Downtime Band Reviews

48 | Saint Louis, MO
See photos, pricing and details

48 Reviews for Downtime Band

Recommended by 99%

48
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • Erin

    Erin · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Wife and I knew from the beginning that we wanted a band for our wedding. After lots of research and recommendations from our Wedding Planner, we came across Downtime. We knew immediately Downtime was right for us as soon as we heard their sound. From the horn section, male/female vocals, to the talented musicians, it was a perfect fit for us. During the wedding reception, Downtime exceeded all of our expectations. They were very good at keeping the energy high and smoothly transitioning into songs. I appreciated the mashups that the band performed as well. The song selection was on point and we could tell they looked at our song selection sheet when planning their set list. Not only was the 8-Piece band wonderful, our Jazz Trio Band during dinner was fantastic. We received just many compliments for the Trio as we did for the full piece band. Thank you Downtime for making our wedding a night we will never forget!

  • M

    Mauri · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved the Downtime Band! We had the 9 piece band with three lead singers. They were amazing! They listed to our song requests, and knew which types of music to get the dancing going. They played a good mix of fast and slow songs and the singers killed it! Our guests were raving about how amazing they were. Several people told me days after the wedding that they were still thinking about how good the band was! Jon Spindler was great to work with. I highly recommend the Downtime Band if you’re looking for a dance party all night!

  • H

    Hannah · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Downtime Band! From the start, the coordination with Jon was seamless, even when we had some specific requests for our first dance. At the reception, they made sure to keep on schedule, even when we got carried away talking to people. Our dance floor was packed nonstop until the last song. They made sure to perform our requested songs and did such a phenomenal job. We had and still have so many guests raving about the band. Highly recommend!

  • N

    Nicki · Married on 02/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The BEST!!! 10 stars! We knew we wanted Downtime after dancing all night with them at a friend's wedding. I would contact them as soon as possible for your event date....you will be sad if you can't book them! Promise. Jon was great to work with. Quick to respond to questions, so fun and always professional. The entire band was everything we wanted and beyond so! Our guests are still raving about how awesome they were. I can't wait until I see them again.

  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved Downtime band! We could not have been happier with Jon's attention to detail, ability to help with any request, response time, and of course, the music! Our guests were amazed at the breadth of range, the talent, and the nonstop music. Our goal for the reception was to have an unbelievably fun night, and Downtime made that happen. Definitely the best decision we made in the planning process. Would recommend them to anyone and rehire in a second.

  • A

    Amy · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved the Downtime Band! Our guests loved them too - we received so many compliments on how great the band was. They are incredibly professional and easy to work with. Plus, they kept the energy level high throughout the reception that most of our guests stayed until the very end which was a lot of fun! I definitely recommend them for any reception or event! I'm so glad we chose the Downtime Band! Our reception wouldn't have been as much fun without them!

  • J

    Jeff · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't be happier with our decision to have Downtime Band perform at our wedding reception. From the initial contract through the final song, everything went very smoothly. Jon was very organized, easy to work with and very professional at all times. Throughout the evening and the weeks following, we received MANY compliments from our guests regarding Downtime Band. It's a true testament to the band that our dance floor was packed all night and up to the conclusion of the final song.

    My wife planned and executed a perfect surprise at the beginning of the reception by singing a song to me. Jon went above and beyond to obtain her guitar, tune it and have it ready for her. This is just one example of their commitment to us. The music was excellent, and the energy was high through the last song. As part of the contract, the band even learned two new songs for us, which were used for the father/daughter and mother/son dances.

    Thank you to Downtime Band for your help in making our wedding reception very special! We most definitely recommend Downtime to anyone that is considering.

