Skip to main content
Weddings

Dreams and Destinations Travel Reviews

Dreams and Destinations Travel

Dreams and Destinations Travel

Ashburn, VA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 17 Reviews
View more information

17 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

17
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • S
    Sylvia Married on 06/11/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you're seeking the peace of mind and confidence that your special day with friends and family will go smoothly and with as little stress as possible, I highly recommend using Dreams and Destination Travel as your planning partner. We were unable to visit the hotel site in advance of our wedding and we also had folks flying into Ocho Rios, Jamaica from 5 different continents, so having Dreams and Destinations as a major part of our planning process ensured that our expectations were exceeded and things went off without a hitch. This is the best decision we could have made in choosing someone to help us make our wedding a memorable event.
  • C
    Celeste Married on 10/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Donnie Thompson was amazing she asked questions on how we would like our honeymoon and found the perfect resort for us!
  • J
    Jordan Married on 06/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a wonderful time our honeymoon thanks to Donnie Thompson, she is awesome. We did not have to plan a single thing, we just had to show up! It was great, we had so much stress from planning our wedding it was a relief to have someone plan help us with the honeymoon planning. We gave her our price range and told her what kind of activities we would enjoy and she came up with a trip to Costa Rica for us. Donnie also gave us travel advice and was always available, she replied to my emails within minutes of me sending them. We couldn't have done it without her.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jessica Married on 05/24/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Donnie worked with us to plan our Honeymoon vacation to Greece and it was incredible! She went above and beyond to ensure that we were taken care of at each location, noting that we were on our honeymoon and ensuring we got fantastic rooms. During the planning process she worked closely with us to ensure that every detail was taken care of so we were able to maximize our time on each of the islands. Once we arrived she ensured she was available to answer any questions we had during the trip itself. Honeymoon plannning on top of a wedding can be stressful but Donnie made sure it was as easy as possible for us to get the trip of our dreams!
  • C
    Chris Married on 03/28/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Donnie was great to work with in planning for our honeymoon. She provided insight, recommendations, and always had quick follow up. I would highly recommend.
  • A
    Anne Married on 11/01/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Donnie Thompson is the best travel agent ever! She helped us organize the most amazing honeymoon to Europe (Paris, Barcelona, Florence) and went above and beyond with details. She made sure that the on-the-ground people in Europe had our correct contact info and recommended the best city to visit (Barcelona) when we were unsure what to choose. She even helped us look into a last-minute side trip to see the Moto GP race just outside of Barcelona when we were already there. Using her for our travel agent was the best and easiest decision ever.
  • P
    Patti Married on 07/12/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had the BEST experience working with Donnie Thompson! The honeymoon package was a wedding gift for my niece and her husband. Donnie previously provided the same services for me for another niece 2 years prior, so I am a repeat customer for a reason! Donnie provided so much attention to every tiny detail - from the limo/transportation the night of the wedding, the airport hotel accommodations the night of the wedding, the entire honeymoon package in St. John's, excursion details, etc. It was perfect! I would highly recommend Donnie to plan a vacation/honeymoon anywhere in the world!
  • K
    Katie Married on 12/14/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with Melinda was wonderful! My husband was initially very skeptical about working with a travel agent but changed his mind after one conversation with Melinda.

    From the beginning she worked within our budget and was attentive to what it was we were looking for in a honeymoon. With her wealth of knowledge about all things Sandals, she was able to quickly narrow down our options to a more manageable list of potential locations. Once an island was chosen she even helped with room details to make sure our stay was as close to our dream as possible. It was really nice to have someone who could talk to the specific resorts, especially the pros and cons to each. She also handled all reservations and costs which was an additional plus.

    Upon arriving we discovered that we had been placed in a room different than the one we reserved. The resort considered it an upgrade but we were content with the option we had originally picked. When the resort was unwilling/unable to work with us we called Melinda who made it her job to rectify the situation immediately (even though there was a large time difference). It was only because of her hard work that we were able to be moved to the room we had originally booked.

    We were so impressed with her professionalism and ability to resolve the situation and will most certainly use her again in the future if we ever book another trip through Sandals. She was certainly an invaluable resource both before and during the trip and I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for a good travel agent!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 05/25/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Neil from Dreams and Destinations was amazing! He was so easy to work with, always there when we needed him, and so nice to my wife and I. We had an incredible time in Jamaica, and Neil made it the best week we've ever had. He made sure we got the best deal we could possibly get and he was with us through the week to check in to make sure we were doing fine. He even made sure they upgraded our accomodations for no charge. I would highly recommend Dreams and Destinations, especially Neil, for any trip you are planning in your future.
  • S
    Shelly Married on 03/03/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Neil Huggan was fantastic and went above and beyond! He booked our honeymoon (Punta Cana, Dominican Republic) and took care of ALL details. He arranged everything from start to finish and we couldn't have been happier. He even managed to get us into a sold out resort in the specific building we requested! To top it off... there was a honeymoon sash on the door along with champagne and fruit waiting inside the suite.

