting Harold and Debbie (the farm owners), it was the only place we looked. We fell in love with the farm after our first visit and we appreciated Harold and Debbie's dedication to making our day everything we wanted. To start, the farm is absolutely beautiful. It perfectly fit our rustic, natural and laid-back wedding theme. I loved the fact that there were 2 locations to choose to get married, near the pond or near the willow tree. We chose to have our ceremony under the willow tree. There is also a beautiful barn with gorgeous wood floors and a built in bar. There is also a pavilion near the barn where we had our tables set up. The farm is spacious and people have commented that they never felt cramped or like there wasn't enough space. Our guests felt very comfortable and relaxed! Harold and Debbie were easy to work with and very friendly. They also had props for us to use during our wedding (like 3 barrels that we used to display our cupcakes and cake on). Oh and there are also bathrooms for your guests- something that similar venues did not offer.

I could go on forever but I'd just like to say that The Duke Farm met my expectations a million times over. It was a truly beautiful day and one of the best days of our lives. So many people have said that this was the BEST wedding they had ever been to. Thank you, Harold and Debbie!

Profile Picture Emily , 7/12/14, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4

Harold and Debbie, the owners of Duke Farm, were a pleasure to work with! I had A LOT of different ideas of how I wanted to use the space and they were very accommodating. On the BIG DAY they were amazing, helping run the behind the sense. They went above and beyond helping us set everything up.

The farm is beautiful and very quiet. You don't have to worry about any road noise. The barn is beautiful inside and perfect for the dace floor. They have really done a lot of work to modernize the space so it's comfortable for weddings but still has the historic charm.

Profile Picture User2351564, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

What a wonderful place to enjoy an outdoor, country style wedding. Debbie and Harold are just a phone call away. They are there to help you from set-up Friday afternoon until Sunday when everything is broken down. the beautiful thing is the fact that that they only schedule 1 wedding a weekend. This is nice because you do not have to rush to do anything. Show up Friday evening for the rehearsal, Saturday is the wedding, Sunday you get to come back and clean up flowers, gifts, etc. Absolutely GREAT location and beautiful scenery.

Profile Picture Justin, 9/28/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

AWESOME PLACE TO HAVE YOUR RECEPTION IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A COUNTRY WEDDING SPOT

Profile Picture devon, 8/17/13, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Duke Farm is the perfect venue for a couple that wants a unique ceremony and reception with close friends and family. The venue is a beautiful farm in York County. There is an incredible outdoor ceremony site, as well as a rustic barn, and a pavilion for dinner and dancing. They are very flexible and, while the site is beautiful, it is basically a blank slate that you can transform into whatever you want! You choose the decorations, the caterer, the linens... everything! For us, this is exactly what we wanted. The best part about this venue- the owners Deb and Harold. They are by far the most caring, professional, and capable people you could ever ask for to make your wedding day amazing. And... they only do one wedding a weekend. So you know for sure that your vendors, guests, and site will have their full attention. All night, I kept hearing compliments from our guests about how incredible the farm was, and how our wedding was different from any wedding they'd ever been to.

My biggest advice is that if you are interested in the Duke Farm, book it early! While it is amazing that they only do one wedding per weekend, it also means that the spots fill up VERY quickly!

Profile Picture Lauren, 9/1/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The owners of the farm were incredibly helpful. They offered tips on how to set up, but were never too pushy. I appreciated their advice! The day of the wedding, I was able to get ready in the bridal room and know that all was being taken care of as they directed in traffic and gave directions to the DJ, caterer, minister, etc. When I emailed them questions, they responded promptly, and were always incredibly pleasant. Not to mention the setting is BEAUTIFUL. For a country wedding, it is perfect with a pond, farmhouse, barn, corn in the background for pictures. The best part was when the owner offered to take the kids on tractor rides during the reception -- they loved it! And I loved taking photos on the tractor. Would recommend it to anyone.

Profile Picture Jess, 8/18/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7

This is such a beautiful location, and it was a big part of my wedding turning out to be such a fantastic day. I can't express how caring and helpful you will find the owners of the farm to be. They are such a nice couple, and are willing to go the extra mile to make your big day perfect.