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Downtime band was such a hit at our wedding! Everyone kept approaching my husband and I to compliment us on the band. One of my great aunts said she normally leaves around 9, but stayed until 11 because she loved the band so much! They also were very accommodating when we asked them to do a dance including only married couples the night of the wedding. The could have easily said no but were gracious enough to accommodate this last minute request. It turned out to be a great hit and we were able to see my great aunt and uncle on the dance floor dancing and celebrating 67 years of marriage. The music was fantastic and totally set the atmosphere and mood of our wedding. Jon was incredibly helpful and answered all of our questions and also helped us with suggestions of when to cut the cake, throw the garter, etc. Since this is the first (and hopefully last) time my husband and I will be married we needed some help learning the ropes and Jon was there to answer any questions we had. Their website was also great. The song list made it easy to figure out what songs we wanted for different parts of the reception and the promotional video was a great tool. It allowed us not only to discover what the band had to offer, but to show off to our friends before the wedding to give them a little taste of what our reception would be like. The only problem is that their promotional video just doesn’t do justice to how great they really are, but you just have to see them in person to find that out! Overall, they enhanced our wedding day and we were so happy that we chose them!

  • N

    Natasha · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough amazing things about Downtime! Not only is Jon absolutely awesome to work with (plus, he responds to emails with lighting speed- which was especially amazing given that we live on the East Coast and were planning our wedding remotely), but the band itself was so talented it was ridiculous! Picking our band was probably the most important wedding decision for us and we read reviews/watched videos for about 15 other local bands before making our decision. Hands down, Downtime is the absolute best. They are surprisingly reasonably priced, but more importantly, are just hugely talented musicians. The two main vocalists (one male and one female) were ABSOLUTELY amazing and people were commenting all night about how incredible they sounded. When we started our first dance (the first vocal song of the night), we both looked at each other and immediately said: "wow, they are REALLY REALLY good." I was so worried about having a cheesy "wedding band" but Downtime could not be further from that. They are an incredible, talented, energetic group of musicians who (luckily) perform at weddings. Definitely the best decision we could have made. Thank you, Jon and Downtime for making our wedding so amazing!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great band! They did an amazing job learning the songs we requested and had everyone dancing all night. Easy to work with and very knowledgable with the timing and process of the whole wedding evening.

  • K

    Kyle · Married on 12/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't tell you how impressed my Wife and I were with Downtime Band. The wedding guests haven't stopped talking about the band. Everything from the first contact to discuss pricing, to the planning phase, to the music itself was absolutely wonderful. I worked with Jon to set everything up. He met with us to plan the evening and talk about our expectations. It is safe to say Downtime Band exceeded every one of those expectations. The jazz trio during dinner was excellent but the music from the seven piece band for the actual dancing portion of the evening, couldn't have been better. Wow, The energy from the band was contagious and the dance floor was full the whole night. What really stood out to me was how willing the band was to work with us to make sure our night was perfect. They learned several additional songs ranging from 311, to Kid Cudi to Luther Vandross and they all sounded great. Thank you so much.

    Thanks again,

    Kyle and Katy Kijowski

  • A

    Allie · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Downtime Band traveled all the way from St. Louis to Omaha for our wedding and truly exceeded all expectations! Their high energy sets sounded amazing and kept our guests of all ages on the dance-floor until the very end of the evening and received rave reviews from all who attended. Jon was wonderful to communicate with throughout the entire planning process and helped us coordinate last minute schedule changes due to weather on our wedding day with such ease. The Downtime Band helped to make our celebration incredibly special and we are so grateful. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect reception! We are sure they will be back in Omaha again soon ; ) Thank you Jon and team!!!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best part of our wedding was Downtime Band! Our guests raved about their talents! They had a wide variety of music, sounded AMAZING and really got the crowd excited!

  • User4153377 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment I spoke with Jon at Downtime, I felt like he cared about the people he was working with as well as his music and his music. He got back to me promptly each time I needed to speak with him, and was never arrogant, or impatient with my many questions like other bands I spoke with. Jon was a team player when it came to working with our wedding planner, and the venue of the wedding. He not only did not cause problems, he was flexible, and willing to do whatever we needed in order to make our daughter's wedding special. The band looked professional, their voices were incredible, and they could read the crowd to perfection in order to know what songs to play when. They respected what song lists my daughter wanted and did not want played, and everyone kept asking us all night who the band was! You cannot go wrong with booking Downtime!

  • A

    Amy · Married on 11/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Downtime Band was amazing. They made our reception absolutely perfect! We have never heard better music at a wedding reception. Our guests danced the entire time. High energy and easy to work with made our night the best night ever. We would highly recommend your services to everyone!

  • H

    Heather · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Downtime Band was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding! From the start we knew we wanted a live band and were absolutely blown away when we went to listen to them. Within 10 minutes we knew we wanted to reserve them, but stayed longer just to enjoy the music. Once it became time to really start planning, their online process made it so easy to determine all the details for our event. I felt comfortable knowing they’d be ready to go when we needed them. I also love that they will learn two songs, specifically for you. We didn’t have to pick and choose our “wedding songs” based on their list.

    The night of our wedding they did not disappoint. Our dance floor was packed the entire time. From my 2 ½ year-old niece to my 87 year-old great aunt, all were on their feet and enjoying the music. Downtime Band does a wonderful job of playing all genres of music, which allows everyone to find something they like and songs that make them want to dance. My biggest fear was having an empty dance floor at our reception and Downtime Band made sure that wasn’t the case.

    I am constantly being told by our guests how much they loved the reception and that the band was amazing. One of our guests was raving about the band the next week and her recently engaged friend asked for their name. I was happy to pass along the recommendation! In addition to playing great music, all band members were a pleasure to be around. They were so much fun and really made the night even more special. I would highly recommend Downtime Band for any occasion, especially as wedding reception. I am hoping to find a reason to hire them again in the future!!

  • D

    daniele · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dealing with Downtime from the beginning of the wedding planning process all the way to the wedding night was absolutely wonderful! I could not have asked for a better experience. Whenever I had a question, I ALWAYS received a quick response, no matter what time of day it was! The band members were so nice and had everyone on the dance floor the whole night! We did not want them to stop....so we ended up extending their play time at the end of the night! I would without a doubt recommend you them to anyone! They truly did help make our big day so wonderful!!!

  • T

    Thomas · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We went with SLAM band per a recommendation from a friend in the St. Louis music industry.

    I was super happy with the way things worked out. They allowed us to choose a couple of songs for them to learn and they did great with that. The music was excellent, and they played a good variety that was unique.

    The only complaint that I have of SLAM is the amount of time between songs. They do not have a pre-set set list for the event, which is advantageous because they choose the songs based on the crowd. However, after each number, the lead singer decides the next song and pauses to tell the rest of the band. At times, this lead to awkward standing around on the dance floor while they get everyone on the same page.

    Otherwise, everything went real smoothly and they were easy to deal with.

  • S

    Shannon · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Slam was absolutely amazing! If there is one thing we could change about our wedding it would have been to make more time to dance!! We received so many compliments on the band..their energy, quality, dance skills, songs, etc. They were so much fun and really kept the night going. We couldn't have asked for anything more in our band. The service leading up to the day was exceptional, Jon was always really quick with a response and any assistance we needed. And the day of was just perfect. We would recommend Slam 110% to anyone who wants to have a great time and get the crowd moving on their wedding day!

  • User2975770 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm a really indecisive person, and it took my a LONG time to select a band or DJ for my wedding. I considered both options and multiple band choices, and while I did so, I sent Jon at Downtime multiple emails with LOTS of questions ... All the while, never making a firm decision. Through it all, Jon was totally nice and patient with me, and I finally booked Downtime Band for my May 11, 2013 wedding. I'm SO glad I did! The energy of the band really made the evening, and one of my guests, who is a musician himself, commented on how truly talented the band was. Throughout the night, we received so many comments like "this is the best wedding band I've ever heard!" They learned two songs for us, and they both were AWESOME! Jon also helped me make some quick decisions when the planned timing for first dances, toasts, etc. went off track a bit due to other circumstances. (In fact, he was MUCH more helpful that the event coordinator at my venue, so thank goodness he was there!!)

    I used the lead singer that I think is mostly associated with one of their other bands "X Band." He was GREAT. I recommend him, for sure.