    His excellent customer service continued even after we returned home. A refund we were expecting from a third party excursion company didn't appear on our credit card. He reached out to them and got it rectified for us. AMAZING.
  • D
    Debbie Married on 10/29/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our vow renewal at Beaches Turks and Caicos and we used Melinda at Dreams and Destinations Travel. Melinda was exceptional and gave us the opportunity to experience the wedding we had always dreamed of, but never had. My "wedding" day I felt like a princess. It was so special and we appreciated every detail being handled for us. I don't know why anyone wouldn't want a destination wedding and I definitely would recommend Melinda at Dreams and Destinations if you do.
  • B
    Brooke Married on 06/29/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Very courteous and professional. Melinda responded to all of my questions and concerns before leaving and helped make our honeymoon a wonderful experience!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 05/19/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Like all newlyweds, my husband and I wanted a perfect honeymoon; and since we don't do a lot of exotic traveling, we knew we had to pull in a travel agent to help us make the best, most informed decisions possible. We were so lucky to have chosen Melinda from Dreams and Destinations to be our Travel Agent. She is so knowledgeable about various destinations and resorts, and she was able to provide us such detailed information about the various places we were considering for our honeymoon - there was no question she couldn't answer; not to mention her follow-up and professionalism was bar-none! She ended up putting together the perfect honeymoon package for us, tailored to our specific needs and priorities. And she made it all (decisions, reservations, paperwork,etc.) so easy!! It was the best vacation we've ever taken; we wouldn't change a thing!! Thanks to Melinda, we had no regrets on where we ended up for what was the most relaxing, wonderful, romantic honeymoon we could have ever imagined!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 11/11/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dreams and Destinations Travel is FANTASTIC! Melinda helped us plan
    our WeddingMoon at Sandals Negril last fall and I can't say enough
    great things about her and the care we recieved. She is so
    knowledgeable in all aspects of travel planning and really put us at
    ease. Thanks to her, our whole trip and wedding went off without a
    hitch! I have already referred one friend to Melinda who then booked
    her honeymoon with D&D, and I will continue to always let anyone know
    that if you need a travel agent, Melinda is the best!!
  • G
    Gurpreet Married on 03/03/2012
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Melinda did a great job coordinating our wedding at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort. It was such a relief to have one person who to take care of booking our guests and to communicate with the resort weddings department. We were able to get some great group amenities and completely stay within our budget. The week we spent in Montego Bay was stress free and so much fun. We knew we didn't have anything to worry about because Melinda had already taken care of all of the details.
    -Gurpreet & Bryan Schmelzer
  • S
    Stefanie Married on 10/06/2012
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dreams and Destinations provided us with a magical honeymoon. Melinda was sensitive to our budgetary restrictions and gave us multiple choices, never making us feel that our options were limited just because our budget was! We did have a bit of a problem getting in touch with her at one point, which was frustrating and a little unnerving, since we had already given her a deposit, but the end result was perfect. I recommend them.
  • R
    Ryan Married on 06/29/2013
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used Melinda and Dreams and Destinations Travel for our July 2013 honeymoon to Sandals Negril Jamaica. In the beginning, Melinda was very attentive and helpful. She gave us lots of options and helped us pick a really amazing honeymoon location. She also made a honeymoon website where friends and family could buy us honeymoon gifts, such as horseback riding, a couples massage, etc. After we booked, we did have some difficulty in communicating with Melinda a couple of times, when we had questions about the trip. One time we had to wait 15 days for a response. With that said, we had a great honeymoon and Melinda booked us a first class upgrade at 8am on a Sunday, so we could sleep in the morning after our wedding. We are very appreciative of that service. I’m not sure if we’ll use Dreams and Destinations again, but we’ll see what the future holds. It sure was nice having Melinda take care of everything, from flights and transportation, to lodging and even VIP escorts through customs.

    Dreams and Destinations Travel's reply:

    Thank you for this review. I do apologize for any delays in communication during the planning process. It was my pleasure to work with you on your honeymoon and I do hope that you felt completely pampered. I also hope that either myself, or one of my agents, has the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next trip. Congratulations on your new life together!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message