Profile Picture Brittany, 6/16/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Duke Farm was the absolute perfect place for our wedding! The venue is absolutely stunning and offers two ceremony sites to choose from. The first site is a lovely pond with a platform and floating dock and is perfect for smaller wedding parties. The second site is a gorgeous willow oak tree, which in my opinion, is the centerpiece of the farm...it's gorgeous! Behind the tree there is also a flowing creek, which only adds to the ambiance. For the reception portion of the wedding, the pavillion seats approximately 180 guests and is lined with white lights, which look beautiful at night. It is also equipped with drop-down white vinyl sidings with windows in case of inclement weather. The pavillion leads directly to the barn, which conveniently houses the dance floor and bar area. All of our guests really enjoyed the fact that the bar and dance floor were in the same location, and it really helped to keep the parting going. Both the barn and pavillion are located on top of a hill, which provides amazing views of the entire farm. Both Harold and Debbie, the venue owners, are absolutely wonderful and have done a tremendous job rennovating and maintaining the venue. They have recently updated the bridal suite to include a gorgeous wrap-around porch with stairs that lead out toward the ceremony sites, and it's the perfect place to get some really great pictures. Harold and Debbie put in 110% into ensuring that your day is as stress free as possible and provide their undivided attention by hosting only 1 wedding per weekend. If you are taking the time to read this review, please go see the farm; it's a decision you won't regret. Like Susan said below: "It is a stunning place to hold a wedding, and if we had to do it over again, we would go back in a heartbeat!"

Profile Picture Katie, 9/24/11, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
This review is currently being verified.
4.7

What a gorgeous venue! Our guests and wedding party felt so relaxed and in awe there. Harold does an impeccable job of keeping the 40+ acres of grounds beautifully manicured. The venue is fairly new to the market, but the proprietors are constantly upgrading and making improvements every year. There are several ceremony sites to choose from, and the barn/dining pavilion is up on a hill for magnificent views. The barn is a perfect size for the bar and dancing. The venue holds 100-150 guests comfortably, and they even have wheelchair accessible bathrooms for the guests. Harold and Debbie have superb recommendations for local caterers, deejays, photographers, hotels, etc, and they will work with you on any logistical issues you may have. The only issue I would have to say is that they do have a lot of rules and regulations with regards to decorating the venue, however it is because they want to keep the place pristine for all the weddings that are held there. The best part is that they only hold one wedding per weekend, to give their customers their undivided attention. It is a stunning place to hold a wedding, and if we had to do it over again, we would go back in a heartbeat!

Profile Picture Susan, 9/3/11, 8 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

This was a beautiful venue for our wedding. The ceremony on the pondsite, the reception in the pavilion and barn. It's a venue we were able to truly personalize and realize our vision. But the best part was dealing with the owners, Debbie and Harold. Once we had met them, we knew that this was where we wanted to have our wedding. The price was reasonable, especially considering how helpful they were during our planning. They communicated well and were happy to answer all our questions, and they provided excellent recommendations for vendors.

Profile Picture Gina, 8/6/11, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Duke Farm was the perfect venue for our wedding. From start to finish, Harold and Debbie were extremely helpful, and very patient with all the questions I had. It's a beautiful location that you can really make your own. They only have one wedding a weekend, which is great bc you are not rushed, and you have time to decorate and set up the day of the rehearsal, which made my life a LOT easier. I just really can't say enough positive things about them. It really was just perfect, top to bottom. A great value for a beautiful venue with experienced and helpful owners.

Profile Picture Sara, 7/30/11, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

This place was beautiful, perfect for my country wedding. The owners are very helpful and nice. I like that they only do one wedding a weekend so your not rushed setting up. Very affordable and unique for the area.

Profile Picture Kristle, 8/22/09, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Duke Farm was a fantastic location at a reasonable price. The owners were flexible enough to accomodate all of our wedding ideas, yet provided organizational guidance for a smooth wedding day. We really loved that the Duke Farm only has one wedding per weekend, so we never felt rushed or hurried at all. We were able to truly enjoy our wedding day with our family and friends at our own pace and on our own terms.

I'd advise people looking at this location to be creative with your wedding ideas... the Duke Farm owners will help you make your wedding day ideas a reality. We would absolutely have our wedding there time and time again!

Profile Picture Matthew, 9/6/03, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

This location was exactly what we wanted for our wedding and reception. The farm was beautifully maintained and prepared for our special event. The owners did everything possible to support us.

Profile Picture Rebecca, 6/26/99, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue