Duchman Family Winery Reviews

44 | Driftwood, TX
See photos, pricing and details

44 Reviews for Duchman Family Winery

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

44
Order by:
  • Gina

    Gina Rubio · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Wedding

    Callan, we can't thank you enough for making my wedding reception so beautiful. Everything turned out just perfect, as we had planned and I envisioned.
    The arrangements were set up, the cake with flowers were in place, table settings, menus, and the room set up was great! Your service and attention to detail by keeping us informed was much appreciated. Cocktail hour was a hit with the waitstaff ready for our guests with trays of appetizers once they arrived. The food catered in was delicious and was prepared to our liking and our guests enjoyed the variety in the sides and main dish. Your staff even prepared a vegetarian option for my vegetarian friend, which was a plus. The whole evening just flew by but we did have many people commenting on how beautiful everything looked and how well everything went during the reception. I can't thank you enough for making my wedding reception such a memorable event.

    Sent on 08/29/2019
  • D

    Dana · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was an amazing place to have a celebration. We renewed our vows outside by the vineyard and then went inside for a fabulous dinner, great wine and lots of dancing! The event coordinator, Callan, is the best!

    Sent on 07/21/2018

    Duchman Family Winery's reply:

    Hi Dana - it was such a pleasure working with you and I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your celebration! Stop back in for a tasting soon!
  • P

    Patti · Married on 07/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding of my daughter Lindsay and her new husband Michael on July 10, 3016 was more than anything we could have ever wished for in a million years! The staff and especially Candace was attentive, professional, hard working and just downright wonderful! The room was magnificently beautiful and the tables were set exactly how we planned. We received so many compliments on the food which was not only delicious but set down piping hot at every place. We really loved our entire experience. Big hugs to all of those that work at Duchman!

    Sent on 10/05/2016
  • K

    Kelsi · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I might be biased, but Duchman Family Winery is the most beautiful setting to host a wedding! The vineyard, ceremony site, reception hall, tasting room, barrel room, and bridal suite were beyond compare to anything else we saw during our search! The person beyond all the planning is Candace! She is amazing to work with and will answer any questions! After the first meeting with Candace, my husband and I knew this winery and Candace was it! After falling in love with the vineyard and wine :), we loved that flexibility. We were able to chose of vendors or use the Duchman. After a long discussion and research, we found the Duchman catering services was our best option! Let's just say Chef Patrick has some of the best food my husband, our guest, or I have ever ate before! Candace and Chef Patrick showed us which wine paired best with the food we chose! When I did my bridal portraits at the winery, I also decided to do the food tasting. The food tasting is normally for two people, but my husband is in med school and was unable to attend. Of course, my mom and sister were not complaining, though they knew they would have to share the food. Except Candace and Chef Patrick is amazing and made an extra plate of food! I could not believe the wonderful hospitality from the Duchman!! The day of the wedding was no different. Candace and all of the staff at the Duchman was amazing and accommodating! In the bridal suite, there was a bottle of wine for my bridal party and we could not have been happier for that!! The wedding went off without a hitch and we have to thank the Duchman for that!! Candace stayed until the very end of the night when my husband's parents and my parent's were cleaning up and done! We really cannot say anything, but wonderful things about the Duchman and cannot wait to celebrate many more memories there!!

    Sent on 06/24/2016
  • Jillian

    Jillian · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't have imagined having our wedding anywhere other than Duchman. The first time I ever went there, the first thing I thought was how beautiful it would be for a wedding, and when we got engaged, it didn't take us long to make our selection. The price was a little more than we wanted to spend, but it was well worth it (plus we got a 20% discount for using their catering). In terms of catering, I read some other reviews that said the portions were a bit small and that some larger male guests may have left hungry, and I would agree with that, so in retrospect I might have ordered a third entrée for the family style service. But in terms of quality, the food was fantastic. They catering team and the venue staff really took care of us, and we got so many compliments on how beautiful the space was (even with having to move our wedding inside because the grounds were too wet due to some rain and flooding in the days prior). Last but most certainly not least, working with Candace was an incredible experience. She is extremely responsive, and you can tell that she really cares about her brides. She wanted to make sure everything was perfect for us, and it really was. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone looking to have a beautiful Texas hill country wedding!