    All in all, I can't say enough about how glad I am that I booked this band. If you do -- you won't regret it!!!! The only thing I regret is that the reception wasn't longer!!! :( I had the best time out there dancing with friends and family.

    p.s. Make sure they play "Don't Stop Believing." The whole dance floor was singing along ... it was awesome!

  • C

    Christy · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding reception was a huge success thanks to Downtime Band. The thing I cared about most when planning our wedding was the reception music. All the other details didn't matter as much to me, as long as our guests had a great evening dancing the night away. When I told my fiance that I was adamant about having a live band, I even went as far to say that I would sacrifice a new wedding dress as long as I could have a live band. (Fortunately, with Downtimes' prices, I didn't have to do that.) I had a very pleasant experience with Downtime Productions from the moment we decided to book them. Jon was one of my favorite vendors, if not my most favorite, to work with. I really appreciated his responsiveness to my many questions. At the reception, and many days after, we received SO many compliments on the band. Even my mom's cousin who is in a band out of state, said he has never heard a better live wedding band, and he was very impressed by how little number of breaks they took. At one point in the evening, my mom stopped me at the reception and told me to look at the dance floor. It was packed! Almost everyone was still dancing, hours after dinner had been served, rather than leaving early. That was my ultimate goal. I could not have been happier with Downtime Band, and I would highly recommend them to anyone for any type of event.

  • M

    Meghan · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Downtime Band did an amazing job at our wedding! Living out of state, I didn’t have the chance to meet the band or to see them live, prior to our wedding. I was booking them based off of the videos on their website and I was not disappointed. They exceeded all of our expectations and gave an unforgettable performance! Everyone at the wedding danced all night and talked about what a wonderful time they had. We had a blast! The wedding was a huge success, thanks to Jon and the Downtime Band.

    Meghan and Brad Mills
    April 13th, 2013 – Integrity Hills

  • User2314825 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I can't thank Downtime Productions enough for everything they did to help with our wedding entertainment and reception. We were planning a wedding from out of town and from the very beginning of the process, Jon was extremely helpful, always responding in a timely fashion to all of my questions (and there were a ton at times!) We picked Push the Limit because we liked their versatility and ability to not only sing, but also perform songs from many genres. But it didn't stop after hiring the band. Jon went out of his way to help us with many of the details surrounding the reception. That brings me to the reception. Push the Limit was professional, considerate, and friendly. They took care to talk about details when we were not busy talking with friends and family. Most of all they were a blast!!! Everyone at the reception kept talking about how good the band was and wanted to know where we found them. But it doesn't stop there. After the wedding was over we received many notes and emails congratulating us once again. Nearly every one of these people stated that our band was amazing and we had many say that it was the best wedding band they had ever heard! We completely agree with them. Push the Limit kept our reception lively, playing a great song list with a perfect mix of oldies and current top 40. After nearly 4 hours of straight playing, there were still 20-30 people on the dance floor at midnight! While part of this I'm sure is due to the friends we have, it is also a huge testiment to the quality of the band. We could not have been happier with our decision to hire Push the Limit and will recommend them to anyone who asks (and already have once!) Thanks again for everything, and hopefully we'll have another reason to cross paths again.

  • J

    John · Married on 12/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking for a wedding dance band, look no further! Downtime Band (Productions) is simply the best, and Jon Spindler was incredibly easy to work with! We had so many positive comments throughout the evening regarding the band; the looked very professional, sounded great, kept the dance floor full all night, and it appeared they were having as much fun as we were! Absolutely perfect! Many guests were surprised we had your level of talent in the St. Louis region. Downtime Band was the perfect ending to my daughter's perfect wedding day! Thank You!

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 12/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was by far one of the best decisions my husband and I made. We had many compliments on the talent of the band, and the wonderful dancing music they played. They made the reception fun, and kept it going all night long. Our dance floor was always packed-and we had a big dance floor!

    The band was wonderful and easy to work with. They had a website for us to sign onto to help plan the night as we figured out what times we wanted for toasts, dinner, first dance, etc. and the songs we wanted. They also learned two new songs for us, and helped me surprise my dad with a polka for our father-daughter dance.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review