    Sent on 05/24/2016
  • User6823410 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful small wedding with about 55 guests from out of town at the Duchman Winery on a Monday afternoon outside in the vineyard area with dinner only reception inside the winery reception room. Having it on a Monday it was affordable and we basically had the winery to ourselves. The day was perfect, the venue was enchanting and Candace was a dream to work with. If you are organized like I was you don't need to pay for a wedding planner because Candace works with you make sure you have everything. This place is a hidden treasure for peaceful weddings in the Texas Hill Country.

    Sent on 06/11/2016
  • K

    Kari · Married on 08/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so very happy we chose to have our wedding at Duchman! The grounds were perfect, reception area perfect, loved the spacious bridal room, and Candice was superb. Location was a major factor in our wedding planning. Or experience at Duchman exceeded our expectations.
    Thank you!
    David and Kari

    Sent on 08/27/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just a visit to the venue or browse thought some pictures of other weddings show you how beautiful the Tuscan building is and how beautiful the venue and vineyard scenery is. I had always wanted to get married in a vineyard (not too many pretty ones of those in Tx) and this venue is beyond gorgeous! You will not be disappointed in its beauty. However the real value of having your wedding here is Candace. Technically she is not paid to be your "wedding planner" but she will be your savior in the hectic months of wedding planning. She goes ABOVE AND BEYOND to make your day special. She has a true gift for this career. She was such a help in finding amazing vendors and all her input, ideas, and hard work were priceless. Candace is so personable and professional, she is awesome at answering questions and finding solutions. It was a pleasure to work with her and get to know her! I would recommend Duchman to any bride dreaming of a winery wedding, Candace will make your dreams a reality. (Also, on my wedding night, she wasnt even meant to be on schedule, but she stayed- she really cares about her brides and will move mountains to make your day special)

    Sent on 11/12/2014
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had high expectations for my daughter's wedding at Duchman Family Winery this past weekend. I must say, however, that Candace and her staff went way beyond those expectations. Everything was absolutely perfect!!! To begin with, the venue itself is amazing! The staff were professional and efficient, so that transitions from the ceremony, to the cocktail hour, to the reception ran smoothly and in a timely manner. I am so glad we chose Duchman Catering, as we received so many compliments regarding the outstanding food! Candace was very helpful and easy to work with during the planning stages. I was very appreciative that she was on hand throughout the evening to ensure things were running smoothly. We all had such a wonderful time! I can easily say that my daughter had the wedding of her dreams at Duchman Family Winery!

    Sent on 10/14/2014
  • S

    Sheila · Married on 05/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend the Duchman Family Winery in Driftwood, Texas, to anyone wanting to have a wonderful event in the Austin area and most especially a wedding. I planned my son's wedding and held it there earlier this month. I never would have thought that I would plan an outside wedding in Texas, but the weather was perfect. We even had a nice breeze. We held the ceremony on a wonderful site with benches facing the vineyard and under large shade trees. The cocktail hour was in another shady spot with tables and benches and closer to the event hall. The grounds were lovely and green, and the event hall was both beautiful and spacious. My guests were very complementary about the beauty of the location and how comfortable everything was. The service we received from Candace Barnes, the Director of Events, was excellent. I have been working on the details of the wedding with Candace for the past seven months and have always received prompt and complete responses to my inquiries. When my "day of" coordinator broke her contract at the last minute, Candace even helped me to locate potential replacements. I don't know what I would have done without her! She is a real professional and a pleasure to work with. I would not hesitate to recommend the Duchman Family Winery to anyone.

    Sent on 05/26/2014
  • K

    Karen · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter was married at the Duchman winery. Duchman did a fantastic job with the whole event. The ceremony and cocktail hour were outside, where they provided delicious appetizers.. Duchman also provided the catering in the event center for the reception. The food was delicious! The beef tenderloin was amazing! Candace was wonderful to work with. It was a perfect wedding. I would highly recommend Duchman winery for weddings and catering.

    Sent on 04/29/2014
  • E

    Erica · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful. Simply Beautiful. I don't think anybody expected this place to be at amazing as it was. Candace, the event manager, did an amazing job from day 1. When we booked the venue they were in the processes of changing their protocol with the catering so she made sure that we were getting the best deal for our money. She then sat down with us and planned everything that the venue would take care of including linens, catering, wine, and event staff. I can not say enough good things about the Duchman Staff. Thankfully for us we found the wine on sale at a black-friday sale the Duchman was having! Got ALL our wine for such a low price was amazing! We then got to do our food tasting and OH MY GOSH! The food was phenomenal, not just my words, but the words from almost every single one of our guests. They loved that it was family style serving and they were so impressed with the wait-staff as well. The head waiter was great for my husband and I. While we were taking pictures outside the cocktail area, he brought us food and water in-between shots so we wouldn't starve! Everybody said that the venue was so gorgeous. Yes, its a drive to get out there but it is so worth it once you are there. The Duchman family winery was the absolute best place for our wedding. We couldn't be more happy with our venue :) Candace was amazing and if you get the chance to work with her you will not be dissatisfied!!

    Sent on 03/30/2014
  • T

    Terry · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Candace Barnes and the staff were all wonderful and easy to work with. As the mother of the bride, I was quite impressed with the professional manner that the staff all displayed and the wonderful service the day of the wedding. The family style dinner was catered by Duchman events and was superb. The chicken picatta and the pork tenderloin were cooked perfectly. Many of our guests commented that the food was excellent. The setting was beautiful. Thank you Candace and staff, we will definitely recommend this venue for any event but especially a wedding. Terry B

    Sent on 04/01/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is a fairy tale. I picked it and paid my deposit without ever seeing it. My dream has always been to be married in a vineyard and I couldn't have picked a more perfect place

    Sent on 09/01/2013
  • Barbi

    Barbi · Married on 05/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duchman is such a lovely venue. Even with the rain threatening, and my bridezilla coming out...they kept their cool and kept me accommodated. It was the perfect backdrop for a perfect beginning to our life.

    Sent on 06/05/2013
  • S

    Sydney · Married on 11/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter's wedding at Duchman Family Winery was magical. Lisa was so very helpful in making sure our event went off without any problems. The ceremony (142 guests) was outdoors at sunset, followed by an outdoor cocktail time. The dinner/dance was inside the winery in their hall, which has such great ambiance that there's no need for decorating other than table arrangements. Tables, chairs, china, glassware, & silverware are all included in the fee so our 'rental' budget was minimal (mainly linens & a few other items we wanted). The wonderful harvest tables and wine barrels added to the decor. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone looking for a special and elegant wedding place in the hill country. Lisa was our main contact there, but we also worked some with Ashlee - both were professional & helpful in making this a fun and special time for all of us.

    Sent on 11/20/2012
  • A

    Art · Married on 11/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to say that this has been a great experience working with Lisa and Ashlee at Duchman! We moved our wedding to Duchman just 6 days before the event and everything went very smoothly and precisely as we envisioned it with their help.

    Sent on 11/08/2012
  • G

    Gracie · Married on 08/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was breath taking.. My evening wedding was amazing! Thanks to Lisa & her fabulous staff!

    Sent on 08/20/2012
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 04/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The PERFECT Tuscan style winery - in the heart of Texas Hill Country! We recently had a small, destination wedding in Austin, Texas, and I cannot say enough for how beautiful Duchman Family Winery is - after having our ceremony at Chapel Dulcinea, we bussed our guests to the winery for the reception. The folks (Lisa and Cathleen) at Duchman Winery did an AMAZING job working with me and ensuring that our day was absolutely perfect. Not only did they arrange a private wine tasting and tour of the winery for our guests, but they worked with me on every little detail to make sure it was exactly how I wanted it. Plus, they allow you to bring in your own caterer, so budget brides, take note - this place could be the answer to your prayers! It's absolutely gorgeous and somewhat of a hidden gem. It truly brought my Tuscany dream wedding to life - and on a tight budget! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place! My new hubby and I will definitely be back to visit and reminisce! :)

    Sent on 04/10/2012
  • J

    Julia · Married on 03/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We fell in love with everything! The setting is truly a romantic, vintage, uplifting... just beautiful! We had the ceremony in a gorgeous open field, the cocktail hour also outdoors under beautiful oak trees, and the reception in the main room. Lisa and Cathleen (event coordinators) were always willing and able to meet with us to clarify any concerns, they were knowledgeable to give us suggestion and guidance, and to top it all, they were so friendly and genuinely concerned that the whole event turned out perfectly that you would think it was their own wedding! Definitely recommend to all!

    Sent on 04/19/2012
  • K

    Karyn · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The very first time I visited the Duchman I thought it would be a lovely place for a wedding. There are so many different options for picture back drops such as out by the vineyards, on the bridge leading into the winery, a plethora of options inside the winery, fountains and gardens outside in front of the Trattoria Lisina. The event center inside the Duchman is breath taking. It has stone walls with big windows that are bordered by beautiful dark wood. At night, you can have candles on the window sills that add such a romantic touch. There is a stone fire place which can also have candles placed inside to add more ambiance. The room also has some lovely chandeliers that add a nice touch. When my photographer and I went out to the venue a few weeks before, she told me that the event center room was the most beautiful reception hall that she has ever seen. I thought that was saying a lot because she has photographed many weddings. I originally had planned to have my wedding outside by the vineyard and then have the cocktail hour under the trees by the bridge and then of course have the reception inside. But, you know Texas weather, and it rained on Sunday Oct 9th so we moved the ceremony inside. Actually, it turned out so beautifull inside with all the candles, the fire place and the lighting. The staff at the Duchman was so helpful and warm and accomodating. I met with Howard, the director, several times and he was so easy to work with and helped me to feel confident that on our wedding day everything would be taken care of and it was. I highly recommend the Duchman for a wedding venue and if you like Italian food you have the option of having the Trattoria Lisina which is right next to it to do the catering- and they are wonderful too!! All in all, our wedding is exactly what I wanted and I couldn't be happier with the outcome. Thanks again, Howard and Staff.

    Sent on 10/30/2011
  • E

    eunice · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend this venue. They were professional and very flexable with all our wants & needs. Howard was a dream to work with, as well as his entire team. It's a beautiful place for a wedding. They exceeded our expectations.

    Sent on 01/20/2012
  • M

    Margy · Married on 04/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa Hale (the events coordinator) is AWESOME!!!! Best part of my wedding! The winery is beautiful and I saved tremendously on my flower budget because you do not need any extra flowers here. We had a late April wedding to give the grounds time to bloom and "green up" after a cold winter and it was absolutely beautiful. They include chairs for the ceremony, plus tables, chairs, linens, china, glassware, flatware, and hurricane lamps for centerpieces, so no rental items needed, either. The events center attached to the winery is beautiful and can accommodate at least 200 guests. They staff is very laid back and so easy to work with. They truely made my groom and I feel like royalty every time we visited leading up to the day, and at the rehearsal and wedding. Plus, since it is an operating winery, we can come back at anytime in the future and enjoy a bottle of wine under the trees in the very spot we got married! You cannot do this at most "event venues". Out wedding day was PERFECT and we would not change a thing! We are so happy that we chose Duchman Family Winery.

    Sent on 05/10/2011
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 03/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue itself is absolutely wonderful. We had both our rehearsal dinner, and wedding and reception on property. The staff at both Mandolas (Rehearsal) and at Duchman (wedding/reception), was second to none. Melissa Hale, the wedding coordinator, was nothing short of amazing. She made this a wonderful stress-free event, taking care of all the vendors, hearding cats (the unruly groomsmen), running the event and even managing to keep up with my lipstick at the same time. She was cool under pressure and made me feel as if there was nothing to worry about - and there wasn't! She took care of the set up of the vent and paid an incredible amount of attention to the little details. It was a wonderful wedding, in large part due to Melissa's hard work and efforts. Thank you Melissa!

    Sent on 03/17/2011
  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 12/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service was amazing. The ceremony spot was a beautiful location. Even though there was another wedding planned that day, they were willing to work with me to pick the perfect spot and not disrupt the other ceremony. It truly was the perfect day!

    Sent on 03/15/2011